Denon UD-M50 Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★★★☆
4.3 / 5
89% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Sound Quality

  • Features

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Denon UD-M50 - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Denon UD-M50

Denon UD-M50
Denon UD-M50

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

★★★★☆

“replace speakers”

Written on: 07/03/2012

While this unit is quite adequate in power and clarity, I have wanted something a little more beefy in the speaker department. I am using this Denon as a amp for my computer, this is a small room set up, but lacks some bass and midrange. I found a larger pair of mission book shelfs at goodwill for 25.00, pair are in excellent condition. They are 761i , 25 to 150 watts, but the denon pushes them fine, the speakers are 8 ohm, but the Denon is capable of powering 6ohm and possibly 4 ohms with ease, so the 8 ohm larger missions are not too much of a load and they produce a lot of clear bright notes with improved base, really a sweet sound. Save yourself some trouble, i have tried definitive technologies and even kef as another reviewer has mentioned, but the kefs are too hungry for power and really need some power to release what they are all about. I have since stationed my kef q90's in the living room with my marantz amp, sound sweet there. So run out and search for some of these missions if you can find any. I was lucky enough to find these in near perfect shape, all surrounds and cabs are great, look new, i know, don't be jealous, just go out and look. Another great speaker that would sound good on this unit, is that energy small bookshelf models, don't go too big, the amp section is not robust enough, musicality is your goal, not boomy boxy sounding best buy crap, stay away from polk and infinity... ha ha, all you people that think that is where the sound is, i paid less than 60 dollars for the denon and the mossions, and sold the little missions that came with the denon for 50.00, so this system cost me 10.00 bucks, my neighbor paid 1200 for his onkyo and bose, and likes my system better, be ware of immitations, haaaaa, see ya

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★★★★

“Excellent sound, of higher quality than one can get...”

Written on: 03/12/2008

Excellent sound, of higher quality than one can get from other more expensive systems.
The cd changer must be opened by touching a button on the box itself and not on the remote, unlike other similar stereos.
I would recommend it without hesitation. I've had it for more than 3 years of constant use without the slightest problem.
Well recommend Denon UD-M50.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“The Denon UD-M50 sound is good quality also the tone...”

Written on: 05/09/2008 by PEASENHALL (1 review written)

The Denon UD-M50 sound is good quality also the tone and bass are perfect. Overall, it is nice and compact and nicely finished.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“From my experience I would look again to purchasing...”

Written on: 21/03/2008 by TheBluBoy (1 review written)

From my experience I would look again to purchasing another Denon System like the Denon UD-M50.

I gave this machine 9's instead of 10's, because 10 is, well, perfect. Great sound. Even, across the frequencies. Not much money.

In fact at the time of purchase I was about to shell out nearly five times the $'s for a component system, had a listen to this machine (the Denon UD-M50) and bought it instead.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

373300_Goldengeek's Response to TheBluBoy's Review

Written on: 11/06/2008

Blue Boy - Where did you have this fixed???
<br/>I had the same issue with the 3 CD tray broken by someone else's misuse - I took it to the store i bought it from and they said un-economical to repair.... I have just bought a replacement single CD Denon system but still have the old one and could do with getting it going again..

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Dgk721's reply to 373300_Goldengeek's Comment

Written on: 21/12/2013

I have had problems with the gears in the CD changer. The first time I had it repaired at a place in Racine, WI. The second time I took it to a place in Pensacola, FL and they were unable to repair. The gears are no longer available. I found a replacement very inexpensive on e-Bay and it works fine. I'll have to find something else if this one ever goes. The system is great, bought it new 2/15/2001. Sounds fantastic with a Paradigm PDR-10 subwoofer.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 2 Comments
★★★★★

“I have a $35000 system in my living room and the Denon...”

Written on: 29/10/2007 by bandgroup (1 review written)

I have a $35000 system in my living room and the Denon UD-M50 in my Den. I spend more time lstening to the M50. It is more exciting to listen to, oodles of detail, and is so musical.
I am a professional musician. I can't beleive so much comes out of a small unit.
Wonderful engineering.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★☆☆

“Don't buy this Denon, the CD changer breaks down and...”

Written on: 23/09/2007 by agregoire (1 review written)

Don't buy this Denon, the CD changer breaks down and can't be repaired.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Thebluboy's Response to 312565_agregoire's Review

Written on: 21/03/2008

Sorry, but yes it can be repaired, just had it done.<br/><br/>One of my children broke it by rough handling. Mind you, the machine put up with a lot of misuse before it broke.<br/><br/>This is a great stereo. Easy to use. Great sound for a machine that isn't supposed to be top end.<br/><br/>Well done Denon.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★★☆

“Glorious brushed aluminium case, snazzy led display,...”

Written on: 19/05/2003 by andy. (1 review written)

Glorious brushed aluminium case, snazzy led display, mini in size (except there is a large black box like thing at the back!), plastic feeling remote though and rather hard to find the cdr seperate (had to track one down in Germany).

Fantastic sound quality, great speakers. I would recommend this to a hi fi fan even though my cd changer broke down (my 13 month old son and his fascination for the flashing lights)

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★★★★

“I had the chance to compare it to several other models...”

Written on: 01/04/2003 by Russ. (1 review written)

I had the chance to compare it to several other models in a store. The speakers sound surprisingly good for their size. The bass is not real deep. But, the sound is tight and clean. Midrange is full & clean and treble is crystal clear without sounding tinny. I do not see myself growing tired of these speakers quickly. The head unit looks sophisticated and classy. All buttons are clearly marked. If you have half a mind, you can figure out how to operate this unit in less than a minute. Simple, yet very versatile at the same time. The remote has every function you could imagine. I have ordered the model UD M70...more power with a 3 disc changer. The UD M50 is a great sounding unit that doesn't look like a toy. And it doesn't take up much room. It sounds about as good as a medium-priced, full-blown rack system.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★★★★

“I compared this Denon UD-M50 mini system with the...”

Written on: 21/09/2002 by MC Stevie T. (1 review written)

I compared this Denon UD-M50 mini system with the Yamaha Pianocraft and found it much kinder on the ears - less harsh and much more capable at higher volume. I got the system for £225 and have some Kef speakers connected to it which I think sound great. I was looking for a small system for my workroom and the Denon fits the bill perfectly giving near separates sound quality in a neat package.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 5 0
overview