The Gluttonous Gardener Reviews - www.glut.co.uk

★★★★☆
4.4 / 5
84% of users recommend this
  • Customer Service

  • Quality of website

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
The Gluttonous Gardener - www.glut.co.uk - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for The Gluttonous Gardener - www.glut.co.uk

The Gluttonous Gardener - www.glut.co.uk
The Gluttonous Gardener - www.glut.co.uk
The Gluttonous Gardener - www.glut.co.uk
The Gluttonous Gardener - www.glut.co.uk

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“WARNING : This is not a reputable company.”

Written on: 28/09/2017 by seapea1 (1 review written)

My son ordered a rose in a presentation pack to give to his mother on his wedding day. The order included a presentation plaque with the date of the wedding on it. The rose was unpacked by myself the day after the wedding and found to be in a poor condition with browning leaves. Despite my best efforts, it subsequently died. Given the nature of the packing and the date of the wedding, it is obvious that the rose would not be unpacked for at least 24 hours after the wedding. It is Glutinous… Read Full Review

Walterm3533's Response to seapea1's Review

Written on: 28/09/2017

For the amount of money involved and the reason for the purchase of the road ,really surprised company did not protect their name.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Very dissapointing”

Written on: 12/06/2017 by randommoz (2 reviews written)

I purchased this expecting a large grown plant. Whilst very well packaged the plant it self was tiny and only worth a small fraction of the large price. Don't use, when I complained their response was it will grow! I should hope so, doesn't excuse the ridiculous price! Go to a garden centre!… Read Full Review

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★☆☆

“International delivery gift let down”

Written on: 06/06/2017 by Susieblue5 (1 review written)

Ordered early delivery to france for parents anniversary , DPD couldn,t find house from address that has been there for excess 20 years arrived 4 days late and rose withered and very poor looking. Gluttonous Gardener replied address given was incorrect although for manybyears items have arrived from around the world with no issue. DPD were the fault however the supplier has basically stated terms and conditions cover them for deliveries abroad end of story . They were chosen due to saying… Read Full Review

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Great thank you gift!”

Written on: 10/10/2015 by Pumpkin2006 (1 review written)

We bought the 'parents of the bride/groom' roses as thank you gifts for our parents. The Gluttonous Gardener communicated with us throughout the transaction, and offered advice on the best time to deliver and store the roses. The roses arrived as promised and were beautifully packaged. Both families were absolutely delighted with their rose bush, and it was an absolutely perfect thank you for all of the hard work and support our parents provided throughout the wedding process. The roses were… Read Full Review

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“Doesn't allow for quarantine laws”

Written on: 15/08/2015 by Asiap230 (1 review written)

I recently had my wedding in Sheffield, UK and my lovely friends gave me your giftpack of 'My Something Blue' Blue Nigella Love in the Mist seeds. I've just returned to Australia and despite all your packaging & details of the flower seeds, they were confiscated by Australian customs because you neglected to also include the latin name for the flowers, which is the only way they would allow it through their strict quarantine laws. I've extremely disppointed that I now won't be able to plant a… Read Full Review

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“top prices poor quality”

Written on: 02/07/2015 by nationalfairtradepolicy (1 review written)

don't touch gluttonous gardener roses with a barge pole mine arrived looking quite sad last year and this year is very straddly and the roses of poor quality I have another at a quarter of the price and it looks like a good rose should both are anniversary red roses but the not on the high st one is a miserable offering!!… Read Full Review

Sallygolland's Response to nationalfairtradepolicy's Review

Written on: 10/07/2015

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback we are obviously firstly incredibly sorry that you were not happy with the gift that you were sent.

Our gifts are all individually hand packed with a lot of love and care in to our large wooden gift boxes, complete with a gift message and delivered on the date of our customers choosing to any UK address on the date of their choice which are services which are not offered by garden centres. We would never deny that you can buy cheaper roses however we are not simply offering a rose on it's own in a pot our service is much more which is why their is a premium price which reflects the time and care that goes in to each of our gifts. Please email us with photo's of your rose and we would be happy to help, this is the first time we have been made aware of your disappointment.

Kind regards
Sally
The Gluttonous Gardener

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Moroccan tea set christmas gift”

Written on: 14/01/2015 by suedavey (2 reviews written)

Like recent reviewers very disappointed.i prepaid for international delivery to Germany as a Christmas gift for my sister in law.Which I ordered in November and specified the date to be delivered 22nd December it eventually arrived on the 30th! A damaged box and a dead plant. I have purchased several times in the past from the glut and had always been happy with the gifts and service. Not this time they don't even answer my communication with them!very poor customer service and quality of… Read Full Review

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“Sadly disappointed”

Written on: 26/12/2014 by havva (1 review written)

First time order, but was VERY disappointed. The fig tree was a gift, but once opened, it honestly looked like a twig in a pot. The packaging, chocolate and jam were lovely, but the images on the webpage are misleading. What arrived wss embarrassing to give as a gift. What you will actually be getting needs to be made clearer… Read Full Review

Glut_Gardener's Response to havva's Review

Written on: 06/07/2015

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback, we are very sorry that you were disappointed, in December fig trees as is natural they should have no leaves as they are dormant in the winter months and will look quite twig like. Throughout spring and summer they will put on lots of growth and look fantastic, obviously we would love to send them looking fantastic year round but we wouldn't unnaturally force them to be in leaf. We do try to make it very clear within the care instructions that their plant is dormant at that time of year but come spring it will put on growth and that it is exactly how the plant should arrive.

Kind regards
Sally Golland
The Gluttonous Gardener

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Appalling”

Written on: 21/09/2014 by 157Finnegan (1 review written)

Our son bought us an anniversary rose from these people. It arrived in an impressive crate, but the plant itself is tiny and looks unlikely to survive the winter. A normal garden centre wouldn't even have it on display let alone price it at nearly £50. As others have commented, this is a complete rip-off. The firm can only get away with it because the purchaser cannot see the goods, and since they are sent as a gift, may never find out how poor they actually are. I intend to pursue the matter… Read Full Review

Sallygolland's Comment

Written on: 17/10/2014

We are firstly incredibly sorry that you were clearly unhappy with the service and product you received from ourselves, I can assure you that this is not the normal experience of a Gluttonous Gardener customer. The roses that you will have received will vary in appearance depending on the time of year received, in the summer months they will look more impressive and when autumn arrives they will be cut back to promote stronger, bushier growth for the next season.

We would never compare ourselves to a garden nursery, nor would we deny that the same plant can be purchased at a lower cost. We are a gift company and as such offer a value added service, from our beautiful packaging to having the gift delivered on the date of the customer choice to any address accompanied with a gift message and are certainly not looking to rip any of our customers off, a huge amount of time and care goes into each and everyone of our packages and the satisfaction of both our customers and recipients is extremely important to us.

We would always encourage communication if the customer/recipient is unhappy with their gift. We will always if the plant is unhealthy or has failed replace the plant with another healthy specimen.

It is never our intention for any of our recipients to be unhappy with their Gluttonous Gardener gift. We do not have any of your order details so I am unable to see what communication has taken place between yourselves and our company but I can assure you that your experience is not normal, we have been around for over 20 years and this has been built on many of the recipients of our gifts going on to becoming customers.

Kind regards and again our apologies for the disappointment this gift has clearly caused you.

Sally Golland
The Gluttonous Gardener

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Please avoid this site at all costs!!”

Written on: 27/08/2014 by roforsh (1 review written)

The Gluttonous Gardener and Not on the High Street operate on a principle of maximum profit for minimum product. Like other reviewers, we were duped by website images and descriptions that did not accurately resemble the product. A rose that cost £10 on the high street was sold for £44 on "Not on the High Street" and then further costs for postage which would have been around £4.50 with a company like Hermes at a staggering £9 with this rogue company. The rose is abysmal, small and lacking… Read Full Review

Sallygolland's Response to roforsh's Review

Written on: 28/08/2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review, we are extremely sorry that you are clearly so disappointed with your gift. We have been in contact with yourself with regards to this order and have politely replied to your emails as to explain that we are not a plant nursery, our gifts all hand packed to order in our beautiful gift boxes, they are then delivered on the date of the customers choice to any UK address and delivery is £5.95 not £9 as you have stated.

We can assure you that a huge amount of time and car goes into packaging our gifts and getting them out to the recipients and feel they offer value for money and a service that no garden centre would be able to offer.

The rose you have received we can assure you is of a very good quality and will continue to thrive for many years to come, they naturally look different throughout the year, it will be stronger and bloom again next year.

Kind regards
Sally Golland
The Gluttonous Gardener

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★☆☆☆

“Blueberry Plants”

Written on: 12/05/2014 by 463McKee (1 review written)

The plants arrived on Friday beautiful packaging and I was delighted to receive such a wonderful gift. Sadly the plants were the worst I have seen. On checking the website I could not believe how much money had been spent on these plants and sent a photograph together with na email to the Gluttonous Gardner I have not received a reply yet but have advised my friend to ask for a complete refund from the company, and if it is not forthcoming contact her credit card company… Read Full Review

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Total Rip Off.”

Written on: 29/03/2014 by qfCoffey330 (1 review written)

Latin names hyped up for a common blackthorn hedge plant worth in total about £1.50 from hedging suppliers. Free if you know where to look. Wrapped in a hessian bag with fancy labels hiding in a box of wood shavings. The sloe chutney is available for £3.95 from Yorkshire company. £50.00 in total including postage. I am sad my child was so taken in. It was a gift for Mother's Day. Possibly the worst one I have ever received. I could have planted a whole hedge round an acre for that. I would… Read Full Review

Sallygolland's Comment

Written on: 20/05/2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback we are extremely sorry to see that you were so clearly disappointed with your gift, I can assure you this is far from how we would have hoped you would feel. A great deal of time and care is put in to the packaging, presentation and contents of our gifts all of which are hand packed by ourselves. We would never deny that you could not buy the individual contents of the gifts cheaper however we are a gift company not a plant nursery and as such we have delivered the gift on the desired date of your son, complete with a gift message and beautifully hand packed in our large wooden crates, and so your son was making use of our service as well as our products. We do hope however that your sloe bushes are now growing well, I can assure that you that the satisfactions of our customers and recipients is extremely important to us.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“Professional, punctual and beautifully uniquely...”

Written on: 24/07/2013

Professional, punctual and beautifully uniquely wrapped gift of a coffee bean tree, thanks for this service. Perhaps the only thought would be more choice over coffee bag type for the connoisseurs......keep up the great work… Read Full Review

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Lovely, original gifts”

Written on: 24/07/2013

I have ordered from GG on three occasions - I have only received good feedback from the recipients. Plants arrive in pretty packaging and in good condition… Read Full Review

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Fantastic”

Written on: 23/07/2013 by Rebekah1 (1 review written)

Amazing range of gifts for anyone and any occasion. Really well thought out, beautifully packaged. It was obvious a lot of care and thought goes into these products. I will be back! Many thanks, Rebekah Day-Harris… Read Full Review

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Fabulous Vine and Wine!”

Written on: 22/07/2013 by CAJRowlands (1 review written)

We chose the wine and vine box for our friends 40th Birthday...something to enjoy now and something to be a legacy for the future. He loved it! The gift was delivered on the day we chose; and the packaging was wonderful. The crate and straw carefully protected the wine and vine, and made a really interesting, special present… Read Full Review

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Perfect once again ”

Written on: 22/07/2013 by Woodsies (1 review written)

The Gluttonous Gardener continues to be my first port of call for those special presents. Once again delivered on time, beautiful wrapped and theplants were tip top condition. Thank you for your fabulous service… Read Full Review

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Excellent!”

Written on: 22/07/2013 by Preethi55 (1 review written)

I sent a Moroccan tea set for my friend in June, 2013. The Gluttonous Gardener was extremely friendly and accommodating. They were very quick in responding to my emails. I was overseas while placing the order, and had issues with placing the order. TGG were very accommodating, and made sure that my gift arrived on time. Special thanks to Sally, who was so quick in responding to my emails and so professional. I'm very happy with their service, and my friend loved the gift. Will definitely… Read Full Review

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Excellent”

Written on: 19/05/2013 by Louisethegenie (1 review written)

I bought the bay tree for a couple of freinds who were having a tough time. They loved it and were both very touched. The packaging was really nice too. An unusual but Excellent gift and very prompt service… Read Full Review

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“GREAT GIFTS”

Written on: 16/05/2013

easy to navigate website, high quality goods, lovely packaging and excellent service… Read Full Review

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
overview