Surplus & Adventure - www.surplusandadventure.com

Click here if this is your business
★☆☆☆☆
1.3
8.0% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Customer Service

  • Quality of website

  • Value For Money

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

“Constantly lied to - no refund ever sent.”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Jaylonc147 on 18/05/2015

We sent a pair of boots back in January due to a poor fit and was promised a refund, a month later we had an e-mail showing a refund but still no funds reached our bank account. We were told bu Surplus and Adventure it must be a problem with Worldpay as this is their merchant they use. At the end of March we still had no money so started small claims proceedings and were told by this company we would be getting a letter from their solicitors and would be liable for their costs. In the meantime after countless of mails telling us it was down to Worldpay we found out it wasn't done by worldpay at all. All correspondence stopped from Surplus and Adventure. We have since had a judgement issued against the company but still haven't received our refund or court fees back so we now have to get a warrant issued against them. I would advise anyone thinking of using this company to think twice. Trading Standards, and BBC Watchdog have been informed as they have broken the long distance selling act as well as the sale of goods act.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Appalling”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Esab on 31/03/2015

I have to say these people are the worst that I have ever dealt with in my many years of online shopping. I accept that when I ordered my items that in the confirmation email it said that goods in stock can take 3-5 days for delivery and that out of stock items can take up to 28 days plus another 3-5 for delivery. It also says that whilst it may say item is in stock on the webpage that it may not be but it is only usually 7 days until it is but on occasion other items may take longer. Fair enough I thought and waited for 40...yes FORTY days before I contacted them. And had absolutely no response whatsoever. I then contacted them again some two weeks later and actually received a reply saying that the items I ordered were no longer available and they had let me know previously (They hadn't at all) and that my order had been cancelled. I have just looked on the website and said items are still shown as available.... what can I say? I would not recommend them to anyone ever and certainly will never use them again.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Are they really STILL in business ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 25/02/2015

I'm just deleting old emails from my inbox and I came across the lengthy exchange I had with the Admin team from Surplus and Adventure. So I thought I'd just do a quick check to see if there were still bad reviews about them, and there are!! I purchased my items in Sept 2012 and was still trying to receive them in March 2013. PLEASE EVERYBODY DON'T PURCHASE FROM THEM. My experience was that only half my good turned up, I was consistently fobbed off with the excuse that my items should be in the next delivery they received from their suppliers and therefore should be with me soon. In the end, I only got a refund because I quoted the Sale of Goods Act.. >>Quote>> Hello Admin Team, Can you please update me on the status of my refund. If I don't receive my refund back to my credit card by the end of this week, i.e. 4pm on Friday 22nd February 2013, you will have left me with no other choice but to initiate legal proceedings. My grounds for this are that as an online retailer, you are required to deliver goods that you have sold within 30 days. You clearly haven't done this. Below is a link that directs you to the Office of Fair Trading's website that will explain where you have breached the Sale of Goods Act 1979, I would encourage you to read section 11. http://www.oft.gov.uk/business-advice/treating-customers-fairly/sogahome/sogaexplained/ Kind regards >>Unquote>> I sent a further email 2 weeks after this as I still hadn't received my cheque before it finally arrived. 6 months of stress that no one wants or needs.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Sarahwood75's Comment

Written on: 18/05/2015

We still haven't received a refund and have been through the small claims court. This company is a joke. Baliffs is the next stage for us.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“excellent”

★★★★★

written by Remingtonk135 on 15/10/2014

I ordered a full camo rain suit online and then came across all these negative reviews I thought here we go and that I was going to get ripped off Could not have been further from the truth Product arrived 3 days after ordering it and great quality and exactly as described That's not to say that others have not had issues but in my instance all was fine and I cant complain thanks

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“at least turpin had the decency to wear a mask”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 02/01/2014

i purchased a hat for my 6 year old grandson in february 2013 and was told delivery would be up to 28 working day,s,after constant e-mails to their so called admin team it became apparent what these clowns were up to.when finally i requested a refund the admin team stopped replying to my e-mails ( what a suprise )my advise to anyone considering this company to steer well clear,i am gobsmacked these jokers are still allowed to trade.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“still not received goods after 5 months”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 01/10/2013

after multiple calls and emails non of which have produced any feedback i shall be visiting them personally to find out what the hells going on,payment was taken on the day of the order and no goods or even an email to explain why no goods...never again

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Waited months for combat trousers to arrive...when...”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 30/08/2013

Waited months for combat trousers to arrive...when they did wrong size and poor quality. I returned the trousers and a year laterthey still have not refunded my money. I too will be taking them to the small claims court.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Joke of a company”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 24/08/2013

Tried to buy a M65 coat from them - they took the money but never sent the coat, when I phoned up 2 weeks later I was told the coat was out of stock and would be with me in 6 weeks. I waited another 7 weeks but still no coat, so i phoned up again to tell them to give me my money back. At no point was I contacted to tell me there was a problem with the order, I had to chase them for everything. Ended up getting the coat from mean and green who were much better.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Worst Online Shopping Experience Ever.”

★☆☆☆☆

written by DnLy on 08/08/2013

Ordered a pair of work shoes for my dad (who's a chef) around the start of July; item in stock and expected deliv. time of 3-5 working days. I received no confirmation email, no order ID I could track. I was left wondering whether I had actually ordered them. After calling and waiting, I decided to order from another company (Protec) which were hardly any better. I recently received the shoes ordered from S&A around the start of August; a month of no correspondence and it just appears out of no where. I am now wondering whether they've taken the money from my account. Having emailed them 4 days ago, I have yet to receive a reply (their website quotes - guaranteed reply within 48 hours). All in all, extremely ticked off with these guys. If I could give 0 stars I would. STEER CLEAR OF SURPLUS AND ADVENTURE. You have been warned.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Bramblegriffin's Response to DnLy's Review

Written on: 12/08/2013

Hopefully they have not taken any money from your account. I speak as one who has money taken out of my account by this outfit and received no goods.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“... a loyal customer who will not be returning”

★☆☆☆☆

written by bramblegriffin on 01/08/2013

... visited S&A site re products & happened to glance at camo pants; reduced price, in stock, available & appeared available for immediate deliver (I even contemplated paying extra for next day delivery). Well, as I actually required them for a trip to Scotland, in July ...thought what's the point. Actually, there are lots of 'what's the point' with this company. Presently contacting small claims court for money to be returned and office of fair trading for no goods received !

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Stressfull!!”

★★☆☆☆

written by Lindsey2710 on 18/06/2013

I am arranging a military work team building day and therefore ordered a number of goods (over £400 worth!!) on the 31st May and received my goods (or SOME of my goods) on the 17th June following numerous calls to the shop (who couldn't tell me anything), emails (that were never answered) and even a fax (again, no responce). My issue is that I purposely ordered stuff that was 'In Stock' and should have therefore received my delivery in 3 - 5 days as stated when I placed my order. I was delighted when the parcel finally arrived (albeit it was not sent to the delivery address requested), however my heart sank when I realised it wasn't all there. There was no notice of anything being on backorder, simply a request to review the service I had received (they might regret having put that note into the bag!) My work event is tomorrow, and it seems there is no way I will get the balance of the goods by then. I can only imagine the tedious process I am going to have to go through to get a refund of the missing stuff. Dealing with Surplus and Adventure has really been a bind with absolutely no Customer Service available to the purchaser.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“really good customer service”

★★★★☆

written by eleni-valentine on 23/05/2013

so i ordered a bag and some boots back in december a month later i emailed to ask what was happening and was told that the items were out of stock so i chalked it up to experience - since it's a surplus store i guess it's reasonable that sometimes they may not be able to get certain things all the time. two months after that i received an email saying that they weren't getting the boots back in stock and was offered a credit note which i accepted. five months later and i have finally received a different bag which is, in fact, better than the original one. this should be a negative review - from any other company i'd have been absolutely furious but surplus and adventure have given me excellent customer service throughout this whole mess they've kept me updated and offered alternatives they've always got back to me on the same day i emailed and have been more helpful than any company i've had any dealings with. i will definitely be using them again.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Always get my stuff”

★★★★★

written by chippoo on 21/05/2013

It seems people are out to try and ruin this company...I' used this company for last few years got my goods bit slow but I still received them and got refunded for stuff I returned and only returned cause it didn't fit...give em a break ordered 3 times this year got all goods each time customer service has well improved I will say and if goods are not available I was contacted..maybe u big boys are threatened by these smaller companies but i will use again and my mate ordered some cargo trousers they take a while but well worth the wait I've just ordered some..people with nothing better to do than moan......STOP! Keep ya heads up guys I will use again and so will my mates...helpful service and what company do u know that always answers the phone.....hello none!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Better than the last lot !!!”

★★★★★

written by on 19/05/2013

I originally ordered Boots last Sept and my account was debited THEN . no boots arrived. I kept e mailing and nothing happened so eventually asked to be refunded... that did not happen either... so with one last ditch attempt I e mailed last week and was given apologies and told that the company had been taken over and there were all new staff . They have been ,professional, proficient and efficient and the boots arrived when they said they would. I shall certainly use them again

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Chippoo's Comment

Written on: 21/05/2013

I have used this company for many years, yes the last year i had a few issues but have since re used them and all goods arrived and goods that were not available i was informed about...great site, good communication and yeah thumbs up will use them again in the future

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Good enough for me ;)”

★★★★★

written by Mcholewi on 13/05/2013

Made order with them and had good experience :) all items arrived with no problem and must admit so suprised with quality. Item I ordered came in a nice bag that makes my purchase even better value for money! I recommend using them :)

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Slow and Steady ”

★★★★★

written by on 09/05/2013

I've used this company for about 5 or 5 years now, never had a problem with them. They are slow but my orders always came, and I was always happy with the product. I would recommend this company BUT not if you are in a rush for your items.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Congratulations! You are officially the worst...”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Ianbell1972 on 04/05/2013

This is probably the worst on-line shopping company trading to date. I will make it my mission in life to inform everybody on this planet to avoid dealing with this appalling, comedy run organisation. If Cocco the illiterate clown that works in customer services learnt how to converse in English it would still make no difference and I would still be waiting for a product that was ordered so long ago, it is no longer in fashion! If you are lucky enough to receive your ordered item, then I agree, you will be pleased with the quality. This is due to the fact that the GOONS from Surplus and Adventure have zero input into the design and quality! The phone was only answered once after 58 attempts and to be frank, my son who has been in a coma for 18 months holds a better conversation! THEY ARE BREAKING THE LAW AND CONTRAVENING ON-LINE CONSUMER LAWS. E-MAIL THE BRAIN CELL IN CUSTOMER SERVICES AND INSIST YOUR MONEY IS RETURNED IMMEDIATELY. YOUR BANK WILL TAKE THE MONEY FROM THEM IF REQUESTED.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“It amazes me how they are still trading. Ordered my...”

★☆☆☆☆

written by bill64 on 03/05/2013

It amazes me how they are still trading. Ordered my stuff over 3 months ago but still nothing! They don't answer the phone or emails. I wish I had read the reviews first as I would have stayed clear. So it looks like I'm yet another victim out of pocket due to these bottom feeding leeches.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Slow but sure”

★★★★☆

written by anthony1792 on 02/05/2013

I am aware that a lot of people have issues with this company. However, I have bought from them in the past (last year, airborne vintage cargo trousers) and been very happy with the product. Today I received my desert patrol boots and am over the moon with them - very good quality and a chic look to them. I ordered on 27 February, and after a time was very concerned about the slowness of delivery. However, I found the shop line very useful and talked to a couple of helpful people who pushed things on for me. I think their problem is simply that sometimes their suppliers run out of stock and then everyone has to wait for deliveries. If one is prepared to wait, like myself, then all turns out well. But I can understand the frustration of some. One suggestion I would seriously make to them, however, is for their admin department to answer queries individually from the start, and not just use a formulated standard reply, as this can instil a fear within customers of being fobbed off, which is not really the case. OK, off to try on my boots....

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Still no refund!! DO NOT BUY FROM THIS COMPANY!!!”

★☆☆☆☆

written by sips1 on 29/04/2013

Ordered a pair of Jack Pyke trousers in feb no stock will be out to your shortly email said. 4 weeks later I asked for a refund still waiting now I have had to get the bank to get it back for me. DO NOT USE!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

overview