Tesco International Calling Cards - www.tescocallingcard.com Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★☆☆☆
2.1
27.0% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

Refine your search

Latest Reviews

“Useless ”

★★☆☆☆

written by Tescocredit on 12/10/2023

Unable to make calls to the UK from Turkey, just no tone nothing. Contacted customer service I had a reply then nothing. Tried to send more email's only to be told by email that they failed to go through. I was sold this by a Tesco rep telling me how good they are but after nearly two weeks its still not resolved, just a fortune in roaming charges because I was left with no choice but to use Vodafone . This was to keep in touch with my elderly mother. Due to the cost I could only phone her every other day. Thanks Tesco if I had known the issues I was going to have I would have used a better service. Looking at the reviews lot's of people having the same problem so please at least refund my credit.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“I lost money as credit expires after a short period”

★☆☆☆☆

written by mark333 on 11/03/2023

I bought this for phoning South Africa. I used it for many years but I was never happy. The quality of the call was often poor, sometimes unusable. What really annoyed me was that when I only needed to use it occasionally then it wasted a lot of money. I would top up to use it, then the next time all the credit had been lost because it wasn't used in time. So I had to top up agian. Then the next time that money was lost and wasted. My overall opinion is it is a poor service.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 4 0

“Do NOT touch”

★☆☆☆☆

written by 261House on 11/01/2022

Don't touch them. EVERY single attempt to call gave me a 'we cannot connect you. Try again later' type message. Also your credit on the account expires whether you use it or not. ....and I work for Tesco!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 2

“Rubbish don't buy it”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Mall1952 on 18/12/2021

It is absolutely rubbish these days. Waste of money. Anytime you call either through WiFi or mobile data absolutely rubbish. The person you call cannot hear you. This is with strong Internet connections both ends. Disappointed. I will never buy it again. I want to pass important message across, you can't. Frustrated and regret I bought it. I am not recommending it.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 2 0

“Once tesco was great. Can't say that now”

★☆☆☆☆

written by georgemiddlemast on 01/09/2021

Tesco Internationalwas Gresford me to phn South Africa 10 pence cell phn 1 pence to landlines, zero to send a txt, now I can't send either! Alli get is error and just try to contact the customer care services, Best of luck, my rating is ZERO.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 3 0

“Not worth it for the occasional user. ”

★★☆☆☆

written by Talkertalk on 06/07/2021

I occasionally phone Spain, but this is not frequent. Hence I lost most of my credit remaining. DONT TOP UP MORE THAN £5. Only top up when you might be deciding to make calls. Bets are that you will still lose your credit as you forget it’s there. They really need to extend their period of expiry.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 3 0

“Disappointingly Awful”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Sbo139 on 06/03/2021

I checked the international rates, Italy and Switzerland,on the website, downloaded the app and topped up account. The next day I tried several times to call a landline number in Italy and there was no connection. Same automatic message saying that a connection was not possible. I was able to call mobile numbers, good connection but in the meantime the call rates had doubled and when I emailed Tesco International I was told that rates can change at any time. Change yes, but double?

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Georgemiddlemast's Response to Sbo139's Review

Written on: 01/09/2021

How true tesco International is rubbish

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 6 0

“TERRIBLE!”

★☆☆☆☆

written by 262Griffith on 24/12/2020

I have deposited £20 on this card but was able to use it only once for a few minutes. The connection was terrible and I could not hear anything. I could not use it after, understandably, but Tesco Calling card SEIZED all my credit still. This is exactly how they behave. I trusted Tesco brand but I see it is just another company to avoid.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 6 0

“Complete confidence trick”

★☆☆☆☆

written by MaltaSteve on 06/03/2020

Luckily, I was able to try this app by using the free £1 credit they give you, thank goodness I didn't waste my money. I needed to call a couple of numbers in France, one a local council and one a museum, both standard geographic landlines. The app would not dial and connect. I called Tesco's helpline, to be told that the app doesn't work for 'business' numbers only private. Premium rate numbers I can understand, but not business numbers, what use is that? Steer clear, I'll be buying a Post Office card that they have already confirmed is quite capable of connecting to the numbers that I want to call. Expected better of Tesco.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 5 0

“RUBBISH! Keep out. Don’t buy this card.”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Haleyeo153 on 19/08/2019

I am surprised that at this day and age, a company is selling such a stupid phone card which never works. DO NOT BUY THIS CARD.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 4 0

“Tesco International calling card”

★☆☆☆☆

written by alicegrumps on 31/01/2019

Bought Tesco calling card with £20 credit. I bought the card because it states that to call the USA it's 0.05pence per minute. I thought this was a good deal, obviously not. Tried to use the cad for the first time to call a relative in USA and it said there was no credit on the card. Because my husband couldn't find the receipt I couldn't take it back to the shop. I put £5 credit on the card and it seemed to work fine for the first call. When I used it again to my surprise I ended up with a bill on my telephone even though there was more than enough credit on the phone. Where did my credit go? Had aTesco card about 2 years ago and had no problems with it. I will not buy another Tesco international calling card.. I wasn't only charged a connection fee but, charged for the duration of whole call which did not not come off the phone card

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 3 1

“Don't buy this card !!”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Disgruntledofstevenage on 06/10/2016

I bought my card online because it seemed convenient. On trying to call my fiancee in Spain the line either comes up as busy (although she is not using her phone) or I get a bleep followed by a ringing tone but her phone is not ringing!!! Also I am being deducted a connection fee, even though I haven't been connected !!! I have previously used the Post Office calling card. It works and it is cheaper. !!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 4 0

“All-but useless”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Vega135 on 05/09/2015

Called to US from a standard landline. Got through. Maybe used a quid's worth, should leave plenty more. BUT Tried to call an EU number from a BT payphone, using access number 0330-0010-252, to avoid the outrageous extra charge that Tesco's card says BT imposes if you use the 0800 access from a payphone. (Nice to be the virtual monopolist of payphones, isn't it?). And then... the payphone simply cut me off before I'd even finished dialling the number concerned. Why? I asked Tesco: Does BT also racket up the charges on 0330-0010-252? Reply (eventually....after three emails. Before saying anything, Tesco first wants to know my card PIN (why?) and the country and precise number that I tried to call (why?). Either BT does or BT doesn't. Or are all Tesco cards different in what they can do, to what destination, without getting you ripped off by BT?

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 2 0

“Poor lines most of the times”

★★★☆☆

written by 144Myers on 13/06/2015

Well, what can I say? I have been using Tesco international a few years ago and had been mostly okay back then. When I started using it again recently I did find the line quality more often than not very poor. I'm going to recommend it to anyone anymore.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 1

“I bought the International Calling Card for £5.00....”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Jenniferq432 on 03/12/2014

I bought the International Calling Card for £5.00. Dialed all of the access numbers and was told the credic remaining was 2p every time I had dialed. I returnrd the card to the shop to be told that the remaining credit was £5.00, on return home I tried to use the card again and again I was informed that my credit was 2p. The card stated, dial access no. enter pin and dial destination no. none of this happened. It look as if I have wasted my £5.00.Help. Er

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 3 0

“Convenient. If you are going to use it the same week,...”

★☆☆☆☆

written by ynRees154 on 09/11/2014

Convenient. If you are going to use it the same week, after that when you attempt to make a call after a little while from the first usage they will ask to re-register your number again, you can see your number they just ask to confirm it is the same and of course it is the same!!!!! Same apple app, same mobile but you anyway confirm and then you discover your £4.65 credit left has disappeared, the app says credit £0.00, the first time I was perplex but I put some more credit, I made a call nobody answered therefore I had left almost all credit. But a month later I re-discover that the credid has gone the process start all over again my number is there ask me again to confirm that is the number, they sent me a pin and after that I discover my credit is £0.00 and I see something new the number if the card provided from tesco has expired . Great! I will useLebara sim in a cheap old phone is cheap and it doesn't expire, every little helps this time  it should have been the first info that the card had a shelf live with a sell of by date on it because in that case I would have charged my skype, used viber that is totally free or simply put some credit on my lebara sim, once again Tesco has shown us how bad is it

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Tesco calling app”

★★★★★

written by Churchml45 on 13/08/2014

I used this while on holiday in France. My family at home had downloaded the app too and this meant we had completely free calls over wifi. Brilliant.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Unreliable and bad; uses your landline minutes + credit”

★☆☆☆☆

written by BillyKerr24 on 21/06/2014

In a normal world this should work in the same way you use a normal calling card where the credit you pay for is the only charge however... This card uses the minutes from your landline and will also use the credit of the card. Example: call the international number using a 020 number and they will charge you for the 020 number and will also use the £5 minutes that you paid for. Now it should be a connection charge at most (at most) and then minutes on the card will get used up but, when your bills suddenly sky rocket it gives a clear warning over how cheap a company can make their product. So much, that they throw all their ethics out of the window just to maximise on profits. There was no warning or no information on the card that this would happen just a step by step that fails to mention this at any point. If it is mentioned on there then I will have to get my microscope out to see it. If the information is included on there then great but it is'nt or is not explicit enough. As a customer we are interested in how may minutes we have and how much of a cost this is to the customer. If that information is not provided then this is false advertising or clever marketing or both. Even if you feel you have brought this product without any hassle who's to say that Tesco decide to change the terms to incur even greater charges to us. Fact is because we are dialing a 020 number and then dialing the international number they have two bites of the apple but instead of going into that I will just say. Don't do it, use a calling card that had a good review. The worst thing is that Tesco will most likely not do anything about this. They might see this review and carry on producing a service that is flawe in a major way. Hope your product design team are up to the task of fixing this because with more services and more products then ever before you have lost my trust in terms of a customer and will be looking to put my trust into other reputable companies and brands that care about the customer. Tesco international calling card: avoid it please.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Rip Off”

★☆☆☆☆

written by cat19 on 20/05/2014

I bought a Tesco International Calling card to call Canada. My Sky package is free weekend calls only, this is the only time I can use the card. It is not written down anywhere explaining this. I have now got a large phone bill to pay. So check with your telephone provider first before you buy these cards. I thought you could use the cards anytime but this is not the case.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Not happy”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Elaine497 on 15/05/2014

I have left £8 in my card but they wipe off as I did not use within the time, I told them I went on holiday but still they don't give me my money back. I have called Canada and even though I used Tesco card, I have been charged £5.00, I need to find out who took that money BT or Tesco? I need little more time to find out. If I can see details online then may be it will be easy to find, which call cost me how much and who charged me for what?

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Before posting your question please check to see that it has not already been asked.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

Asked by Geebes on 1st January 2024 Report this content
Why is it that people I am calling using the Tesco International app cannot hear me when I hear them and it charges me for these calls?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Asked by Umme-haamid on 14th November 2022 Report this content
My calls keep disconnecting, while on a call I have to dial again and again. What is the problem? I'm losing credit as I'm being charged at a higher rate for the 1st minute of each call.

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Asked by lawrenceayeni on 23rd June 2022 Report this content
I had credit on my international calling card but today it said it was expired. I want my refund. What should I do?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Asked by ydixon on 28th April 2015 Report this content
Hello My Mother and I have been trying to use her dialling card but it keeps telling us that the card is in use. Does anyone know what the problem is and why we are not being allowed to use the card? Anyone had a similar experience?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Asked by shirleycrighton on 24th February 2015 Report this content
Can I phone from abroad on their international calling card?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

overview