Loughborough, Asha House Reviews

Loughborough, Asha House
★★★☆☆
2.8
50.0% of users recommend this
  • Cleanliness

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Loughborough, Asha House - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Loughborough, Asha House

Refine your search

Latest Reviews

“THIS IS YOUR SIGN TO AVOID THIS PLACE”

★☆☆☆☆

written by pvCoyne98 on 16/09/2022

Reasons why you shouldn’t stay in Asha House: - Noisy (located right above a pub) - Dirty (Claim to have cleaners but does nothing) - Management wouldn’t do anything about complaints about noisy or really dirty flatmates. - Feels like a prison - Can’t bring friends over (management threaten to call the police when my flatmate brought his friend over) - Will try their hardest to charge you double rent if you have you girlfriend over. - Poor laundry service (awful “Circuit” company, 2-3 washing machines that don’t work for 200+ tenants, ridiculous prices at 2.90 a wash and 1.80 for drying at the time of this review.) - Non-refundable deposits £120 a year (basically +£10 per week) - Kitchen that short-circuits from time to time MOST OF ALL BAD SECURITY AND LANDLORD!!! Where do I begin. My flat on the top floor got broken into by a group of local teens. They trashed my belongings and threw them off the balcony onto the adjacent building roof. When I reported to the management and requested assistance from their maintenance staff to help me retrieve my belongings and asked for compensation. All the management did was defend themselves, didn’t help me whatsoever and tried to frame me for not locking the door on the way out when it was proven that they broke in through the broken kitchen window. They also said their maintenance staff is on leave and will not be offering any help until the week later and wouldn’t help me retrieve my belongings before that meaning my belongings will be left out on the roof in the rain and sun for a whole week. After some back and forth the management said if I put everything that was damaged and thrown off the roof into an excel sheet, they would compensate me for the damages which definitely did not happen after. All they did was pay me back for the roofer’s bill and 1 laundry wash price which was 2.90 + 1.80… I can go on and on with all the petty things the management has done but I’ll stop here. It was such a stressful time for me as I felt so helpless, and all the management did was add stress with his attitude and joked about the situation instead of helping the situation. If you don’t like evil people making money and you care about your wellbeing, then stay away from this place.

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“A really great experience”

★★★★★

written by SofiaLowe348 on 20/07/2020

I have been living at Asha House for a couple of years now and am really pleased I decided to stay here.The management have always been really friendly and any maintanence isses get sorted straight away.When i moved in the room and kitchen were realy clean.I have really enjoyed living in the middle of town so close to the shopsand its a nice walk or bike ride to the campus.A really friendly building.

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“DO NOT STAY HERE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”

★☆☆☆☆

written by qjFox287 on 23/05/2020

THE WORST ACCOMMODATION IN LOUGHBOROUGH!!!!! DO NOT STAY HERE!!! This is the worst accom in the whole vicinity, unfortunately I had to stay here but they accommodation was disgusting moving in, black hair filled in my bathroom from the previous owner. Before even getting to my room, the balcony was disgusting and had wet tissue that looks like it was stuck there for years on the side of the wall and floor. My bathroom shower didn't even have a drain catcher and the walls were full dirt and mould I had to bleach, you have to also purchase a kettle, and toaster etc so the kitchen doesn't come fully stocked. The room had a disgusting pungent old smell that no matter how much I cleaned wouldn't go. The hobs in the kitchen also barely worked and would take forever to even heat up or cook a simple meal. The walls are so thin that I can hear my flatmate take a urine in the bathroom. The lift also often smelt like urine too. The administration team are horrible, if you have any problems with sfe they are not understanding and harass you for money knowing that you'll pay, the whole team are bullies!!! They also do not look after your packages securely and started leaving them in front of the lift for anyone to take. DO NOT STAY HERE! THE WORST PLACE IN LOUGHBOROUGH!!!!!!!!!!!!!! If you want to stay in town stay in somewhere like Waterways, the Foundry or the Print House! So many people have had bad experiences here, I wish I had listened. DO NOT STAY HERE!!!!!

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Best Student Accommodation in Loughborough ”

★★★★★

written by doMeyer419 on 17/12/2019

I have lived here for 3 years plus and it was the best decision i have ever made. The staffs are lovely and easily available to communicate with and are there to sort out problems if and when a maintenance form is put in straight away. I would recommend this place to anyone if i could continue staying there I would but unfortunately its my last year and so I am Thankful for the 4 years that I have been well looked after by the Accommodation team and making me feel safe when i am away from home. Another thing to take into account is our parcels, they are received by the admin and put away safely and can only be collected by a sign slip that would be left at our mailbox. If they know your sick, they will try their best to make sure you seek the right treatment and also check up on you to make sure your okay. Its nice to meet different people from different nationalities as well and you learn plenty from each other, I have to admit I have met some good friends from living here and we are still very close and hoping that will continue for life, so Thank you Asha House :D . Its my home away from home shall i say :) . Thank you Asha House!

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“AVOID THIS PRISON”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Lilian399 on 19/07/2014

you are constantly on CCTV camera, and the accommodation team just try and find new ways to fine you and your flat mates. Ridiculous charges for minor things, it seems they aim to try and take all your deposit away. if you have a choice AVOID, i had no choice and i do not want other students to suffer like i did for a year.

Pramit's Comment

Written on: 14/11/2014

Hi ... I was planning to book my accommodation at Asha House. But, that a ton for letting me know the actual situation. I would also be visiting Loughborough University for 2.5 Months. I do need a accommodation in cheapest possible rate. It seems like you also visited Loughborough for short period of 1 year. Can you suggest some accommodation options in and around the university. Up to 30min walking distance is OK for me. But, I need the cheapest option, around 50-65GBP per week for 11 Weeks.

Reply to this comment
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Do not go there!”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Aubrien367 on 17/04/2014

The manager initially showed me a nice room with a clean shared kitchen. When went there to sign the contract he was not there, one of the subwardens was there who mentioned the room shown to me was not available anymore and instead I`m getting a similar one! Whilst moving in, I found out the new room was not as good as the the other one and the kitchen was horrible. But complaining din`t make anything better and as I was going to stay there for about 2 months, just dealt with the whole terrible situation. And the funny thing is I just found out today that they are doing the same thing to a new student in our department!!!! Just warned her about it and then thought of leaving a review here just to make sure I share my TERRIBLE experience with everyone!

Pramit's Comment

Written on: 14/11/2014

Hi ... I was planning to book my accommodation at Asha House. But, that a ton for letting me know the actual situation. I would also be visiting Loughborough University for 2.5 Months. I do need a accommodation in cheapest possible rate. It seems like you also visited Loughborough for short period of 2 months. Can you suggest some accommodation options in and around the university. Up to 30min walking distance is OK for me. But, I need the cheapest option, around 50-65GBP per week for 11 Weeks. If possible give your e-mail id so that I can communicate with you. Thank in advance.

Reply to this comment
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“the worst accomodation. The Foundry.”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 24/06/2013

It was okay, unless the management ruins the reputation. they are useless, rude and lazy! Plus they try to extra charge non-exisiting fines. Rooms are dirty and bathrooms too small and stinky.

Pramit's Comment

Written on: 14/11/2014

Hi ... I was planning to book my accommodation at Asha House. But, that a ton for letting me know the actual situation. I would also be visiting Loughborough University for 2.5 Months. I do need a accommodation in cheapest possible rate. Can you suggest some accommodation options in and around the university. Up to 30min walking distance is OK for me. But, I need the cheapest option, around 50-65GBP per week for 11 Weeks. If possible give your e-mail id so that I can communicate with you. Thank in advance.

Reply to this comment
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“hi have seen your note re the bike storage.i saw helen...”

★★★★☆

written by on 16/12/2010

hi have seen your note re the bike storage.i saw helen and she says that a far better lock is on order and will be there for the new year.i think that bikes aren't allowed in because if health and safety/fire regulations so best put it in the dedicated locked bike store.

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Overall Asha house offers a very basic standard of...”

★★☆☆☆

written by mpyu on 16/12/2010

Overall Asha house offers a very basic standard of accomdation. The advantages are be all rooms offer ensuite and have double beds. The size of the kitchen is decent and comes with Freeview. It is located in the town centre, however is a 20 minute walk to the uni.
The weekend staff are all forgein students,although they are helpful, its best to speak to Helen the manager on a week day.
The bike storage is not safe, I had parts of my gears stolen as well as my seat, aslo the bike shed is full of deserted bikes with various parts missing. You are aslo not allowed to put your bike in the corrirods or outside your room. If you have a bike I would not recommend asha house.
The heating only stays on for a limited amount of time before, it switches itself off, which can be bit of a problem at night. The pipes in the bathroom have a tendacy to vibrate, this can get quite annoying. THe internet connection is slow and everytime your computer goes on standby you have to enter your logon details.

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“I have lived at Asha House for coming up to a year now...”

★★★★☆

written by on 09/07/2010

I have lived at Asha House for coming up to a year now and I am very happy. I think the location is really good, close to town and shopping, not to far from uni. The facilities are modern and clean. There is limit to what is included in the cost of bills - but I have not exceeded them at all in my time here. I have already re-booked for next year, and will be looking to book again for my last year also!

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“I have lived in Asha House for two years, now is my...”

★★★★☆

written by on 07/07/2010

I have lived in Asha House for two years, now is my final year and i will be sad to leave. In my first year we did have some problems now and again with the Laundry but was always offered to use the Laundry at The Foundry which was a 30 second walk, the Landlord now has brand new machines and a new company managing the Laundry and this year no problems at all :-) The staff are very helpful and friendly i have made lots of friends here.

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“I currently live at Asha House and I haven't...”

★★★★★

written by on 06/07/2010

I currently live at Asha House and I haven't encountered any problems with the laundry or security. Location is great and prices are reasonable for the location and bills included. There is a limit on how much electricity you can use but I think it's quite high cos I don't know anyone who has reached it. I'm finishing Uni this year but if I wasn't I would stay here again!

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Great place to live ideally located in town would...”

★★★★☆

written by on 05/07/2010

Great place to live ideally located in town would definitely recommend it

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“the apartment was clean and well managed.the...”

★★★★☆

written by on 02/07/2010

the apartment was clean and well managed.the management were approachable.the internet was ok if used properly.i didnt get any extra bills because i was careful with my electricity useage.in all a good quality and safe product.

Mr Normanton's Comment

Written on: 02/07/2010

yes good place to live...just been to free BBQ evening plus previous curry and pub crawls ...all great fun.Safe ans secure building.electricity allowance fine if you are careful...don't leave appliances on all day when out we know it costs!!laundry working fine and bike store locks changed so all ok.Great place to stay.

Reply to this comment
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“The Foundry/Asha House Loughborough ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 24/06/2010

The Foundry/Asha House Loughborough

This place is advertised as the best uni accommodation to spend your (or your parents') hard earned money in Loughborough. The reality is...the internet connection is as slow as carrier pigeon from Siam and the tv and washing machine regularly break down. Cleaning is left entirely to the students which is strange for uni accommodation and a headache when sharing with up to five others who will all have vastly different ideas on what constitutes clean.

These are all of course minor gripes which would be quickly overlooked if it wasn't for the rude staff whose communications to students are always obnoxious and usually threatening. Students are expected to be perfectly upstanding citizens no matter how lackadaisical the management team's own attitude and attention to detail.

This is compounded by the lack of a social life in the building. Promises of parties and BBQ's go unfulfilled during the year with last dashed attempts towards the end of the year failing due to the alienation of students by the aggressive management style.

Indeed the only thing that truly drew the students together was huddling at night below the ever watchful security cameras and complaining about the latest arbitrary fine to be added to the list...for not closing your curtains at night or something equally as comical.

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“TERRIBLE accomodation. Stayed for one year, had BOTH...”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 05/04/2010

TERRIBLE accomodation. Stayed for one year, had BOTH bikes stolen in under 3 months from the "secure" bike storage - their response was that it was "very common" for that to happen with no action taken. Was advertised as "ALL BILLS INCLUDED" - please be aware that this still means you will receive a hefty bill at the end of your stay anyway. This resulted in months and months of pointless negotiations and communications with Mezzino office with threats of taking them to court. They finally backed down and realised they were in the wrong but I would not wish anyone to go through the same thing! The on-site facilites such as the washing machines were out of order roughly 50 per cent of the time and for about two months of our stay it was hit and miss with the Internet connection which resulted in a failed online exam for University as the Internet connection cut out half way through. These people are more hassle than they are worth and make out to be quailty accomodation when they are far from it in reality. PLEASE DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY. I have since stayed in cheaper and better accomodation and will never return to Mezzino.

Was this review helpful? 0 0

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

overview