Playa Blanca, Villa Carlara Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★★★☆
3.6 / 5
60% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Playa Blanca, Villa Carlara - Ask a question now

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

★★★★★

“Fourth visit to this lovely villa”

Written on: 10/05/2018 by Maksi (1 review written)

On this fourth visit to villa Carlara we were please to see even more improvements to what was already such a well equipped home from home.The pool has been relined with fibreglass and is in excellent condition, comfortably heated and well maintained twice weekly. The gardens are really attractive with new plants having been added since our visit last year. The lounge area is very comfortable with a huge TV that has loads of channels to cater for all tastes. The bedrooms are very comfortable and kitted out with excellent quality bedding. Although there were only two of us, it was obvious that the villa could comfortable cater for 6 people. There are local shops and restaurants that are just 5 minutes walk away and plentiful enough to be able to allow a stay locally without travelling too far. There is a local bus that runs every 30 minutes to Playa town and taxis from the villa to town cost less that 6 euros each time. The town has the first Leonidas Belgian chocolate shop in the Canaries and we mad full use of it. We mad use of a grocery delivery service advised by the owner and that worked really well taking the stress out of shopping for our two week stay. We will definitely try to return to Carlara for a fifth visit.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Villa Carlara - All we could have wished for”

Written on: 22/06/2014 by maksipup (3 reviews written)

We spent a glorious ten days at Villa Carlara in what was our first experience in a private villa rental. This was a marked departure from our normal timeshare holidays that we have taken over the past twenty four years and we found it very revealing as to what is real quality. The villa has three bedrooms and was actually too big for the two of us but we like plenty of space. The first thing we noticed on arrival was that everything was exactly as described on the website we had booked from. It was advertised as 5*, would we agree with that rating – definitely! The whole space was very roomy, light and airy, the garden area was spacious and well kept and the private heated pool looked so inviting. Decoration throughout was fresh and bright. The kitchen was perhaps over equipped with glassware, tableware for villa and pool area that was of very high quality. It was very well equipped with electrical appliances and had a separate utility area with washing machine and tumble dryer. The bedrooms were large and well appointed, each looking out on the pool area. The master bedroom that we used had a high vaulted ceiling, a separate dressing area, en suite bathroom, air conditioning, designer bedding and a memory foam mattress that was extremely comfortable and assured us of a good night’s sleep every night. The two other bedrooms had two single beds each, again with air conditioning. There were two bathrooms and a separate toilet that were very well equipped. One bathroom had a toilet and walk in shower that was very handy for my wife who has mobility problems. The other that was en suite with the main bedroom had a bath, toilet and bidet as well. Each area was spotlessly decorated in marble with really thick luxurious towels provided. The lounge was again very large with three settees, a very big flat screen TV with many Sky channels, DVD player with a multitude of DVD,s, internet router, X-Box with games and a CD player. There was also a separate atrium laid out as a dining area that got very hot during the day. The outside area was where we spent most of our time, mostly under a solid wood canopy that overlooked the pool that was heated at a comfortable 28-31 degrees each day and was cleaned and checked twice a week. There was also a huge dining table with eight solid wood chairs under the canopy as well as a rattan chair, table and settee set, all complete with cushions. The garden had lots of colour mainly from oleanders, bouganvilla and hibiscus that were all in full bloom. A barbecue area was also provided. While we spent most of our time at the villa just relaxing we did manage two days out in the main town of Playa Blanca where there was a multitude of different shops and restaurants that saw us enjoy a couple of good Tapas meals and a bag of souvenirs. The local area offered a range of restaurants, patisserie, small supermarkets that were quite well stocked and reasonably priced. These were all within five minutes of the villa. There was also a bus stop where the busses run every thirty minutes to the main town for a cost of 1.35 euros. A taxi back from the town cost 5 euros. We found that correspondence with the owner was very easy and she was extremely helpful and attentive both before and after our holiday. The manager of the property, Jayne, made contact early in the holiday, helped with a few queries we had and offered any support we might need during our stay. Everything was well organised so we had no need to bother them. The pool was cleaned and checked twice weekly and again we found the person who cleaned the pool very helpful and friendly. Overall it was an excellent holiday in a very well presented villa and we really hope to go back again soon.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Villa Carlara is a wonderful place to stay!”

Written on: 09/01/2012 by NellekedeWitt (1 review written)

We stayed at Ville Carlara over Christmas and New Year 2011. We had a wonderful time at this well maintained villa. The beds were wonderful, better than at home. Everything was in perfect working order. The kitchen and livingroom were wonderful, the paint on the walls was as good as any I´ve seen... I do not recognize the reviews that were made earlier at all! I read the earlier reviews just before leaving for Lanzarote and they scared the hell out of me. I opend the villa door with a heart pounding very loudly and... what a relief: everything I had hoped for and expected when booking the villa was behind it. Every guest that left a comment in the guestbook was very positive, a lot of people returning. Perfectly clean, very thick lucious towels, nice Molton Brown soap, a kitchen equipped with everything you might need, TV's/DVD's/Xbox/Wifi all ready and working. I would recommend this villa to anyone!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Guest's Response to NellekedeWitt's Review

Written on: 06/04/2012

Thanks for your review i was just looking at the villa and thinking how lovely it looked as i am looking for a villa for next month - I agree that theres no pleasing some people and every now and again people receive a bad review of their property it must be very disappointing to them i am a member of tripadvisor and always write an honest review of any holiday on my return your review has given me confidence to go ahead and book this villa and yes i to will write a true review on my return thank you Sue

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“this villa is made out to be wonderful, well i am...”

Written on: 10/11/2010

this villa is made out to be wonderful, well i am sorry but it is not at all luxury!!!!!!!!! maybe the owner would benefit from visiting her villa , we were told she rarely goes near. And you have no chance of getting your deposit back. She makes excuses up that you have caused damage, which is totally untrue. She is a very unpleasant person

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Maksipup's Comment

Written on: 24/06/2014

Well, either this review is for a different villa or it has improved remarkably with age! We found that the villa is exactly as advertised, communication with the owner was excellent both before and after our holiday and the whole experience was excellent. We hope to go back again soon.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★☆☆☆

“We stayed at Villa Carlara Playa Blanca Lanzarote for...”

Written on: 10/03/2010 by Robinsons50 (1 review written)

We stayed at Villa Carlara Playa Blanca Lanzarote for almost 5 weeks from 3 January 2010. When you live somewhere for a few weeks, you see the flaws more clearly than when staying for just one or two week's holiday trying to cram every activity in. Yes, this is a lovely luxurious villa with everything the photos say, but it could also benefit from some care and attention. For instance, all the walls, inside and out, could do with a coat of paint, many of the doors didn't shut, only one of five solar inside lights worked, the once-attractive artificial flowers were dirty and dusty and the ADSL internet connection advertised is in fact 3G wireless with poor reception. The glass atrium, absolutely brilliant on cool January days, leaks when it rains and the inside walls have orange and grey streaks from top to bottom as evidence of previous rain storms.

Now, we know that Lanzarote is a sub tropical island and cockroaches, ants, mosquitoes etc are commonplace; we have been renting villas on a long-stay basis on the island for quite a few years now. So, did we have an infestation of cockroaches at Villa Carlara, or were we just unlucky that the street drains were fumigated when we were there? We don't know, but it was certainly the two live cockroaches in our bed that brought matters to a head. Having discussed it at length (as you can imagine), we believe they had used the lovely floor-trailing Ralph Lauren bed valance as a climbing frame. Under the bed and in the folds of the valance had proved to be a favourite hiding place for cockroaches in previous days.

Regretfully we spent the last few days of our Lanzarote holiday in a local hotel.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Buntymarg's Response to Robinsons50's Review

Written on: 24/04/2010

I found this review very helpful because...It reflected exactly how we felt about the villa.
<br/>
<br/>It is tired an in urgent need of a makeover.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Maksipup's Response to Robinsons50's Review

Written on: 24/06/2014

Just spent ten days in the lovely villa. Every room was bright and fresh and we did not see one cockroach all the time we were there, either inside or out. While Jayne, who looks after the villa told us she would be there if we needed her, we had no need to call her as eveything was in working order and the villa is so well equipped. WI-FI was excellent and the signal only faded slightly when we were outside on the patio

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Timmy12's Response to Robinsons50's Review

Written on: 06/02/2011

I found this review very helpful because...it was an accurate review of the villa.
<br/>The owner in my view has no idea what this villa is really like, she has not been there for years.
<br/>Faro Park is well known for cockroaches, and this villa is no different, except for the fact that no action is taken

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

1Sunnygirl's Response to Robinsons50's Review

Written on: 21/07/2010

We are the owners of Carlara, and would like to advise that all decorating inside and out has been undertaken including the small rain leak in the Atrium. We had scheduled decorators for December 2009 on our normal maintenance schedule, but they had to rearrange another date; and I am pleased to say that they have been and the decorating has been finished inside and out. Mr Robinson did not complain about this.
<br/>
<br/>ADSL is a generic term for broadband internet, we supplied a card for a non fixed line. They regularly used the internet at the villa 'free of charge'. Mr Robinson did not complain about this.
<br/>
<br/>The solar lights are of a decorative nature inside the villa atrium planter, and sometimes do not get sunshine on their mini solar panels in the wintertime. Mr Robinson did not complain about these.
<br/>
<br/>The drains had been fumigated by the local council and as a result warned residents that sightings may occur for a short time, which is completly normal under those circumstances. Spray was provided. No other sightings have occurred. In fact guests that visited in March 2010 have rebooked for October 2010 and other recommendations have resulted in two other bookings.
<br/>
<br/>Mr & Mrs Robinson liked the villa so much that in their second week they emailed me to ask to stay for January 2011 for 4 weeks, but emailed back that my quote was 'too expensive', they wanted to pay the knocked down price they had this year. Even in their review they state: Yes, this is a lovely luxurious villa with everything the photos say.
<br/>
<br/>My managers attended to their every request, even going out and buying a washed clothes basket within 24 hrs of arrival for Mrs Robinson, so that she could carry the clean clothes from the new Bosch washing machine out to the patio to dry.
<br/>Also she requested that she have 5 teatowels a day, of which my managers made those available.
<br/>
<br/>They moved out for the last few days of their holiday but still found that the facilities of our villa were good, as they still came to our villa and continued to use the new Bosch washing machine and tumble dryer and facilities.
<br/>
<br/>The Robinsons negotiated a low price indeed for these weeks, knocking down the price at every opportunity. I would suggest that they are expert in what they do.
<br/>
<br/>1. The decorating, leak, and doors had not been complained about. But have been addressed & fixed and sorted as a matter of course by our regular maintenance programme for the villa.
<br/>
<br/>2. Our managers visited the villa about the sighting of 2 cockroach but they did personally did not see any, and left a can of spray, which most homes in tropical places have, and pointed out that the drains had been fumigated. No other guests have complained or seen any.
<br/>
<br/> 3. Mr Robinson asked for a price for the following year for 4 weeks. Had negotiated a very low price, for this 2010 stay and the 2011 price was not low enough in his opinion.
<br/>
<br/>The villa managers visited the Robinsons on at least 3 occasions just to sort out the tea towels and the washing basket that they wanted.
<br/>
<br/>This review came as a shock as I read this as we have other guests that visited in March 2010 rebooking for October 2010 and recommendations for another three bookings.
<br/>
<br/>I only came across this review when got out of hospital end of June 2010 and it has taken me 3 weeks to respond.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
Read 4 Comments
overview