Cut Price Car Rentals Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★☆☆☆☆
1.3 / 5
13% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Cut Price Car Rentals - Ask a question now

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

Showing star rating of:

(cancel refinement)
  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)
★☆☆☆☆

“BAD”

Written on: 13/07/2017 by Intin (1 review written)

We booked months ago to pick up at the airport and they cancelled 12 hours before. Via email which luckily I checked as we were flying from England. I tried to contact them with no response and luckily ended up hiring a car through Budget. Would not recommend booking through Cut Price Car Rentals… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Easy for them to take your money impossible for them...”

Written on: 28/04/2017 by 08Wilson (1 review written)

Easy for them to take your money impossible for them to return it. Shocking service have called over 12 times being told the person I dealt with from the legal team deals with refunds and will get back to me within 4 hours(8x) it's been a month now and nothing. Never use them. Was told by worker in Brisbane airport location the money would be in my account within 3 days and nothing(print out of email as proof).. out $220 and they won't even return a phone call. I have been nothing but polite… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Burton ”

Written on: 10/07/2016 by Jaylee412 (1 review written)

I booked a car for 4 June 2016 pick at 7.30 pm , We got there no people around to ask, we called two phones number which were off left who we were. Yes it was rainning hard but they new we were coming, Wait for hour then had rent other car at cost of $154.00 for 12 hours as friends were 40 km away.We got a call has we made it to friend house say we have come back the morning as it was to wet Went back in the morning drop first car off went Cut price rentals was told they sorry and would call… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“extremely bad expreience”

Written on: 30/03/2016

Horrible experience!! A complete mess. had to wait at the airport for 45 mins to get picked up from the airport. a total nightmare with a young child. but it doesn't end there. when we went to drop the car off we were cornered saying that car has been hit on the front bumper even though nothing was visible on the bumper. when we said nothing has happened to the car since we parked it every day in secure parking we were told" were you in the car 24/7". Then we were told he needs to speak to… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“horrible service ”

Written on: 21/08/2015 by Paulina1990 (1 review written)

I booked a van 3 month before our arrival and 1 week earlier I got an email says that we can not give you a new model and you ganna get the old model knowing that I paid extra, and they even would nt refund the difference back. horrible service, at the end I cancelled with them and I went with other car rental. pay extra for you peace of mind… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Very poor service....DO NOT USE!!!”

Written on: 17/04/2015 by AnthonyR2015 (1 review written)

We were told over the phone that the excess for the vehicle would be $3500 which we accepted, but when we got there the guy told us that we would be liable for full price of the vehicle plus a charge for every day the car was out of action!!! This was unacceptable so we walked away and decided to use another car rental place. They wouldn't give us a refund. The customer service of this company is shocking - The WORST I have ever experienced. They didn't respond to my complaint at all to begin… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Not professional at all”

Written on: 27/12/2014 by fayliu (1 review written)

Hi, I was a customer in the past, but this time round I was very dissapointed by the way they handle the rental process, when I made the booking and made it very clear that I am not going to be there pick up the car but my husband will, the sales person on the phone fail to inform me that whoever made the booking has the one to pick the car. When my husband went to pick the car at the gold coast office,the receptionist was not friendly and helpful, simply told my husband that i need to be there… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“DANGER TO YOUR FAMILY ”

Written on: 12/10/2014 by 187Zimmerman (1 review written)

Horrible customer service!!!! upon arrival we found the car to not be a late model as quoted. After paying for the vehicle in full & then being advised we had to inspect the car seat installation ourselves - the car seat was far from being installed properly or of good quality. The car seat could literally be pulled out of the car door without effort! After attempting fitment for a further 30 minutes we then tried a different car seat for 30 minutes without any proper assistance or luck as the… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Unscrupulous ”

Written on: 09/08/2014 by Smith1991 (1 review written)

DON'T USE THIS COMPANY-CUT PRICE CAR RENTALS BRISBANE! We were to visit relatives in Theodore 550 km from Brisbane in July 2014 and I telephoned them the month before telling them that I wanted a car for 10 days and that is where we would be driving it. They confirmed the booking by an email quoting $295.45 and attached a detailed list of conditions that I did not read, We were picked up promptly from the international airport and taken to their office 5 minutes away in transit telling our… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Terrible company”

Written on: 13/06/2014 by Simone450 (1 review written)

I was hesitant to rent from Cut Price after the negative reviews but decided to give it a chance. HUGE mistake . On the second day of our rental our car rolled to a stop in the middle of the highway because they apparently gave us a car without a gas cap. It was a really dangerous situation! Our car shook every time a car skimmed by us. They said they would be there within 30-45 minutes with a replacement car and it took 2 hours. They threatened to charge us $90 and when I objected they asked… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Never again”

Written on: 08/01/2014

I booked a tarago online for what appeared to be a good price. On collection of the car (10 years old and 278,000 kms on the clock)at the Gold Coast airport (which is located off-site and difficult to find) we were bullied into purchasing additional insurance. I declined the additional insurance and mentioned that I had travel insurance. I was told by Cut Price that the travel insurance would not cover any damage unless I took out the additonal insurance they were offering. I dusputed this and… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Ruthless and Deceptive”

Written on: 08/12/2013

I was searching for the review only after I used their service. I re-use the title from other site which I think it fits the company. Similar to many reviews from internet (just google it), I was rushed to pick up the car. when I returned it, I was told there was damage on the car. Then I was told that I would at least expect a call before being charged. THIS IS NOT TRUE, I found out from the transaction date and time. I was basically charged right after I returned the car. And when I called… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Extremely rude and unpleasant to deal with”

Written on: 08/11/2013

Don't expect any help or customer service from this company! They must be one miserable bunch working in there. I almost apologized for bothering them with my call as I received heavy sighs and snappy replies on the other end. Extremely poor customer service, you'd think they don't want to rent out cars cause it's too much hassle for them… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“NEVER EVER RENT FROM CUT PRICE CAR RENTAL”

Written on: 19/08/2013 by mychubbycheeks (1 review written)

I recently had a DISASTROUS EXPERIENCE with cut price car rentals. The unpleasant experience started from the time we picked up the car at Gold Coast outlet. On 15 July 2013, 0830am, we waited for more than half an hour before we were attended by their staff from their car boot (make shift office). After paying for the rental and excess charges to be locked in (we did not purchase insurance from them as we are covered by our travel insurance), the staff informed us that the car is ready, and… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Beware it will cost you more than you think!”

Written on: 26/03/2013

Total Rip off artists! These guys may be a little cheaper than the majors but you will pay for it in the long run. We hired a 12 seater van from cut price when we had some family in town last month and had nothing but problems. When you arrive instead of having an office, they work out of the back of a "claped out van" in the parking lot. From what we saw they don't maintain there vehicles and in ours the Aircon died with in the first 15 mins and half of the warning lights came on as well as… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Innocent24's Comment

Written on: 20/01/2014

By any chance was the rego of your car RBT 027? If it was, is there any way I can get in contact with you as we were charged for damage that I know was already there. Thanks.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Do not rent from this company ”

Written on: 20/06/2011 by karenc77 (1 review written)

I will never hire from this company again the car we hired a targo which are old and dated and not clean and smelt awful. We changed cars the women we had at the gold coast airport was nice as pie at first but when we had said look the car is not clean at all e.g. potato chips all in the back seat the front dash we could not see the speedo through all the dust the cup holders were all dirty and the car smelt awful we got one of the other staff members to smell it he told us it was the air… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“The car provided for rental was in very poor...”

Written on: 11/10/2010

The car provided for rental was in very poor condition, bordering on unroadworthy. I doubt that the vehicle would have passed any formal check. As an example, applying the foot-operated parking brake would not hold the vehicle on anything but the levelest of gradients. The first time the wipers were needed, the rubbers were incapable of clearing the windscreen and there was no feed from the washer fluid reservoir. On pulling into a gas station to manually clean the screen and fill the… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“They supplied us with a completely unsafe and...”

Written on: 18/03/2010

They supplied us with a completely unsafe and unroadworthy vehicle, having a completely bald tyre and faulty brakes. We then had to wait 3 hours with our 2 young children for a replacement vehicle. No apology was offered whatsoever. Worst car hire company we have ever dealt with... CHEAP & NASTY!!!… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“These people were the most useless car rental company...”

Written on: 12/01/2010

These people were the most useless car rental company I have ever encountered. We had a 50th birthday to attend in Noosa and booked a car for 7 days through them. We decided that leaving on the morning of the birthday gave us plenty of time to get up to Noosa from the GC as they offered a pick up service and told us they would collect us between 10:30 and 11 am. By 11:30 there was no pick up, after calling and asking where they were we were told they were on their way and would be at our house… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“This is a warning - don't book with this company....”

Written on: 05/01/2010 by bronnykay (1 review written)

This is a warning - don't book with this company. These people cancelled our booking 1 day before we were due to leave on our first decent holiday in 5 years. (we had booked 2 months earlier to ensure we had a people mover on the Gold Coast in January) They said they sent us emails but did not, so their server obviously drops out. Instead of phoning us they just cancelled and notified us at the last minute. When I called they were unbearably rude and smug and insisted they had sent emails and… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
overview