J E James Cycles Reviews - www.jejamescycles.co.uk

Click here if this is your business
★★★★☆
4.3 / 5
83% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Quality of service

  • Layout of shop

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
J E James Cycles www.jejamescycles.co.uk - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for J E James Cycles www.jejamescycles.co.uk

J E James Cycles www.jejamescycles.co.uk

Refine your search

Latest Reviews

★★★★★

“EBikes r us ”

Written on: 02/03/2022 by PeteLoz20 (1 review written)

Just called in je James Sheffield today to have a look for some E Bikes and how fantastic are je James so welcoming I wanted to buy a E bike right there and then the politeness body language and knowledge was top notch genuinely a top guy no question or ask was to much trouble made us both feel at ease with his expertise so we bought not one but two Giant E bikes and are really happy with our purchase and a massive thanks for all his help.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“My bike is broke 3 time for 5 mount, unbelievable! ”

Written on: 19/01/2022 by Edik (1 review written)

I bought bike merlin 7 track, but the bike broke after 45 days use, the shop dont wont make me refound or exchange i send it back to shop, they fix it. in email they said im hard driver, its not kids bike, its xxxl frame, and im 75kg its not impossible! After fix gone 2 mouth and its broke again with same problem exactly same problem, so for 5 mount its broke 2 time, dont buy it not recommend!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 1
★★★★★

“The workshop has a fantastic service!”

Written on: 25/11/2021

I have used JE JamesCycles Workshop Repair Service for a number of years now, what does that say? It's got to be good if I keep going back! The people there listen to what you have come in for and give good recommendations based on your individual requirements and tailored to your bike to ensure it is safe to ride. They are very knowledgeable, explained in detail and definitely know their bikes and maintenance! Good value too, offered great advice with a fast turnaround so as Dido would have sung 'I want to thank you...for fixing my bike' ~ ok I paraphrased there :-)

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Poor quality bikes ”

Written on: 13/11/2020 by Kamarii1965 (1 review written)

Was told by JE James that the bikes they sell are by far better quality than halfords, I bought my son a £500 giant mountain bike from JEJames and within 4 weeks chain was jammed behind the cog which bent 4 spokes and gears were skipping i took it back they tried charging me £60 and blamed my 11yr old for not looking after it (he only goes to school and back ) i refused to pay as I only bought it 4 weeks prior, he then said take it as a good will gesture and don't bring it back because we won't fix it again, lesson learnt..... stick to halfords they sell buy far better quality bikes as both my boys have had a couple of bikes from halfords and they've lasted a couple of yrs before needing any work .

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 1
★☆☆☆☆

“Bad service - don't bother with them.”

Written on: 19/05/2020 by Bernardz83 (1 review written)

I placed an order for 2 new inner tubes on the 18/4/20. There was nothing on the website to say that the product was not in stock or that there would be any delay with delivery. The weeks went by and nothing came. Tried to call them a couple of times and no reply. Eventually, on 6/5/20 I e mailed as I urgently need the inner tubes to fix my bike for transport reasons. I received no reply. On the 9/5/20 I escalated the complaint via paypal as by now I was looking to place an order elsewhere and wanted a refund. On 12/5/20, I received an e mail to say that they had had "stock issues" but this had now been resolved so it will be priority dispatch. At now stage between placing the order and raising the complaint with Paypal could James cycles be bothered to notify me of any stock delay. By now I had received 2x inner tubes from Wiggle. Their service was amazing, delivery within 2 days. I replied to James on 14/5/20 to say I didn't need the inner tubes now. Received no response to that. Despite this, on the 15/5/20 James posted out the order (some 3 days after they had said it would be priority dispatch!). They arrived today. To add insult to injury, the inner tubes from Wiggle were cheaper and are much better quality made in Vietnam product. The ones from James are inferior and made in China! Still, lesson learnt. Today I needed a new cycle helmet - did I even bother looking at James, no I don't think so, order for nearly £100 placed with Wiggle. James Cycles, absolutely shocking customer service - lots and lots of room for improvement.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 2
★★★★★

“Outstanding service.”

Written on: 10/11/2017 by Shyannes118 (1 review written)

Outstanding service. Tracked down a bike they had in stock and they suggested best to visit the store rather than post a £3k bike so they could make sure it was right for me, fit etc. Bit of a pain to get to Rotherham from London but well worth the trip. Outstanding service from the person I dealt with , amazing shop with more ranges of bikes to try than any of the large chains or my LBS. Great after care, no hard sells, mechanics had the bike prepped perfectly before I went. Agree with comments website needs work, but speak to someone or go and they're great.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“fantastic service and very knowledgeable staff”

Written on: 19/08/2016 by Coleman52 (1 review written)

I test rode a few E-MTB's at their Cyclefest event a couple of weekends ago and was very impressed with the Cube Nutrailo E-Bike 2016. I fell in love with it the minute I took it on their test trail through Lady Cannings plantation and decided that I needed one. I ordered it last Wednesday and it arrived from Holland and was safety checked and ready for collection by Friday mid-afternoon. The staff at the Sheffield store were very helpful and knowledgeable and told me everything I needed to know before I set off. I couldn't wait to jump on it and it exceeds all of my expectations I had. It is an incredible piece of kit and the ride is amazing both up and down hill. If anyone is thinking about an E-bike I would thoroughly recommend that you contact the team at Je James as they really do know their stuff olshoppers.com

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 1
★☆☆☆☆

“4 to 6 week service”

Written on: 18/03/2015 by Thomas2004 (1 review written)

Bought an Orange 5 bike on 02/01/2015 informed the salesman that as an a pensioner & a full time carer I would struggle to use the bike in January salesman was OK with that. Contacted JE James to bring bike in for service on 18th March only to be told I had missed the service window & there would be a charge, I pointed out that the bike was OK but required a brake fluid top up. I think to charge for that is PETTY

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 1
★☆☆☆☆

“terrible service.They dont answer Phone or mail”

Written on: 19/12/2014 by Vaughnr381 (1 review written)

If it was not for paypal service I would have lost several hundreds of punds.My best advice is to stay away from these unhelpfull People.They dont answer email or Phone.My worst nightmare turned out good Thanks to paypal custumer service.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Brilliant service”

Written on: 21/10/2014 by Humphries431 (1 review written)

I was unsure which size to order online but JE James folks sent me the sizing chart immediately and kindly accommodated a change to my order when I realised my mistake. I was kept updated on progress with the order and received it, well packed, in a couple of days.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“excellent service”

Written on: 02/09/2014 by andygiant (1 review written)

Just received a giant revel 2 2014 via internet purchase, it was unpacked and built very quickly and easily.it is present for my son so he is very happy riding around on his new bike.the price was superb, the comms, service, and delivery were spot on . No complaints at all I look forward to future business with yourselves.recommended seller. many thanks

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 1
★★★★★

“Excellent service all round”

Written on: 02/09/2014 by Meerkat.man (1 review written)

I have ordered bikes before on line from various other bike suppliers, but always encountered various niggles with either packaging or problems with the bikes. Not so with J E James, from start to finish everything went smoothly. The bike was very very well wrapped, delivery was excellent, and no problems with the bike after assembly. All in all 10 out of 10, and i will use them next time i buy a new bike.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Great choice and customer service”

Written on: 01/09/2014

I have recently purchased a bike from the J E James store in Rotherham and I have been very impressed with the choice of products and level of customer service I received. In search of an ideal bike I have visited 5 other stores and I can say the staff in this store was by a long mile the most helpful and knowledgeable. So much so that I returned to make the purchase in this store despite living in Derby. He has spent a long time with me letting me try out various bikes, advising on appropriate accessories and explaining in detail the cycle to work process without rushing me to make a decision. I ended up with a bike I love and will be using for years to come.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Thank you”

Written on: 01/08/2014

You had the rare part I was after in stock and at a reasonable price. It was delivered next day as promised, no nonsense. Thank you.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Supa swift service !”

Written on: 09/07/2014 by DougDoone (1 review written)

I needed the Giant XTC 24" mountain bike in time for my boys 10th which fell on a Wednesday. The order was placed online on the Friday before and arrived on the Monday. Which was nice...not bad considering the weekend in between. Well packaged, it needed light assemble but when it was assembled everything worked and ran true. Which was also nice... Good email communication and I could also speak to a human in just a couple of minuets. Which was...

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Broke my bike and blamed me, don't buy from them.”

Written on: 01/07/2014 by mhalliday (2 reviews written)

I bought a brand new bike from J E James Sheffield in January, it was ok apart from that the gears weren't adjusted properly and the back brakes didn't really stop me. I took it back for the six week service and asked them to check the gears and brakes, I don't think they did anything as they were in the same state after the service. I tolerated this for a while, but eventually took it back in. They changed the brake pads, telling me it was normal for brake pads to wear out after 4 months of cycling 25 miles a week, and charged me for it. Again, I don't think they did anything to the gears as they were just as bad, the front set of gears wouldn't change down to the lowest gear. So I took it in again. This time they did adjust the gears. After this adjustment, the first time I shifted into the lowest gear on the back set, the derailleur got swallowed up by the spokes on the back wheel and the whole mechanism sheared off. I don't see how it could be more obvious that this was a result of a poor adjustment of the gears. I had to carry the bike home and took it in the next day, a Thursday. They said they would fix it for me on the Saturday and were quite apologetic. I heard nothing over the weekend, so called them on Monday. They hadn't booked my bike in and had forgotten about it. They said they would try and fix it that day. A few hours later, I got a call saying they had found a scuff on the derailleur, and that therefore it wasn't covered by the warranty. They agreed that the damage could be caused by poor adjustment of gears, but would not accept that this was what happened, despite the fact that the damage happened the first time I used this gear after they adjusted it. After a big argument in the shop, they agreed not to charge me for the work, but completely denied their obvious responsibility for it, and told me that the work they did would not be covered by warranty. So overall I would say that the Sheffield workshop is completely untrustworthy. They don't do work they say they will, they forget to do work, when they do poor work they can't admit it and try to shift the blame to the customer. Very shoddy operation

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“AVOID: Useless, unhelpful and unknowledgable.”

Written on: 20/06/2014

JE James Cycles have been nothing but useless from the moment I ordered. For a start, they only had part of what I ordered in stock despite advertising as being in stock. To be incensed further, they were useless on the phone and were haphazard in the attempt to rectify the situation. To make matters worse, I had purchased a product that they recommended. However, upon eventually receiving the product, I quickly discovered that they were utter rubbish. I was quickly made very angry by the poor customer service by the unknowledgable, unhelpful and quite frankly rude staff who refused to do anything about my situation. I emplore all keen cyclists of mountain biking or road cycling descent to not trade with JE James. They do not have a clue and I believe truly trade off people who do not understand the product. I haven't bought a bike from them and never plan to as I imagine that they would completely ruin the order and then poorly assemble it. This is probably very poorly written, but it is the only time I have ever written a review and that is because JE James have been the worst company I have ever bought from in all areas of life (not just cycling). Do bikers a favour and do not purchase from them-I don't think they care about you.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“very helpful on phone and prompt delivery!”

Written on: 16/06/2014 by dairymilkmuncher (1 review written)

Excellent service, would definitely recommend. I rang to check how long delivery would take for a multi tool as I wanted it for my husband from the kids for fathers day and was debating whether to go for it or have it delivered (about 20miles away. The guy who I spoke to was really helpful on the phone, checked that they had it in stock and told me to order it on the internet and ring back with an order number. I did this, with no probs with the website. The guy said that hr would make sure I got it on time, and he certainly did that as it was dispatched later that day and arrived the day after. Thanks for the help, the reassurance, the prompt delivery, and the personal touch, not to mention of course the tool being excellent and just what he wanted. thanks.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“fantastic service”

Written on: 23/05/2014 by jon.matthews.754 (1 review written)

Can I just say that the service I received was excellent. Called a few days after I ordered my bike and the chap was very helpful in explaining the delivery process and the bike you guessed it was delivered as described. Cheers Jon

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“cube 160 order”

Written on: 07/05/2014 by Bradleywoggins (1 review written)

In hindsight i probably left it a little late to order the above bike. Jejames was one of the only stockists to still have any of these bikes left. Unfortunately due to stock availability I was given a date of 12/05 with my sons birthday being on the 09/05. Panic set in and I emailed customer services but obviously they could not promise anything. However the bike arrived 05/05 7 days early. Should have a vvery happy son on Friday. Thanks again for the customer service.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
overview