Birmingham Midshires Mortgage Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★☆☆☆☆
1.4 / 5
12% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Birmingham Midshires Mortgage - Ask a question now

Refine your search

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“Nobody answering phone on hold hour”

Written on: 25/10/2022 by Kench (1 review written)

Trying to speak to a member of staff concerning my. mortgage nobody answers funny how the mortgage increase letters always arrive on time though

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Raised interest payments on a fixed rate mortgage mid term”

Written on: 17/11/2021 by OliH (1 review written)

This lender decided to raise my monthly payments midway through my fixed term mortgage owing to changes going on within the company. Never had or heard of a lender doing this. Avoid this company.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Worst mortgage company in the world”

Written on: 18/08/2021 by Cannon165 (1 review written)

Worst mortgage company in the world. Anything owned by Lloyd's goes the same way. They take over great companies and then run them into the ground with poor service etc. As with all Lloyd's owned companies BM Solutions avoid answering the telephone, ignore emails, ignore letters are incompetent in the extreme. If it were not for the Government bail out money they get pumped into them they would have vanished thirty years ago. You must avoid this lot at all costs or they will either frustrate you or ruin you financially with their sheer and utter financial and business idiocy. Another fine mess Lloyd's has gotten itself into.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“mortgage valuation undervalued terribly”

Written on: 17/05/2021 by xxMoreno95 (1 review written)

We recently wanted to remortgage both our properties as the initial term was coming to an end.One property based in Eustace Road East Ham(4 bed) was valued at £430,000 in April 2016.Guess what, Birmingham Midshires valuer just visited the property on Friday 14/05/2021 and gave a valuation of £435,000 .He must be a very ignorant or inexperienced valuer as today Zoopla and neighbouring properties were sold for £475.000 onwards for a 3 bed and ours was a 4 bed with 2 bathroom with full renovations.Mortgage Works valued it at £430K in 2016 and commonsense would dictate that now its 2021 and should be valued around £525k to £550k Our second property is at Eton Road,similarly, the valuer got it wrong.Neighbouring houses were sold for £455k to £470K.He valued our house at £435,000 far below market value. Birmingham Midshires has lost a reliable good customer due to no fault of our own but due to their incompetent valuer

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Valued my property at £0 and refused to lend ”

Written on: 03/07/2017 by Dwyeruk249 (1 review written)

Rude customer service, spent 1hour and 50 minutes on the phone to them. Their valuation said my property was £0, estate agents valued at £320K. Their excuse was because only 4 people in the block owned their properties! Its ex council what do you expect! Not everyone can afford to buy their place! The money was to help my son buy his first home! I have no mortgage on my property either! What a joke. One week before completion i was told and the value was done two months ago. They accepted it was their fault i hadnt been informed sooner! AVOID AT ALL COSTS

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Terrible customer service”

Written on: 16/02/2017 by McCormickpi75 (1 review written)

Rude and unhelpful staff - wholeheartedly suggest to avoid.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Unjustified high valuation fees what a rip off”

Written on: 19/09/2015 by Welshow152 (1 review written)

Paid for a basic valuation to BM which consisted of 2 pages and cost £340. Arranged an independant homebuyers survey which was in much more detail and that cost the same. BM rip off. I'm going to another lender.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★☆☆☆

“No comunication, no help, extra costs unferified ”

Written on: 15/09/2015 by deepawel (1 review written)

We have been with BM for 15yrs, loads of problems, last year they even took us to court, which judge threw out. We recently received a letter telling us, our mortgage is due to run out with them in a year and they are adding an extra £150 per month to our re-payments, We keep writing asking to verify why they have added this extra cost for last year, still waiting for a reply. We don't telephone them anymore as their call centre is useless and they deny we ever made a phone call, so everything is sent recorded delivery. were still waiting for a sensible reply as to why extra cost per month.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Rudeness to the core ...stay clear”

Written on: 13/08/2015 by Byrne139 (1 review written)

Awful company who only got worse when I left them. On asking a very simple question I was subjected to the most ridiculous security questions ever..they expect you to have so much information to hand as it makes it impossible. ..no DOB..mother maiden name here...No instead a very rude unhelpful member of staff who didnt care if he could help or not. Simply the worse customer service team I've ever had to deal with. Stay away

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Stay away from this lot.....”

Written on: 01/01/2015 by Jaylae437 (1 review written)

I had a mortgage with these guys for 25 years which has just ended. During the course of the 25 years I found BM the worst people to deal with. They do not care about you. I was once told by one of their advisers we do not have any customers only people how owe them money, and you are treated as such even if you make your payments on time. They have the worst customer service I have come across and this is consistent year in year out, I should know I dealt with them for 25 years. If you can avoid dealing with these people please do so....

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“BULLYING, DEAF, NOT INTERESTED.”

Written on: 03/12/2014 by Agustinc426 (1 review written)

i am a 25 year. professional landlord in South Shields, one buy to let with B M, 2 loans over 10 years, £20k and £40k time to renew in August 2014., a bullying, god awful adviser cajoled, pushed until i renewed with a deal i didnt want. , I could not obtain an inteset only as before, only repayment , i ended up remortgaging one loan for 6 years at £450pcm and another for 8 years at £350 pcm, the rental income is only £650 pcm. i made an official complaint, had a long discussion with customer services , my complaint was upheld, then NOTHING, no action I allege I was mis-sold these mortgages. the lady only wanted to know how much i had at the end of a month so she could work out the shortest loan possible to suck it all up. I am making a complain to the financial obudsman, i asked for a copy of my interview, apparently that is not possible , only a written transcript of an hour long interview by phone. B M are an awful lender, I am workinh with a broker to get rid of them rgds totally cheesed off

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Highflyer123's Comment

Written on: 08/03/2019

Your lucky you did not get my Customer lack of service on 'their' payroll waist of my life !! ever heard of the left had having no clue what the right hand is doing, complete capitalism at work.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Disastrous”

Written on: 28/07/2014 by KennedyHernandez187 (1 review written)

We commenced a remortgage process with BM in September 2013. NEARLY A YEAR LATER AND WE STILL HAVE NOT COMPLETED THIS PROCESS. WE STILL HAVE NOT RECEIVED ANY MONEY FROM THEM. Communication is dreadful, information is lost, any excuse not to come up with the goods. They obviously couldn't care less about their customers. I feel we are being fobbed off by them. What about their own standards and code of practice??? There appear to be none. I have had to award one star to commence this review but I would have awarded nil stars if the system allowed. This company need to be investigated. Never again.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“DO NOT USE BMS!”

Written on: 18/07/2014 by JaelynO'Sullivan173 (1 review written)

Birmingham Midshires (or BM Solutions) is without doubt the worst company I have had to deal with. Do not use them at any cost. Even if they give you an interest rate that is 0%, do not use them, as it will cost you more in the end. A a mortgage company really only has one fundamental requirement and that is to deliver the mortgage funds on time so that your purchase can go ahead. Believe me you do not want the stress of paying penalties due to BMS incompetence. Even our solicitor agreed that they are the worst mortgage company he has had to deal with. BM did eventually come through with the funds 2 months after our completion date ...

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“DO NOT USE. THEY SHOULD COME WITH A HEALTH WARNING!”

Written on: 05/06/2014 by KoltonParks (1 review written)

We used BM for a self build. We have been waiting since December (6 months) for our final and last draw down of funds. They informed us the house would have to be complete before they would issue the last 10%. We explained that we needed the funds in order to complete the building work, obviously! Still no joy, they said we should have read the small print of the loan. This resulted in us having to borrow from family in order to complete the house. Our local planning dept passed the house as complete in March and issued a completion certificate. BM would not then accept the completion certificate from them and have requested more info from our architect who is totally bemused at the amount of times they are requesting the same information from him. He has never experienced anything like it. They have caused us so much stress, anxiety and embarrassment at having to ask family for help. This is our third self build and the last two were so straight forward compared to this. (They were through other lenders). We will never recommend them to anyone in the future as will our mortgage advisor who has lodged a formal complaint with them. DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY!!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

David.a.m.anderson's Comment

Written on: 06/06/2014

I quite agree.
Birmingham Midshires is the worst company I have ever had to deal with.
You have to constantly chase them for stage payments and each phone call takes forever as inevitably you are passed from one poorly trained idiot to another.
Information is lost or the wrong departments are informed and all the time as a self builder you have the stress of large payments to cover.
Sadly it seems that no other lenders are in this market and you have to use this frustrating and incompetent company.
I dread having to phone them as each stage is ready for payment as I know it will be the same series of mistakes and my stress levels go through the roof!!
If you have any other option then take it

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Smeggo1's Comment

Written on: 20/06/2014

Hello there,

i am currently in the exact same stage as yourselves. having gone through the exact same palava, i have now had to spend alot of extra money for them to turn around and then say sorry its not good enough! this company is horrendous and the people who work for them constantly have to ask there so called managers every question somebody poses. i have complained 2 times and its coming onto a 3rd now. i have demanded to leave them as soon as i have my money! DEFINITELY DONT USE THIS COMPANY!!!!!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 2 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“terrible”

Written on: 24/04/2014 by LeticiaHubbard461 (1 review written)

they approve the decision in principle do the survey and then refuse for no reason avoid you will save money

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Tomr58's Comment

Written on: 13/05/2014

My experience too. And there is nothing you can do.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Horrendous”

Written on: 22/04/2014 by 1970Woodward (1 review written)

I have several buy to let mortgages with this company and they are the worst communicators!!!! They send standard letters to letters I send them and prefer not to commit themselves in writing and don't address points that I make in my letters, preferring to phone 3 times a day! I was told by a customer representative that they were not a company that replied to correspondence, they preferred to speak on the phone to their customers, obviously avoiding a paper trail. Dealing with them is exhausting!!! Although I wouldn't be surprised if they were on a par with all other lenders!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Tomr58's Comment

Written on: 13/05/2014

My experience too. I'd so like to be able to cause them the grief and pain they caused me

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Rip off company”

Written on: 22/03/2014 by Phoenix83 (1 review written)

The process took three months and alway there is a reason for more checks. I was given an answer of yes for the mortgage offer then after a long period of time they said no to the offer for reasons I know not why. Paid for the valuation and other costs. Do not use this bank.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Tomr58's Comment

Written on: 13/05/2014

Does anyone have a good word for these clowns?

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“DO NOT USE; Terrible service, very unhelpful EXPENSIVE”

Written on: 02/12/2013

I cannot believe the experience I have gone through over the last 3 months: My mortgage adviser went through our requirements to purchase a house. We have a few small homes we rent out and completely own them and the house we wanted we required a 65% mortgage. Our initial application was accepted based on a 'buy to let' on this new house subject to lots of surveys etc. Everything was going smoothly (although taking ages) and just as we were near exchange on contracts, they decide that a small clause in the deeds limiting the type of person we could let to was not acceptable, this after we had paid out around £1500 in surveys, solicitors and they waited to the last second to tell us. We supplied information that we had a Tenant waiting to move in at full rate and 3 other people who wanted it. This made no difference. SO - we had to then arrange a 'buy to let' mortgage on the 3 house we already own to raise the same money for the house we wanted. Surveys and costs for all 3 houses and again at the very last minute say they don't like one of the clauses in your Tenancy Agreements that we have in our current houses. Something pathetic about not being sublet for the first 3 months - well the current tenants have been there far longer. They wanted an amendment made and signed by current tenants. ANYWAY to shorten the whole story every time you contact them IT WILL take you a minimum of 20 minutes to speak to someone and very often the line will be cut off before you get that far. THEN, you speak to someone who doesn't give a dam and makes you feel really bad, followed by being put through to a number of other departments who were all trained the same way. NOW if you need to amend even the tiniest thing they will then take '5 working days' to process this, or tell you that it is not acceptable, then after you think you've made it right, it will take 5 more working days THEN you exchange contracts allowing 9 days to completion to make sure their 5 working days are covered and you are told on the day of Completion that they want more info!!!!! YEP, you supply it and it will take 5 working days to process. You have broken your contract with the the vendors of property, they then break their contract and so on all along the chain. DO NOT USE BIRMINGHAM & MIDSHIRES FOR ANYTHING - otherwise any money you think you save on 'special deals' will be well lost after all the huge extra legal fees you will have to pay

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“BEWARE Worst mortgage lenders”

Written on: 23/11/2013 by star1111 (1 review written)

our financial adviser recommended bm to us as we were self employed,they took their administeration fee and valuation fee in advance and starting giving us trouble,accounts,proof od adresss,bank statement and soo much other stuff.We provided them everything they asked for but still they tried their best not to lend,their underwriter took weeks to go through the application and then they ask for more stuff and then another two weeks.They wasted our 3 months,we lost the property as they were taking too long to reply us.please think very carefully before chosing them

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Parkhan's Response to star1111's Review

Written on: 26/11/2013

what was your credit scoring

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“do not use them ”

Written on: 24/10/2013

hi worst customer service, irresponsible, waste of time DO NOT USE THEM

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Parkhan's Comment

Written on: 26/11/2013

why? what experiance did u have

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

overview