Hastings Direct Car Insurance Reviews - hastingsdirect.com

Hastings Direct Car Insurance Reviews - hastingsdirect.com
★★★★☆
4.0
84.0% of users recommend this
  • Customer Service

  • Value For Money

Media Gallery for Hastings Direct Car Insurance Reviews - hastingsdirect.com

Latest Reviews

“Really POOR service in just 5 days”

★☆☆☆☆

written by LilianFitch390 on 21/06/2024

Unfortunately we havent had a great experience with Hastings. We took out the insurance 5 days ago for my 18 year old daughter. On Monday, she dropped back some library books to her college in Islington and picked up a couple of friends to go shopping in Westfield shopping centre white city. There was a lot of traffic and her friends were using her phone to add to playlists on spotify. The next day, she opened the app and it was reporting 2 things: - 1 excessive phone use whilst driving (although she personally never touched her phone once) - 2 excessive cornering. This was being reported as she was driving down the exit ramp from the 6th floor on the car park. She had no choice but to come down in a spiral, there was no otherway to drive to but to do constant cornering. We called Hastings as her driving score had dropped to 56% and we were obviously concerned and unfortunately spoke to someone. I queried with him how the app works, was it using the internal gyroscope in the phone, he said it was. I said what if the phone drops out of the holder is that recorded as use? He said it would. I asked what if my daughter pulled over and set a new sat nav journey and then drove off, how can it differentiate between this action and messing with the phone in traffic? He said it doesnt and it would be classed as using it whilst driving. I asked if we could therefore just get a second phone to connect the blackbox to as she doesnt use the phone whilst driving and it would prevent these issues, he said that it was against the rules. I said that I had actually asked her on live chat about that and she said we coud. He said you cant. I said can you just show me where in the policy it says you cant, and he said that it couldnt off the top of his head, but its not allowed. I said overall it was outrageous but that we would just get a second phone to connect to spotify so at least her friends can choose music and that interaction wouldnt be recorded. We came off the call. within about 10 minutes we had a notification in the app stating that our insurance was cancelled. We immediately called him back and asked him what was going on. He said that have tried to maniupulate the data. I said we have done no such thing, we asked questions, I queried that we had been told otherwise and that it was not in the policy but at the end of the call we agreed to just get another phone for spotify. he said that would be allowed but its too late now as telematics have cancelled it based off what he had reported to him. He said that we told him multiple times that we would get another phone for the app. I retirated to him that I had not said that but queried getting another phone, as we had been told we could. And that at the end of the call we said we'd just do it for spoitfy. he said well you told me otherwise mutliple times, and I said yes but at the end that was the compromise that we were going with. I asked to speak to a manager, he said no one was available. I asked to speak to the telematics team, he said theyre not customer facing. I asked to raise a complaint which he said he had done and I have a raised a separate one on the website. Overall however our insurance has been cancelled for not ACTUALLY doing anything wrong, just asking and being honest and open about what was and wasnt allowed under the policy. He for some reason took it upon himself to report only part of our conversation but not the end part, which was that we would just ensure that my daughters friends used a different phone for the music. Overall I have found this service to be really poor. He needs training and to listen and help. His actions actually felt malicious. I do not believe it is lawful or within any policies that you can cancel a policy based on his THINKING we might do something that we asked about being possible. How can this be right? I bet there are loads of people just getting a second phone and attaching the app to that from the outset that you dont even know about. At least we were honest and asked the question!

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Shocking!!!”

★☆☆☆☆

written by busby1987 on 24/05/2024

So a Hastings policy holder writes my car off... My vehicle is a personal lease where the registered owner is the finance company and the keeper is me My finance company wanted £21k to settle and the market value of the Vehicle is £25k I've made 19 payments of £334 plus a £3k deposit for the vehicle in question and Hastings have stated that because I'm not the keeper I am not owed the £4k difference meaning I have lost the £3k deposit paid plus the deposit I've had to pay on a new vehicle of the same value after the HASTINGS policy holder wrote mine off!! What kind of insurance company is this? Terrible one it seems Do the right thing Hastings or I'll see you in court!

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Awful experience”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Andyuigwfe on 11/04/2024

After taking out a car insurance policy and providing the anticipated mileage for the year, I was contacted by them and accused of lying about my annual mileage expectations. They had looked back over other car insurance quotes I had run in the past and because I had run a number of quotes to find the best deal they accused me of lying. When I explained I was sure of my maximum anticipated mileage and was happy to not be covered if I exceeded it they still wouldn't let it drop. Then I was accused of lying about when I bought the car. I estimated it to be in February 3 years ago but they claim to have run a credit check and know I bought it on 22nd Jan. First of all, I bought it for cash so there is no way a credit checked showed anything. And why does being 9 days out on the purchase date from 3 years ago affect this years insurance policy! After 10 minutes of being talked to like a criminal I asked to cancel the policy with immediate effect as I was so annoyed at the way I was being treated. They have now cancelled the policy are claiming on the cancellation notice that it is because I failed to provide them with details of my annual mileage. This is an outright lie! The policy was cancelled at my request. I have been charged absurd cancellations fees and feel that they never wanted my business in the first place and were looking to find a reason to cancel the policy just so they could keep the fees without providing cover, it felt like the kind of thing a sham company would do to take your cash without providing the service.

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Worst company ever do not insure ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Naeemyc on 02/04/2024

Id advise anyone to not insure with Hastings direct they are shammers, customer service is really bad, and everyone you speak to is quick to pass the buck and nothing gets resolved.they will take your money quick time but if you have an issue then it's your fault and will cancel your insurance.i would never recommend these guys to anyone. My advice stay well clear of Hastings direct

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Abusive cancellation of my policy!!!”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Catalin84 on 09/02/2024

Please avoid!!!!Run as fast as you can! I had a policy with them for more than 7 months. Last week they decided that they meed more information regarding my details. I sent the requested details and they decided to cancel my policy because the car purchase date from their records is different -1 year from the date from V5. They said that they can't update this in their records and they will cancel my policy in 7 days.They will charge me also a cancellation fee of £45 , but my policy will not appear as cancelled in the insurance companies database. Abusive attitude, abusive cancellation, please avoid

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Disgusting treatment of existing customer”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Musclemanrambo1 on 27/01/2024

Totally disgusted with there service refused to renew my car ins .just informed me that it was based on certain factors I've poss theft in my area .make of car etc .of which none of these apply to me .and then went on to say they can't see any specific reason in my case but wont renew it .in my opinion the only thing that has changed is my age .is that the reason but are hiding behind excuses so as not to be seen as ageist.avoid this company or risk being dumped for no reason

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Never ever again ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Carmend20 on 08/08/2023

Cancelation fee was suddenly £80 and not £45 I rejected car I bought from big world motoring due to major faults and had to cancel insurance in 20 days.

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Hastings Direct Limited is limited indeed!”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Hastentoavoid on 19/07/2023

Hastings Direct cancelled my car insurance policy (for which I am most appreciative) because of "issues with my data," which I was expected to "resolve." These issues were not specified. In fact, the company's communication was no less rude than unhelpful.

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Don't stay”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Jasmine448 on 15/06/2023

Had van insurance with Hastings direct, changed my insurance to a car policy and was told to cancel my original insurance policy, van business insurance was £200, on getting car insurance with Hastings direct for a smaller engine carwas quoted £347, having got back home done a quick comparison site check and got a quote for £195, cancelled with Hastings direct and would never advise anyone to use this company trick merchants, these companies should look after there customers rather than chasing them to competitors, if I was offered something around £200 I would have stayed loyal, pity Hastings direct don't know the meaning of loyalty

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Disappointing Experience with Hasting Direct”

★☆☆☆☆

written by KCNG on 28/05/2023

Disappointing Experience with Hasting Direct - Unreliable App, Poor Customer Service, and Policy Cancellation Unreliable Mobile App: I hold two policies for my two cars and attempted to link them to the mobile app. However, it became apparent that your app does not support the simultaneous connection of multiple tabs. This limitation makes it incredibly inconvenient for customers like myself who have multiple policies with your company. Lack of Response: Despite contacting your customer support team to report this problem, I received no response for three days. This lack of communication is concerning and reflects poorly on your commitment to customer service. Poor Customer Service: During a phone call with one of your customer service representatives, I experienced a notable decline in the quality of the call, making it difficult to understand the agent. When I requested clarification, the representative displayed impatience and a lack of willingness to assist me adequately. Unjust Policy Cancellation: To my disbelief, without any investigation or effort to rectify the issues I raised, my policy was abruptly canceled. This decision was made without consideration for the inconveniences I faced or any attempt to find a resolution. It is disheartening to see that a company that promises quality service and reliability has failed to deliver on its commitments.

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“£20 shorter thanks to Hastings Direct autorenewing my...”

★☆☆☆☆

written by StefansReview on 16/03/2023

£20 shorter thanks to Hastings Direct autorenewing my policy and then charging me for them having to cancel a policy I didn't want in the first place. It might be legal but just plain and simply wrong. I had to make an online search for the phone number as it was impossible to find on their own website. That in itself shows how much they are interested in their customers once the sale is done. Never going anywhere near this company again

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“sad so sad”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Arrowthorn on 14/09/2021

Dear Sir I am writing again as I do not seem to be getting through to your company I started a complaint with your company, and they failed to resolver, so I have been to resolver it get it sorted out . My problems started in 22/04.2021 when I could not access my detail as they had the policy number you can see this from the resolver case file. When I emailed for help, this fell upon deaf ears, so I tried calling on the telephone I was pushed round your systems put on hold and in the end just dropped . I needed to contact you to tell you I have sold the car and now have another, believe me I tried and tried but to no avail So I went to one call for my insurance, they were only too happy to help I was left with the problem of your company not talking to me. The resolver case run to end as no answers were made by your company and the case has now been passed to the insurance ombudsman I am now thinking I will contact Financial Conduct Authority via ABI your regulator as I can not let this continue. I now find you have renewed my insurance without checking with me and taken money from my account and I did write to you and told you could not access my data as I want nothing more to do with you your company however does what it wants . I contacted the Police, they seemed not very interested in my case, I will however will push it. I will be posting this to you as a mater of curtsey I will list the details I will be pressing for 1 failed to deal with any aspect of my complaint 2 I was unable to use your system because you have not put the right details in it 3 You have not refunded any money as you have sold me goods not fit for service 4 you have taken money from my account taken I use that term as I sill have a active complaint with you and the insurance ombudsman so why would I renew any policy with you. 5 You did not check I was still entitled to drive when you took the money I may have been disqualified or had heath issues that means you have not paid due diligence All I wanted was to get rid of your rubbish service now I am faced with taken legal redress in the small claims court and social media. When I complained about the money taken from my account you answer was unacceptable, I shall be posting you and I hope you want to avoid me taking acction in the courts

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Sharing as people need to be warned”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Robyn789 on 02/07/2021

Hastings Direct I feel that I have received absolutely awful customer service from Hastings. I have never had an accident before, and we all hope that we will never have to use our car insurers, but that if we ever do it will be a simple process (words used by Hastings themselves when I called)...that is what we pay for after all. Unfortunately I had an accident in May and the process was anything but simple, thanks to the failings of Hastings. To start off with my number was taken down incorrectly by the call handler (despite re-confirming the correct number) and I was left waiting by the roadside for over 6 hours. There was no where around for me to walk to get a drink/food or any toilets within walking distance. I waited so long for help that I actually ended up in a humiliating situation (I don't want to share exactly what due to privacy, but Hastings are aware of what happened). Hastings have been awful from start to finish. I even gave my correct contact number to the person dealing with my complaint, yet it was still wrong on Hastings system. I didn't realise this until I received an email weeks later, asking why I hadn't responded to the valuation offer. I rang to update my number and later that day I received the texts that I should have received on the day of the accident. Bringing back the awful memory. My accident was on the 22nd of May and I received the texts on the 15th of June!! I have been contacted daily by Hastings to ask why I haven't accepted the valuation offer for my vehicle, despite me ringing to explain I was waiting for my complaint to be reviewed first and sending several emails to explain the same thing, with no response from Hastings whatsoever, just the same call every single day asking if I had received the valuation offer. The person dealing with my complaint even replied to say that I had given the wrong number to the call handler, however the number they said I gave incorrectly IS my correct number! The last email I received from Hastings was from the person dealing with my complaint, who assured me that the added information I gave would be looked into. I discovered when ringing to chase this up after hearing nothing, that Hastings had closed my complaint without telling me and without reaching a conclusion. I even rang Hastings and spoke to someone to tell them why I wasn't accepting the valuation offer and they didn't tell me that my complaint had been closed either. The communication has been terrible between Hastings themselves and Hastings to myself. I requested that Hastings absorb the remaining costs of my policy (which doesn't even equate to £250) due to their continued failings with my case, as I will not get a vehicle within the 30 day period they allow, but I have been informed that they cannot do this. I would avoid in the future!!!! Worst customer service I have ever had the displeasure of dealing with. I am a nurse working through a stressful pandemic, and this was the very last thing I needed. It's the last thing that anyone needs, which is why I'm sharing my experience. Take care everyone ❤

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Awful company who extort money out of existing...”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Mrs_LC on 25/02/2021

Awful company who extort money out of existing customers. Long story short, they offered me a renewal price, I declined & purchased elsewhere. They informed me everyone has a 14 day cooling off period and magically beat my renewal price by £100. I cancelled my new policy I’d purchased, got a refund and renewed with Hastings. They then waited until AFTER their 14 day cooling off period to try and find a loop hole in my policy price and charged me an extra £98! So exactly what they wanted in their renewal in the first place. I have sent 3 emails asking them to contact me about this and have been ignored after trying to phone and being on perpetual hold. They have not responded to ONE email and still took my money.

Was this review helpful? 1 0

“DO NOT TOUCH they charge for anything and everything...”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Maxwelldg35 on 04/12/2020

DO NOT TOUCH they charge for anything and everything even the 14 day cancellation rights will see you lose cash, you'll buy online then they'll increase price AND charge you for privilege, they are evil, absolutely disgusted, then told me leaving reviews is against their spamming policy, none of them care, yay capitalism, so I am stuck for one year even though in my 14 days as will still charge things to cancel within it and I do not mean just the 8 days cover etc, of course they chuck out cheapest quote but will then hunt for any stupid reason to change price after purchase cos that gets em a change policy fee too! so you cannot trust quote price one bit! Evil company

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Avoid - No Help when you really need it ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 28/02/2020

Involved in accident, Hastings assumed I was at fault without any discussion or evidence, even though they were MY insurer not the other party. Police later prosecuted other driver for causing accident and he was found guilty, but Hastings still refuse to change it to non-fault, saying it’s unlikely they would win in court? Go figure, won’t be going near them in the future...

Was this review helpful? 1 0

“night mare ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by ShawnPurcell1959 on 22/02/2020

Completely night mare , customer service terrible , afther making policy and finishing payment , emails coming thru asking details with non time very rushed , they will do effort to find a minimal error like my one (drive licence for 16 years and in fact was 18 yeas ) for that mistake that dosent compromise in nothing the policy they wonted to charge 50 pounds but they will go up side down to find something to emend and then charge , after asking to cancel policy I was charged 20 pounds once I still on 15 days period other wise 45 pounds for nothing ... I ask to speak with a manager no one there no manager obviously unsupervised company .I did prefer to pay 20 pounds a finish all the business with HASTINGS .

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Terrible Customer Service”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Tuckerxe1994 on 19/02/2020

Tried to add my partner to my car policy with Hastings Direct, but was unable to, but they told me I could take out a new policy with them for over £500 plus a cancellation fee despite the fact I had paid 12 month premium in advance. Worst customer retention policy ever.

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Blackmailed into buying additional insurance cover”

★★☆☆☆

written by Daddybuck on 13/02/2020

I transferred my car and home insurance to Hastings direct in January 2020 as they were the most competitive competitive on line and although had some poor reviews were a well known provider. I called to ask about adding a specific item to my home policy valued above the £1500 limit, and asked for a quote. I was given the quote at an additional £60 (almost) when the insurance for my whole home and contents, with all the bells and whistles was only £160. I was also informed that none of my property was covered away from home - when i had specified initially i wanted cover. I informed them that I did not wish to pay such an amount as i could get specific insurance for £9 for the item. I was then informed that because i had made the enquiry, and i was now a 'higher risk' if i failed to pay them the fee - and £20 adjustment, they would cancel my insurance immediately. This is blackmail of the lowest kind. I totally accept that companies need to cover costs and reduce risks, however, it is my choice whether to take on additional insurance. Hastings took that decision from me and forced me to pay extortionate fees or risk a cancelled policy. Surely this is not professional or ethical practice. So beware- if you call seeking advice on specialist items to be added - and ask for a quote only - they will back you into a corner. I could have let them cancel my home policy there and them. I accept that, but this would cause inconvenience and delays and I would have had to acknowledge I had had a policy cancelled by an insurance company - and that would have increased the new company bill as well. I was left with no choice but to pay. And was then informed they would use my card for auto renewals. WRONG. I will never use them again, purely on the fact of unethical practice, even if they provide the cheapest service and a reasonable product. This is one customer they have lost - but they dont care for the little people.

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Cancelled insurance”

★☆☆☆☆

written by 285McKnight on 02/01/2020

Insurance was paid for and then cancelled by text because Of ‘online activity’. This was changing my occupation from ‘unable to work due to disability’ to ‘retired’ - both of which are true. This was via a comparisons website, and something we are advised to do as consumers. No apology, they are keeping £20 of my money and my credit rating is permanently affected. Complaints have got no where. How is this legal?

Was this review helpful? 0 0

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Before posting your question please check to see that it has not already been asked.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

Asked by LindseyBFMVfan on 6th March 2015 Report this content
I have just bought my first car. My test is in a months time but I want to be able to learn for the next few weeks in my car. What am I likely to be charged to change my policy from a provisional driving license to a full driving license? Thanks

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (4)
Report this content Takahiro Written on: 06/03/2015
Sorry I have absolutely no idea what/if any kind of charge that might be. I'm no longer with Hastings and I only bought my first car after passing my test so I've never had to do that. I would suggest giving their customer services a quick ring to ask about it, it'll be the most reliable answer.
Report this content vern45 Written on: 06/03/2015
Yes sorry I think too you will have to call their customer service dept. although I would not think that is classed as a change of details as such, address ,vehicle change etc all cost you a whopping 30 quid
Report this content John_e_Fox Written on: 06/03/2015
It's very difficult to say what you will be charged as all insurance companies and policies are different. What I can say is that you are very likely to see an increase in your premium because a driver on a provisional license is supervised and seen to be a lower risk than one setting off alone for the first time. When my daughter learned to drive she was a named driver on one of my policies and when she passed her test the premium went up by about 7% - but that was not with Hastings and of course every policy has different excesses and options such as protected NCD, etc. And even apparently similar policies can be priced very differently. All you can do is ask for a quote really! Hope this is of some use. John.
Report this content aceflyer Written on: 11/03/2015
just phone Hastings they are always helpful.
See All Answers
overview