Countrywide Surveyors Reviews

Countrywide Surveyors
★☆☆☆☆
1.3
8.0% of users recommend this
? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Countrywide Surveyors - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Countrywide Surveyors

Refine your search

Latest Reviews

“Condemned my 1900 home ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by CarolineJeffrey on 11/04/2024

Countrywide surveyors condemned my early 1900 home to the point my buyer pulled out. Not impressed very unprofessional

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Ridiculous valuation. Unfriendly surveyor. ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by 55Fraser on 13/06/2023

Ridiculous valuation was was inconsistent with a recent RICS survey conducted for help to buy purposes, inconsistent with 3 x quotes from real estate agents and inconsistent with recent property sales in the same building.

Was this review helpful? 2 0

“Incompetent staff”

★☆☆☆☆

written by becca12111 on 21/04/2023

I got a quote for a level 3 survey, after being contacted many times by phone and email by them, I emailed the agent back when I was ready to book, she phoned me off the back of the email(so had all my information in front of her!!), when booking she mixed up my information with someone else and all the information was wrong and she was claiming someone else had emailed me a quote for level 3 as it was not here so I read the email out she had sent me to her, and even though we went through it all on the phone she didn't bother to change anything meaning the receipt with my bank details was sent to someone else, I didn't get confirmation and had to chase. They then forwarded the email sent to the wrong person to me meaning I got someone else's contact details and address! I called up to get everything correct again. The survey was then carried out and sent to me with someone else's name on, there was just no words!!! The survey then had to be checked and done again. Whilst the complaint was open I was contacted by someone to book my survey in!!! The incompetence of the staff member that booked it in, the GDPR breech and being contacted again was all raised in a complaint and their response was a pathetic apology stating she mixed my case up with someone else with no reason to why she failed to updated the information on 3 occasions I spoke with her and gave me £50, absolute joke!

Was this review helpful? 1 0

“AVOID ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Cassandra162 on 19/04/2023

If a zero star was available i would have picked that. Absolutely appauling company - untrue or just blatantly thick. Couldnt even distinguish the difference between a gas and electric fire or a resin or tarmac drive. Laughable! May aswell not have a Complaints procedure they just fob you off. Lost me the sale on my house due to inaccurate representation of my house. AVOID!

Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Terrible ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 06/03/2023

Worst customer service I have ever experienced. Just wanted to sell extra products and didn’t want care about anything else. Very unhelpful. Would not recommend and would never use again.

Was this review helpful? 0 1

“Don't waste your money”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Jaceyy428 on 28/12/2022

Countrywide did a Level 2 Survey on our property and missed two major defects which cost us £17,000 to rectify. Their internal complaints procedure gets you absolutely nowhere and ultimately ends up with you going to the CEDR. I thought the independent CEDR might be a bit more sensible but how wrong was I - according to them in order for us to prove our case we needed our own photographs of the property on the day it was inspected showing the exact issues we have raised, an impossible thing for us to provide. Do yourself a favour and go round with them so you can take your own photographs because when things go wrong, which they will, it may be the only thing that saves you.

Amop's Comment

Written on: 14/09/2023

Wish I’d seen this before my experience with them, absolutely the worst surveying service I have ever dealt with bar none. AVOID

Reply to this comment
Was this review helpful? 2 1

“Unhelpful and misleading,now going to dispute resolution”

★☆☆☆☆

written by PhilES1968 on 12/08/2022

Having to escalate a complaint about CW surveyors, who dont even bother to follow their own internal complaints procedure and do not bother to enter dialogue with paying customers. Gave inconsistent and misleading information over a 3 month period, they do not communicate and do not offer any customer service to support a homeowner. Take an arrogant approach and, once they have your money, appear not to care. Allowed a simple customer service question to become a major delay.

Was this review helpful? 3 1

“Ruining lives”

★☆☆☆☆

written by HailieMueller1959 on 10/08/2022

I had three estate agents value our property before settling in the middle. We got an offer for the asking price, at 124,500 - barely anything for a decent first time buyer property these days. The buyers valuation survey came back at 115,000 - this is what we paid for it in 2007!!! While prices have increased, it is not realistic that the property hasn't increased in value in 15 years. It's in good condition, no issues raised on the buyers full survey. I'm trying to escape an abusive ex, which this down valuation has trapped me, having been trying to escape as a northern rock mortgage prisoner for the last 14 years. It's been my first chance of escape. This valuation doesn't even cover my selling fees alongside the mortgage, as we were trapped on interest only all this time. Seriously, this is ruining lives behind the scenes.

Was this review helpful? 4 1

“Disgusting ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Collinsgn88 on 16/06/2022

I had my house valued by 2 local estate agents at 180k to 190k so I decided to remortgage and release some funds. 3 bed semi detached with double drive corner garden and rear garden at over 120ft kitchen with a oak carcass stair case solid oak rails ect done to a decent standard The surveyor turned up and more interested in the house at the back of my garden which is a concrete pre fab building mine is not it’s solid brick A week later I get a email from the bank saying the house is as only valued at 150k which shocked me because of the previous valuations. They told me because they have only been one sale on the road in the last 12months a house totally different to mine which sold for 160k and with current climate that house has increased value by 10% Which makes no sense to mine whatever I would avoid the company at all cost shocked they are still able to operate with he reviewes they have. Must get off and destroying peoples hopes

Was this review helpful? 3 1

“ZERO stars !!”

★☆☆☆☆

written by BTLking on 13/06/2022

ZERO stars !! I had 2 BTL properties valued by these clowns this month (June 2022). One flat was valued at the same price it was valued 3 years ago and the rental potential was the same as 3 years ago,shocking. My 3 bed house was valued just 5k more than it was originally purchased in 2018. Hard to believe why some lenders still use them. They got 203 one star reviews here, and most would have been ZERO if allowed. Just unbelievable.

Was this review helpful? 2 1

“Mortgage offer lost due to slow response ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 09/06/2022

Having found a mortgage with good rates countrywide were asked by the lender to survey the property. Surveyor stated he would have the report completed that night. It took Countrywide 32 calendar days to send the report having been chased on 3 occasions by our advisor. The report consisted of 4 lines littered with grammatical errors and spelling mistakes advising a structural survey. This was completed sent to Countrywide by our lender who failed to act and return. As a result we lost a highly competitive mortgage and due to time returned to our current variable rate. I would avoid this company at all costs.

Nalaf's Comment

Written on: 09/06/2022

The exact same happened to us.

Reply to this comment
Was this review helpful? 3 1

“massive undervalued”

★☆☆☆☆

written by didave75 on 26/05/2022

2 bedroom property valued at 130/135 by estate agents accepted a offer of 140 estate agents said ours was best property he'd seen on this estate countrywide surveyor turns up was here less than 30mins valued it at under 125 was totally shocked at to put our home on sale again lost out on a property we were going to buy estate agents said they were shocked by the valution also horrible company!!!

Was this review helpful? 2 1

“Just plain awful ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by alkancsn on 14/04/2022

Kept me waiting with no update for four and a half hours for a mortgage valuation. No nicety. Tried to explain we had just had 3 full price offers on our flat. Not interested. Valuation can only be done on completed comparable sales. . Explain there were nine. Flat upstairs just completed but not yet on land registry. Not interested. Not professional brusque and lacking any sort of awareness of how unpleasant she was being. Bring civil costs nothing and a degree of empathy even if is insincere goes a long way. Given they were being paid they could at least been a little less direct. Awful experience that I’ll follow up on if it interferes with my plans. If you do have the misfortune to have to deal with them expect nothing because that’s exactly what you’ll get. Not worth giving then the time of day Never ever pay for their services as you’ll get something that has little relevance to the property ring valued it’s condition or it’s proven value. If there are no recent comparable sales what they valuing on certainly not. Interested proven market interest. Rude arrogant and couldn’t care less that’s this company

Was this review helpful? 2 1

“Read Reviews First”

★☆☆☆☆

written by CynthiaTennant on 18/03/2022

We at lower end of market selling one bed flat with own entrance large hall, 100ft garden with summer house we put in, Full refurb central heating the lot in a good area.Had valuers from other company's between £100,000 and £130.000, picked country wise who valued at £110.000, sold first viewer who said best property in price bracket they had been viewing for weeks. Country wise valuer came round hardly looked at anything, knew we were in trouble when she said it's only one bed flat,took a picture of kitchen window and went and valued at £85,000. Dumbfounded### buyer fled to the hills,and it looks like we will lose property we were buying.Don't go near them.

Was this review helpful? 6 1

“Incompetence is key with this lot ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Srees92 on 16/03/2022

Massively undervalued a property we are looking to purchase risking us loosing our mortgage, we told our nationwide mortgage adviser they would do this weeks before carrying out the valuation as we have had bad experiences with them before. Awful company, will be reporting to RICS and have a made a formal complaint to nationwide

Was this review helpful? 6 1

“3 different State agents valued my house £290k to £300k ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Connolly288 on 10/02/2022

Josep cliff who undervalued my house 3 different State agent valued my house £290k to £300k bought the house one year ago £210k 3 bedrom with one bathroom in bad condition I done extension extra bathroom downstairs extra 1 bedrom big kitchen whole house Refurb to high quality new windows whole house new fire doors whole house been done with fireproof plasterboards now it’s 4 bedrom house 2 bathrooms £11k kitchen £7k new windows spend £55k on the house to countrywide comes and undervalue my house stay way from this people I phone state agents telling them about countrywide valued my house £205k the shocked the got buyer for my house £295k stay way from this people and company

Was this review helpful? 4 1

“awful ,keep away”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Jones321 on 15/01/2022

my house was valued at 195,000 , others in area sold for 220,000 they had a drive (we don't) we then lowered it as the market went slow and we found our dream house. The estate agents advised us to put it at offers over 180,000 and said we would get 185,000/190,000 , we got offered 181,000 by a guy who we discovered was buying it to let, we accept the offer. Then Countrywide send a surveyer he tells me all hes doing is checking room sizes and hes not actually doing a survey,he says all looks ok and will check ours against similar sold in area.Then comes back with a valuation of 170,000....absolute joke . should be no stars

Was this review helpful? 4 1

“Avoid at all costs”

★☆☆☆☆

written by XzavierMcCarthy on 07/01/2022

Hideous service and really unpleasant staff. They happily take your money, then refuse to do the job some time later for dubious reasons. Happened to me and a friend in the same week & they didn't even bother to let my friend know, just told the state agent concerned. They then take says to pay back money. Don't go with them, regardless of what is suggested by Santander, nationwide & any other mortgage provide that uses them for valuations

Was this review helpful? 3 1

“Beware of this company-I would leave 0 stars if I could”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Cjm1975uk on 17/12/2021

Beware of this company when applying for a mortgage. They will undervalue or zero value the property which will cause your mortgage to be declined. My Landlady decided to sell the property I had been renting for 9 years, so I decided to buy it and applied for a mortgage with my bank. I passed the finance, but the lady from Countrywide completely scuppered my mortgage application, by saying the property had zero value/marketability. This was despite it being valued at £85,000-£90,000 by the estate agents, and despite the lady speaking favourably about the property and wishing me luck with the mortgage. Because of her actions, my bank then declined my mortgage application causing me a great deal of stress, and almost leading to me being served notice. I had to go with another lender, who used a different valuer and am pleased to say I now own the property. I would never ever deal with or let Countrywide Surveyors inside my property again!

Was this review helpful? 6 1

“Survey of Buy To Let”

★☆☆☆☆

written by skbajaj2007 on 06/12/2021

Booked survey for buy to let remortgage. The surveyor turned up and greeted her cheerfully. She completely ignored me. wondering where they get their training from in customer service. Hopefully not in the outskirts of Bangladesh. I apologize that is a insult to Bangladesh. The surveyor seemed totally oblivious to whatever I said to her. Was the surveyor on Cloud 9. What a complete shambles of a survey.

Was this review helpful? 2 1

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

overview