Penylan Country Lodge, Chepstow Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★★★☆
3.9 / 5
73% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Penylan Country Lodge, Chepstow - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Penylan Country Lodge, Chepstow

Penylan Country Lodge, Chepstow

Refine your search

Latest Reviews

★★★★★

“Thoughtful, Compassionate & Very Patient Staff”

Written on: 24/09/2022 by Maynardci70 (1 review written)

My 3 Yr old collie-cross is a rescue dog, who had never been in kennels before. The staff at Penylan took time to encourage her to trust them to take care of her. She started with two doggy day care days, followed by an over night stay. We booked her in for 9 nights when we went on holiday recently & came back to a very happy (tired) dog. She had even had her claws clipped when she'd been shampooed, something she has never been happy with before at the vet. I cannot recommend the staff at Penylan enough. An excellent kennel.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Penylan country lodhe zero stars”

Written on: 30/08/2021 by Malaki666 (1 review written)

Had hired freedom field as i regularily did for my boys, they changed the rules half way through after getting to the gate and finding it locked once to saying i had to sign in, ok no problem i did this always picked up after my dogs rang through to reception if no bucket to pick poop up with, even found other peoples dog poop and sometimes picked that up too, yesterday i wasnt well ( havent been for a while) and was told by reception gate was open got there gate was closed so sent hubby round to reception then seen a member if staff other side of field so called hubby back thinking they were coming to unlock gate, no they were not, staff member looked at me with the excited dogs and walked away well this made me cross especially as my health is bad, i turn around and the owner is walking towards me with attitude " whats going on" all i said was " your staff told me gate was open and it isnt and then another member of staff came to other gate and stared at me and walked away said that wasnt good for business" he then proceeded ti shout and swear and said " you aint using the field get your f dogs back in your car and come get a refund" this left me shocked and upset, so i sent my husband in the shop to get the refund, who said to him " i hope you are happy now you have made my wife cry" the owner proceeded to shout at my husband and tried to push him out the shop shouting at him and saying get the f out of my shop, this is not proffessional at all i have used penylan for a few years for boarding, for grooming hiring the freedom field and have always been happy with their service, i wont EVER use penylan again to speak to a customer that way when all it needed was an apology and for his staff to have better communication between each other in the first place then it wouldnt have happened but the person who was unproffeasional and RUDE was the OWNER i will take my dogs and cats elsewhere and i warn others to be careful of the owner. Me nor my husband swore or shouted at him until he did at us then tempers flared , its made me feel very unwell as im in poor health since catching covid in march 2020 i did not need that type of treatment

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 3 4
★☆☆☆☆

“Zero stars”

Written on: 11/01/2020 by ElliottTimmons (1 review written)

The attitude of the new management is shocking. Be aware that if you dare to disagree or challenge then you will be sorry. We’ve had our dog groomed there for 6 years and I dared to complain on the last visit as the cut wasn’t right. The new manager then called me and gave me a barrage of abuse, called me a liar and then advised me to go elsewhere. I definitely wouldn’t recommend this place to anyone.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 7 4
★☆☆☆☆

“All changed since new management ”

Written on: 11/01/2020

I posted a not recommended review on Facebook which the owner felt the need to get into a debate about. All this did was expose her lack of business acumen and complete lack of customer service which she obviously realised as she then deleted the review from Facebook. I am now thinking how many other negative reviews has she deleted.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 7 2
★★★★★

“Dog boarding for xmas”

Written on: 31/12/2018 by TatianaCastillo (1 review written)

Just picked my Labrador up who is 18 months old and she looks happy and healthy. The staff are friendly and helpful especially as they knew I was quite anxious at putting her into kennels for xmas - guilty feeling! But she has come out happy, clean and eating much better than I thought she would. Thankyou to everyone at the kennels for looking after my girl, and a Happy New Year to you all. X

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★★★★★

“First kennel experience for my pup!!”

Written on: 22/05/2016

I would highly recommend Penylan for anybody who has got a puppy that hasn't experienced a kennel environment before. My pup spent five days there and has come back home happy and healthy. The kennels are lovely and the staff very welcoming and helpful. It isn't the cheapest kennel around, but if like me you want the best, then this is the place to go. I wouldn't hesitate in going back and I'm sure that my pup wouldn't object either. Thank you Penylan for making out first kennel experience easy and stress free.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 3 0
★★★★★

“One Happy Dog!”

Written on: 12/05/2016

My little dog stayed here for the first time in April, he had been for 2 doggy day care days prior to his 4 night stay.I cant speak highly enough of this kennels.I did alot or research and visited a few other establishments before deciding on Penylan. I had also recevied many excellent recommendations. My dog was really happy and settled in quickly it was a joy to see his photo on facebook too. I rang to make sure he was ok after the first day and felt very reassured that he was fine after talking to a member of the team. He was well looked after, the facilities are second to none and the staff are all lovely and very friendly and experienced. I would have no hesitation in recommending Penylan to other dog owners. My dog came home relaxed and happy and very clean!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Dreadful place”

Written on: 01/04/2016 by PriscillaWhitaker (1 review written)

This kennel I have used a few times. I would have considered myself a valued customer having 3 dogs. The first time everything was very smooth.....now the service is appalling and quite frankly I will be reporting them to the Council. In my opinion, based on my experiences there, they are not the caring kennels they would have you believe.
The last time they said they did not bathe my dogs as they were allergic!!!!!
I have now issued a County Court Summons against the Kennel for breach of contract.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Penylan1's Comment

Written on: 25/04/2016

Hello,
If you have issues you would like to discuss with us please give us a ring.
I'm afraid we don't recognise your name with three dogs as your not in our system under this name. We like to resolve issues with people wherever we can and we'd be more than happy to help.

(The owner and manager of the business are mature ladies and were happy to be called 'young girl's'.)

Many thanks
Penylan

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Sue.meechan19's Comment

Written on: 05/05/2016

We are disputing this County Court claim.
The facts behind this claim are that we would not board this ladies dog while it was in whelp, we do not accept pregnant bitches into our care for the welfare of the unborn puppies as pregnancy is a delicate and important time.
The dog was 4 weeks gone after a planned mating and this lady rang us up the day before they were due to come in boarding with us to ask if we would still take the female and we said no due to the fact that we never take Bitches in whelp.
This customer has used our kennels 13 times over the last couple of years with no complaints and yet when we show compassion for her female to stay with her while she is in whelp she is more interested in her holiday.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Kirstys345's Comment

Written on: 05/05/2016

I am afraid this is not true. I have not used your kennel 13 times. Also I was rung by your kennel girl on 26th March to confirm the booking. I informed her of the up to date conditions of all dogs. No one said you did not take bitches in whelp. 99% of kennels do. To be told that I had no boarding accommodation on the night before they were due to go in was breach of contract. We could have made alternative arrangements if you had told us. At the time there was nothing on your website. To be prevented from going on holiday for someone who has an incurable illness was devastating. And financially we lost over £1000.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Kirstys345's Comment

Written on: 05/05/2016

Also FYI there was only a remote possibility of her being in whelp. The fact that you are a kennel means you are in business largely because people have to go away for a variety of reasons and one of these is a holiday.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 2
Read 4 Comments
★★★★★

“Fun time for dogs ”

Written on: 13/12/2015 by Clark3 (1 review written)

Penylan Country Kennels Rocks! Hector has stayed here on many occasions and loves it! As we draw near he is always desperate to get out of the car. When I book him in, he is up on his back legs with front paws on the desk as if urging me to hurry up so that he can get on with his stay. The fact that he goes off without so much as a backward glance is reassuring and proof that he is delighted to be here.. When I collect him he has been bathed and smells gorgeous. When he stays for longer than two nights the woodland walks are worthwhile. I am sure that the girls add to his enjoyment as they are aware of his obsession with his favourite toy - and let him take it out into the paddock during exercise time. I feel that he is well looked after by the staff who are always friendly and genuinely care about the animals. I have no hesitation in recommending Penylan. If Hector is happy, so am I.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Clark3's Response to Clark3's Review

Written on: 31/05/2016

I recently collected my boy, Hector after his seven day stay. He greeted me enthusiastically, looking very fluffy after his bath. As we drove away he began whining while looking out of the back window - clearly an indication that he'd had a good time and wasn't ready to leave. When we checked in , the girls were as friendly and welcoming as ever. They always comply with my requests but this time went above and beyond the call of duty - for that I am most grateful. Leaving your pet in kennels is a question of trust. I trust Penylan implicitly to keep Hector safe, happy and provide plenty of cuddles. You go girls - keep doing what you're doing!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“Would highly recommend ”

Written on: 14/10/2015 by Camrond236 (1 review written)

Just collected our 2 girls where they were boarded for 16 nights. Not cheap but well worth it! We live at least 40 miles away so it's a far distance to travel each time they are boarded however, we continue to go there due to it being highly recommended by a vet in Cardiff who has since sadly passed away. The girls had had a bath and smelt lovely before being picked up this morning. Shared accommodation and have put on weight!! The staff put photos on Face Book as promised while we were away so at least we could check on how they were doing. Thanks to all the staff there who work hard. Will definitely be booking our babies in for their next holiday.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★★★★

“What a fantastic place!!!!!!”

Written on: 29/09/2015 by Iyana177 (1 review written)

I cannot write a review that does this marvellous place justice! To call it a kennels is wrong when quite clearly it is a hotel for our canine and feline friends! A remarkable place with warm, friendly staff who cannot do enough to help you out, my dogs have never once bothered to say good bye to keep as they charge through the door and off to their room. I've been down to see the facilities and they are top rate, clean and spacious with lovely views into the countryside. They never fail to come back absolutely spotless, despite their woodland adventures and two field runs a day, they are beautifully brushed and well cared for. I think that alone is review enough! However I will also say that their Facebook page is a real stroke of genius, they post photos of the dogs and cats in staying for their owners to see! Was fab to see my boys enjoying their stay. A place that, as far as myself and my dogs are concerned, is absolutely top rate. Thank you to all the staff for being there to look after my boys when I wish to go away, they would never stay anywhere else!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Best kennels and grooming”

Written on: 11/08/2015 by Millerdm (1 review written)

I have two large dogs, a Russian black terrier and an Italian spinione and they board at pentlandite a couple of times a year. They absolutely love going there as the staff make such a fuss of them and really go the extra mile. The place is spotlessly clean and my dogs come out healthy, happy and smelling lovely every time. No lingering kennel smell ever. They also have haircuts 3 or 4 times a year and again they love it and the groomers do exactly as you ask. A dog never lies and if they didn't like it they wouldn't want to go. When I leave them they never look back at me, they are gone!!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“great”

Written on: 14/03/2015 by LuisBuchanan144 (1 review written)

well I work there and from experience I thought that it was the best dog kennels I have been to. very clean great service! care with the dogs.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★☆☆

“Dog had bad stomach after stay at Penylan”

Written on: 08/09/2014 by GRACIEF (4 reviews written)

My dog has stayed here twice and appeared to be very happy there. The last time however he had an upset stomach for about 3 days afterwards. I put it down to a change of food but 2 of my neighbours have said their dogs have also been ill after a stay there. I am hoping it was down to the use of disenfectant rather than down to poor hygiene.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 1
★★★★★

“Fantastic Grooming Salon”

Written on: 02/06/2014 by RayneWhalen291 (1 review written)

I have had my dog groomed three times before at three different places and every time she has come back shaved off even though I left specific instructions for the style I wanted. I have just taken her to Penylan where the grooming lady listened carefully to my requests. My dog now looks amazing, even better than I imagined. To top it off I even got a 20% discount for being a new customer. Brilliant value.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Dogs don't tell lies.”

Written on: 31/05/2014 by Leilam357 (1 review written)

My dog is obsessed with Penylan Country Lodge. We only have to drive past the entrance on our way to Newport and he starts squeaking excitedly. He actually boards there twice a year and every time he drags me across the car park to get to their door. You could not ask for a better recommendation.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“My dog is never going back!”

Written on: 01/05/2014 by notamoaner80 (1 review written)

I have left my dog there a few times. He was always happy to go back. He just recently spent a week there and came out a different dog. Usually very happy, bouncy and full of energy (like every 1 year old labrador) this time he came back skinny (after only one week!) very sad and scared. Also looks like he'd hurt his back somehow (pulling away when touched). Its been 3 days now and he is getting better (more lively, happier etc.) but can't help but think he was treated very badly. He is never going back.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Dgjfox's Response to notamoaner80's Review

Written on: 01/08/2014

What did the kennels have to say about it ?

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★☆☆☆

“Industrial kennels, cold customer service”

Written on: 12/04/2014 by Yummyjaffacaje (1 review written)

Leaving a dog or cat at a kennel is a last resort. My dog was very scared on arrival and whilst i got to see my cats enviroment we were never invited to see where our dog had been taken to. We had no opportunity to say goodbye or review her environment. Very disappointed and now plagued with guilt! There is also a guilt tax if £11.50 for a 45 minute woodland walk. I earn £10 per hour so how a dog walker can charge over £15 an hour is amazing.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“EXCELLENT VALUE”

Written on: 16/02/2014 by JigsC (1 review written)

My cat spent just under five weeks at Penylan Country Lodge while we were away in South Africa. Initially I was apprehensive as she has never been away from me before. I dropped her off & she actually ignored me. During my holiday I was pleasantly surprised to receive pictures of her on Facebook so I was able to see how she was doing. This made me relax more & I was able to really enjoy my holiday. The day I went to pick her up she was fast asleep & I don't think too happy that I woke her up & was apprehensive about her coming home but she settled straight back into her routine.....no more rest & freedom for the mice & shrews on the farm. I would highly recommend Penylan again to friends & colleagues & I would use them again in the future. Thank you all for taking good care of my beloved cat. We both appreciate it. Keep up the good work

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“A PROFESSIONAL KENNELS THAT CARES”

Written on: 16/01/2014

I STARTED TAKING MY TWO BORDER COLLIES TO PENYLAN LODGE 10 YEARS AGO IN THE SECOND YEAR WHEN WE WERE ON HOLIDAY MAGGIE DEVELOPED LITTLE MOUNTAINS PUSHING THROUGH THE SKIN ON HER FACE WHICH REQUIRED TREATMENT FROM THE KENNELS VET.WHEN WE WENT TO COLLECT HER THEY OWNER EXPLAINED THAT THE VET COULD NOT BE SURE WHAT CAUSED THIS REACTION GAVE US ALL THE PAPERWORK SHOWING WHAT TREATMENT HAD BEEN GIVEN AND THE NUMBER FOR US TO TAKE MAGGIE BACK IN A WEEK OR SO FOR A CHECK.THEY HAD PAID THE £166 BILL AS MAGGIE WAS IN THEIR CARE AND DID NOT ASK FOR ANY CONTRIBUTION FROM US ALTHOUGH BOTH DOGS ARE INSURED.I HAVE ALWAYS FOUND THEM EXCELLENT AND THE DOGS HAVE ALWAYS PULLED ME IN THROUGH THE DOOR.UNFORTUNATELY WE LOST MAGGIE TO HEART DISEASE IN AUGUST 2012 ALTHOUGH WE STILL HAVE HER BROTHER MAX WHO IS LOOKING FORWARD TO GOING INTO PENYLAN LODGE THIS AFTERNOON.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

overview