Schooners Bistro, St Agnes Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★★☆☆
2.8 / 5
44% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Quality of service

  • Quality of food

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Schooners Bistro, St Agnes - Ask a question now

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

★★★★★

“Great views and friendly service”

Written on: 26/08/2013 by wonderwoman2013 (2 reviews written)

Had coffe here and watched a seal swimming in the water right in front of the restaurant. Very friendly and relaxed atmosphere...good coffee too… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Great views,great seafood and delightful, friendly ...”

Written on: 15/03/2012 by bonviveur (1 review written)

I have known this magical cove for over 60 years and was delighted to find that the best spot with the best views on Trevaunance Cove had acquired a bistro/restaurant with charming service and superb seafood. Graham and his team laid on a very memorable lunch for our Golden Wedding anniversary and since we are sensible ( and lucky enough to live down here,) we keep coming back for more of the therapy that Schooners so superbly lays, on whatever the weather… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“We went here for my birthday, oh how I wish we hadn't...”

Written on: 30/08/2010

We went here for my birthday, oh how I wish we hadn't bothered. Having to wait at least 10 minutes before being shown to our table(which we had booked) then on asking after15 minutes if our order could be taken, we were told "the kitchen is really small so we can only take a couple of orders at a time". I wouldn't have minded if we were informed on arrival about this, and we weren't the only people this happened to. On arrival the food looked nice, but my rare steak was very well done and my… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Fell on this by accident when looking for somewhere to...”

Written on: 18/06/2010 by Jane Goodall (1 review written)

Fell on this by accident when looking for somewhere to eat. We were made most welcome and the food was excellent along with friendly helpful staff. We enjoyed it so much we booked a table for later on in the week before we returned home from our holiday. We requested a table upstairs overlooking the most beautiful beach full of walkers and surfer's. The food was fresh and superb, the chef came round and asked if we enjoyed the meal and informed us that he was new and came from Italy as… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“We booked a table here as staying in nearby hotel for...”

Written on: 13/06/2010

We booked a table here as staying in nearby hotel for our first wedding anniversary. Having reviewed the menu and impressed by spectacular location we were looking forward to our celebratory meal. We ordered almost immediately. An hour later, we were told they'd run out of the starter I'd chosen so I selected another only to be told that was also out so I chose again. Another 1/2 an hour passed and the same waitress arrived with our main courses....... We'd still not even been served our… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“We holidayed at Trevaunance Cove for three nights in a...”

Written on: 04/06/2010

We holidayed at Trevaunance Cove for three nights in a nearby hotel and ate at The Schooner two nights out of these. The setting is amazing, right on the beach and what a beach! Surfers and swimmers out until dusk to watch, and we did not feel hurried at any point. Really obliging staff (if a little dippy - you felt they had come off the beach, showered and served us!)food was excellent! Fresh sea food, inventively served. Great tapas. Amazing puds - go there and try the chef's baileys and… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“not sure what happened, last summer we definatly would...”

Written on: 01/06/2010

not sure what happened, last summer we definatly would have returned, it was friendly and you could get a bacon roll for £2.50 that was really tasty..just what you want after walking on the beach. We returned over the weekend, staff were friendly enough, however took over an hour for 3 breakfasts, and over twenty minutes to be told there was no yoghurt to go with the fresh fruit an yoghurt!...the scrambled eggs and smoked salmon was very poor over cooked and rubbery! they did get the beans on… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“The setting for Schooners is beautiful - it overlooks...”

Written on: 28/08/2009

The setting for Schooners is beautiful - it overlooks the lovely Trevaunance cove at St. Agnes in Cornwall. Unfortunately the venue does not match the setting. The owners of the restaurant have created an establishment with an identity crisis and can't decide whether they should be a "bucket and spade"-type beach cafe or something a little more up-market. The music was way too loud to allow pleasant dining. The chef was unable to cope with anything but the simplest dishes - most items on the… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
☆☆☆☆☆

“We were refused service because the restaurant was too...”

Written on: 30/06/2009 by paddykelly69 (1 review written)

We were refused service because the restaurant was too busy (despite being half full). Even though a couple who sat down after us were served. My wife is 6 months pregnant and we had to walk back up the hill to the town to find somewhere for food. The explanation was that there was a backlog and the chef was too busy… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Paulgoddard's Response to 470174_paddykelly69's Review

Written on: 31/07/2010

We went there in February and were ignored as a family, they served the people that came in after us first but ignored us. My wife decided it was not worth the bother so we left. When I am on holiday I insist that we dress casually and clearly our attire was not up to scratch. We decided to give them a second chance this week and although they had spare seating capacity up stairs they did not offer it to us but clearly laughed in our face and said where are you sitting, I thought it was obvious that more seating was required and clearly was available. What a bunch of Snobs who look down on people, maybe I should have driven the Bentley to the door. These people never learn, we did however have a great time there a few years ago and just for tea coffee and cakes I walked out with a bill for over £60.00's but my children were happy.
<br/>I would strongly urge anyone with children to avoid this place like the plague, they are a shambles if you are a tourist you are not welcome and they will spell it out for you.
<br/>Yes I do have money but am still in touch with my roots and my interest in Cornwall but Snobs like you spoil it.
<br/>As for the other chap with his wife pregnant SHAME ON YOU.
<br/>I feel it would be better if you sold up to decent people and sacked your Snobby staff.
<br/>

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
overview