Mark Group Reviews - www.markgroup.co.uk

★★☆☆☆
2.1 / 5
28% of users recommend this
? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Mark Group www.markgroup.co.uk - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Mark Group www.markgroup.co.uk

Mark Group www.markgroup.co.uk
Mark Group www.markgroup.co.uk

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“Damage to ceiling”

Written on: 28/09/2019 by Robertod69 (1 review written)

I am now thinking of renting my property which had an EPC done in 2014, prior to selling. This had a score of 52 (EPC band E). When I look on the EPC register, I find that Mark group's assessor has filed an EPC that he did prior to them recommending Loft insulation and CWI. This EPC scored 31 (EPC band F) which means I cannot legally rent out the property!!!! Not only that, but shows the property as 46m2 Astonishingly small for a 3 bed detached bungalow!!!! I did not have the CWI installed as we have a suspended floor, with the inner airbricks offset from the outer ones, their surveyor could not convince me how the would cope with this. When they put in the loft insulation, they damaged the hall ceiling, must heve put their feet off the rafters, they left before |i noticed this!!! Now looking into how to report and complain about an EPC assessor. Why is the property not reassessed for an EPC after the work

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“useless ”

Written on: 03/02/2016 by Eveo3 (1 review written)

Survey carried out for loft insulation for today (1.2.16) but after making arrangements and nobody turning up rang them. Seems to be problem with paperwork, won't be done today and not sure if it will be. Failed to notify me they wouldn't come. After seeing reviews have now cancelled them

Dioramone's Comment

Written on: 03/02/2016

Mark Group went in to liquidation in October 2015 ?

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Terrible customer service”

Written on: 19/12/2015 by Andersenxz105 (1 review written)

These people sent a surveyor at the beginning of October as we had damp problems in a wall following insulation 10 years ago. Since then despite several emails, a letter and failed attempts to get through on their phone line, we have heard nothing. They are obviously going down the pan and will certainly not honour their so called guarantee.

Phonemonkey's Comment

Written on: 30/01/2016

If you have damp problems you cannot have cavity wall insulation - no reputable company would install it. If you knew you had damp in your walls for 10 years why didn't you sort it earlier?

I give this review one star :(



Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Absolutely APPAULING service!”

Written on: 19/10/2015

Do NOT touch these people, even with a barge pole! We were due to have some loft insulation installed and had the initial survey. Due to bats in our loft, we were restricted to the months that it could be installed. 2 no shows, missing the time slot that Natural England gave us, resulted in a FURTHER survey (due to the time scale between the first and second one) and then after a second date was fixed (a year later), there was another no show. Ridiculous. After many letters of complaint, a senior manager came to visit to apologise nd get the ball rolling again. He was very pleasant, I showed him my letters etc and he promised to resolve it and get the insulation sorted. Why on earth did I have reason to believe him? No idea, but I did. But he did not deliver. He left my house that day and despite numerous e-mails etc, we have had had zero comms with them since. Rubbish!!!

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“They broke the water pipe in the loft n whole ceiling...”

Written on: 17/10/2015 by MorganMcHugh (1 review written)

They broke the water pipe in the loft n whole ceiling was about to fall.they did a check but no report came back 2wks nw& they made the whole outer walls marked n promised to paint it but didn't come back.calling them & had to leave msg all the time.... So warning!warning! Warning!

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Awful - Dangerous!”

Written on: 15/10/2015 by IvyEnglish (1 review written)

They were instructed to do a simple loft insulation job worth in excess of £500, yet when they attended did not bother calling or informing us that they required the boards removing (which should have been advised re the appointment) and instead have jjust chucked the insulation on the top without any care or attention. Since the above they have non-stop chased payment yet when asked to re-attend to inspect they said they would come back with dates & never did just continued to chase payment - they did however re-attend around 3/4 months later, said they did all the relevant works & then on inspection it was the exact same. In all honesty, you may as well buy some insulation, put a blindfold on & throw the stuff round like confetti in your loft because it would still probably be finished to a higher standard. No, no I would not recommend them to a friend. The reason also for the tag of 'Dangerous' is because the condition they have left it is dangerous.. the second you go into the loft you are attacked by thick musky air from all of the insulation dusk.. awful.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“shocking workmanship ”

Written on: 13/10/2015 by hmmmm123 (1 review written)

We had cavity wall insulation done and the workmanship is disgusting. My drive was covered in insulation. I have now discovered the vent which they fitted was glued to wall using 4 blobs of mastic and no fixings so the cold air flows through (energy efficiency joke)

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“STOP - Find another company”

Written on: 11/10/2015

These guys came to the US and touted themselves as the best of the best. Indeed; worst of the worst! Don't waste your energy (ha ha, pun intended) on these jokers.

Seac's Comment

Written on: 12/10/2015

Thanks for the tip. Wish I'd read this first. This company is really awful. DO NOT USE.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★☆☆☆

“Wasted my time poor customer service”

Written on: 09/10/2015

Salesman visited ourhouse and we signed up for Solar panels , agreed a date for installation and thought that was it. I didn't receive a copy of the contract and had to push them to get it before the cooling off period to check everything was OK. WE started getting phone calls asking if we were interested in Solar panels and told them we had signed up for them , why didn't they know ? Then got an e mail confirminh we had cancelled the contract , when we had doen no such thing. Have tried e mails and ringing the salesman but no response from either. Very unprofessional company , customer service rating zero !

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Very High Pressure”

Written on: 02/10/2015 by TracePrater (1 review written)

Just had them at the door at 7pm in the evening. Would not take no for an answer. Said they were the only company that worked direct with the government. I wanted to check reviews online before going ahead with the free insulation and asked for a business card. They didn't have one! Then they left, fortunately without drilling holes in my wall. Now having read other reviews, so glad I held my ground.

Phonemonkey's Comment

Written on: 30/01/2016

Yeah, because the outsourced, transitional canvassers knocking doors get issued with business cards.... I'm guessing you either work in the public sector or are a "full time mummy"

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“The worst company ever”

Written on: 30/08/2015 by Jeremys18 (1 review written)

I worked there for 4 years. I had morals and told the customers the truth, weather cwi was suitable or not a lot of the time it wasn't suitable and said this to the customer. I was in trouble for saying this and was told to do the job no matter what which I refused so was one of the first out of the door when there was cut backs. I often turned up at houses which were not surveyed properly or at all all they were concerned with was me doing the job no matter if it was obvious it would cause problems in the future. Don't be fooled with the guarantee either as o also did extractions and one women told me it took 2 years (that's right 2 years) to get her insulation extracted and her particular property should have been a priority as it was timber framed. The whole company should be looked into as 60% of the property insulted should NEVER have been done in the first place. Someone is going to Be made very rich extraction all these jobs in the future what a waste of public money doing them in the first place and what a waste of public money extracting them. I'm not going over board by suggesting the serious fraud squad should be contacted.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Misleading information ”

Written on: 14/08/2015 by AidynMcKee (1 review written)

Calling door to door giving erroneous information about "free" cavity wall and loft insulation for everybody as a government initiative irrespective of whether the property is rented, owned or the occupiers on certain benefits. This is totally untrue. Very pushy. Very dodgy. Don't believe them.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Sales First sod everything else”

Written on: 13/08/2015 by 60Ogle (1 review written)

Staff are now getting the push for not hitting targets which could only really have been hit by pushing through jobs that were unsuitable. Beware they are moving to Solar with big sales targets !

Phonemonkey's Comment

Written on: 30/01/2016

Welcome to the commercial world - if you don't like capitalism, go to Russia.

(Hey, at least it's better then Syria....)

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★☆☆☆

“Whole experience just felt wrong”

Written on: 05/08/2015 by ujMartinez222 (1 review written)

I had Mark Group at my door two weeks ago pushing CWI and I said I wasn't interested as I had already been told my home wasn't suitable (top half of front aspect is tile covered). This was disputed and I ended up agreeing to him drilling a few holes. Then he just had to take some photos and look in the loft. Well more than 2 hours later I was passed the paperwork to sign to agree to the installation. I cancelled the work 4 days later. That same afternoon I had a call from the installers who wanted to bring the job forward ( into the 14 day cooling off period ). I declined and asked them to rectify the holes drilled, which were now partially filled with silicone. The guy came today, and although he sorted the holes, I was asked again why I didn't want it done. On mentioning possible damp issues and not being willing to risk it. I was reminded of the 25 year guarantee and told that the money would not be available next month AND that the way things were going I won't be able to sell my house in the future if it doesn't have CWI. It's nice that they are so concerned about me, or are they? If a customer says NO please just accept it and move on.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“ Do not use!!!”

Written on: 18/07/2015 by Cullenb1983 (1 review written)

I used the Mark Group to have my cavity wall insulation installed for free. A nice chap came round to "survey" the property - drilling a couple of holes to check the cavities were OK and doing an energy performance certificate for the house. Due to cladding on the outside of part of the property, a hole had to be drilled from the inside. Somewhat bizarrely he claimed he "wasn't insured" to drill a hole inside the property, so I had to do that one... Anyway, didn't think too much of it and arranged a date for a fitter to come round. The fitter turned up late (45 mins after the end of the agreed 4 hour slot) then told me as he didn't have a colleague with him he would only be able to do part of the house and would have to come back another time. I did offer him the chance to reschedule the appointment to another date when he was accompanied and more prepared, but he insisted he did half now and finish it off a couple of weeks later. The fitter also installed an air vent in the living room due to the open fire. I asked the surveyor if that was due to buildings regs although he didn't seem to know the answer, however I checked with my trusty chimney sweep who informed me that was the case. The surveyor also told me the vent would be "one way" so wouldn't let the draft in. Once the installation was complete it was clear this was not the case - the vent is not baffled and you can see right through it to the outside - goodness knows how draft it will be in winter. The vent fitting itself is also cheap/of poor quality. A few days after the fitter had been back to finish off the work, I was sitting in the garden and noticed one of the holes he'd drilled in the outside wall hadn't been filled up! Astonishing how such a basic mistake could have been made. In the interests of making it watertight etc as soon as possible I rushed to Wickes to pick up some mortar and filled it in. I wrote to Mark Group detailing the complaints above. I received a phone call saying they understood I wasn't completely happy with the "remedial work" so I asked them to refer to my letter, which they didn't have on system. They said they would look into it. The next day I received a letter essentially telling me to stop moaning! They refused to pay to have a baffled vent fitted on the grounds it was "cosmetic" and refused to pay for the mortar for fixing the hole as I "hadn't raised the issue with them so they could come and resolve it". Frankly when I have a 2 inch diameter hole in my wall, my instinct is to fill it in as soon as possible, not try and arrange a half day slot for someone to come and fix it, meaning I'd have to take another day off work. Based on my experience and reading the other reviews on here,  I would urge you to avoid using them.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Use Energy provider! Loft / cavity wall”

Written on: 11/07/2015 by RobandChilly (1 review written)

A nice bloke knocks on the door offering free loft insulation and cavity wall work. Makes, in our case 4 holes in the wall to the property we just bought, signs you up and gives you a date. Let the problems start- couldn't decide if we were eligible for cavity wall as some was already evident. Sent appointments then cancelled numerous times. We both work and had taken time off between us. Sent a serveyor round to check the quality of the work.... That hadn't been done! Numerous phone calls to them asking when the loft would be done, but apparently the job had been closed. So re-opened it. Rang them back when not heard from them, job still closed. The number on the letter for customers is open long hours, but be warned, ask a question and you need to speak to customer service Mon - Fri 9-5. Took months of chasing to get loft done and holes filled. Spoke to their H.O, local branch in Exeter, mobile of guy who called. Each dept. has no idea what the other is doing and blames each other. You'll get a lot of " I can only apologise", " is there anything else I can help with"? YES, help with the only thing I've asked for your help with! AVOID them, it's free, but they are being paid to carry out the work and provide a service. Wish I'd used our energy supplier EDF. Only positive is the guys who eventually carried out the loft insulation were actually pretty good!

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“change the date band on properties”

Written on: 15/06/2015 by Herndon301 (1 review written)

Just to make everyone aware Mark Group Surveyors change the date band on properties from e.g a 1995 property to a 1982 date band to get the funding under Eco and decrease the loft insulation entry in their EPC to get more carbon savings from an energy provider . This has been going on for years an the have made millions of pounds .

Jamesandsam's Comment

Written on: 27/06/2015

Gosh, what a surprise!!!! How on earth does this company keep getting away with doing these awful things.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“UTTER RUBBISH. DO NOT USE!!! Worst company EVER”

Written on: 13/06/2015 by Coltc467 (1 review written)

Total bunch of liars!!! Don't book an app, they won't turn up.Don't complain, it'll be ignored.They truly are the worst company I have ever had the misfortune to deal with.No point going into what happened, be here all day & all night.Just DON'T BOTHER!!

Jamesandsam's Comment

Written on: 27/06/2015

I think you had a lucky escape mate if you avoided having any work carried out by them.

Reply to this comment

Phonemonkey's Comment

Written on: 30/01/2016

Aww, BOO-HOO :(

No real content to your so-called complaint, no details etc.

I bet you called up just to moan - vent your anger at someone who has no control over the situation, but it makes you feel better.

Suck it up, Buttercup - in customer service, no-one can hear you care

*Disclaimer - I have no association with said company (now defunct) - I'm just a former customer service rep sick of a-holes like you*

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 2 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“I AM ABOUT TO TAKE THEM TO COURT AFTER 8 MONTH ”

Written on: 12/06/2015 by Henryg139 (1 review written)

very disappointed in this company as I was also to that it would be free then they said it would be £200 for the loft insulation then said ok go ahead and we will be happy to pay they then said that their where gone to be two teams come out one for the cavity wall and the other for the loft one team came out done the cavity wall first the came to the door and said that they where also go to do the attic I asked them if they wanted me to come up because in their terms and conditions it says that they will get you to check before they start and check when they finish witch was not true I then went out the back garden then 20min later my wife said they where away I said did you check she said they did not ask her or did not want to take the payment I went right up to check it to find that they had not fitted it right to start with and the reason they where in a hurry to go and not take the payment was the had put their foot through the back bedroom celling I called them straight away and the said the are manager would come out he still has never been the also sent out a team to put it right and they ye they needed to put a further 3roll of insulation in my attic that should have been done right in the first place they Also said that they would put it right and that was in October2014 and I have only just had them say that It will be fixed but they still want their £200 and they are not looking to compensate me for the lose of earnings as I had to wait on 3 different days of work for contractors to come and estimate the damage to my property only one arrived that their is 4 days work to put it right so I have lost 3 days holidays and now 4 days if they put it right so in total I have lost 7 days holiday in total they came back to me today and said that they will offer me £50 off the £200 for the loft and no companion I am just about take them to the small clams court they are taking money for nothing as have probably spent more on my energy over the last 8 month with a hole in my celling the government should be investigating this company as I would like to see some other lofts that folk have not be able to get up to check they are taking money from the government for nothing they said that they had lost my paper work what company uses paper now a days they just tell so many lies they also phoned me 3 times looking for the payment and sent me two letters asking for payment and I still have the damage and losing my holidays from work then I was told by the area manager in Scotland and he said that he would just tell head office that he had been out to check it and he did not come out I could not tell you what he looks like one of the team that came to fix the loft when they fitted the 3 rolls sort was just to take the photos of the damage now they are I would never ever tell anyone to use this company based on my experience I have now told them not to co

Jamesandsam's Comment

Written on: 27/06/2015

Good heavens, what a story.

It is unbelievable how this company operates - I have had personal experience with them unfortunately and can confirm this is how they behave.

Reply to this comment

Jamesandsam's Comment

Written on: 27/06/2015

Good heavens, what a story.

It is unbelievable how this company operates - I have had personal experience with them unfortunately and can confirm this is how they behave.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 2 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“Legal Debt Recovery Pending”

Written on: 02/06/2015

In the first instance The Mark group seemed good. As opposed to the 2 month wait from other providers and higher charge for the loft (my postcode doesn't get loft insulation free although still heavily subsidised) they attended and did the work within a couple of weeks. Not being an expert in these things i was more than happy but they sent someone round to check, who advised it was not done adequately and they called to book a return appointment. I referred them to my downstairs neighbor whos work was done simultaneously to make the appointment as Mrs P didn't work. Months went by with no sound then further calls to make an appointment. Once again I referred to Mrs P. A couple of day's later I Got a call from someone on his way to my property. Funny as Mrs P had been in central America for 2 weeks. I explained there had been a mistake and they would need to speak to their office to rearrange as i was unable to get home in time for their attendence. I have since received an invoice quickly (10day's) followed by solicitors letter threatening legal agtion within 7 day's. Managed to get this put on hold whilst discussing the outstanding work. Next thing i know my neighbors are panicking because there are people on hammering on my door while I'm at work despite me providing a list of suitable dates. It then took me a week to extract confirmation from them that despite my absence they did in fact do the outstanding work which it seemed i did not need to be present for all along. When requesting the paperwork to verify this they have provided me with a document which say's they attended and did the work 4 months ago....... Can I believe them? If i do not pay them by Thursday next week their solicitors will issue a County Court judgement against me. They are totally unwilling to enter into any further communications with me or send someone round to discuss the work and show me what they did and why. Do I just pay them? This whole situation is stressing me out immensly. If any one can give me some advice I would be most greatful.

Jamesandsam's Comment

Written on: 27/06/2015

Try the Citizens Advice Bureau - they should be able to give you legal advice.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Before posting your question please check to see that it has not already been asked.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

Asked by nikkijoy on 11th August 2016 Report this content
The Mark group installed my new central heating system approximately 2 years ago. Part of the deal was an annual service. I cannot get hold of them, have they gone into liquidation? Be grateful for any leads, the work was financed and I am paying a hefty amount each month. I don't have the money to go anywhere else.

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (3)
Report this content richardc1983 Written on: 12/08/2016
Yes they went out of business.
Report this content GerryJoseph Written on: 12/08/2016
This is going to sound odd, but if you are sure that you are paying for a service and you cannot find a number, stop the payment. They will contact you soon enough.
Report this content nikkijoy Written on: 12/08/2016
Thanks Gerry but I did not explain very well. The work was funded by a loan from Creation, so if I stop paying it will reflect badly on my credit score.
See All Answers
Asked by peterjonneall on 14th July 2016 Report this content
Where can I find the telephone number to contact about some work I had carried out and need the certificate for it please?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Asked by Illing on 6th March 2016 Report this content
I had cavity wall insulation done by Mark Group a few yrs ago. I'm in the middle of selling the property and can't find my receipts to prove it is done. How can I confirm I have had it done?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (1)
Report this content GerryJoseph Written on: 07/03/2016
There should be a note left in the loft, pinned to a rafter. That should give the date and what work was carried out. The other thing that should be noted is the Energy Performance Certificate (I was led to understand). Hope that helps
Asked by richardc1983 on 20th January 2015 Report this content
They have cracked my ceiling fitting loft insulation and are not accepting responsibility and keep ignoring my calls or request to speak to someone. Where do I go next?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (1)
Report this content lizzyh13 Written on: 21/01/2015
I took the Mark group to the small claims court. Their solicitor phoned me to try and negotiate, but I stuck to my guns and got the full amount I took them to court for. ( The case did not go to court - they paid up before it got that far) You must: 1) Keep a full record of all correspondence. 2) Take photos of the damage - if you have any from before they did the work to compare with all the better. 3) Make you sure get the names of all the people you talk to at the Mark Group , and when. 4) stick to your guns!! It was the first time that I had used the small claims court - it was so easy and can be done online ( I'm not the best on a computer) Also, If you decide not to proceed and do accept the offer from the Mark group your costs are paid. If you need any more help do get in touch
Asked by sandra59 on 4th November 2014 Report this content
Mark group removed my wet cavity wall insulation a month ago. It was soaking and exposed the debris that in the cavity,so really it should never have been put in the cavity in the first place. They quickly agreed to remove it after a survey showed up how wet it was and they said they would also repair any damage that had been done the installation. It's been 4 weeks since then and they have been back to look at the damage it has caused and I am still waiting for them to get back to me about that. My main problem now is my house smells of terrible damp that was never there before.  Has anyone else had this problem and how long will it take to dry out and for the smell to go? I suffer from serious health problems and I am sure thiis isn't going to help. My advice to anyone thinking of having their cavities filled, is quite seriously don't bother.

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (1)
Report this content stiddard Written on: 25/01/2015
I am in the same position as you, have had verbal and written promises, you are now going to have one big battle, I am preparing to take MG to court, good luck.
Asked by mrspatwilliams on 4th November 2014 Report this content
We had cavity wall insulation with Mark Group several years ago . Over the last few years, about a year after the insulation was done, we have damp and plaster blowing and cracking. A builder has assessed the damage and said it is almost certainly caused by the insulation and that we should contact Mark Group and have it removed free of charge or replaced with a more suitable insulation. What should we do? 

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Asked by jennyskeates on 6th May 2014 Report this content
We are looking for a company that will do a free survey and install cavity insulation for external walls of our property dated 1934. Can it be done? And will it be free by the government or has the offer expired whether I am a pensioner or not. If not free and not liable to have the grant, could we pay monthly installments which we would like to do preferably.

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (1)
Report this content Sparkly1 Written on: 07/05/2014
There is no Govt funding for CWI. The energy companies are under obligation to install energy saving measures. It is them that fund it but sub contract out to companies like the Mark Group (avoid them). We all pay more for our energy because of this. Info has come directly from Ed Davey MP. Companies are very quick to give the ok and surveys are generally inadequate. If you have any walls exposed to driving rain do not install CWI. The material does become saturated and the damage caused can be extensive. Quality assurance is only carried out on 5% of installations and there is a 15-17% failure rate. The Mark Group do not respond to recorded delivery letters , neither do CIGA or Ofgem. Even when CIGA's surveyors report that the installation was NOT to BBA standards they still don't agree to remove it. Refer to BBC Xray, Which report who both refer to the practices of the Mark Group. Also heritage homes and Jeffrey Howell of the Telegraph who have general information about CWI. I live in a 1910 property and I would not consider CWI under any circumstances. Even modern build insulated houses have a cavity which is there for a purpose.
Asked by J4meslewis on 11th March 2014 Report this content
After reading these reviews I should avoid Mark group like the Pluage, but I do like free offers. My question is this. They want to install Polypearl Platinum beads in my cavities claiming they are water proof and that no moisture will get accross the cavity. The people with damp problems, do they have the beads or the wool stuff installed? I called the rep back today and he said my south west facing wall was fine to be filled with the poly beads as the are water repellant and the water can still travel down the inside of the external wall. Should I take the chance or run like mad?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (7)
Report this content palinharrow Written on: 12/03/2014
I don't have any damp problems. There are quiet a few air bricks in my property [Do ensure that they bricks are clear]. However the beads are all over the place after installation.They might fill up your drains as well which can be nuisance. To give you a feel they look like the pieces that comes of thermocoal. The worst that can happen is that they may not stay in place and you may have cavities which are not fully filled. But i don't think this should cause any damp problems. Hope it helps
Report this content Sparkly1 Written on: 12/03/2014
I would avoid the mark Group at all costs. The survey was not carried out adequately and my parents have 40 ft of exposed wall. The wool is saturated and can be squeezed out. My parents' neighbour has the beads and has damp issues on the same aspect exposed wall. The beads can also become saturated despite the claims made. Also if you drill in to the wall such as for a new kitchen they will pour out. I have also read cases where they have blocked drains etc. The Which report has a UK map of rain exposure. West Wales and the West Country are the worst followed by the South Coast. If they say they can't fill above the conservatory etc avoid. There can't be any cold spots. My parents repair bill is £10000
Report this content karenmeidl Written on: 12/03/2014
I would not trust anything that the Mark Group have to say. At the time when government was paying for loft insulation to be topped up (or installed), we contacted them for a quotation after they were recommended by the council as "their" insulators of choice. The Mark Group came to inspect our loft (after standing us up on one occasion). They told us that we would not be eligible for any grant whatsoever as our insulation was considered sufficient, albeit it was at the minimum level. We asked if they'd be able to top it up if we agreed to pay which they refused as they said they only did jobs that were eligible for the grant. Having taken their word as expert, we did not contact anyone else only to find out the following year - purely by accident - that we could have gotten partial funding to increase our insulation since it was at the minimum level only in patches, the rest of the loft being bare and uninsulated in pockets. Unfortunately the grant scheme had ended and we had to pay for the job ourselves. Naturally, we were unimpressed with The Mark Group. That said, when we asked for a quote for loft insulation, we found that the companies we approached were mostly all eager to sell us cavity wall insulation to varying degrees of cost. We always do our own, independent research before speaking to the "experts" since quite a few of them talked through their hat and their aim appeared to just be to sell sell sell. From the 4 companies we approached, the one that stood out as informed, professional, efficient, honest and not too expensive (though not the cheapest) was INSTAGROUP LIMITED. I'd suggest that you speak to them.
Report this content TBGREGSON Written on: 13/03/2014
Polypearl beads are water proof however if water ingress gets between the cavity it would not make any difference if they were waterproof or not Damp can be caused from many structural problems such as coming from roof as a result of roof felt decomposing and allowing water to go down the inner brick work Likewise from floor level the beads are an insulation material not a damp proofing remedy
Report this content Sparkly1 Written on: 19/03/2014
If the beads come out this will cause cold spots which causes condensation and damp. I refer you to Jeffery Howell buildings writer for the telegraph, the Which report and Heritage UK website.
Report this content IJRoe Written on: 12/06/2014
Anyone claiming that a polystrene bead can get "saturated" clearly is not an expert but may have an axe to grind. I'm not an expert on insulation either so I would suggest you look for real expert like an industry association or ask the manufacturer for information. Whatever you do, don't take advice from DIYers or Mr/Mrs Angry.
Report this content jamesandsam Written on: 09/07/2014
RUN LIKE HELL!!!!! If you don't you may end up with £12,000 bills, as myself and several neighbours. I only wish I was allowed to enter my full name and address, so people could contact me directly!!!!!
See All Answers
Asked by mrslemas1981 on 17th February 2014 Report this content
We have been accepted for a new central heating system, as our property does not have a gas supply we have had to pay to get the gas supply and a meter fitted. I have been reading through some of the reviews and I am beginning to feel very worried. How long does it take to get and installation date once the surveys are complete?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (1)
Report this content palinharrow Written on: 18/02/2014
Our cavity wall install took 4 weeks. They gave appointment the first time and the guys did not turn up. You should be able to call them and they should be able to tell you when...
Asked by smokiesocks on 21st December 2013 Report this content
Has anyone had problems with their heating system shortly after it was installed? We seem to have a slight leak which keeps dropping the pressure on the boiler thereby stopping it from starting up. Now at third time of reporting we have upstairs heat but non downstairs. Mark employee visited on 2nd day (morning). He bled the system. Knocked upstairs radiator off, purged system. Downstairs radiator hotter at top but cool at bottom I told him. Tapped lower part of downstairs radiator to (loosen any debris stuck there he said) cleaned filter. Said we should really have had bigger bore piping to radiator etc., said everything should equalize in radiator so the radiator would heat evenly. Said he couldn't do any more and left. 5-6 hours later some radiator turned off upstairs as suggested. Heat on boiler control right up but radiator remain tepid. No one in office to help till Monday. It’s bloody cold! What are we supposed to do now?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (1)
Report this content palinharrow Written on: 18/02/2014
Do you have micro bore pipes ? If it was just change of old boiler and but the radaitors are old and they are corroded inside, then expect a lot of problems. Did the boiler engineer flush each radiator individually ? I had a conversion done and I changed all the pipes as well and have 22mill pipes from the boiler so no problems for now
overview