Toshiba SD-3108 Reviews

Click here if this is your business
Toshiba SD-3108
★★☆☆☆
1.9
11.0% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Toshiba SD-3108 - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Toshiba SD-3108

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

“I've owned this Toshiba SD-3108 dvd player since early...”

★★☆☆☆

written by Nateway. on 05/09/2002

I've owned this Toshiba SD-3108 dvd player since early 1999. It's worked great until recently (with advances in digital video and DVD formatting), many new DVD's of movies with special effects and advanced cinematics are formatted in 'dual-layer'. The Toshiba SD-3108 will only read single-layer. If you're lucky, the back of the movie DVD box will say, "Dual-layer formatting" or something of that nature. If it does, don't rent it unless you have the firmware upgrade. It seems that most movie boxes don't provide that information.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

60213_Ozzie.'s Response to Nateway.'s Review

Written on: 25/12/2002

Where can I get a firmware upgrade for the SD-3108 DVD player?

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Had been very happy with the Toshiba SD-3108 DVD...”

★★☆☆☆

written by mr376. on 26/08/2002

Had been very happy with the Toshiba SD-3108 DVD player until recently but many movies simply won't play in this machine. Be wary of purchasing this machine.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“DVD is a standard, just like VHS. This player is not...”

☆☆☆☆☆

written by Mark. on 10/08/2002

DVD is a standard, just like VHS. This player is not compliant and never was. Someone should start a class-action lawsuit because Toshiba will not stand behind their product. Mine is out of warranty and they say they won't do anything.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“The Toshiba SD-3108 is a very costly DVD player. I...”

★☆☆☆☆

written by elwisc. on 16/06/2002

The Toshiba SD-3108 is a very costly DVD player. I paid approximately $480 US dollars a few years ago. I thought purchasing the player with the most features, will keep it from getting outdated. Currently, many new DVDs are recorded with new formats not compatible with this one.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“I had problems playing Gladiator, Shrek, MI 2 in my...”

★★★☆☆

written by Marco. on 03/12/2001

I had problems playing Gladiator, Shrek, MI 2 in my DVD. It can not play Gladiator and MI 2 (those were news DVD) and with SHREK it even got unused from the remote control or buttons, I had to disconnect it to eject the disk.

Reading this problem is common I feel hopeless since I read it was dificult to get help from Toshiba in the US so you can imagine here at Central America (Guatemala City).

I asked the local dealer who sold it to me, but they told me they can not do anything.

If somebody from TOSHIBA can help me it will be wonderful.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Firmware / "Check Disk" error for Toshiba SD-3108 DVD...”

★★☆☆☆

written by Kevin. on 21/10/2001

Firmware / "Check Disk" error for Toshiba SD-3108 DVD player.
For anyone who has the "check Disk" problem with their Toshiba SD-3108, here is what happened to me & how I solved it. Maybe it will help you too (sorry it's kinda long).

The story starts when we bougt the Gladiator DVD. We put it in our SD-3108 & got the infamous "check disk" error. So, first thing I did was log on the net to see if anyone else had this problem. I found out from reading various sites on the net that the Toshiba SD-3108 has some sort of a firmware upgrade issue that would prevent it from playing this particular disk.

So, I called up Toshiba service, and sat on hold at least 40 minutes. Finally a person came on. I told them that we purchased a DVD Video disk & it wouldn't play in our SD-3108 machine. Note that I DID NOT blurt out what I knew the problem was. I wanted to give them the opportunity to be an upstanding company that takes care of its customers.

Well, as soon as I said I got a "check disk" notification, the service person said "oh, it's a scratched disk, happens all the time, you need a new disk". I told him I was sure it wasn't a scratched disk and... but he stopped me and asked if I had exchanged the disk yet.

Ok, I could see this was heading in the wrong direction, & that even though I knew that they knew about the firmware upgrade issue with my player, they weren't going to volunteer anything. Bad Toshiba, BAD!

So I then told him that the reason I knew it wasn't a scratched disk was that I had looked on the net & found that there was a firmware issue with this model. He then put me on hold to "check with the technical people" (ie go get some coffee). He then asked me for some numbers written on a small white tag on the bottom of the unit. I told him what they were, he put me on hold again, & came back to say that yes, indeed, I had a firmware issue. He gave me the phone number & address of my local service center & suggested I call them.

Now, my unit is over 2 years old and out of warranty, so I asked him if there would be a charge for this error correction (hoping Toshiba would step up & fix their faulty machine). He said he didn't know, & that I'd have to call the service center. Well, I had already called one service center and talked to them prior to my call to Toshiba (knowledge is power), and they had told me that the charge would be $75.00 - $95.00 (seems a bit steep to me to correct a problem that Toshiba knew about when they sold the machines.)

So I told him (in as "lawyer" a voice as I could) that according to their documentation & owners manual, their player would play any disk with the "DVD Video" symbol, and that the Gladiator DVD I just bought had that symbol, and yet their player would NOT play it. He asked me to hold again to check with his supervisor (uh, sure...). When he came back, he said that they would take care of the labor costs, & that they would fax the authorization to the service center.

I took the player to the service center, & because this particular service center is so great, they went ahead and fixed it for me without yet having received the fax from Toshiba to pay them for it. It now works great!

In summary, here's what worked for me when talking to the Toshiba service center about this particular problem:
1) Tell them your SD-3108 DVD player will not play the Gladiator DVD disk & it's not scratched or otherwise damaged (assuming that's true)
2) Tell them you know about the Firmware Upgrade issue with the SD-3108
3) Look up the number written on the white tag on the bottom of your player & tell them what it is
4) If they don't offer to fix it for free, then tell them that according to their own documentation (P 51 of the owners manual), this player can play any disk with the "DVD Video" disk mark, that your disk has that mark, and that the player DOES NOT play it. The implied threat being that they sold a product through false advertising. They SHOULD offer to fix it free at this point (at least labor, which is most/all the cost as no new parts are required)

Toshiba could have made a loyal customer out of me, but instead, trying to save a few bucks, they missed out on my ever purchasing another Toshiba product. While it's true that I did eventually get my player fixed for free, the slimy way they didn't tell me what they KNEW was the problem, & didn't offer to fix it for free up front, and how I had to really keep pushing, I have to recommend to everyone to NOT PURCHASE A TOSHIBA PRODUCT!!! The quality of this DVD player seems fine, but if you ever have to deal with service, you'll be left hanging out to dry unless you really really push hard & have all your facts lined up.

I sincerely hope that more people will use the internet to share information on the behavior of manufacturers, both the "bad" stuff, which usually gets much more press, but also the "good" stuff. Maybe manufacturers will get the idea that being honest & doing what's right by their customers is the only way they will be able to sell their products & stay in business.

- Kevin

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

5136_Editor.'s Response to 5126_Kevin.'s Review

Written on: 22/10/2001

A lesson I have learned about handling customer services in general:
<br>
<br>If you find things are not going your way, hang up and ring back. You may get a more cooperative person to deal with. Be careful how you talk to them as the wrong tone of voice could be sufficient to sign your own death warrant. They have the power to choose your fate and they are only human.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 8 0

“This DVD player sucks !”

★★☆☆☆

written by Sparky. on 01/04/2001

This DVD player sucks !

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 3 2

“Tosiba updated the firmware for free and it's like new...”

★★★★★

written by Joe. on 29/12/2000

Tosiba updated the firmware for free and it's like new again.
They even paid for shipping one way!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“An excellent machine were it not for it's inability to...”

★★★☆☆

written by Robert. on 06/07/2000

An excellent machine were it not for it's inability to play some DVD's. What good is a DVD player if it doesn't play DVD's?

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

overview