Epson Stylus SX400 Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★☆☆☆
1.7 / 5
19% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Quality

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Epson Stylus SX400 - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Epson Stylus SX400

Epson Stylus SX400
Epson Stylus SX400
Epson Stylus SX400
Epson Stylus SX400

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

★★★★☆

“Excellent Features”

Written on: 16/02/2021 by AarielDcruz (7 reviews written)

Got this brand new all in one printer from epson. Bought this for my office work. Excellent Scanning features included. Print resolution is the best. Upgraded printing technology used in this printer. A must try product. Great purchase, value for money.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Terrible, avoid at all costs!”

Written on: 17/07/2014 by Brynlee43 (1 review written)

This is a cheap nasty printer where the manufacturers appear to have designed the software so that you have to constantly replace ink cartridges. It is particularly frustrating when all you want to do is perhaps print a simple letter in black and white, yet the printer refuses to cooperate because one of the colour cartridges is running low on ink. It appears you cannot simply get the printer to work using the black ink cartridge. Utterly idiotic, the only purpose of this is to get people to constantly go out buying their stupid expensive ink cartridges. Avoid this like the plague, I will not be buying any Epson products in future.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Epson Stylus SX435W”

Written on: 26/01/2013

This all-in-one was easy to set up, initially printed fine and worked well. The problems started when the inkjet cartridges had to be replaced... Epson firmware in these printers uses a chip which can get fatally corrupted by a number of sequences of events, usually when changing ink cartridges, and usually when using refilled or 'non-genuine' cartridges, many of which are relatively cheaply available compared with the expensive 'genuine' Epson ones. The chip appears to be programmed to 'not recognise' any cartridge that is less than three-quarters full which has been taken out and put back in again for any reason, regardless of whether it is a 'genuine' Epson cartridge or not. Usually, one empty cartridge can be replaced by a 'non-genuine' one without problems, although it may have to be taken out and reinserted a few times before the printer chip accepts it. But when two or more cartridges have to be replaced at the same time with 'non-genuine' ones, the chip can get confused, and post an error message saying that none of the cartridges are recognised. This can also happen if all the cartridges are removed at the same time, including any 'genuine' Epson ones, and put back in with a replacement 'non-genuine' one or two amongst them. If a 'genuine' cartridge is taken out when less than three-quarter full it may not be recognised when it is replaced. The chip can get into a fatal loop, and refuse to recognise any further cartridges, whether 'genuine' or not. This can sometimes be overcome by switching the printer off, removing the power plug from the mains, leaving it for between a minute and half an hour, and then plugging back in and switching it back on. It may then decide to recognise the cartidges, and all will be well for awhile. For awhile because there have been reports of the chip sometimes stopping printing in the middle of a page, and again posting a 'cartridges not recognised' error, which can be very annoying, to say the least. The problem is compounded because many companies who are 'recyclers' of Epson cartridges do not check the chip on the cartridges before they are refilled and sent back into the domestic printing world. As many as 25% may be defective or in some way no longer servicable. So in these cases the chip in the printer quite legitimately cannot recognise the cartridge, as the cartridge chip is not working properly. We have tried a number of ways around the fatal loop problem, including trying to overwrite the firmware in the printer; but while the printer is posting a 'cartridges not recognised' error, it will not allow its firmware to be overwritten. Taking out all the cartridges and then retrying to overwrite the firmware made no difference either. From reviewing many comments available on the Internet concerning these Epson printers, one can have little faith in them. There are complaints of 'genuine' Epson cartridges being clocked as empty by the printer chip, when in fact they are more than half-full or three-quarters full. There are also complaints that when one cartridge is replaced, say for example the most-used black cartridge, that the chip will then decide that the others are becoming empty, even though previously they have registered as half-full or more. So the customer is badgered into replacing cartridges which still have plenty of ink in them, because the printer will not work until they are replaced. Taking all the above into consideration, these appear to be a good printer to keep away from, as a general rule. Epson appear to be putting the same kind of chip into many of their newer lines of printers, and with much the same result as above.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★☆☆

“Good quality but..”

Written on: 31/08/2012 by dziekuje (1 review written)

I have had an SX415 for a couple of years now and like many other purchasers have been generally happy with the quality of the prints, ease of use, scanning etc. What is REALLY beginning to bug me now is the fact that I must clean the heads several times after replacing the cartridges. Obviously this uses a lot of inks. I especially chose this machine because it had separate inks but am now seriously disappointed with the usage. Like other users I am using non-original cartridges from a reliable source as I refuse to pay rip-off prices for originals. If other manufacturers can produce cartridges for approximately 1 GBP each why the heck can't the original manufacturers - after all they hold the patent. This will be another manufacturer that I will probably not consider next time I have to replace a printer combo.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“stay away from epsom”

Written on: 17/08/2012 by badepson (1 review written)

rubbish extremly noisy sx400 origional ink cartridge is worthless you can buy replacements and find your printer will neither recognise the oem or non oem epsome have added some nice little scam touches like a page print counter , exceed that and you can not use the balance of your ink a circuit which prevents the printer recognizing the cartridge , this basicall leave you sranded theres no rest no override get there techies to fix it or throw it out 2nd epsom , what did i learn never ever waste your money with these sharks

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“I have a Epson SX400 inkjet printer and it consumes...”

Written on: 29/09/2010

I have a Epson SX400 inkjet printer and it consumes print cartridges like theres no tomorrow. A set of Epson cartridges cost £42.00, and the machine doesn't like non- Epson makes.Cheap to buy, but very expensive to run. I will shortly be discarding this printer, and investing in a more expensive, ink friendly type ( not Epson )

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“This printer is either badly designed and built and/or...”

Written on: 09/12/2010

This printer is either badly designed and built and/or it has protective software which prevents the use of non Epson branded inks. It then tells you to clean the head and half empties a cartridge when you do this. It also indicates a cartidge is empty when it has ink in it. Don't get one even if it free. It is rubbish.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“I had problem after problem with this printer after...”

Written on: 08/10/2010

I had problem after problem with this printer after initaling thinking it was very good. Half way through printing a very large piece of university coursework it decided that it didnt want to recognise the ink cartridges that had been in it for several weeks. I replaced these and the problem apeared to be fixed until half way through the new catridge when the same problem occurred only this time I couldnt get the problem to correct itself. Next time I'm going to avoid epson as this isnt the first model I've experienced problems with and will also check that I am buying an up to date model which I was not told this was not before I bought it

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Cosmicraider's Comment

Written on: 07/11/2010

what brand of ink cartridges were you using? i use Jet Tec ink cartridges with my Epson Stylus SX400 and they work fine and last far longer than the Epson ones that came with it. the cheapest place to buy from that ive found is www.ukinksupplies.com.
<br/>
<br/>CosmicRaider.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★★☆

“Good quality printer, very easy to set-up - up and...”

Written on: 11/05/2010

Good quality printer, very easy to set-up - up and running in no time. not quite as fast as I expected, but still not slow. Let's see how long the ink lasts!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“I am on my FOURTH faulty EPSON SX400, what a load of...”

Written on: 16/02/2010

I am on my FOURTH faulty EPSON SX400, what a load of rubbish! ( four faulty printers... four different faults) EPSON are no use and it costs 10p a minute for their 'support' average time on hold for 20 mins I bought it from COMET, they wont intervene and say' contact EPSON' I wont be using COMET again either. To add insult to injury , every new ' faulty' one they deliver has to have new ink... at £25.00 a go .... RIPOFF!!!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“I purchased a Epson SX 400 printer which was perfect...”

Written on: 04/01/2010

I purchased a Epson SX 400 printer which was perfect until I had to change the cartridges. Using genuine types I found that I had to use up almost half the cartridge in the head cleaning process. As this occured at every new cartridge change I be came suspicious and when finally replacing a new cartrige followed by the required head cleaning process I printed one photo and then pulled out the cartrige and then immediately replaced it only to find that I required to go through the process of head cleaning again. This almost exhausted the remaining ink in the cartridge. I believe that there is an inherent fault in the design of their bubble technique head. Defintely not to be recommended and in future it will not be an Epson printer

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“I owned an Epson printer for 5 years and was pleased...”

Written on: 21/09/2009

I owned an Epson printer for 5 years and was pleased with it so didn't consider another brand when time came to replace it.
What a mistake! The SX400 is worse than bad. At first it produced excellent photos but after a month of use, it stopped recognising it's own genuine Epson cartridges and I had to replace them all several times. It is constantly head cleaning and wasting expensive ink. I am at the end of my tether with it and am returning it to the shop for a refund (fingers crossed on that one!).
I will never buy Epson products again.
How I wish I'd read this review page prior to purchase........

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“My experience has been a positive one. I have had...”

Written on: 06/08/2009

My experience has been a positive one. I have had Epson printers before and always been happy so didn't hesitate in buying another. The SX400 was at a good price and came with a set of inks so I made the purchase.
I am very pleased with the printer and have had no problems at all using compatible inks. The print speed of text is fairly quick and the print quality of photos excellent. Only downside is that it forever appears to be charging the cartridges on start-up which must waste a lot of ink and be very costly if you are not using cheap compatible cartridges.
All in all, I would recommend the machine.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Feb up of Epson's bully boy tactics when I use...”

Written on: 25/07/2009

Feb up of Epson's bully boy tactics when I use compatible cartridges. I cannot afford Epson cartridges and am sick of Epson preventing me from using my printer by putting up high handed messages about not using genuine Epson inks. At present it is insisting that my cartridges are empty when I know they are new/full catridges from a reliable source. About time the Government stepped in to prevent this unacceptable behaviour from a so-called respectable company!! I will certainly never buy Epson products again and will be advising my colleagues to do likewise.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“It appears that the Epson SX400 all-in-one requires...”

Written on: 26/06/2009

It appears that the Epson SX400 all-in-one requires four new inks inserted at the same time. Inserting less than four will result in the unused cartridges being 'unrecognised' by the printer's software. Then when these unused cartridges are grudgingly replaced the also new, full, unused cartridge will inexplicably be almost empty or unrecognised. So, if your printing requirements utilise one/two colours be prepared to waste all four. This is not explained in the literature and users, encouraged by salespeople, are under the impression that having four cartridges is a benefit. This myth should be dispelled before purchase.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
☆☆☆☆☆

“Never try to put compatibles (even respected makes)...”

Written on: 10/06/2009 by knichols (1 review written)

Never try to put compatibles (even respected makes) into this epson stylus printer. In 2 months of use I have had less than 2 weeks of usefulness. Twelve cartridges were wasted due to initialization at start-up, charging all four when one new cartridge is inserted, and then constant head-cleaning. It has been confirmed by an Epson repair engineer that these printers are designed to create problems unless genuine Epson cartridges are detected. However, both the engineer and Epson technical help were unable to explain exactly how this happens.

Using the cop-out of invalidating your warranty is apparently illegal. This is purely a marketing technique with the sole intention of blackmailing customers into further sales for the manufacturer. The literature states genuine Epson is recommended - it does not state compulsory! When a machine is designed to fail without that manufacturor's inks this should be a well publicised fact. What Epson fail to realise is that cartridges that are three - ten times the price of comparisons will not attract customers.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
overview