Wonga www.wonga.com

★★★☆☆
2.7 / 5
44% of users recommend this
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Wonga www.wonga.com - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Wonga www.wonga.com

Wonga www.wonga.com

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“declined by wonga”

written by inYates279 on 21/04/2018

I had been getting wonga loans for a while and always paid back the full amount before the due date.I had a trust rate of 340 but when I weny to apply for 100 they declined it!I really needed the help and thought because I had always paid back before due date etc that there would be no problem!not happy with this service.they offer no explanation for why they declined me.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“Good enough for what they do”

written by Mueller69 on 27/01/2017

If you need to get hold of some extra money fast, Wonga offers a easy way to borrow. Making payments is straightforward too - just make sure you repay on time or you could end up with added charges! The APR is high, but I think that's the price you have to pay for being able to get the money quickly and simply.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★☆☆

“Decent”

written by rickyriccardo on 16/09/2015

This company isnt as bad as what it's made out to be. At the end of the day I got a loan as it was urgent, paid it back on time and that was that. Nothing fancy just a loan, end of story.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★☆☆☆

“avoid”

written by Jimburns11 on 01/09/2015

please only use these payday companies if it's an absolute emergency. I made all my payments on time and couldn't believe the charges I got. Would not recommend to anybody any of these payday loan firms.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Stay Clear”

written by Margo12345 on 26/08/2015

I was passed there contact details by a friend to get a 200 loan, got an email saying I had been declined the loan. It's a complete waste of time this website.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“Had a trust rating allowing me to borrow up to £1000....”

written by Cookjb387 on 09/11/2014

As mentioned, I had a trust rating that allowed me to borrow up to £1000. I've used Wonga once every 2 or 3 months for a few years now, mainly for the convenience. Every time I paid back earlier than my promise date, and accordingly my trust level went up. That all changed when I applied for a new, relatively small (below £100) loan today. Now I'm getting declined. No change in financial situation (if anything I'm better off), nothing. I find this bizarre seeing as they've had no issue loaning me as much as £700 on occasion - and I've always paid it back on time. Previous to this I'd have recommended Wonga as 'the best of a bad bunch', a convenient way of fronting money if you were willing to pay the short term costs. Now I really don't know what to think, as their 'Trust' system clearly doesn't work.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“responsible borrower treated badly”

written by not_happy_bob on 04/10/2014

Borrowed a number of times from wonga and often paid back before due date. Had a trust rating of £410, went to borrow £100 and was declined! No explination nothing, very bad customer service.

Clairelouisethomson's Response to not_happy_bob's Review

Written on: 21/04/2018

I had exactly the same thing happen to me. I paid back early and went to get 100 loan and my trust rating was at 340 and was declined. They don't give u any explanation for this. My financial situation was the same so really angry that wonga do this

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Stole my money”

written by Hodgesly485 on 21/09/2014

I applied for a loan, got rejected...don't quite understand why, but fair enough. They rejected me and withdrew £1 from my account, surely this can't be allowed. I know it is only £1 but i never gave them my permission to do this, and for what purpose should they be allowed to do so! Absolute disgrace. Lesson learnt to be more careful with my wages and not rely on companies like this.

Luyolo's Comment

Written on: 08/11/2014

They say my username is incorrect

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★☆☆

“Only for emergency”

written by vnHoover266 on 10/07/2014

They do pay just they not so flexible as advertised. Little fussy but could be helpful when need it. If ever wonga read this then here a message: Try to be somehow flexible and give more option to people, after all you do make profit from them..

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★☆☆

“Ended Up Borrowing From Another Lender”

written by 83Lacroix on 02/07/2014

I borrowed from these guys during 2008 to 2010. My account was good and usually settled on time when I borrowed.

In 2010 , I incurred a financial difficulty related to my work for one month and I informed Wonga I could pay, if they agreed to alternative arrangement but Wonga didn't and referred my outstanding loan straight to 'Barker and Lowe' who I now know are not legal advocates but just Wonga pretending to be lawyers. The letter added on late fees and a legal fee of over which increased my existing loan of £882 to well over £1000 and threatening me with court action. I panicked and borrowed from another payday lender to try and pay it off , (which in hindsight I shouldn't have, they helped exacerbate a small debt issue to one that then got out of control) irresponsible scaremongering. In the end what I borrowed from this other lender was not enough to keep head above water and in my panic I ended up taking out a debt management plan in 2011. I am now paying both loans back on the DMP and have been since 2011 and happy that the interest has frozen and I can afford it and everything is back under control. However I wonder whether the debt I'm paying includes 'these legal admin fees' that I supposedly incurred from Wonga! The irony for me is seeing Wonga in the news a couple of months ago now facing criminal prosecution for impersonating a solicitor. This morning I received a letter from Wonga stating that I am one of the customers affected that was wrongly sent these fake threatening letters and that I'm due some compensation . When I Googled the amount of compensation likely to given it came to £50! I really do feel the Financial Services Authority let them off lightly. Is there 'real ' legal advice out there which can assist me?

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“Declined after being a customer for 2 years”

written by ang88ler on 01/07/2014

I borrowed from Wonga in 2012/early 2013 several times, for urgent items for my home, and a car MOT failure problem that needed a pricey repair. I was accepted, and I paid all the loans back each time a few days early, and always received the message that if I wanted to borrow again, to contact them. I had a gap of about 9 months without borrowing anything, but returned in May 2014 to borrow a small amount of 250, when my washer packed up unexpectedly and could not be fixed. I was shocked to be declined and told that there were " a number of factors". I got a copy of my credit report. My credit was up to date, with nothing late in payment. I do not have CCJs or Defaults, and I have never been bankrupt, or had an IVA etc. I am over 60, and I do not own my home, so I presume that this went against me, even though I have retirement pensions. I was really angry, so I wrote to them and I was fobbed off with cue card replies that they would "be there next time I needed them" ! I left it a month into June and applied again. By this time, I had saved some money towards my new washer, so I asked to borrow less. Yes... you guessed it... I was declined again. Same reason. I checked my credit file again - no problems. Well that was the wake up call. NEVER again will I borrow from Wonga. I know some persons in my town, who have a lot of adverse credit and Wonga seem to accept them readily ! I went away and applied for an account with a well known high street home and garden supplies company beginning with A. I was accepted straight away online, with a credit limit that was more than enough with my savings to buy my washer. I came to realise that Wonga certainly did not take my loyalty into account, or my perfect payment history with them or my other creditors. I closed down all the account details that I had supplied to them, and I will never go to them again after being treated in this manner.

Vcprgl's Response to ang88ler's Review

Written on: 28/10/2014

i just finished going through bankruptcy due to medical issues, and i was able to borrow from them no problem automatically accepted, they do hard and soft checks, and your credit limit goes up and up as you pay them back early plus unlike other cash advances if you even pay part of the principle before it is due they take that off and readjust the interest.

Reply to this comment

Kathanderson's Response to ang88ler's Review

Written on: 31/10/2014

The same thing happent to me use them for two years always payed on time most of the time early my credit score isnt perfect but better than it was when i strted with wonga anyway after the site went down for a few weeks there i got an e.mail saying it was up and running again so i applyed and got declined thought that was a bit harsh they could have at lest offerd a smaller loan instede of rejecting me completly hayho there loss x

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 2 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“waste of time and effort! UNPROFESSIONAL”

written by Burtonuu488 on 26/06/2014

I ended up making the mistake of using wonga,i was struggling...but if i had just waited instead of using them id have been out of bother by now...they made my situation worse. Customer service centre is filled with idiotic robots, who are clearly reading from a script...their responses dong even make sense half the time...rude, indecisive on policies, if they don't know the answer they throw u back into the hold line to wait for someone else...constantly talk over you! To be quite frank, have no clue what they are doing, they refer you back to the website to do it all for yourself anyway, and even that crashes. I borrowed a small amount of money, and had back tripple what i borrowed. DO NOT USE WONGA!!! LUCKILY I DONG HAVE TO DEAL WITH THEM AGAIN

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★☆☆

“Will Give You Money, But Pinch More After The Loan Is Paid”

written by 304Conway on 19/06/2014

I've used Wonga credit a couple of times to get me out of a tight squeeze. I borrowed and I paid it back, a bit pricey, but what you going to expect from a payday loan company, which will lend to black listed people or the bankrupt (which I might add is not legal! I'm not either, a friend tried as he is bankrupt but didn't go through with it.

I have noticed in the months afterwards my accounts have fell short by a few quid. Wonga have been taking out £1-£5 here and there. I contacted them and was refused to be talked to. I have contacted the financial ombudsman and am waiting reply. I guess this is where they get the money for borrowing from.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“lets face it, these people are low life bottom feeding...”

written by ubHolder304 on 13/06/2014

lets face it, these people are low life bottom feeding **** that target the most vulnerable. they actually dont want you to pay off the loans, they want you kept hooked, and will actively encourage you to roll over the loans, charging you extortionate interest. moreover if you miss a payment, they will illegally harass you by phone, letter and text. And yes, it IS illegal, by law they can only contact you a maximum 3 times a week. my advice, AVOID these **** and all like them… 

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“not worth going to wonga”

written by 1968Taylor on 09/06/2014

I got a £400 pound loan all well and good ,until wonga gave my bank details to other lenders and 3other companies help there selves to my account.I would not recommended them to anyone

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“Is this for real?????”

written by AfricanGold on 29/05/2014

I have been granted a loan with Wonga, to my delight, but something worries me....I am to pay R3500 to the contracting attorney BEFORE I get the money paid into my account??? Apparently it is NOT included in the repayment plan...could anyone shed light on this for me please? Also, their spelling in the contract document is VERY suspect as is the use of the British Pound in the reviews - I thought it was a South African company?

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Awful service”

written by Madalynnr374 on 23/05/2014

Borrowed money and paid it back before the due date. Checked my bank the following day and they had taken the money twice. Been on the phone to them for three weeks trying to get my back but each time I get different excuses. Customer service is awful they have no idea what their doing.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“rubbish”

written by McCain99 on 07/05/2014

i applied for a short amount of money from wonga....seemed really hood it was in my account within 10mins....so i was very happy....until 4 days later when my pay day came and £190 was missing from my account....i went to my bank and they told me 3 diffrent loan companys had took this money from my account and they said if you took out a loan with wonga this is why because they give your details to other companys....they forget to mention this on there advert and when you visit there website you have to go through a series of pages before you even find the small print that shows this....it just costs more money by giving out your details....id never use them again and would not recommend to know one.....i now have to change all my details and get a new bank card so the details are diffrent as i do not trust this company and think its a discrace how they get away with what they do.....do not use them

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Default applied when I payed on time!”

written by WongaClawback on 12/04/2014

Hi I'm currently going through a complaint with wonga. I took out a short term loan with wonga in June last year. Payed back on time! Applied for a personal loan with my bank and was offered a much higher rate than offered slight alarm bells went off in my head I took the loan as I needed the money. I was declined a remortgage the following month unless I had 35% deposit. I went on my credit file to see wonga had place 6 months of missed payments and a default for £0! Please help how I can take this further and get compensation back for the inconvenience and thousands I've payed them in interest from previous loans. I have all the proof needed to show I wasn't late and the was a complete mess up on wonga behalf. I hope to hear from you soon.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“One of the best”

written by smithyo92 on 07/04/2014

Personally i think wonga is one of if not the best loan company but they are more then just a loan company they have weekly competitions and the social club witch I think Is a very good idea. I have referred a few friends to wonga and they are very pleased. If you pay back your loan on time and be loyal they increase the amount of money you can apply for. Also have very good promo codes witch is always welcome.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Before posting your question please check to see that it has not already been asked.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

Asked by vhutshilo on 9th February 2016 Report this content
I applied for my instant loan on  6th February, and I didn't get it. How can I see my application, if it is a success or I have to re-apply?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Asked by kgomo12 on 2nd January 2015 Report this content
I applied for a wonga loan yesterday, but I haven't got a reply. When should I hear from them?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (1)
Report this content fox1 Written on: 02/01/2015
Are they still in business?
Asked by ellenpjr on 17th January 2014 Report this content
My son stupidly took a loan out with Wonga and, as he owed the money to me, had it paid directly in to my bank account. Wonga are now charging me for his loan by taking the capital + interest from my bank account - surely this is not legal. What can I do?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Asked by noxie on 11th January 2014 Report this content
I'm starting to get really nervous my loan was approved and even got an email stating the money is in my account ...but up till now its not in my account....does it take long with ABSA bank?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Asked by thulas00 on 8th January 2014 Report this content
If you are using ABSA how long does you get your money into account? I've be waiting for cash since yesterday afernoon

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

overview