War Horse Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★★★☆
4.2 / 5
88% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
War Horse - Ask a question now

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

★★★★☆

“War Horse is fantsastic!”

Written on: 26/10/2013

War horse is a production about a horse and his childhood during the war This production is ideal for any family with children 10 years or over ! It includes a giant puppet horse finding its feet , and his kind hearted owners helping him along the way. With sad, happy and scary scenes this is a must see. Ebtihal (10) says "apsoulutly amazing I was on the edge of my seat" All actors played their part magnificently well. Albert his owner goes on a mission to find his horse, on the way he experienced some terrible things. Again, this is a must see play!! with music as delicate as a dove and scenes as bright as a sun, you must be stupid to miss it By Acacia (10 years old )

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“Dissapointed.”

Written on: 19/05/2012

From my experience of WarHorse at the New London Theatre, It does not deserve the 5 star rating that the majority have given it. From the start it was pretty boring and wasn't as sad as the book or film. The only thing good about it was the horse puppets and the Goose. The singing was Ok... If you have read the book or seen the film, then the production is most probably going to disappoint you. Also in parts, French and German was being spoken and I had no clue what was being said, although the acting did try to demonstrate what they were saying. Overall it was disappointing.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“FANTASTIC LIVE ENTERTAINMENT”

Written on: 16/01/2012 by ferryman007 (1 review written)

Recently had the pleasure of being the beneficiary of two tickets to see War Horse at the theatre. What an absolutley fabulous experience. The acting, singing, plot and production were brilliant. A very intimate theatre made the experience even more heightened. I do go to the theatre quite regulary but this was one of the best shows I've ever seen!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“This was the best play I have ever seen. The horses...”

Written on: 23/03/2011 by shazpaz (1 review written)

This was the best play I have ever seen. The horses were so realistic that I actually cried when it got caught in the barbed wire. I was brilliant from start to finish and I hope it comes to Scotland where I would definately go back to see it again.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“Saw this last night for my birthday. It was...”

Written on: 07/12/2010 by DaveyBoy77 (58 reviews written)

Saw this last night for my birthday. It was absolutely amazing. We had good seats, about three rows back from the front. The puppets are absolutely incredible, and make it easy for you to become absorbed in the story. My only gripe was that for much of the second half there are bits of dialogue in French and German, and although they do their best to translate, there were times when my GCSE French wasn't quite good enough to keep up. All in all, a great, and very moving play, with an excellent cast.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Fabulous show as others have written. The horses...”

Written on: 24/09/2009 by kingofreviews (89 reviews written)

Fabulous show as others have written. The horses really are spectacular, and it's fascinating how quickly they cease to be puppets, and how completely they come alive. War Horse kept me engrossed from start to finish.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“If you haven't yet seen War Horse then go see it now!...”

Written on: 28/05/2009 by speakout (86 reviews written)

If you haven't yet seen War Horse then go see it now! I missed out on seeing it at the National but was not disappointed with the production at the New London Theatre in any way. I had heard and read many great reviews of War Horse and all of them were true. This is such a heart wrenching story about the lives of the horses in the first world war. I did not realise how many poor animals perished in such awful conditions until seeing his production and what they actually endured if they survived.

War Horse is the tale of one horse in particular, Joey and his owner Albert. You follow Joey's life from being a foal to being sold to the cavalry where he later finds himself in the thick of the fighting and eventually ending up in no mans land where he has to be rescued. Albert embarks on an epic quest to find his beloved horse, one which will bring a tear to your eye.

War Horse is made all that more remarkable because of the use of life size puppets which have been created to represent all the animals. By the end of the play you have forgotten that the puppets are actually being worked by people as you are so engrossed by the story as well as the actual movements of the puppets which seemed to me so life like at times - really quite remarkable. I also thought the ator playing Albert was very good.

Please do not be put off by the fact that this play is about war or even horses. It really is very special and I would recommend it to anyone.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“When I first heard of the concept of this play /...”

Written on: 01/04/2009 by nintendonut (1 review written)

When I first heard of the concept of this play / musical i thought to myself how am I going to get emotionally involved in a play where the lead characters are horses. Well, from the moment it started I was drawn in.

The puppetry was A1 excellent. The creators of the War Horse puppets are nothing short of genious.

The stage set was simple but effective.

The actors were brilliant especially the lead.

The irish singing was mesmerising.

At the end I was totally hooked and a little emotional too. Who would of thought that a horse puppet would pull on my heart strings.

This is a must see play!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

overview