AEG L16850 Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★★☆☆
2.8
38.0% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Ease of Use

  • Durability

  • Style

  • Service & Support

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
AEG L16850 - Ask a question now

Refine your search

Latest Reviews

“After 15 years, fault with the door”

★★★★★

written by KarimE on 28/10/2023

I've had this washer dryer for about 15 years. Must had one or two problems during the 5 year warranty period. But it's been very reliable. Though in recent years the drum has been very noisy. I'll be replacing it in November 2023 due to a fault with the door sensor. I'm after quieter machine more energy efficient machine. Will consider AEG again.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“AEG L16850”

★★★★★

written by Fatblokeonabike on 07/10/2023

Had this model for 12 years and it gets used every day. It has NEVER gone wrong apart from the dryer part that packed up after 3 years. But they ALL do on the dryer section. Amazing machine and still going to this day

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Unreliable”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 04/12/2012

We have only had this washer dryer for 30 months and the dryer has gone wrong twice already ,same fault each time. We are a two person household so machine is not heavily used. I will not be repairing again and will go back to Bosch which we should have stayed with in the first place.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“If only I'd known...”

★★☆☆☆

written by Cook007 on 20/10/2012

If only I'd known what I know now... I only bought an AEG Electrolux machine because my previous AEG washing machine was great. Next thing I knew we were stuck with this washer/dryer which broke down just after the guarantee had expired. Then the mechanic said to me "Yes, AEG used to make great machines - until they merged with Electrolux" and then presented me with an enormous bill for replacing the whole control panel, which had 'died'. I didn't even know this and thought that if I bought a Lavamat, it was an AEG Lavamat and not AEG/Electrolux. I should have spent more money in the first place and bought myself a nice Bosch! Now it's working again it's working alright, but I'll never buy a washer/dryer combination again. I only did that because of lack of space in my previous house. As soon as I've created more space in my current house I'm going to buy a separate dryer (not this make!). The problem with this machine (and perhaps others as well) is that if you've been drying, say, dark clothing, you need to wipe the machine out thoroughly, otherwise your next load of white washing will be covered in dark fluff! A real pain in the neck... Another thing I cannot stand is that some wash settings can't be combined with higher spin settings. Wash a load using the 40 degrees cottons setting, then the spin is 1200 rpm. That way it takes ages to dry! Spinning separately at 1600 rpm afterwards then takes an extra 16 minutes... You can't simply set these modern machines to spin only; this one first starts pumping water out even when you know there's no water in the machine at all, because it's already been spinning! In short, this AEG Electrolux Lavamat 16850 is supposed to be an intelligent machine with a computerised control panel, but it's prone to breaking down and actually not very intelligent after all. I never though I, as a man, would ever say this, but - this machine must have been designed by a man and not a woman...

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Not as advertised”

★★☆☆☆

written by on 18/10/2012

I have had my AEG L16850 washer/dryer for two years since space in my kitchen prevented me keeping a separate dryer. The washer is perfect.The dryer is not. To those who appreciate the following, consider carefully:- 1. Being able to monitor the drying process 2. End of cycle cooling to prevent creases 3. Options of cool and hot drying 4. Drying time for say, two towels - less than one hour 5. Controllable heat drying ( not fierce heat resulting in PERMANENT CREASING. 6. Not having to hang your clothes to dry in open air/on hangers to avoid either scalding heat or overall dampness.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Excellent machine”

★★★★★

written by Steve17 on 12/05/2012

My experience with the AEG L16850 is very good and I'm very surprised to read the other reviews here who say they have had a bad experience. I have had our machine for nearly 2 years now and it has performed without a fault, really quiet, easy to work, fantastic cleaning, rinsing and drying results and totally fault free. Also seems to be very economical to run. I am now thinking of the L16950 as a replacement as the load size is larger.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“ Two major problems in less than a year. First no...”

★★☆☆☆

written by Derek Haigh on 02/05/2010

Two major problems in less than a year. First no wash, main pcb changed no machine for a week. Ten days ago blew up again engineer came after 2 days but still waiting for him to replace door catch and associated pcb. Service response very poor ,took 5 days for parts to arrive at Service Force this not good enough.New parts will be fitted in 2 days time. No washer all this time. I would not buy another AEG machine. What is going to happen next? Lost confidence in the machine.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Whilst this AEG L16850 machine bought on basis of past...”

☆☆☆☆☆

written by rlodhia on 18/05/2009

Whilst this AEG L16850 machine bought on basis of past reviews, I have found nothing but problems with the machine and the AEG engineers have been unable to fix this. Appliance bought from Boots online who stated that unless it flooded 4 times we would not consider an exchange. Apparently this is company policy.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

overview