Gree Air Conditioners Reviews - global.gree.com

Gree Air Conditioners Reviews - global.gree.com
★★☆☆☆
2.0
28.0% of users recommend this
  • Ease of Use

  • Durability

  • Style

  • Service & Support

  • Value For Money

Gree Air Conditioners Reviews - global.gree.com Summary

GreeAC is the largest manufacturer of residential air conditioners selling 65 million units and responsible for 1 in 5 of the split air conditioning units sold in 2022. Gree sells both split units and central air conditioning units.

Gree Electric is a Chinese company established in 1991 and based in Zhuhai, China. They are known for being energy efficient and highly reliable. 

Gree Air sells under the Livo, Vireo and  Sapphire brands. Gree Sapphire is their latest and premium split air conditioner and heating unit with low energy, low noise,  WIFI connectivity and timer functions.

While the majority of the Reviewers love the low prices and easy installation, several complained about poor customer service, likely due to their rapid growth in the past few years

For the Gree 12,000 BTU, for example, several reviewers noted it being dead on arrival, with poor follow up and no customer care phone calls

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Gree Air Conditioners Reviews - global.gree.com - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Gree Air Conditioners Reviews - global.gree.com

Refine your search

Latest Reviews

“very bad smell”

★★☆☆☆

written by ARSK on 13/04/2024

This ac can be run only on very cold settings, otherwise it gives very bad smell. There is no use of fan, or auto mode. And the service team keeps telling me to run ac on cold temperatures to avoid smell. I made a big mistake of buying this brand.

Was this review helpful? 1 0

“It is a perfect requirement ”

★★★★★

written by 436Harrington on 17/03/2024

I am using it and this is user-friendly.I am happy with my purchase decision with this airconditioner.performancs is excellent and important thing is my electricity bill is in control than previous.

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“A good ac”

★★★★☆

written by AdrianaCross285 on 28/02/2024

It is really a good Ac to have and everyone should have this Ac in there house

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Misleading BTU Rating”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Jayvon381 on 22/11/2023

Gree on their web site indicate "Energy loss in typical forced air systems is as high as 40%." ... So, for example, their 9000BTU Rated unit is truly only 5400 BTU. This discovered while trying to establish why a Equipment with a collective BTU production of 5073 BTU isn't being coped with by a 9000 BTU GREE air conditioner. Seems most air conditioner manufacturers rate by actual cooling capacity where as GREE seems to use theoretical cooling capacity without the detailed inefficiency. Once I included the 40% inefficiency indicated on their (Gree's) web site (non-inverter based unit), the calculations work out (i.e explaining why the air conditioner is not coping) Feels exceptionally misleading that the "Cooling Capacity" indicated on the unit is not what the unit can actually do even though the manufacturer themselves indicate a known inefficiency of 40%. Feels like I'm being tricked. Explains why my 1600cc car cant outperform others 900cc cars. Misrepresentation of the highest order if you ask me!

Was this review helpful? 1 0

“10 units that do not work more than a week”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Wlestage on 27/10/2023

I built a new duplex,I asked the A/C contractor for his recommendation. In 4 months of living in one unit I have not had all 5 units in each side work more than 2 weeks in a row. I am ready to pull out and install another brand and seek legal action against the contractor. They are JUNK!!!!

Was this review helpful? 3 0

“I dnt recommend gree.. its terrible and damages...”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Rylee129 on 22/08/2023

I dnt recommend gree.. its terrible and damages unexpectadly.. its pcb damaged I repaired and after i repaired the second fault was in swing motor + some other fault in indoor unit... terribble dnt buy

Was this review helpful? 2 0

“Customer Service”

★★★★☆

written by Marypicard on 03/08/2023

I purchased a Gree window air conditioner from Home Hardware on-line. I got it home and opened the package and started to assemble it for installation into the window. The parts manual was poorly written and there was some hardware missing-so that was a negative. (But, not that bad really>) I then contacted Gree and I was absolutely blown away by how charming and helpful the service contact was. She (Johanne) was extremely helpful and very nice to talk to. I think her first language must be French, and I only speak English, so there were a couple of funny parts as we tried to spell out some things-J and G can be hard to differentiate. We got through it-Johanne made it fun, actually. She promised to send the parts. She sent me a confirmation email, so I could easily contact Service again if need be. The parts did not show up on a timely basis, so I contacted Service again, and another set of parts was promptly send. I did get that set, so it is a bit of a mystery what happened to the first set that was sent through Canada Post. In the meantime I emailed Service to say I had a question about the installation. Johanne sent me a fresh copy of the instructions that were missing from the instructions that came with the unit. I was very impressed about how caring and how much follow-through was done to solve the problems which obviously came from the factory. It was also very nice to deal with a Canadian, I am glad the company employees people in our own country. Emails were very promptly answered, sometimes within minutes. Very well done! Thanks! 

Was this review helpful? 2 0

“Very Disappointed with Gree Authroized Dealer and...”

★☆☆☆☆

written by LukaMcCabe on 11/07/2023

I had hired company to install a brand new gree hearpump with duct work in choke recently built after they attempted to repair a mini split system which was 8 or so years old but sat in box and not installed unti 2 years earlier. It was only used 3x due to in summer home at the time. After spending maybe $800, AC worked for a few months but here faiked within a week. Company came back out with new part and unable to repair heat after two attempts. I finally decided to have company install whole new gree system with all ductwork which system runs great. They agreed to move older mini split to my shop for a reasonable fee. AC worked for 2 weeks and quit.l I didn’t have them try to repair heat for cost didn’t make sense nor could they identify heat issue and so why repair it. After the old mini system failing again within 3 weeks, I decided to have company install a new min split system in shop because they get 10 year select free warranty. I paid via check with no financing at time of all installs. No financing. In less than a month, new mini split failed and motherboard in outside condenser unit failed.. Company replaced under warranty but tried to charge $265. They dropped charge after I explained why this is unreasonable for brand new install failure in less than a month. Several weeks later, same part failed. They had installed hvac surge protector on new system during install and sold me unit under the 10 year warranty. The board had darkened area in exact place as other failure. They said it wasn’t under warranty and I would have to pay for part upfront and labor. Gree approved warranty and no storms or power surges at time of failure nor lightning.. Licensed electrician check all wiring and surge protectors as did power company check my home for any fluctuation in supply under a full load or any ie Extricate wiring issues by them or electrician. Company then said partcunder warranty and only labor. They tried to charge $475. Labor to install board which takes maybe 15 min. During this time, I beca,e upset. I said via text this is messed up but did say a bad word. I didn’t call anyone names but just said this is messed up. I was sold system under gree 10 year select warranty. I called two other gree certified companies and explained situation and they said most gree places give one year labor free and gree parts free. They also said service fee of $475 outrageous. They checked warranty and looked at photos and said under warranty, Fee to come out and install between $100 and 125. I told orighianl and tapped and he basically said good luck and ended conversation.. Now I have been down a few eeeks with hot hot shop which is finished and company coming as new company gets parts. I did apologize asap to first company ans never attacked him but only said this was messed up. I am the mellowest guy and it takes much to get upset. I would highly recommend one consider this experience but make your own informed decision. The company always brags about customer satisfaction but ultimately actions did not support their sales pitch. I spoke to another 26 year gree tech who said something likely wrong with unit and possible lemon when he saw damage on same part and location. I run 3 high end surge protection systems. One on AC, one on whole house and another filter system which keeps clean power online. Even if hvac surge protector was faulty, installer could not provide receipt where they bought it and it’s not transferable. I had given them a great review before but the company showed its colors. Let me add the installer was great and knowledgeable. He said company charged$65 an hour and first hour commute no charge. Owner wouldn’t listen and could care less when I voiced my concern is when I became very frustrated. Spent maybe 14k with his company. No damage by me or my fault for failure. Owner threatened me he would take me to court for slander. Company name Without Limitation in SC New mini split remote wireless operates on same freq as new tv. Everytime I use remote on gree, tv changes channels or turns on. No setting to change. First new gree system for home is excellent but mini split issues and constant failures on new Gree 24k mini split

Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Leakage in Inner pipes ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 25/06/2023

!!! caution!!!! Please refrain from buying Gree AC the inner pipe leak and after sale or warranty is not helpful at all. I have made many complaints my inner unit leaks after every 30 to 40 days and instead of changing the leaked part they repair it which causes same problem.if I could attach my complaint number actual discomfort I have faced since I bought the heat and cool 1 ton unit would surprise everyone. Till date same issue supervisor is asking for money instead of properly resolving the complaint.

Leakyaclover's Comment

Written on: 11/07/2023

Personally I enjoy a little pipe leak. Might buy it after I read your saucy review now

Reply to this comment
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Worst inverter ac ever”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Ammar101 on 22/06/2023

It is really bad and at high temperatures outside it wont make the room slightly cold even if the ac is running at 16 degrees. Worst purchase

Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Worst ever ac, high leakage”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Syed.ali88771 on 25/05/2023

We have 1.5 tonne gree inverter and after 2 years of purchase, its whole evaporator got leaked and we had to replace it to get new one and now after every year, same problem again. Their evaporators are so bad. They get leaked from their u-bend. Poor contruction. They make it that way so that people would buy new one after 2 3 years

Was this review helpful? 3 0

“Don't purchase Gree”

★☆☆☆☆

written by BelindaBeaven on 29/03/2023

GREE AIR-CONDITIONER NEVER WORKED I have recently purchased a totally refurbished smart house with a brand new Gree unit installed. No one had lived in the house since the Gree was installed. And even though the previous owners gave us all the paper work for the supply and purchase including the warranty, Gree would not honur the warranty as I am not the original purchaser. Not acceptable Gree .

Rahsagroup's Response to BelindaBeaven's Review

Written on: 02/04/2024

I also bought it, unfortunately it broke after 3 months and it also had a bad smell which was very dangerous.

Reply to this comment
Was this review helpful? 5 1

“Gree is Rubbish ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 23/11/2022

Have a New Age Manta Ray. Everything var washing machine and microwave that is NCE/Gree related is CRAP!! Avoid yourself the hassles of no reply when troubles inevitably arise. Swap out or choose a different brand of caravan.

Was this review helpful? 3 2

“Chinese junk”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Maximillian348 on 27/07/2022

Chinese junk. That's all you need to know. It works for a week and than you're screwed. Beter spring a bit more money for a decent AC. If you buy one anyway you'll live to regret is!

-Lc-'s Comment

Written on: 11/09/2022

It would really help to know what the issue was. It could be a refrigerant leak, caused by the installation, or it could be a blown control board cause by a brownout and surge, without a surge protector installed. Or, it could be something else. Knowing the problem would make the review useful. What type of AC was this?

Reply to this comment
Was this review helpful? 6 6

“DO NOT PURCHASE a GREE system”

★☆☆☆☆

written by nuturner on 15/06/2022

NON exist customer service or tech support. Manufacturer does NOT care about customers and refused to talk, address, or fix issues. they don't have ANY SORT of customer service and ANY KIND of tech support!! Tech support has been ignoring this situation for over 3 months, refusing to respond or conduct ANY on site inspection. If you are right handed, KNAW off your hand before you sign up for a Gree unit. It WILL be less painful. ANY other brand no matter how bad it is would NOT reach the low level of this company

Was this review helpful? 14 1

“Worst Customer Service”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Sarim on 12/05/2022

I have purchased new AC of 2021 model. It Gas is leaked somewhere from inside. I called the customer centre, their technician came and confirmed that unit has issue and put it on replacement. It's been more than month now, Unit has not been replaced. I daily call them but no progress.

Was this review helpful? 15 1

“GREE NEVER BUY”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Bradsbaddog on 20/11/2021

Installed in 2019. Since then $2300 in repairs so far in 2 years. Replaced main outside control boards twice costing &1100 each time. System backs up and water reverse flows into house 3 times when A/C as at full load. This is definitely a lemon that should be indemnified as the worst ever manufactured. I have never had a major appliance work this poorly with no reliability and major parts that need replacement every year. WORST EVER MADE!!!

-Lc-'s Response to Bradsbaddog's Review

Written on: 06/09/2022

I am sorry to hear of your unpleasant adventure. A condensate line backflowing has nothing to do with the actual AC/heatpump unit. It is the result of either an improperly installed condensate drain line, or a clogged condensate drain line (can happen and they need to be checked periodically), or of a malfunction (or improper installation) of an external condensate pump, which is not part of the actual AC/heatpump. Since you have had your problems in the first two years and had to pay for the repairs and are needing to do the calling yourself, it suggests you either installed the system yourself, or used an licensed contractor, who is now leaving you stranded.

As for the source of your condenser main board problem, did you (or your contractor) install a surge protector in the electrical power line? Brownouts and surges are deadly to electronics in general. We had a brownout destroy the main board on our Rheem heat pump water heater, because we failed to install a surge protector on it. When we replacing the board, we installed a surge protector on the circuit, identical to the surge protector for our GREE heat pump which was not damaged in the same brownout. If you had your heatpump professionally installed, and the contractor did not install a surge suppressor, then the blame should probably go to them, not GREE. I am sorry to hear of your unfortunate experience. Make sure you have a surge protector

BTW.. I am not associated with GREE in anyway except as a very please owner of a 12000BTU Sapphire heat pump, which efficiently heats our entire 1150sqft old/remodeled home in a cold/very cold climate. I am also quite knowledgeable, as a retired designer of very high efficiency homes, and energy efficiency educator, who keeps up on current trends in home energy efficiency.

Reply to this comment
Was this review helpful? 10 3

“Worst AC I have ever used. ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Saleheen on 05/10/2021

I am in Bahrain, last year in March 2020 I purchased 2.5 ton split ac and after the warranty expired, 2 times it stopped cooling. When I called the company they said board / kit got damaged and they charged BD80 (INR 15,000). In the last 3 months 2 times same thing happened. At the time of selling they say 5 years warranty but when problem comes they say only compressor is under warranty for 5 years rest of the things u have to pay. Also, compressor they will give you but for fixing have to pay big amount. I will not recommend anybody to take this AC.

Was this review helpful? 7 1

“Horrible air unit”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Runser on 29/08/2021

Had a Gree mini split go through 3 condensers in 2 months and labor wasn’t covered. Absolutely ridiculous to spend $800 in labor on a new unit. They’re customer service and units are trash at best buyer beware

Was this review helpful? 7 1

“3 years old unit won’t heat. And probably not covered ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Jannigje on 26/08/2021

At 9 months my unit kept cutting out and a Warranty person came out and told me it was the remote and sold me a second hand remote for $60 he also charged me $80 call out fee, neither of which I received a receipt for. Now at 3 years old, the unit won’t heat. It cools only. Warranty people tell me it is probably low on gas. Also not covered by warranty. The original installer quit a couple of years ago without a forwarding address!!! So to get someone here to decide if it’s warranty or not will cost me $170. That does not include the gas. I’ve told them not to bother. I’ll buy a new one from a reliable company.

Famousdude's Response to Jannigje's Review

Written on: 27/08/2021

These systems if purchased online...like most major bands HVAC equipment do not have warrants unless installed by a licensed contractor. Was your contractor licensed or not? GEER would cover a defective part up to 5 years, Most HVAC equipment manufactures do not cover refrigerants unless covered under specific warranty issued, I believe there more to this "Issue".

Reply to this comment

Jannigje's reply to Famousdude's Comment

Written on: 28/08/2021

Not purchased online. The installer brought the unit and was employed by Gree and was licensed. It may, I said may, be covered once they get here to check it out, but if it isn’t, I’m up for $170. I’m not prepared to accept that chance. I’d rather pay that to a local technician. By the way, the warranty period is 6 years according to my paperwork.. why would you think there is more to this issue? Have you also had dealings with them?

Reply to this comment

Famousdude's reply to Jannigje's Comment

Written on: 07/10/2021

If you call GREE, have the details of the licensed contractor, they will help you. You can find out also if your equipment has been registered.

A warranty person came out to told you it was a stat? Worked for GREE? I have found batteries to be a few of my mini split problems.

Reply to this comment

-Lc-'s Response to Jannigje's Review

Written on: 06/09/2022

The refrigerant leak, in that time period is most likely the fault of a poor installation of the refrigerant line set, not the unit. Air conditioners and heat pumps, in general, tend to lose refrigerant over time, which is why there is a transition going on to new refrigerants that are not such powerful greenhouse gases. But, they don't generally lose it nearly that quickly. That is a lot to pay for a "used remote." The more expensive ones sell for that much new, and their AC remotes are usually $9-20..

Reply to this comment
Was this review helpful? 4 2

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Before posting your question please check to see that it has not already been asked.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

Asked by Debnolan on 28th March 2023 Report this content
A week ago l had 2 aircons installed l have 2.5 in my bedroom with all doors shut se temp at 24c it doesn't shut off when temp is reached

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Asked by RobinZ on 24th October 2022 Report this content
I have had several estimates from several air conditioning systems. One is pushing gree. They say its efficient, gets a higher seer and costs less than a lenox. I'm also concerned that gree is a chinese company. How does gree compare to rheem and lenox?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Asked by Siral on 19th July 2022 Report this content
Why does my new Gree AC unit read 3 decree higher than actual temp?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Asked by St.Dominic1 on 19th July 2021 Report this content
Is it normal for a gree air conditioner to make a gurgling sound during operation. What does this mean?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Asked by Zkharas on 21st December 2017 Report this content
What does the tree symbol on the remote control mean? I don’t seem to be able to turn it off.

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Asked by smasri on 16th January 2017 Report this content
What is the difference between R22 And R410 inverter?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (1)
Report this content whippy55 Written on: 20/12/2017
I have a gree air conditioner and the remote has stopped controlling the unit. I have installed new batteries and the remote appears fine but will not control the ac. Need to control manually
Asked by morpher on 5th November 2016 Report this content
I have gree multi split inverter that contains gwdh(28)nk3bo outdoor unit, 2 x 12000btu + 2 x 9000btu indoor units, with 45 meters of installation. Is there a need for additional installation pipe charging and what amount of R410a is required per meter of installation?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Asked by TechGuy1011 on 17th July 2016 Report this content
I have a Gree AC unit and I am very pleased with it. However there is just this one feature that I don't understand; Healthy and scavenger mode. What does this mode do and what does it mean?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Asked by edgordon on 20th January 2016 Report this content
I have a Gree Neo 18hp wall mounted unit. Does the outdoor unit suppose to run all the time and not cut off?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (1)
Report this content TechGuy1011 Written on: 17/07/2016
Unless it's an inverter, the outdoor unit is supposed to cut off when it reaches the set temperature.
Asked by AlGen on 24th December 2015 Report this content
My name is Dave and I purchased a 42K, 5 mini split system and the mini-splits don't consistently respond to the remotes (the mini-splits won't consistently turn on or off and/or respond to other commands. The batteries in the remotes are fine and had the mother board replaced and boards in the mini-splits). The mini-splits are all installed in one room (which is large enough for the BTUs). Has anyone else had this problem? If so, was it solved? If it was solved, how? Thanks

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Asked by CHERRIECABIGON on 15th October 2015 Report this content
Does a Gree Air Conditioner have a hepa filter?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Asked by mohammadalibitar on 22nd August 2015 Report this content
I have got a 2tn Gree AC from Saudi Arabia 60 Hz. Does it work in Amman, Jordan where we have A 50 Hz electricity?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Asked by OttoPetersen on 26th May 2014 Report this content
I have a Gree Air conditioner. Mod KFR-25G/NA 13. The condense water is leaking from the inside unit, and does not flow through the installed hose. How can I get to the probably leaking joint inside the unit to repair it?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (1)
Report this content jettwa47 Written on: 03/09/2014
Two out of our three units have no problem. The one problem unit has destroyed a family painting, soaked furniture and floor; the interior was full of mold that had to cleaned out. Today, 9-2-14, I called my repairman to take this thing out of my home. Totally incrusted with black mold AGAIN, water on furniture AGAIN - totally disgusting. At my cost I told him to put a new unit in. Besides the water and mold issues this unit has had no mechanical problems. When this was first put in there was a kink in the water drain. This first water episode is what ruined the picture and started it all. My AC man rerouted the hose and all seemed well until the next overflow happened. This time the whole unit was moldy. They cleaned it AGAIN and here we are today, totally full of black mold AGAIN! Get this thing out of my home....please!
Asked by cesar505 on 6th February 2014 Report this content
Can the auto restart after a power failure it be disabled?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

overview