Birchwood Lodge Kennels & Catteries Reviews

Birchwood Lodge Kennels & Catteries
★★★★☆
3.6
66.7% of users recommend this
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Birchwood Lodge Kennels & Catteries - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Birchwood Lodge Kennels & Catteries

Refine your search

Latest Reviews

“Bad service”

★☆☆☆☆

written by ZionKidd211 on 14/06/2024

Would give minus 5 stars if I could Did an online booking, got confirmation back Confirming the booking. Spoke multipe times and received confirmations of the conversations and that the booking is confirmed. Spoke to the booking office again,they pulled up my cats name and file, everything was ok and booking confirmed. 1 hour later I get an email, not even a call,saying they made a mistake, they don’t have space, sorry, enjoy your evening. If they treat customers like this, wonder how the pets left in their care are treated like.

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Home from home”

★★★★★

written by CibachHolly on 24/05/2024

This was dogs first stay in Birchwood Lodge kennels having recently moved to this area, but I will have no problem lodging her there again. The staff are down to earth and obviously know how to care for the animals, with certificates displayed in the office where we drop off. I was able to visit before booking to view the kennels which are what you’d expect and exactly what was at her last kennels. All my texts were answered quickly, so communication with the owner was great. I thought the daily rate was very reasonable . There is a grassy area for outdoor runs. Dog was returned in good , clean condition and seems a very happy girl. Birchwood lodge will be my go to boarding kennel from now on, really pleased with the care given over the 10 days she was there. Many thanks to you all

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Happy holidays”

★★★★★

written by PeterMargaret2 on 02/11/2023

Bertie always likes staying with Birchwood cattery. He has no qualms about leaving home to holiday there and is happy to see his carers. He has been going there for several years and comes home afterwards relaxed and well fed, with his coat looking luxurious. They are very good about giving him his daily medecine.

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“They let my dog escape and it got killed”

★☆☆☆☆

written by orientalpoppy on 19/10/2023

These kennels are filthy. Unfortunately, I overlooked it as we had a family emergency. Our beautiful dog escaped and was run over. people working there are untrue. They said wrong to us about the dog escaping and refused to accept responsibility for it. Afterwards, I was told by people in Caterham that they are gangsters and we certainly felt intimidated. Please dont use them, no matter how desperate you are. They conducted a campaign of hatred against us, until we got the Police involved. Truly sad that they are so unprofessional.

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Fantastic place”

★★★★★

written by LorraineCunningham on 19/05/2023

Fantastic kennels,just picked our dog up after arriving late due to motorway, it was no problem, had lots of photos and 2 videos of him running around enjoying himself,it certainly puts your mind at ease to be able to watch,very friendly staff,helpful and king,will defo recommend and use again,thank you birchwood

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Used twice for my two cats!”

★★★★★

written by on 11/01/2023

Great Place.So happy with the owner.You can see that he truly loves animals. My cats been staying here twice.They come home calm,clean and relaxed. I will be bringing them again this April when we travel.

Birchwood_Lodge's Comment

Written on: 11/01/2023

Thankyou for your Wonderful review
Looking forward to seeing you all again soon Andy & the team at Birchwood

Reply to this comment
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Telephone booking”

★☆☆☆☆

written by mbMedeiros112 on 30/07/2019

I called B.L.K and spoke to a very rude person. I simply wanted to book my dog in, it was the first time calling a Kennel. I wanted to book my dog in for 2 days over the weekend. what I didn't get was picking up your dog the following day counts as an additional day. He didn't have the time to explain. instead he put the phone down on me... how rude. I called back to understand why, and he said I didn't have the time to explain... rude again. If this man doesn't have the time then only Lord knows how he would treat a poor dog or cat... STAY AWAY

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“It's a dogs life!”

★★★★★

written by JosieLloyd241 on 01/05/2018

My two dogs (German Shepherd & terrier)spent their first holiday at Birchwood Lodge this month and totally loved it! The person I dealt with and his team are great and put me at ease when leaving them. On my return they settled back into normal life really quickly and a lot of people commented on how well their fur coats looked. Have my next holiday in the summer, so dogs booked in already.

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Charlie Beagle loves Birchwood Lodge!”

★★★★★

written by JuliaChurch on 29/04/2018

My beagle, Charlie, has been looked after by Birchwood Lodge Kennels on many occasions over the last three years and he loves it there. He pulls at the lead to get in he is so excited! The staff are very friendly and have genuine affection for the animals they look after. As an "only dog", Charlie loves to have the chance to have lots of playtime with his doggy friends and I enjoy viewing their Facebook posts of Charlie with his pals. I need never worry that Charlie is fretting when he stays at Birchwood, which makes my mini breaks and holidays all the more enjoyable. Thank you Birchwood!

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Never Again”

★☆☆☆☆

written by 311Whalen on 17/10/2017

After leaving my dog here for a week we picked her up with wet bedding and it smelling of urine. My poor dog smelt disgusting and her hair was falling out on the way home. Never again will my dog step foot here. Totally appalled even after reading great reviews about them.

Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Best boarding kennels ”

★★★★★

written by PAP40 on 17/02/2016

I found out about Birchwood Boarding Kennels when a friend told me that the owner also found suitable homes for the animals that have been dumped at the kennels. I got my wonderful Dutch Shepherd from him, who was concerned and took in great detail to who i was and where this dog was going to be rehoused. Since having Troy june 2015 i have boarded him at Birchwood once to go on holiday and couldnt fault the care and attention the staff gave to my dog. He came home happy and well loved and soon will be booking in another week soon for this year. Thankyou for the care you gave Troy.

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Our dog thinks its wonderful!”

★★★★★

written by on 10/06/2015

Our West Highland cannot get in through the door quick enough each time we leave him (doesn't say much for his owners!!). Care and attention brilliant. Staff are most obliging.

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Best Kennels Around”

★★★★★

written by on 05/04/2012

I booked in my dog Alfie for a fortnight stay at Birchwood Lodge kennels. Upon taking my dog to the kennels, I was greeted by a polite gentlemen named Andy. Before I handed over Alf, I was taken around the site and shown all the facilities. He also explained what Alfie's stay would be like, detailing the daily procedure for the dogs. I was most impressed, especially with the exercise areas. Andy seemed very professional, and I felt really comfortable handing alfie over. Now please take into consideration this was the first time I'd left my dog, so I would naturally be worried. Having returned after two weeks, I came to collect Alfie and was again greeted by Andy with a wagging-tail Alfie! Included in the price (which was very reasonable provided the great service offered) was a dog bath. Alfie smelt lovely, looked just how I left him and I was very pleased. I would definitely recommend this kennels and I have used it ever since. And make sure you ask for the bath! It's only £10 more but it was a nice touch and for cuddles later on the sofa, you would not believe for one second my dog had just come from the kennels. I have now been using this kennels for 3 years and always received this excellent service. Highly Recommended.

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Boarded my dogs at Birchwood Lodge Kennels & Catteries...”

★★★★★

written by aniemira on 04/06/2009

Boarded my dogs at Birchwood Lodge Kennels & Catteries on several occasions. Always very caring - one of girls was nervous and wouldn't eat so got special attention. Another time one of the boys had a cough so was checked at the vets. I would be confident leaving my dogs with Emma and her staff. While I am away I know that if there were any problems they would be sorted - worry less about the dogs than if my parents are looking after them. Can't imagine what happened for the other user - not my experience at all. Would recommend this kennel and they have lots of regular customers.

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“We left our dog at the Birchwood Lodge Kennels &...”

☆☆☆☆☆

written by Sany on 18/04/2009

We left our dog at the Birchwood Lodge Kennels & Catteries just for one week and when we got back it took us 2 weeks to recover from the stress of seeing the condition our dog was in upon collection. She is a long haired small dog and we had taken her to the groomer so that her fur would be as short as possible while there to reduce the possibility that she would return really dirty! When we picked her up she looked really stressed, she was wet and caked in mud and her neck was covered in sores which she had developed in that short period there and they had obviously neglected, to the point that they had become bloody and infected wounds. The next day we had to make an emergency visit to the vet because during the night she had difficulty breathing and was shaking with fever. She was diagnosed with a chest infection.

Jill_'s Response to Sany's Review

Written on: 10/11/2013

I have to say I would not recommend this kennels either. My neighbour left her dog there so I thought it must be ok. I left my lab and goldie for 4 weeks while I was away and I wished I hadn't. When I went to pick them up they were pulling to get out of there and they were gagging for water. Their bedding came back filthy and they stunk of urine. When iI got them home I had a better look and realised my goldie had difficulty walking, she was badly matted as her hair was longer than the lab and both their fur was smelling badly of urine. I had to take them to the groomers for her to work miracles. I feel so guilty about how they suffered while I was away and I will never again use this kennels. My friend was surprised at what happened but wasn't put off but she never left her dog for more than a week anyway and her lab had short hair,whereas mine were there for 4weeks. It seems the longer haired dogs are not wll looked after like the are too lazy to brush or bath them. I am disgusted!!!!!!

Reply to this comment
Was this review helpful? 0 0

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

overview