Rory Lewis Photography, Liverpool Reviews - www.rorylewis.co.uk

★★★★★
4.7 / 5
96% of users recommend this
  • Value For Money

Media Gallery for Rory Lewis Photography, Liverpool www.rorylewis.co.uk

Rory Lewis Photography, Liverpool www.rorylewis.co.uk

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

★★★★★

“With this being my first ever headshot session Rory...”

Written on: 11/10/2017 by SamReesBaylis (1 review written)

With this being my first ever headshot session Rory was quick to make me feel at ease. We chatted before starting the shoot which instantly made me feel comfortable and he helped me to pick which of the clothes I had brought to wear. The shoot itself was very smooth and Rory was great at showing me the ropes, allowing me to look over the photos he had taken at numerous points, giving me a chance to check I was happy with them as I went along! Happy I was, I got the photos back on the day of the shoot and was very pleased with the high quality of the results! I would recommend Rory, he is professional, talented, helpful and fun! Great for anyone new to the whole headshot game!

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 1
★★★★★

“An amazing professional experience ”

Written on: 10/08/2017 by JaeMacpherson (1 review written)

This was the first time I had my headshots done and Rory helped me get through them extremely comfortably, helping me get better results out of my headshots with each photo he took. Every step of the way he gave me extremely useful hints and tips in order to help me along and explained in great details what the industry is looking for in the headshots along with giving me other useful tips on the industry. Both before and after the shoot Rory was excellent at keeping in touch in order to keep me up to date in a professional manner. Would definitely recommend for anyone looking for a professional photographer.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Directing your client/model”

Written on: 03/08/2017 by IanCo (1 review written)

The person I dealt with informs in a very casual and relaxed way. The session was for 6 hours and we gained valuable experience in various lighting techniques. The main focus was in direction of our model, we learnt about getting to know our subject and how to bring out the best in not only what they wanted from the shoot but also getting what the photographer sees in the subject. Overall I think all the participants learnt something valuable from the day and have gained more confidence which is what I know I needed.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★★★★

“Wonderful Portraiture ”

Written on: 02/08/2017 by rorylewisphotographer (1 review written)

I booked a short, 1-hour session as a 'taster'. Rory's customer care was excellent from the start, with clear communication and guidance beforehand and throughout. Rory has an easy, conversational manner that made the hour tick by without any sense of stress or 'production-line'. As a result, I was very pleasantly surprised that it produced over 170 shots - which gave plenty of scope for choice for the final finished image. Both this and the initial contact sheet came through very quickly. The only delay in the process was from me taking so long to decide which image to choose!

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Cancelled, moved, moved again then was aggressive and...”

Written on: 02/08/2017 by 85Suarez (1 review written)

#actors #headshots #westend don't work with @rorylewisphotog, cancelled due to aggressive nature...and moved my date.......never let anyone make you feel bad for their errors

Rorylewisphotographer's Comment

Written on: 02/08/2017

Client called to announce he was running considerably late for his session. With a studio team waiting, I had no choice but to cancel the session. The client was fully refunded out of good will. However, any other photographer would have forfeited the session.

Reply to this comment

Casting22's Comment

Written on: 02/08/2017

Original booking was moved on Rorys request. He said he could not do original booking as he could not find hair and make up i paid for, no problem said and rescheduled.

Two days ago i get a message, 'can't do new date' and he had to cancel and move to September. I said why? 'Because my shoot has run over today'. I said no problem how about todays date, yes,I booked him for a full session again, full price with extras.

I was to meet him at 10 but due to traffic missed train so said I'd get to him 10:30. He said no I'm cancelling! I said excuse me I have you booked for the day, he then said i only two hours I have another job! I said on your website and booking it states no time restraints!Then he was aggressive with it so it's all cancelled.

I'm telling the world because I just think if I was an old lady, young graduate or anyone who just would not speak up that he took advantage of i think its terrible.

This is from his website

PACKAGE TWO
TWO HOUR HEADSHOT SESSION

I have had many photo shoots and would never ever work with this man again or advise any other professional

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 1
Read 2 Comments
★★★★★

“This was my first time getting professional actors...”

Written on: 18/04/2017 by Lou_96 (1 review written)

This was my first time getting professional actors Headshots done, and I have to say I am absolutely thrilled with my overall images. I was made to feel extremely comfortable and relaxed from start to finish and I cannot recommend enough to other actors who are looking for a photographer to take their actors Headshots. Thank you for an amazing expperience!

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“These were my first set of professional headshots and...”

Written on: 24/03/2017 by EvieBird (1 review written)

These were my first set of professional headshots and I have to say I am so glad I saved up to make sure I could afford Rory taking them. The mood was cheerful, the environment was comfortable and the end result was brilliant. I now have some great, atmospheric shots to start my career with. Can't thank or recommend Rory enough!

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“I improved and that's the point”

Written on: 26/11/2016 by McHughdw401 (1 review written)

Portrait Master class - London. I thought it was very good value over two days and Rory is a very capable photographer. I've been on a few other courses and walked away none the wiser. That's probably me, but I'll give Rory credit for drilling something into my head without a lot of unnecessary detail. I like his shooting style and lighting, and he is generous in explaining how he gets there and what inspires him. He looks to artists and portraitists of the past for inspiration and shares this both on the day - and in his excellent notes after the session.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Truly a Master Class - game changer for my business”

Written on: 25/10/2016 by Edflanagan (1 review written)

The Master Class was not only practical and entertaining, but Rory was generous with his huge knowledge and insight built up from his study of the Great Masters in painting and their techniques for lighting and mood translated into very practical steps gained through shooting world leaders in industry, government and the arts and entrainment. All wrapped and packed into hands on experience to facilitate the learning with and emphasis on minimum of equipment and the maximum of thought and direction. This Master Class is a game changer for me, in my pursuit of offering my client the highest quality service possible, and I can not wait to pass on the benefits and insights I have learned from Rory's Master Class, in the images I take going forward. For anyone who is committed to raising their game to that of the Great Masters, get the insights and inspiration and learn and practice the techniques and most of all learn and practice giving direction to your seater to get the very best image possible - this is the Master Class to take.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★★★★

“Fantastic ”

Written on: 26/07/2016 by Eeezoef (1 review written)

One word fantastic , he is a true pro and did a great job with my daughters Headshots . Would recommend him highly . Thanks 

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Low Key Portraits course (1 day)”

Written on: 20/06/2016 by Merchistoun (1 review written)

I attended Rory's Low Key Portraits course in London and was very impressed with the day. I'm delighted with the knowledge and skills I came away with. To start the day, Rory gave a brief historical introduction to artists' painting styles, how they translated to photography, and what we had to do to get great portraits. Our model arrived, and the rest of the day consisted of setting up many different lighting styles using a variety of modifiers, reflectors and backgrounds. We were shown how to meter the lights and direct the shoot. In the last part of the day, we found some portraits online and tried to recreate the lighting setup. The portraits I came away with were easily the best studio shots I've ever taken, and I'll definitely be using these techniques for my portraits from now on. Rory was interesting, knowledgeable and friendly - and we were lucky to have a model who was relaxed and helpful as well as looking fantastic in our photos. Minor negatives: Calumet's room wasn't quite prepared for our arrival (e.g. not enough chairs, and a few cables and other bits and pieces not ready). Lunch wasn't terribly exciting (Meal deal from Sainsbury's). Tea and coffee was offered a couple of times though.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★★★★

“Very interesting course”

Written on: 12/06/2016 by Julioranea01 (1 review written)

I attended to course how to market, blog and kickstart you photography business by Rory. The workshop was very interesting as I learnt many new things. It was mainly focused on portrait photography but you can apply the same skills for other type of photo (in my case travel and street ). Very relaxed atmosphere and Rory is very enthusiastic about his work. Lunch was provided too, which came as a nice surprise. I would recommend booking through the Calumet Academy as Eventbrite is more expensive. Overall highly recommended, will definitely do another course.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Excellent Edinburgh masterclass in portraiture”

Written on: 15/05/2016

A really excellent day covering way more than just the technicalities of portrait photography. A very thorough introduction giving the background to portraits and how they are used to communicate different things. Then lots of work with a super model and plenty of advice from a top professional photographer. I left the course full of enthusiasm, inspiration and knowledge.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★★★★

“Portrait Workshop London”

Written on: 03/05/2016 by VinceLondon (1 review written)

This was a great introduction to Portrait photography covering everything from the history of the medium through to equipment and lighting. The session was very hands on and gave everyone ample opportunity to photograph the model in different lighting set-ups. Rory's enthusiasm and encouragement is what really made the day and I would highly recommend this to anyone wanting to improve their portrait photography

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Portraiture Course 25 March 2016”

Written on: 27/03/2016 by sinjhun (1 review written)

This was a day course in Manchester. Very good material, clearly explained, great hands on opportunity. Good value and would recommend.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★★★★

“Very Very Pleased ”

Written on: 08/03/2016 by JDerrington (1 review written)

I have had a few headshot sessions and photoshoots before and I hate having my picture taken. I was put immediately at ease and given slight directions to help change stance and also the thought process for each photo. The pictures themselves are of high quality (even before editing) and in terms of value for money, I would say that for photos of this quality and the quantity of images that you can get afterwards, is phenomenally good value. I can't wait for 2 years down the line when I will need new ones. Thanks!

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“A pleasure to work with”

Written on: 02/03/2016 by Joelquinn (1 review written)

I contacted rory for a headshot session and i was not disappointed. Rory was extremely pleasant and welcoming . As for the session itself i couldnt have felt more comfortable about my shots, he kept me visually updated throughout the shoot with how they were turning out so that we could adjust and tweek things to get the final shots i was looking for !

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“Very good one day training in studio portraiture”

Written on: 01/03/2016 by iainw5 (1 review written)

Rory is not just a nice guy but an experienced and successful photographer who clearly knows his stuff and is generous in sharing his experience as well as his expertise. He provided a relaxed atmosphere in which to learn but a great deal of content and shooting time for a small group at Calumet last Saturday. I would recommend him.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“Portraiture”

Written on: 24/02/2016

This course was a little advanced for me, however I found it fascinating and enjoyable. Rory has a very easy and relaxed manner which put everyone in the group at ease.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Job's a Good 'un”

Written on: 28/01/2016 by HelsbelsA1 (1 review written)

A friendly atmosphere, and great conversation with the photographer, helped me relax and enjoy the session (which can be daunting for those of us who dread having our photo taken.) He got on with the job from start to finish - no messing, resulting in lovely natural images. He was also sharp in all correspondence, including sending me the finished products. I am very happy with the photos, and will be using this service for all future headshots.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
overview