Loch Awe, Portsonachan Hotel & Lodges Reviews

Click here if this is your business
Loch Awe, Portsonachan Hotel & Lodges
★☆☆☆☆
1.0
20.0% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Quality of Food

  • Proximity to Local Amenities

  • Proximity to Local Attractions

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Loch Awe, Portsonachan Hotel & Lodges - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Loch Awe, Portsonachan Hotel & Lodges

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

“bitter sweet”

★☆☆☆☆

written by hopkins84 on 03/09/2013

had a great time at the hotel last year. Room was nice and so was the food and service. That was until it was time to leave and I was overcharged. They acknowledged their mistake but they needed the manager to refund the money. Unfortunately I have had no response from the manager for a year. Trading standards have tried to be the manager is ignoring them too. Im at a loss as to what to do. I would have returned with my family but I wont be doing that now. The manager just doesnt care about his bus

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“PORTSONACHAN HOTEL NO THANKS!”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 12/05/2013

My wife and I stayed here a couple of years ago, it wasn't perfect but after being sold a voucher at a garden show we gave it a go. It was ok, not brilliant but ok. We then received a phone call asking if we would like to take up the offer of another three nights voucher which we did. We then had another phone call offering another voucher which we purchased. We then booked our six night stay for May 2013 specifically asking for a Loch view. We had various e-mails sent back and forth to the "hotel" to verify our dates and what accommodation we would have. We arrived at the "hotel" at 5pm on Sunday 5th May 2013, the receptionist gave us the key to apartment "TAY" which once we opened the door did not seem very inviting at all. The door was immediately off the lane, you could not leave the door open due to this. The windows were small with net curtain to them. A table lamp was plugged in to a mains socket with no bulb fitted, various lights in the bedroom had no bulbs, and in the living room, and worse there was no smoke detector, the base was screwed into the ceiling with no battery or other components. We were told that a trip to Inverary the next day would include the purchase of a smoke detector. I pointed out that guests should not be put in apartments with no safety features like detectors. Five minutes later a battery and other pieces to fix the alarm appeared. The six nights we had couldn't go quick enough !!. We had 5 channels to choose on the tv We had to wait a long time for the main breakfast items. A noisy stream ran underneath the "TAY" apartment. We constantly had to ask for bottled water, the tap water ran brown. I had a really bad stomach the one night and day and never touched the tap water again, not even to clean my teeth. Unfortunately to get a real idea how things are at this "hotel" you really need to experience it first hand but then you've spent your money and its to late. The television programme "Fawlty Towers" does not come close to this live episode. You may complain but it does not make any difference, you may think things will improve the next day but they don't. I have tried to be realistic in my comments, I would love to give the "hotel" the benefit of doubt, but I certainly will not be wasting my money visiting this place again. Without the voucher sales I doubt the "hotel" would survive, and knowing this you would think they would make every effort to keep you coming back but they don't. Just listening to other people commenting on their experiences makes you realise your not on your own, not a day went by when no-one was complaining. There are plenty of good, well run hotels in the area so shop around, read the reviews, and above all enjoy Scotland and all it has to offer. Portsonachan Hotel is a no go area for us no matter what deals are offered. Thanks for taking the time to read this, and good luck on your travels.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Blasto1811's Comment

Written on: 09/01/2014

I have never been to this Hotel myself, but i have just watched Rip Off Britain Holidays before i went to work and guess what Hotel came up..YES...Portsonachan..

The episode regarding the Hotel was disgusting to say the least.. Two elderly couples purchased tickets at a Garden Show and one of the Ladies Husband subsequently was diagnosed with Cancer.

They then contacted the Hotel explaining this and tried to get a refund, and were completely ignored. And to make matters worse the Husband of the other Lady suddenly died as well.. Yes.. they contacted the Hotel again and were ignored yet again!! A relative then sent the Hotel copies of both Death Certificates in the hope the Hotel would show some remorse.. but No... all the calls, Letters that were sent to the Hotel were completely blanked... TOTALLY DISGUSTING BEHAVIOR... SO PLEASE BELIEVE EVERY NEGATIVE COMMENT ON THIS SITE, AND IF YOU ARE STILL IN DOUBT, THEN LOOK IT UP IN RIP OFF BRITAIN HOLIDAYS....

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Unpleasant stay with very poor standards and management”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Iceizzy3 on 29/09/2012

After visiting the Portsonachan hotel 3 years ago we stayed in the lock side apartments and had an amazing time and could not wait to return, how unprepared we're we!! We arrived at our apartment to find no blind above our bed on checking with reception we were assured this was going to be sorted out, the first night we had to do our own DIY by fixing a towel to block out the day light! The next night there maintance team fitted an old curtain with drawing pins!!! The final night of our stay and after much complaining it got fixed. The management did not seem bothered or interested in listening to our needs and on complaining kept us waiting for 1hour 30mins and then to be told "I've been typing up the menus for tomorrow" do they not understand when they have unhappy guests!! I could write so much more but to be honest I don't think they would be bothered my advice would be to anyone is don't go!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“worse hotel ever”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 28/08/2011

We purchased a voucher for the Portsonachan hotel at Scottish Good Food event last year. Both my partner and I were very much looking forward to a break away fishing with our dog. I confirmed the booking over a month before our arrival for two adults and a dog for three night bed and breakfast. When we arrived on Friday at the hotel we were infomed by receptionist that due the washing machine breakdown our room was not ready. When we arrived back at the hotel at 5.30pm our room was ready but it was not suitable for a dog as it was located in the hotel. We were advised that we could stay in the Rannoch appartment for our stay. On the Sunday night when we arrived back to our appartment we found that our belongings had been replaced by someone elses. On investigation, we were advised that we had been moved. I was horrified to learn that someone without our consent had packed our belonging and moved them. The receptionist was unable to give an satisfactory explanation so we asked to speak with the manager/owner. We were advised that he was currently unavailable. After waiting for over an hour for him to come and speak with us we returned to reception and were told that he was aware of our concerns but he was still unavailable. Another guest pointed out the manager/owner to us who was sitting drinking in the bar. We did not think that it was unresonable to expect the manager/owner to spare 5 min to explain why we had been moved as it had caused great emotional distress. We felt that could no longer stay in a hotel where it is acceptable for staff to go through your belongings without prior conset so we left. Piror to leaving the hotel we highlighted that we were missing items but surpirising they were most unhelpful. This is one of the worse establishments we have ever had the unfortunate chance to visit.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“My wife and I arrived at this hotel on 11 June 2010....”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 22/06/2010

My wife and I arrived at this hotel on 11 June 2010. At the reception we were greeted by warnings regarding a virus in the hotel and informed not to use the water after being given bottled water for our use. After being shown to our room my wife checked the bed and found the pillows to be badly soiled with what looked like damp marks and there were also damp spores on the curtains although management reasoning for this was that a previous guest boiled the kettle too near to the curtain and the soiling on the pillows was due to being washed in peaty water!!!!!!!!!!! what a lot of tosh.
We subsequently decided not to stay and after complaining we have been informed they will not refund the price of the room. I would not go near this place and pity anyone who decides to take up residence here. There are no staff who are actually in charge when the management are down south.
I informed them that I would make my comments known on tyhe internet if I was not refunded my cost of the room but they obviously do not care.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

overview