Formula One Autocentre, Cheltenham, Gloucestershire Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★☆☆☆☆
1.3 / 5
8% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

Latest Reviews

★★★★★

“Excellent”

Written on: 13/06/2021 by M.Jonasson (1 review written)

My visit was prebooked and I came ca 10 min before my appointment. No waste of time there, the mechanic started to help me very quickly and he was very professional from start to finish. The service at the grage is fantastic! I strongly recommend their services. Great mechanics and nice people!… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Nil points”

Written on: 09/08/2017 by DexterNelson (1 review written)

Our company van needed an MOT and another large autocentre turned it away from a booking because it was "too big for their lift"..........it has a normal Class 4 car MOT and they knew exactly what it was when the booking was made. Taking it to Formula 1, the man on the desk looked at it and said it would be no problem but not today - so it was booked in for the following week. Following week I turned up with van and settled in to the waiting room. Ten minutes later I am told that they can't do… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“STAY AWAY AT ALL COSTS WILL DAMAGE MORE THAN THEY FIX”

Written on: 22/03/2017 by LaceyHealy (1 review written)

If no stars were possible i would be giving that. I have now had 3 bad experiences here 1. I took my own car in for a break pad replacement on the front. After waiting for 40 minutes they came out and told me that all my break disks where worn and then recommended I change them and the rear pads at the same time - I refused, not having the money at the time, took it to another garage at a later date and was told that all the disks were well above minimum. 2. My other half took her car here for… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Excellent service”

Written on: 04/12/2016 by 1956MacLeod (1 review written)

I have just had 4 Avon Tyres fitted and Tracking done. Very efficient and friendly service from fitters and Branch manager.Will certainly use again and reccomend friends to do the same… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“RIP OFF GARAGE”

Written on: 15/11/2015 by FabianTimmons433 (1 review written)

I had my car booked in for a mot sat 14 Nov, first of all I was told after it failed it's mot that if I didn't agree to them doing the work on my car and taking the car away I will have to pay another £30 on top of the already paid £30 to do my mot again,they never mentioned this before the mot, when I asked them how much to repair a leaking brake pipe, he told me £70 to £80 pound for the part, total rip off, a big rip off , you can buy this part for no more than £15, that didn't even… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Book a Service and got looks of expensive add on's!”

Written on: 08/08/2014 by tsGrady302 (1 review written)

The advertised price looks great but beware we were told that the front brake pads are completly worn and must be replaced today! Of course we declined the offer and took the car to our independent who informed us that we have around 6mm or 18 months of wear left on the brake pads. Also we were told both rear tires are "down to the canvas" and again needed replacement before it left the service center. Of course we declined the offer and took the car to our independent who informed us that… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Look for work that don't exist ”

Written on: 25/07/2014 by Hamptonwn9 (1 review written)

Noise from suspension on a Sunday. No choice but to get it checked, told it needs loads of expensive work! Took to my usual independent mechanic next day for required works to be told it's just a bush. Total costs of works £28 Inc labour. Formula 1 quote £300+ but surprisingly refused to put in writing!… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“STAY AWAY FROM HERE”

Written on: 15/06/2014 by CheltGlosRev (1 review written)

My son took his car here for an MOT. It failed and he was quoted a figure over the phone. When the 'work' was done he was then told he had misheard the quote and it was actually double that figure. He paid it (stupidly) to then be told that the work wasn't sufficient to pass its MOT and that they didn't have the know how to do the rest of the work. Absolutely shameful. I didn't realise that garages like this still existed. I guess the clue is in the fact that 18 previous reviews all rate this… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Avoid at all costs!!!”

Written on: 15/01/2014 by AJG6314 (1 review written)

ook my car to the garage as the oil light came on and also for a service! However, after telling me my car would be ready the same day, they rung and said it wasn't ready any they will call me! After calling them they explained to me that my car isn't starting and their is a problem with the engine! A week later I sill haven't got my car! After going down their my car is in a worst condition now to when I took it in. I recommend you don't take your car their. (Their ment to be 'mechanics'… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“rip off”

Written on: 28/03/2013

I took my car to Formulaone Colchester, when I went to pick it up I was given a quattion for £280 for track rod ends and arms and I was told this is a common fault with Renaults. Yesterday, I took my car my usual garage and they discovered that there is no such problem, I personally look at them as well. My car passed MOT without any problem… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“be afraid, very afraid”

Written on: 19/02/2013

job tamperers. 70 quid for a fuse!!! Never come back unless you are into that… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Cheap for a reason. ”

Written on: 17/01/2013 by Davedavedavedave1234 (1 review written)

I have stupidly been to F1 Cheltenham on a few occasions. Most of these have caused problems. Tracking/Alignment. Been here for this a couple of times, this they managed to correct, pretty pleased with this as it only took three visits to sort. Having solved the problem initially they gave me a handout showing before and after, very impressive. But having joined the main road, I notice the steering wheel isn't sitting centrally - wheels felt straight though. Took it back next day, re… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Shocking work and ripped off”

Written on: 03/09/2012 by Switchelectrical (1 review written)

My experience at formula 1 Cheltenham was one that left me shocked at angry aswell as up set. I took my car to the garage for work to be completed , I drove the car approximately 3 miles when I noticed something wasn't right. I payed to have a steering rack, new lower arms and bushes fitted, new track rod ends and tie rods, also to be carried out was 4 wheel alignment. The work was carried out and approximately 3 miles later I looked underneath the car and noticed there was rubber on the new… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Switchelectrical's Response to Switchelectrical's Review

Written on: 03/09/2012

Sorry about spelling mistakes, I phone writing for you. But you get my point, bad company to deal with. Caused unbelievable amount of stress and still no apology

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Switchelectrical's Response to Switchelectrical's Review

Written on: 03/09/2012

Sorry for spelling mistakes. I phone writing for you. Please beware of this company.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 2 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“COMPLETE WASTE OF TIME AND MONEY”

Written on: 18/08/2012 by IHATEF1AUTOCENTRES (1 review written)

THESE F1 CENTRES THINK THERE CLEVER, FAILED MY CAR ON BRAKE IMBALANCE EVEN AFTER I HAD FIXED IT (NEW BRAKE PADS, DISCS, CALIPERS, BLED THE BRAKES TOO), THEY FAILED IT ON RETEST TWICE JUST SO THEY COULD CHARGE ME £25 TO HAVE A LOOK AT IT & MAKE UP SOME BULLSXXX. ALSO WANTED £15 TO ADJUST MY HEADLIGHTS WHICH WHEN I SAID "£15 TO TURN A SCREWDRIVER NO THANKS" THEY JUST LOOKED AWAY AND SMIRKED. TO THE PERSON THAT DOESNT KNOW ABOUT CARS WOULDNT KNOW THAT IT TAKES 10 15 SECONDS TO ADJUST THE… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Don't go there ”

Written on: 11/06/2012

My daughter took her car there for an MoT. She has only been driving for a year and this was a new experience for her. They failed the car and told her it would cost over £300 to fix and pushed her to leave the car with them to do the work. Thankfully she called her me to explain I said we would look at the list of work to be done and decide if it was worth having it done as the car is a P reg Peugeot. The car passed it's MoT with someone else at a total cost of £35 including the… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Guest's Comment

Written on: 27/06/2012

The exact same thing happened to me... I recently took my car into the Cheltenham branch for a service and MOT.

After completing the service someone from the garage rang me to say the car needed a long list of work done prior to the MOT.

The work was totalling around £500. The man on the phone was very persuasive and suggested my car would not pass its MOT if the work was not carried out. After querying each element him he slowly started removing items from the list that were non essential and the amount started falling to eventually £200 but they were still essential repairs.

I felt the mechanic tried to bamboozle me with technical jargon and put pressure on me to have unnecessary work completed.

I felt very pressurised on the phone and at which point I asked my boyfriend to phone the garage at talk through the list of repairs.

What my boyfriend actually managed to clarify was that non were an essential for the car to pass its MOT, which is not what I was lead to believe.

I understand there were advisory notices on the car but I felt the pressure placed on me to repair non-essential items was unnecessary.

I have since taken my car to the local dealership to complete some further work. A lot of the items that came up as essential to repair they have advised me are well within the legal limit and will not need repairing for at least a year.

I will certainly not be using the service of Formula1 Autocentre again. Having chatted to a few friends they had also experienced the same issue with this garage.

Not sure what to do about it though.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Aardodo's Comment

Written on: 06/08/2012

Same happen to me in leicester. Failed my mot and ask 295 for reparation. i called my friend and we look again . mot failed just bcause of 1 tyre cost 34£ but have to pay xtra 15£ for partial mot retest. very bad service and the manager had a very very bad attitude. never go again

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 2 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“Very Poor service ”

Written on: 30/05/2012

i went in for new tyres because they were cheaper than anywhere else. It came with a free air con check and other checks and top ups. non were done and when i asked if the air con was working properly (which they were supose to check) they just asked me if it was cold when it was on normally. they just ask you the obvious and try to get you to pay for more before checking themselves. complete idiots. dont use them. letter of complaint has gone to head office… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Stay away from these cowboys”

Written on: 14/03/2012

Don't be fooled by the cheap price of an MOT at Cheltenham F1 Autocentres. A lot of issues were found, and I agreed to some of the work being done. I ended up driving away with a problem with the brakes that I didn't have before though! I've had trouble with them in the past, but I didn't hold it against them. I don't trust them now and I'll be taking it somewhere else to fix what they've done to it. Also, they seem to push wheel alignment quite a lot in there. Free to have checked, but I… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Guest's Comment

Written on: 20/05/2012

I took my megane to them on weds this week for mot and service, cost £300 to fix a few odd jobs but didnt complain as the car is 7 years old. Today is sunday and the car broke down 35 miles from cheltenham with smoke coming out from under the bonnet, had to call breakdown to get brought back to cheltenham, when i got back the recovery man tried starting the car and it wouldnt start! This has only happened a few hours ago so i dont know if theres anything i can do about relating it to F1 Autocentre!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Can't fit tyres...or apologise”

Written on: 23/02/2012

Due to not being able to get my car booked in to my usual garage in time, F1 carried out an MOT on my car last year. Two new tyres had to be fitted, that was fine. Shortly afterwards, I returned because one tyre kept going flat and needed reinflating. Returned to the garage, where they said it needed resealing, and that there would be no charge as they'd only just put them on. Chap came back shortly to say tyre is too damaged to be resealed, and I would have to buy a new one. Wasn't happy, but… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Incompetent and expensive”

Written on: 18/02/2012

My car went in because of sticking brakes and loud noises. They said nothing was wrong with the brakes and the noise must be because of cheap tyres and road noise. I was told that the camber and wheel alignment needed doing though, and that would sort any issues we had. It cost £200+, and the problem was still there. The car could hold itself on a hill and there was a loud thumping noise when using the brakes. I took it straight back and they insisted there was nothing wrong with the… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Insulting morons ”

Written on: 08/01/2012 by macrofeet (1 review written)

My wife who took her 2007-2008 clio to be serviced, the car was serviced less than a year ago mot'd less then 3 months ago this was the first time she had been brave enough take her car in alone i was thinking it would cost around £200 The orignal price £350 accepted by my wife, this seemd on the high side so i called them they seemd fine on the phone when i spoke to them i told them i couldent afford the £350 right after christmas and I thought the £285 taking off some of the non… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
overview