Stephen King, It Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★★★★
4.7 / 5
100% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Stephen King, It - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Stephen King, It

Stephen King, It
Stephen King, It
Stephen King, It
Stephen King, It

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

★★★★★

“OMG!”

Written on: 21/09/2015 by rickyriccardo (12 reviews written)

I read thIs AS a kido and it absolutely gave me nightmares for months!! I only recently read it again and now realise what an incredible piece of story telling it is. Very scary, Pennywise the clown is worse than freddy krueger in my opinion. The story is very atmospheric, exciting and mostly very scary. On a side note the tv movie was also done really well - totally worth a watch in my opinion. One of Stebun Kings best stories, an absolute treat for everybody.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★☆☆

“MPwpqSxlLDA”

Written on: 17/07/2012

Alabaster Houses is my debut novel, published June 10, 2011. Kirkus made it an Editor's pick for both their geanrel fiction and their indie fiction categories and it stayed as one of their picks for the entire summer. It also just received the Pinnacle Book Achievement award for Summer Fiction 2011. Now I'm trying to boost the reader reviews on all the sites where it appears, Amazon, Barnes & Noble, IndieBound, Good Reads. Please help build the buzz and pick me!! Thanks!Sometimes, the least likely encounter changes everything Jane Pepper is a thirty-six year old editor at a small Baltimore press. Until the past year her life has been comfortable and enviable, but when her daughter develops leukemia and then accidentally dies, only Jane knows the reason for the accident. Keeping the secret may cost her her family, her career, and her sanity.Human rights photographer Riva Hakim, the only child of multi-race, multi-faith parents, has survived a volatile, itinerant childhood and loveless marriage to gain international acclaim for her work. Now, at fifty-two, and under contract to write her memoirs, she must put away her camera and find a way to frame the past before she can face the future. But that future is turned upside down the morning she finds a stranger named Jane Pepper on her doorstep.Spanning both sides of the Atlantic, from Washington D.C. to the Canary Islands to Sudan, Alabaster Houses is the story of an unlikely friendship between two women who are both at a critical crossroad in life.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Classic!”

Written on: 25/06/2012 by Peter_W (9 reviews written)

If the 2 part series didnt scare you, this book surely will. The film doesnt do it justice. A Must read

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“I have just finished reading this immense novel for...”

Written on: 25/04/2011 by bacchanale (1 review written)

I have just finished reading this immense novel for probably the fourth time and each time, I end up reading the last few lines over and over, sitting there with goosebumps all over my body; I can't quite believe - don't want to believe most likely - that the journey King has dragged you through has finally ended. Yes it's a long book and yes there are possibly one or two passages that could have been either shorter or even left out, but no other book I have read, even other King books, has had so much impact on me; your mind is there with the kids at the start and then with their adult selves as they try to put an end to an un-imagininable terror. Character development, sense(s) of time and eras are spot-on and the technique of having a character's thoughts in italics woven into the dialogue all work to create a modern-day - well 25-year-old which is nothing in literature - masterpiece and a book that not only lives long in the memory but jumps into your thoughts without warning and drags you back to the dark places that no adult, let alone child, should ever have to experience for real.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Ive read 5 stephen king books so far, and I have to...”

Written on: 29/06/2010 by megannell (6 reviews written)

Ive read 5 stephen king books so far, and I have to say this is my favourite. Ive seen the film before, but trust me when I say the book is 100 times better (and scarier!!). Dont let the size put you off, because I find the case with every Stephen King book Ive read he tends to overwrite (not in a bad way) but it means theres not as much daunting information to take in considering the size. This books a real emotional journey, by the end I was almost crying and when I finished and closed the book I felt a real loss and wanted to start all over again. Pennywise is as scarier character as you can get, and the children are so believable you'll find yourself loving every character. Id definitely recommend this as well as the other stephen king books ive read (the stand, the shining, liseys story and misery)!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“It by Stephen Kind is literally terryfying.Great...”

Written on: 28/04/2009 by Anubhav (2 reviews written)

It by Stephen Kind is literally terryfying.Great characterization and a superb plot .What really sets apart "IT" from other Stephen King novels is that the novel shows us the dreadest of all our fears which is fear of the Unknown.The shapeshifting entity"IT"first appears as nothing but a mere reflection of its victims' fears but later in the book it is revealed that "IT" too has a form which unfortunately cannot be comprehended by our normal senses of perception. One other interesting fact is that "It"s natural Enemy "the turtle" bears some resemblence to Hindu God of creation "Brahma" just like "the turtle" Brahma is believed to have created the Universe and like "the turtle" he doesn't interfere in mortal affairs.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“It by Stephen King has the best-illustrated characters...”

Written on: 26/03/2009

It by Stephen King has the best-illustrated characters ive ever read about. When the novel is finished, the memory feels like a personal experience instead of "a book I read". Top ten best-written novels. Pre-teen sex is not something I enjoy reading about, though it does (with the mirroring/recurring adult encounters) illustrate the basic, primal bond that was necessary to combat IT.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Stephen King's, 'It' is a great book and fairly scary....”

Written on: 22/03/2009

Stephen King's, 'It' is a great book and fairly scary. I remember reading this book and it is my favourite book besides the dark tower series. This book is not just about horror and terror, its about friendship and looking out for each other and how you should cherish that togetherness feeling and is also one of Stephen Kings best.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Extremely good character descriptions. Nice to have...”

Written on: 18/11/2008 by IJANSSENS (1 review written)

Extremely good character descriptions. Nice to have the book in 2 parts: where the main characters are children, and later when they return as adults. The figure of the clown is one of King's most terrifying 'baddies.' Fairly slow start but one of Kings' best and that is saying something...

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“I am a massive Stephen King fan, and have read about...”

Written on: 02/10/2008 by dferry08 (6 reviews written)

I am a massive Stephen King fan, and have read about 95% of his books - I think the man is a great storyteller. He's the reason I read, and his epic Dark Tower series is as good as Lord of the Rings if you ask me. If my house was burning down and I had the chance to grab one book, it would be Bag of Bones or IT. I remember taking this book on holiday with me a few years ago and staying into read it while my family went to the beach.

IT follows the lives of a group of friends who have been haunted all their lives by IT. IT being their darkest fears, representing itself the majority of the time dressed as a clown. Responsible for the deaths of many young children, the friends reunite later in their lives one last time to attempt to destroy IT for good.

This is a book that cements Kings place as THE horror writer. Genuinely frightening, a book that is pretty much hard to put down throughout its 1000 pages. The way King creates this monster terrorising these friends is done expertly. If you read one King book, this should be it.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“IT is my favorite book that i've ever read, the terror...”

Written on: 24/09/2008 by joshblivenhfg (1 review written)

IT is my favorite book that i've ever read, the terror is extreme but i loved reading every word of it. I couldn't put it down, it was a big book but a good story about growing up and extreme horror in the town of Derry Maine.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“This is the first Stephen King book I ever read, and...”

Written on: 05/07/2008 by lioness2408 (1 review written)

This is the first Stephen King book I ever read, and it is by far my favorite right now (I have also read Salem's Lot, Rage, Road Work, and The Long Walk). It also houses some of my favorite literary characters of all time, including Ben Hanscom and Bill Denbrough. This is more than just a gory, senseless horror novel: it is also a sensitive, coming-of-age story of seven misfit children. IT by Stephen King is a terrific novel with an excellent ending, and I would recommend it to anyone!

PS. Do not judge the book by the movie. The novel is about a million times better!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“"IT" is everything we fear, and to the children of...”

Written on: 09/01/2008 by juanjo101 (1 review written)

"IT" is everything we fear, and to the children of Derry, Maine, IT is the town they live in. A respectable town on the surface hides many dark secrets, not least extreme acts of violence, prejudice and high crime rates. Derry also happens to be the home of a being older than the town that periodically returns every 27 years to eat the children of the town.

It's arrival is signified by a severe act of violence towards another and it's departure is followed by an unspeakable accident or another act of violence.The children are the only ones who can see this demon, because they have the ability to believe that such a thing could exist. When a child no longer remains a child, they stop being able to, or allowed to believe in such things and pretend not to know of anything of a supernatural quality.

It's noted that those who see IT are those who fear the town, such as Don Hagarty, the children, Mr. Keene, etc... This is in part due to It being the 'creator' of Derry, it thrives so IT can eat.

The novel is lengthy, at over 1,100 pages it can look like a real challenge, but thankfully, King has crafted something so terrifying and gripping you'll be up many nights not just because you're too afraid to fall asleep but because you'll need to know what's about to happen.

When Stan tells his story about the Standpipe and the dead children who attacked him, or Eddie telling of the Lepor under the porch, or Mike about the big bird that tried to kill him, it's impossible not to be completely immersed in the story and feel the terror or desperation that each must have.

The characters in the novel are some of King's strongest - Beverly Marsh, Eddie Kaspbrak, Mike Hanlon and Henry Bowers - are some of the most interesting characters I've ever read.

When Beverly first receives her phone call and she has a fight with Tom, I believe that there has never been more emotion conjured up in so few pages, so much history of motives and character explained that you cannot help but cheer Beverly on even though you've only known her for less than 10 pages. And in Eddie confronting his mother, who hasn't ever wanted to tell their mother they love them but they have to let them decide for themselves sometimes? Especially those who are dominated and repressed by their mother's love and possession?

My biggest problem with the novel lie in the very fine detail of the town and the landmarks - I understand that Derry is integral to the story and has as much meaning as the kids themselves but to interrupt a passage of thrills to spend many pages explaining the surroundings of the library just sent me nuts - like when you're getting to the good bit of a movie and an urgent news announcement/ advertisement cuts in.

Is there anything worse?

Another big problem for me was the rather horrific moments involving not the monster but the children of Derry, more importantly Henry and Patrick. Henry callously murders and harms people and nothing upsets me more than a person who is quite content to feed a dog poison and taunt and watch as the dog slowly dies. The same for Patrick who has a lovely little interval written about how he murdered his brother - harm towards animals and babies just isn't cool.

In depth, description of these moments aren't any cooler.

Overall I'm completely satisfied with this novel. King has created an epic story about a group of social pariahs and abused children overcoming repression from adults, bullies and monsters.

He's captured the innocence and weight that children carry and in it has given us, the reader, a place to go and change a world and do the things we wish we had only the chance to do as children.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“'It' is the story of a monster that takes the form of...”

Written on: 21/10/2006 by dnee18 (1 review written)

'It' is the story of a monster that takes the form of a clown and preys on children in a small American town called Derry. The main characters are 7 children who are friends, and they take on the clown. I watched the film of Stephen King's book when I was younger, and now reflecting on it, I think that it has more to it than being a simple horror story.

Derry is mostly a quiet and respectable town on the surface, but the story gives the impression that there is something dark and malignant underneath this. This force exposes itself through the bullies at the school, the violence of one of the child's fathers, and the general coldness of other adults. I think that the evil clown is supposed to be a metaphor for this evil force and the underlying evil, darkness and malice in humanity. This is supported by him saying things like "I am your worst nightmare and I am eternal. I am the eater of worlds and of children". Clearly, he is supposed to represent some abstract and eternal destructive force. That he eats children is perhaps metaphorical of this dark force in human nature destroying the innocence of childhood, turning children into adults who suffer from and struggle against depression, anxiety, malice, resentment and fear etc.

It is also interesting that 'It' lives in the sewer beneath the town, as this could represent the way the dark force is deep below the surface of the people in the town. It may even represent the collective unconscious of the town. And the way the monster disguises itself as a clown in order to deceive children may represent how deceptive the respectable surface of the town (and perhaps people in general) is.

The 7 children all have weaknesses individually, but together their bond and friendship is powerful enough to oppose this dark force. In order to destroy the force, it is crucial that they believe that they are capable of doing so and are not afraid of it. I think that this is a powerful message to take into account when dealing with the struggles in our lives.

Perhaps this explanation is a bit far fetched and pretentious, but it does seem to fit together very well, making everything in the story slot into place.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“I saw the movie adaptation of this book first---and...”

Written on: 22/08/2005 by bojanglesk8 (4 reviews written)

I saw the movie adaptation of this book first---and truly wish I hadn't spoiled it all for myself. After some debating with myself whether to buy this book and read it or not---I'll pretty much know what happens---but most Stephen King adaptation movies from books don't meet up with the standards of the original novels so I decided to check this one out. At first looking at, my first impression was This is going to take quite a while to finish. It was a thick book---the paperback version I have now 1093 pages exactly. But, no sweat though because I finished a book before that was longer then that---it was the Stand complete, and uncut by the same author---Americas #1 Horror Master Stephen King. The Stand, uncut, complete is also another wonderful masterpiece from Stephen King, but I'll get to the subject of what I'm reviewing now---the book It.
So far, I am 1/4 through the book, and right now---page 3 hundred and ten something---King introduces most of the child characters and begins building up previous stories of the teenages encounters with "It" otherwise known as Pennywise the dancing Clown, or Jangles(a personal nickname I gave to the clown). "It" is a shape-shifting monster from outerspace who comes and terrorizes the small, once idyllic town of Derry. In the year of 1957, which is the year book first starts, George Denbrough, William, or otherwise known as Bill or Stuttering Bill or Big Bill Denbroughs younger brother plays out on the streets with a paper boat his older bro Bill made for him, stroked all over with paraffin to keep it water-proof. The boat flows smoothly along the flooded curbing and ends up going drops into a sewer. George looks through the dark pits and sees a clown. And then the clown kills him. That's the first of all the murders to come. Slowly the kids in Derry become mysteriously missing. Some are found dead.Bill and his friends come face to face with Jangles otherwise known as Pennywise the dancing clown and defeats him---or so they think they do. 28 years later, when there all grown ups, and just want to live a happy succesful life, the town of Derry once again begins to mysteriously lose children. The 7, come back 28 years later to only fight something they thought they had destroyed 28 years earlier---once and for all. It's a great book. Once King gets through with introducing the characters and you get around the middle or so, all the characters feel so real, and the plot is so interesting and suspensful and chilling that its hard to put down. Please take my advice and avoid the movie It---that is if you haven't read the book first. Read the book first---its a hundred times better.It is one of King's finest works!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Stephen King, It - The story is about a shapeshifting...”

Written on: 04/06/2005 by StephenKingFan3425 (4 reviews written)

Stephen King, It - The story is about a shapeshifting monster that came from outer space centuries before the book's setting, and the seven kids who defeated this nightmare only to have it come back 27 years later. The book is split into 5 parts. The first 3 parts are a little slow, but they speed up gradually.

Anyway, IT mainly takes the form of a psycho clown but can shift his appearance into the deepest fears of the children he prays on. IT lives in the sewer traveling from house to house, drain to drain.

Seven Brave Kids that are considered losers from everyone else defeat the nightmare that is IT. afterwards they make a vow that if IT ever comes back that they will return to Derry and face IT once again. 27 years later the children of Derry are being murdered and strange sightings of a clown are reported. The seven are called back, but only 6 return. The other was driving to suicide when he heard that the monster he still fears to this day has come back.

When they return, IT notices and tries to get rid of them individually but when they finally find each other they once again go into the sewer that is IT's domain, ready to fight the nightmare they faced as teenagers.

This book will grasp you and scare you a whole lot. You won't be able to put this book down, but please, don't read it in the bathroom. This book will be one of the best books you will ever read. Watching the movie will make you want to read the book even more. Truly mesmerizing and haunting at the same time (even if it's about a clown).

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

206056_Sam776688's Response to StephenKingFan3425's Review

Written on: 13/08/2005

i think your right ive never read the book but iv seen the film im dying to read the book ive heard a lot of things happen in the book that dont happen in the film

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“Stephen King, It: The story is very well written, very...”

Written on: 10/05/2005 by neverclear (1 review written)

Stephen King, It: The story is very well written, very well constructed, and by the middle of the book the reader gets a real sense of the characters and it's hard to put the book down. It's about a bunch of kids who aren't accepted by their classmates, they all find each other and become the "losers". Their old school bully, Henry Bowers, becomes insane and drives to kill them. The sewers are their main concern, however, because what lurks in them can become what you fear the most. In the sewers lurks IT.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Stephen King, It - Synopsis: ”

Written on: 01/09/2004 by Dreadlocksmile (358 reviews written)

Stephen King, It - Synopsis:
"A promise made twenty-eight years ago calls seven adults to reunite in Derry, Maine, where as teenagers they battled an evil creature that preyed on the city's children. Unsure that their Losers Club had vanquished the creature all those years ago, the seven had vowed to return to Derry if IT should ever reappear. Now, children are being murdered again and their repressed memories of that summer return as they prepare to do battle with the monster lurking in Derry's sewers once more".

First published way back in 1986, Stephen King's cult novel 'IT' made a huge impact on to the world of horror. The novel is another door-stopper from King, reaching an awesome 1116 pages. As with so many of King's novels, it is a little slow-paced to begin with, but it does pick up speed, throwing you into a horrific world of bizarre horror from the dark imagination of the author. The characterization is superb, connecting the reader with the characters from the start, gripping you as the story unfolds. At times it can feel like King is over-describing and just plain waffling, but he does put down a very vivid picture of the events within the book.

The ending to the novel is an impressive show of King's writing ability. It wraps the novel up nicely, with some bizarre and imaginative creations.

All in all I found this novel thoroughly enjoyable and very difficult to put down once it got going.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★★★★

“Stephen King's, It is about a clown that has haunted...”

Written on: 26/03/2004 by falzoj (1 review written)

Stephen King's, It is about a clown that has haunted the suberb of Derry, Maine, for centuries. After twenty seven years from his last attack with Georgie Denbourgh, he is back to feed once again. Little does he know, the children that he haunted 27 years ago, are no longer kids, and have come back to there home town to fight the evil force of 'it'. Even though I am only a teenager, it is the best book I've ever read.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

184271_Shirice Dewey22's Response to falzoj's Review

Written on: 23/02/2005

When I finst thought about reading the book IT I thought it was going to be a boring never want to read again book. In the end, I found it was a great book for young adults.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

overview