Half-Life: Counter Strike Reviews

Click here if this is your business
Half-Life: Counter Strike
★★★★★
4.7
100.0% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Addiction Level

  • Graphics

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Half-Life: Counter Strike - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Half-Life: Counter Strike

Specification for Half-Life: Counter Strike

Main Features
Game Types Shoot Em Up
Main characteristics
Publisher: Sierra Online, Inc.
Genre: Action Adventure
ESRB Rating: M - (Mature)
ESRB Descriptor: Animated Blood Animated Violence
Platform: Windows
Other Features
Distribution Media : CD-ROM

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

“Counter-Strike must be the best online game ever made,...”

★★★★★

written by ashmoz on 02/05/2007

Counter-Strike must be the best online game ever made, brought out for many consoles as well as the PC. Its been so successful on the PC that many more beta (extra) versions have been made due to its popularity. It was originally created as an add-on for the equally successful game of Half-Life. But due to Counter-Strike propelling worldwide with so much respect and interest from gamers it has lasted over seven years to my knowledge.

The game can be bought from many of your nearest gaming shops for around £5-£10 which is quite cheap for a game you can redeem so much enjoyment from. When you do buy the game though be sure that the packaging hasn't be messed with as the CD-key may have been used, the CD-key is needed as your own Personal account code.

I mean were do I start, the graphics aren't the best for the PC by far, but they are perfect for what online gamers look for these days. You don't need the top specification computer to run this game and as of most games can be played comfortably from your own room. Counter-Strike is a action packed game with a real 'feel as though you're there' appeal. Its a team-based game (counter terrorists and terrorists), which is great as you and your mates can play with each other online on many different maps.

The dozens of maps and players are on numerous different servers worldwide, the servers from the country you're from will obviously benefit your gaming experience, as the connections differ around the world, so say you're from the UK and you play on a Swedish server your gameplay will feel a little slower and less enjoyable, but again if you play on UK server and you're from the UK your gaming experience will be great.

Well now for the in-game play. It is very addictive, when you join a public server you will play amongst many playing from all over the country. It is packed with many obstacles, guns, bomb planting areas and hostage situations. The guns and equipment vary, such as, knife, handguns/dual handguns, sub machine-guns, machine-guns and sniper rifles, and the equipment menu consists of Kevlar, helmet, flash/high explosive/smoke grenades, defuse kit, night vision and shield. Although some of these you can only purchase depending on which team you are currently playing on. On most played maps there are 2 bomb-sites labelled A and B, which are both protected by the counter terrorists, and the objective of the game suggests the terrorists win the round by blowing up one of these sites. The terrorists will start off the round with one of their lucky team-mates spawning (starting) with the bomb backpack, and its up to his/her team-mates to protect him/her to get to the bomb spot and plant the bomb and wait around 35 seconds for the bomb to blow up the site area and hence win the round. The Counter terrorists will try and guard these bomb-sites and try and prevent the terrorists from planting the bomb, if the bomb is planted the counter-terrorist can defuse the bomb in the 35 seconds, they defuse it without a defuse kit but it takes more time or they can defuse it in half the time by purchasing a defuse kit for $650 which is money well spent in my opinion. The round can also end when everyone from one of the two teams is out of action (dead). The next round will start with all the players on the server spawning at the spawn point.

I have been playing the game for around five years to date, the thing that interests me to the game as of now, apart from the brilliance and addictiveness, is that many worldwide and national competitions have been introduced, which gives all the online players something to play for, rather than just the fun factor. For the people who dedicate their lives/spare time to online games there are numerous competitions and online leagues to participate in, if you are one of the lucky people who will establish an online 5-on-5 team. Some of the good players at the game, who are now labelled as professional gamers, which in my eyes is a bit over the top but then again fair enough as the best teams in the world play in all the big competitions and if they win make a living off doing something they love. One of the main competitions for the game these days is the Electronic Sports World Cup, which usually consists of many teams from each country battling it out to represent their own country in the worldwide finals, playing for prize money of around £50,000 between the team, top spec computers, sponsors such as (Intel, AMD, Razer, Everglide... and more). I mean if you can manage to get as good as that then I guess the game was a good purchase, no?

The only bad thing I can say about the game is that cheats and hacks have been made for it, but each day the providers (Valve) find ways of blocking the cheats out, but like a vicious circle new ways are found to cheat.

My final say on this game is that if you love your action based online games this is definitely the game for you and should not be passed without being given a good few days trial, as I and Thousands of online gamers around the world and computer magazines will agree this must be one of the greatest online games that has ever been made for the PC.

Buy it! Money will be well spent!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Happydan's Response to ashmoz's Review

Written on: 02/05/2007

Good review, but have you tried any of the many other team-based games out there? Battlefield 2 is excellent, especially with the Project Reality mod, which makes everything so gritty. I'm also playing Armed Assault which is VERY realistic.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Consolecharlie's Response to ashmoz's Review

Written on: 25/05/2007

Great review, Counter Strike: Source has sorted the cheating thing though.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Ashmoz's Response to ashmoz's Review

Written on: 02/05/2007

Yes mate I love my online games played BF1942, C&C Generals, Unreal Tournament, Halo, CoD, Warcraft, I just like the speed of Counterstrike and the game play basically, I'm not saying other games aren't good its just the game speed, play and the numerous competitions really.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“If you haven't heard of Half-Life: Counterstrike or...”

★★★★★

written by BulletMan25 on 15/01/2007

If you haven't heard of Half-Life: Counterstrike or played it before then you haven't lived - It's a totally addictive game and you can find your mates and play them. The terrorists usually have a bomb to plant and the counter-terrorists have to kill them, defuse the bomb or rescue the hostages. Some of the maps are amazing and gameplay is endless online. Steam is a program most people have been using, you just download it and then pay £10 and you will get the game installed and ready in around 15mins.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“I have played this game for over 3 years. The most...”

★★★★☆

written by kiwishooter on 18/09/2006

I have played this game for over 3 years. The most attractive point of the game is the choice of weapons. The realistic feeling you gain from the game is unforgettable.

This is a good game. Buy it! You won't regret it.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Counter Strike is one one of the best games I have...”

★★★★★

written by woogie on 04/06/2006

Counter Strike is one one of the best games I have ever played. I think every one should have a try of Half-Life: Counter Strike because it is worth it.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Half life: Counter Strike: Half Life brought a shock...”

★★★★★

written by Thesixthsence on 24/04/2005

Half life: Counter Strike: Half Life brought a shock in the world of computer games. It became the game of the year by more than 50 publications worldwide, and it even got the Best Game Of All Time award. Valve created 1 year after the release of HL, Counterstrike, an online action game, where 2 teams battle eich other in a terrorist VS counter-terrorist game. The game is still incredibly popular, even now that the game almost has a beard; the game is already 4 years old now. So don't look at the old shoddy graphics, look at the great gameplay and population that this game has to offer. Without having the newest patch installed, the game has already more then 2000 servers (!). The game's singleplayer is just a simple bots challenge, but the bots are very smart and clever. The multiplayer works on Valve's internet program Steam, a very fast and handy innovation. The program brings free newsletters, demo's, mods and more. Steam is automatically included in Counterstrike. If you are looking for one of the best (or even the best) online action game, Counterstrike is THE game for you, even if you have never played Half Life or Counterstrike before.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Half life is the best game ever, and Counterstrike is...”

★★★★☆

written by dr pie on 20/06/2004

Half life is the best game ever, and Counterstrike is its best mod. It involves joining either the counter terrorist or terrorist forces and the mission involves completeing objectives but what makes it even better is when you play it on multiplayer it makes it so much better when you play against other human players however if you find human players too hard you can always download podbot from botman this in my opinion is the best bot for counterstrike even if they are a bit stupid. You can easily find counterstrike on the internet or from free cd's from magazines.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“The game is amazing, no doubt about it. It has low...”

★★★★★

written by cjrog20 on 05/06/2004

The game is amazing, no doubt about it. It has low system requirements, so anyone can play. The competitiveness is very high and there are many maps to play on. The game is a must have.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Half-Life: Counter Strike is an extremely addictive...”

★★★★★

written by scaifea on 04/06/2004

Half-Life: Counter Strike is an extremely addictive and incrediby brilliant game. If you have played other games from the HL series, then this is a must.

Beautifully drawn maps (1.6 is much better) incredible sounds.
Wonderful gameplay.

Its a classic "shoot em up" with masses of strategy thrown in for good measure.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Half-Life: Counter Strike is a classic, the best there...”

★★★★★

written by OldNol on 22/03/2004

Half-Life: Counter Strike is a classic, the best there is.

New game maps can be slow to download. Finding servers can be a pain. However, if you get k-query (www.kquery.com) a shareware/freeware application that finds servers for you and it will seriously increase your game playing experience.

There are many 'experimental maps' that can be great fun to play.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Half-Life: Counter Strike for the PC is really fun and...”

★★★★★

written by Blacorange2 on 27/01/2004

Half-Life: Counter Strike for the PC is really fun and addictive. Because it is online it does not get old or boring. Half life is sweet. I love it.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“It goes without saying that Half Life Counterstrike is...”

★★★★★

written by Futile on 18/01/2004

It goes without saying that Half Life Counterstrike is one of, if not the best FPS multiplayer games there is, it combines superb graphics and utilises real weapons and their sounds in the game, if its LAN or internet gaming you're into, this game is a must have...

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“I have been all over the internet recently. I have...”

★★★★★

written by Buddy. on 07/04/2003

I have been all over the internet recently. I have looked everywhere for a counter-strike server that is cheap.. I only found a few. Although some servers can run up to $1000 a month, very few people rent theirs out for under $100 a month depending on the max amount of players. I am wanting to host my own server and get the cheapest but most realiable one. You just cant go and rent a server and expect it to work, there is a lot of work you must put into them, besides, the cost is the second thing. The cost, as metioned, is based on how many players you want on a server. For example, I saw a site that hosted servers for people at $4 a month. After you get a lot of players, the price WILL add up, and thats not good(I.e. Hidden charges) So, if you are looking for a good gaming server, please watch what you get, as mentioned above. Happy Gaming!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“www.counter-strike.net ”

★★★★★

written by Cannonfodder. on 31/07/2002

www.counter-strike.net
Just a fantastic gaming experience that's a must for anyone who love the new way of first personer shooter games and wants that extra edge of playing other people online or on LANs.
Bots also available.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 2

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

overview