The Dog Inn, Pentrich Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★★☆☆
2.7 / 5
48% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Quality of service

  • Quality of food

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
The Dog Inn, Pentrich - Ask a question now

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

★★★★★

“Beautiful little pub - fantastic new management”

Written on: 22/01/2016 by hannah.green112334 (1 review written)

Been going to this pub for a number of years now, it's always been one of our favourite spots for the beautiful surroundings and amazing food. Since the new management has taken over, much to our surpise, the level of service and standard of food has improved - something we never thought possible. I'd recommend this place to anyone looking for somewhere quiet and relaxing to have some good drinks and great food.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“christmas day lunch”

Written on: 27/12/2014 by Janiyah135 (1 review written)

FROM THE BAR THE DOG INN RESTAURANT LOOKED INVITING. THE CHAMPAGNE WAS LOVELY. THE LOBSTER STARTER WAS LOVELY, THE SORBET ALSO. HOWEVER, AFTER WAITING FOR FORTY MINUTES FOR THE MAIN COURSE, WE WERE AMAZED TO SEE LUMPS OF TURKEY, A BLOB OF MASHED POTATO, TWO PALE, DRIED UP LOOKING ROAST, THE WAITER BROUGHT A SIDE DISH WITH VERY BURNT PARSNIP, ABOUT THREE PIECES OF CARROT, AND WHO KNOWS WHAT THE OTHER ITERM WAS. WHEN I CALLED THE WAITER OVER, AND TOLD HIM THE VEG WAS BURNT, HE REPLIED "WELL I LIKE THEM LIKE THAT" HE TOOK THEM AWAY, HOWEVER, THE REPLACEMENT WAS NOT MUCH BETTER. CHRISTMAS DAY LUNCH - WITH NO GREEN VEG??? THE CHRISTMAS PUDDING WAS OBLONG, SO OUT OF A TIN,FOR THE PRICE WE PAID, ONE WOULD HAVE EXPECTED A CHRISTMAS SHAPED PUDDING. WE HAVE BEEN TO THE DOG SEVERAL TIMES WITH OUR FRIENDS, HOWEVER, AFTER OUR EXPERIANCE TODAY - WHEN THEY ASK IF WE ENJOYED IT - WELL NO.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Restaurant was empty but we were turned away ”

Written on: 11/05/2014

We had always liked the Dog, so decided to go for my partner's birthday. It was a Saturday but at 5.15 pm, we expected the bar to be empty. It wasn't but the only tables available were occupied by a man with a rather lively springer spaniel straining at the leash, jumping up all across three tables. No-one wants to eat with a dog jumping around them so we asked if we could sit in the restaurant area, which was virtually empty. We were told that it was fully booked but having a sneaky look at the booking form, most tables were not booked until 7.30pm. We would have been finished by then. We left, disappointed. When we wrote to the manageress, she was very unhelpful. We had a lovely meal at the Peacock, Oakerthorpe, instead and will only partake in drinks at the Dog in future. Pity.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★☆☆

“Good Food Poor Service”

Written on: 14/09/2013

I have been twice recently and both times the service has been poor When the food has arrived it has been lovely but waiting for so long spoils your evening

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Excellent food and service.”

Written on: 13/07/2013

Had a family meal and lots to drink a couple of weeks ago and everything was faultless. would definitely recommend The Dog Inn to friends and family. A big thank you to Sarah, Sophie, Emma, Megan and Bethany for really looking after us all and making our evening that little extra special. Definitely will be returning soon. Daz B.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Woooow wee, where do I Start, this will be grim!! Very...”

Written on: 15/02/2013 by Sallysubmarine (1 review written)

Woooow wee, where do I Start, this will be grim!! Very small Portions... You need 3 courses to fill you up, Here go's.. we was booked in for Sunday lunch 9th feb.2013, We was waiting 25mins before being seated at a table that was vacant and set ready all that time, not a biggy at this point, we placed our orders, it was very under staffed and somewhat under experienced,my mum asked for extra veg as she did'nt want potatoes, that did'nt seem a problem at the time, our food arrived looking lovely, the chef can cook, but we was served 1 portion of veg in a small dish between 3 of us, we asked for more veg. But the staff took that long in sorting it out, we had to ask twice, When it did eventually arrive we had finished our meal, Not Impressed, as the table next to us had 1 dish of veg each!! Is was a very pricey meal for what you got,maybe that's how they make there money, you need 3 courses to feel as though you had a good fill, and believe me I'm no big eater, then to top it all off we got charged a lot more than what we should have, But the bill was not itemised so that was a tad difficult, we did eventually sort it out,but the staff was a little slow to say the least on sorting it out, they did not have a clue,very disappointing visit, will not be recommending and certainly will not be returning, I was that disappointed I phoned up on the Monday to explain how ripped off I felt, she said it was because they was a large party in and they was priority!! but we was still paying customers too, she was very defensive and basically told me if we had been before we would have known to order more veg!! and to write a review who cares, disgusting attitude to have,Please do not waste your money, go to a nice village pub somewhere that will be half the price and bigger portions for your money.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★☆☆

“"expected better"”

Written on: 11/11/2012

Our first visit to the Dog Inn on Friday 9th November 2012, which we were looking forward to. Seated at a table for two, in the middle aisle (which is the main thoroughfare for diners and staff constantly walking past the table) We chose from the £12.99 menu, the starter of smoked salmon risotto was very nice, therefore, looking forward to our main course we chose the rump steak. Very disappointed, tasteless, chewy and unable to eat it. (ended up in a doggy bag) even the dog wouldn't it. Very overpriced, and over rated, the seating in the middle aisle needs to be re thought for the comfort of your diners.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“Not up to the standard I had heard about.”

Written on: 09/11/2012 by Richard1910 (3 reviews written)

We recently stayed on holiday in Pentrich in a lovely cottage. One Thursday in October we decided to go to the Dog Inn for a meal as it was highly recommended to us. Over the years we have eaten in every style and class of restaurant in many countries. Firstly we found the tables in the restaurant very tight and close to each other although not overly so. Food quality was though very poor. I had soup which was tasteless and steak with tasteless vegetables. My wife's meal had "buttery mash" which had about 1 gram of butter per 1 kg of potatoes! Service was very average and not on par with the supposed "posh" atmosphere. We ordered a bottle of one of their more expensive wines which turned out to be much worse than the 50p cartons we sometimes buy in Spain. Overall the quality was on par with one of the very large chain pubs (W) but not too good for the £70 we paid for 2 people. Won't be going back

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“lovely evening”

Written on: 02/11/2012 by beccymoorley (1 review written)

Went last night to celabrate my birthday.Staff freindly and helpful .Food fab fresh and good selection .Looking forward to next visit.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Fabulous Evening”

Written on: 29/09/2012 by carlnjen (1 review written)

We visited 'The Dog' on Friday 28 Sept for an evening meal whilst on holiday.Cannot give enough praise.The staff were great,friendly and corteous.Couldnt do enough for us.The meal was excellent.My wife had the lamb and I had steak for main.It was cooked to perfection and plenty of it too.Pleasant surroundings,fabulous wine and food.Good value too.What more could you want.Wished we lived nearer. Jenny and Carl Kerby

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“FAB- BEST FOOD IN DERBY/ NOTTS”

Written on: 18/09/2012

BEEN AWAY FOR A WHILE-SO NICE TO GET BACK HOME AND GO TO OUR FAVOURITE BAR/RESTAURANT- WAS BIT WORRID COS ID READ SOME NOT NICE REVIEWS- NO NEED TO HAVE WORRID THOUGH-PLEASE TO REPORT EVERYTHING SAME AS USUAL-LOVLY STAFF-NOTHING IS TOO MUCH TROUBLE FOR THIS CREW-FOOD TOP CLASS -AS USUAL-IM NOT SURE THAT THESE BAD REVEIWS ARE GENUINE U KNOW - THINK SOME ONE'S GOT AN AXE TO GRIND!! IF IN DOUBHT -I'D SUGGEST YOU GO AND MAKE UR OWN MIND UP!!XX

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“VERY NICE”

Written on: 24/07/2012

Visited here in July having been here the same time last year. We found everything just as good as the last visit, staff very friendly, surroundings very pleasant and prices very reasonable for the excellent quality of food. I cant really understand the negative comments but having said that i do understand that everyone is different and we all have very different expectations, all i can say is that in my own personal experience i cant fault the place!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“I would give no stars if I could! Avoid !”

Written on: 05/07/2012 by Whatcaniusethen (1 review written)

VERY Rude staff. £2.60 for a can of cola. £1.90 for a glass of Water! Card payments only for bills under a fiver! Avoid. I know this review seems harsh but I feel it necessary to warn other by voicing my experience today .

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“Very over rated ”

Written on: 17/06/2012 by jmgrain (1 review written)

I will sum that place up in one word.........PRETENTIUOS.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“fab”

Written on: 15/05/2012 by anabelle1 (1 review written)

absolutly fabulas-been going ages dont normally write reviews-but a friend that came with us last week said that she had read some realy bad reveiew so i felt duty bound to actually write one myself-we'v had some fab evenings at the dog-sometimes just a drink and bag of crisps(lovly log fire)but we'v had some really lovely meals as well -over the years we'v seen staff come and go but they'v all been very friendly and nice-dont know where they get them from-i say go and judge it yourself and make your own mind up!!!ps they don't have a childrens menu -which is another reason we like it-!!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Gone to the dogs!!”

Written on: 14/05/2012

My freind and I here on Sunday 13th May and really wish I hadn't bothered. I've even her several times before and was always impressed with the lovely food and service...well that's a thing of the past! The service was terrible. The head waitress/manager was very rude, barking at us to sit in the bar and order at the bar as we hadn't booked a table. Then she nearly bit our head off for having the cheek to ask for vinager!! I've never been made to feel quite so unwelcome...manners really do go a long way! We both had gourmet burgers. Mine was missing parma ham, and my friends was missing stilton cheese! The burgers themselves tasted like something you get off a cheap burger van...nothing gourmet about them at all. The only half decent thing on the plate were the home made chips...but they didn't warrant the ££11 price tag. My advice stay away...this restaurant is obviously still surving on its previous reputation. Just wonder went wrong?

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“very rude staff”

Written on: 30/04/2012

we have recently visited this "eating outlet" expecting to have a nice pleasent meal but on arrival we were greeted with an unfriendly welcome via staff (as if they did not want us there). After that we thought oh well im sure the food will be nice, first of all we ordered our meal which was brought out and slammed on our table with no cuttlery, we waited a little while until we had to ask for it worrying our meal would go cold. Upon starting our very expensive burger it soon became clear to us this was not the burger in the description. As we had payed 11 pound each for this burger we decided to question the staff where the chillies and piri piri sauce was that appeared to be missing. The staff were once again very rude and insisted all the ingredients were included which they cleary was not. top tip: Avoid this pub like the plague, if you want a burger that says what it is for the right money, visit mcdonalds where the staff actual smile and everything is what it says on the tin

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Birthday Sunday Lunch”

Written on: 05/12/2011 by IamBarbaraM (1 review written)

Not being from the area but by a process of elimination and looking at reviews, I decided on The Dog to bring my daughter, and her friend, for Sunday lunch to celebrate her birthday. On arrival we were warmly greeted, and offered drinks with the menus.The specials of the day were pointed out to us on the chalk boards, before sitting at our table in the dining area. The whole place is nicely decorated, quite modern but sympathetic to the age of the building.The bar area has a wood burner and looked very cozy. We could have eaten in there if we had wanted. After some deliberation, the choice was very tempting, we all had the crab & crayfish cocktail starter which was delicious and nicely presented. For main course my daughter had the dry aged steak,her friend chose the Roast Lamb & I plumped for the Roast Pork. We certainly did not wait too long before our main courses came out, accompanied by a selection of delicious vegetables. Plates were cleared, absolutely delicious. For dessert(yes we went for that as well) the two girls had creme brule, and I had the chocolate brownie. The staff were charming, attentive but not intrusive. Oh and the loos were good too! I would without a doubt go back there again and highly recommend to others, I do not recognise this pub from some of the negative reviews! If I had any niggles it was that the plates that our main courses came on were not hot and the Roast Beef on the Sunday lunch menu was silverside and therefore not available rare, I would have had this otherwise. Also my Chocolate Brownie had walnuts in it, which were not advised on the menu, and I detest!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“love it!!!!”

Written on: 02/12/2011 by suzydurbacz (1 review written)

we go when ever we can-love it!!never been disapointed-took a v. fussy vegie freind the oyher day -and they went out of their way to make here something-which wasn't on the menu.food has always been good staff are freindly and eficient-couple sat next to us the other day said that they nearly didntn't come cos of the bad reveiws-but were v.glad they did. really strange all the ropey reviews-alot of our freinds and people from work go and iv not herd one bad word bout it - are all the reveiws genuine i wonder?? why wud anyone want to be anonymous when placing a review?

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Not Good At All”

Written on: 31/10/2011

Both myself and partner enjoy eating out regularly as well as cooking. We thought we would the Dog Inn at Pentrich as it appeared in the Derbyshire Good Food Magazine and have trusted this with many other fine eating establishments across Derbyshire. Firstly on arrival we noticed that the choice of drinks available is neither extensive or of a quality you would expect in a

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
overview