Indian Ocean, Ashton Under Lyne Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★☆☆☆
2.4
29.0% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Quality of service

  • Quality of food

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Indian Ocean, Ashton Under Lyne - Ask a question now

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

“Absolutely lovely ”

★★★★★

written by beverleyreilly on 25/11/2017

Not been here in many years and now am wondering why. Absolutely beautiful food, fantastic service, was my friends birthday and they gave us each a free drink and they sang happy birthday to her and gave us a shot each after presenting a cake they provided. Lovely staff and really glad came back here x waiter was fantastic made our experience really really good x nothing was too much trouble.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Very, very poor service ruined this night for us.”

★☆☆☆☆

written by andyn on 31/07/2011

Very, very poor service ruined this night for us. First of all, the meal was booked for 7.30pm for 14 people and the restaurant rang up my girlfriend (whom birthday it was) a few days before and changed the order until 8.30pm. We were not particularly happy with this anyhow, but let it go. We got there anyhow for around 8.20pm or so and were asked to wait in the bar area. It got to 8.45pm and my other half went to go and ask them was going on and she was told it would be 9.20pm before we get served, which was annoying. It gets to 9.20pm and my other half goes back to find out off the manager who in a very, very rude tone told her in front of me and a friend that he did not tell her that and said it would be 9.30pm, in which his tone reduced my other half to tears, which nearly made us all walk out there and then. Eventually we were seated at 9.45pm – over an hour and a quarter later, been told rudely off the waiting staff that the table before was running later. Pathetic, as they did not tell us that atall before. A number of complaints were directed to the staff and we were offered a round of drinks as a sorry. Our food was ordered anyway at the same time as the drinks at 9.50pm. It took them half an hour to get the drinks to us and until 10.40pm for the food at a point when the restaurant was mostly empty. I was that angry was three other members of our group and didn’t order any food, choosing to go to a chip shop afterwards. Out of the remaining 11 people, I know two people got cold rice, another dry chips and there was two dry and flaky nan breads on the side dishes, although I did hear most people were generally happy with their main meals (we were running way too late for starters, coffees, and ice cream etc). I also heard from another table that one of the waiters were seen drinking people’s drinks before they were bought out to us. I’d worked out that the meal was probably going to cost me around £25 to £30 a head because of the quality of the meal, prices etc but between the 14 which would be over £400 in total. Because of above, we spent £133. You work it out! All in all, a poor night, one I certainly shall be not going to attend and as a matter of course, I would recommend all people who are considering to the Indian Ocean restaurant in Ashton-Under-Lyne not to bother.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Completely agree with the recent reviews. After...”

★★☆☆☆

written by on 13/11/2010

Completely agree with the recent reviews. After hearing nothing but praise, I talked my family into going here rather than the curry mile.

The staff were friendly and welcoming and I genuinely thought the service was good throughout. However, with great Indian food you expect a great Indian atmosphere. When seated in the lounge area there was something about the place that just screamed modern family pub. Hard to put my finger on exactly... perhaps it was the 42" plasma showing Bolton v Stoke. The bar (and to an extent the eating area) really diminishes the authenticity of its' acclaimed Indian fine dining.

We were hoping that the quality of food would save the day, but unfortunately it didn't. To be fair the food wasn't atrocious, just extremely disappointing
For an Indian restaurant which boasts a multitude of prestigious awards to not only look like a Weatherspoons, but to actually deliver a similar quality of food just isn't worth a second visit.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Seeing that The Indian Ocean in Stamford Street East,...”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 30/07/2010

Seeing that The Indian Ocean in Stamford Street East, Ashton under Lyne, was named best north west restaurant at the British Curry Awards (2007 and 2008) I took my family. What a mistake. We drove 15 miles on this recommendation. Each one of us curry fans were more than disappointed to put it VERY politely. Whoever voted for this place could not have been customers. To think we must have passed 50 decent curry houses en route only added to our distaste for the place.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“I would not reccommend this place and I am so...”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 16/01/2010

I would not reccommend this place and I am so surprised at its excellent reputation. During my visit, the service was some of the worst I have had (one waiter rolling his eyes at my friend because she changed her order - BEFORE he had left the table to send it to the kitchen) and another waiter arguing with another friend of mine because she had written on the back of the bill (trying to work out payment). The food was FAR too spicy (and I like spice, but not when it ruins the taste of the meal. It ruined my fish dish) and actually not that great. It is the worst Indian restaurant I have ever visited and would advise you to steer clear. Very rude staff. Average food.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Absolutely love the Indian Ocean Restaurant, probably...”

★★★★★

written by on 04/08/2009

Absolutely love the Indian Ocean Restaurant, probably the best curry in the world and definately the best in the North West. This restaurant is an award winning restaurant, twice the winner of the British Curry Awards and Cobra Good Curry Awards, to be frank a sackful awards, they are at the top of the game. They do a fantastic value for money delivery service, spend £15 and you get 2 bottles of cobra chucked in for free, always prompt, steaming hot and delicous for 16 years. I will not move out of Tameside until they open another branch elsewhere lol.
Absolutely love the Indian Ocean Restaurant!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“The food is delicious at the Indian Ocean, Ashton...”

★★☆☆☆

written by on 24/01/2009

The food is delicious at the Indian Ocean, Ashton Under Lyne. Do go to the restaurant but I would not recommend ordering a takeaway. I was disappointed with the takeaway food - I ordered a takeout (and it was expensive - not a cheap deal) and it actually took nearly three hours to get to my address - I complained to the management but did not receive a reply - I spoke to a member of staff who agreed that it was not good enough and would let the management know of my disappointment - I've heard nothing further as yet.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

overview