Admiral Breakdown Cover Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★☆☆☆
1.9 / 5
19% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Speed of response

  • Customer service

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Admiral Breakdown Cover - Ask a question now

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

Latest Reviews

★★★★★

“Admiral to the rescue”

Written on: 10/10/2021 by Jezv (4 reviews written)

I was out doing my deliveries out of town in the company van and couldn't accelerate over 50 then it gave up smell of burning nightmare!!! The clutch had died got my Doc's out and gave admiral van breakdown a call the call was answered quickly once I gave her my location she said I would get a txt and my ETA was 40mins I got the txt and yep help arrived on time Many Thanks… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Appalling”

Written on: 03/08/2021 by AnyaChoate88 (1 review written)

Appalling. Stuck without petrol because several petrol stations had closed earlier on a Sunday. Finally called Admiral. I was told 1 and 3/4 wait time and then possibly another 3 hours national wait time on top of that!! Why? I opted to get an expensive taxi home, and then another expensive taxi at the crack of dawn the following day to sort it out. Didn't fancy being in the middle of nowhere waiting till 2.30 or 3am hoping someone was coming!!! Newsflash Breakdown service is supposed to give… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“I wish I could give them 0 stars”

Written on: 31/10/2020 by 1991McDowell (1 review written)

I was out in the cold for over 2 hours and still no one came. They said it would only be an hour. A kind gentleman helped me otherwise in scared to even think about what might have happened. They are absolutely useless. I called them again to let them know I didn't need then to come as someone had helped me and the guy on the phone was so unapologetic of the time I watered waiting for them. I'm so disappointed in their service… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Most terrible service ever”

Written on: 05/03/2020 by Leticia218 (1 review written)

I had to wait 3 hours and 20 minutes to get the recovery van to sort out the flat battery. They said at the beginning that the help will be there in 60min then they said it will take another 15 min and so on and on and on. … Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“£60 for 10 miles”

Written on: 24/01/2020 by Matt12300 (1 review written)

I had cover for recovery anywhere within 10 miles of the breakdown site. My home was around 20-25 miles away and I had to return home as I had no other option. I had to wait over an hour to be picked up and then had to pay £60 for the 12 or so miles extra on top of the distance already included. Completely useless unless you only use the vehicle for trips within 10 miles of home and pricey. Admiral haven’t stopped calling me today to try and obtain payment… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“PATHETIC SERVICE BY ADMIRAL & AA”

Written on: 29/09/2019 by Sethur (1 review written)

My vehicle had a breakdown in Reading city just 1 Mile away from my home. I was made to wait on a road for almost 3 hours from 11 PM to 3 AM in the morning with no assistance First time I called it took 10 Min for someone to pick and was prompted if I had taken cover before Sep 2019 or after (had no clue why) and then transferred to another line where I waited for 5 min to speak to an agent who can pick my complaint I was made to wait in the road for 3 hours just to know that I had to fill 5… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Worst. Ever. Service.”

Written on: 16/09/2017 by Adriannas322 (1 review written)

My car broke down on the M40, with my wife and two year old son in the vehicle. Despite being made a 'prioirity' we were forced to wait on a verge by the side of the motorway for four and a half hours in the pouring rain. The reason? Because someone in the call centre had sent the recovery driver to the M4 instead. Even when this mistake was realised they refused to send someone to pick us up and take us to safety. Incompetence of the very highest order. And their call centre staff seemed… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 3 0
★★☆☆☆

“Very long Wait times”

Written on: 05/07/2017 by Lindsay179 (1 review written)

After Putting in the wrong fuel I was made to wait over 3 and a half hours for attendance and then a further hour to resolve the issue. I was told time and time again the company would be 90 mins, I then called and he was twenty mins away. After 2 and a half hours I was then told he was now 30 mins away and he turned up over double the initial time. This was frustrating as I had to keep the child minder waiting. If I had been told from the start Id of left the car until the next day. Admiral… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Roadside assistance. Very efficient service. From...”

Written on: 23/02/2017

Roadside assistance. Very efficient service. From phone call to arriving and sorting problem, took only an hour… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Left stranded with kids on M25 for 4 hours! ”

Written on: 03/10/2016 by noraacarling (1 review written)

You might be interested in my tweet and facebook post today.   Please do not lie and tell people (who are stranded on the motorway with their children) that you will assist them WITHIN the hour. It has been nearly 4 hours and after dozens of calls, you are STILL apparently on "your way". Shameful and appalling service.  After nearly 5 hours and £200 cost, my family are now home.  We were insured by Admiral but I will be cancelling my policy as soon as possible and will NEVER renew… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Jamesaw's Response to noraacarling's Review

Written on: 16/09/2017

Exactly the same thing happened to us! If you have a family with young children avoid this dreadful service at all costs.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“Simply the best.”

Written on: 19/12/2015 by unluckycarowner (1 review written)

Having broken down 3 times within a short space of time, Admiral have performed admirably each time. All the staff concerned have been consistently pleasant and helpful and actually seem to genuinely care about their customers. Well done all concerned and keep up the good work… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“So upset by the level of service I received”

Written on: 23/11/2015 by Gurpalkaur (1 review written)

I made a call at 620pm and was promised the breakdown cover would be with me within an hour. After an hour and half I was still waiting on the motorway in the freezing cold. The service I received on the phone was shocking. He was so rude and unhelpful! The man kept calling me to say he couldn't find me. So I suggested he take the SoS number to help him find as to where I was. I For sure would not recommend this service at all. Left me feeling very unsatified for something I have paid… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Admiral breakdown not recommended”

Written on: 02/04/2015 by OmariWelsh1955 (1 review written)

My son broke down so called Admiral. They sent out a "roadside engineer" who established that the coil had gone. He did not have a coil with him so called someone from Automania.who said he could fix it at a cost of £30. I thought this rather strange but was told by Admiral that the contract was between my son and the engineer if we went ahead with the repair. My son had to get money from a cashpoint and the coil was replaced by the engineer from Automania. 10 miles along the road my son broke… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“The worst company on the market ”

Written on: 01/02/2015

If you are thinking of getting breakdown cover do not choose admiral, they are miss leading company who will happily take your money without providing the service for it . They came in the evening to fix my car which I was told it's done and the following morning I had the same problem. I called them just to be told that it's not their problem that my car is still not working and I need to make a new call out if I want someone to come over again and I have to pay full amount for the service… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Never use this company especially if you have children. ”

Written on: 29/09/2013

We have paid our premiums to Admiral Breakdown to ensure that if anything happened we would be covered quickly as we have two every young children. For the first time in years I had to call today. I was on my own with my one year old son. I was told it would be 90 minutes. I explained that I was on my own with a one year old and I didn't feel that this was being treated as a priority. The customer representative said she would call me back in 5 minutes and look into it. She did indeed call me… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“If you have a well maintained car the cost of...”

Written on: 31/12/2009

If you have a well maintained car the cost of breakdown cover over several years will probably be greater than the cost of paying to have the odd flat battery or puncture sorted out. What you really pay for is peace-of- mind. When my wife's car had a puncture the service provided fell a long way short of this (The breakdown truck didn't carry any tools and couldn't help with the fact that our spare was under pressure by about 7ppsi). When I complained to Admiral they promised to look into it. I… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
overview