Hammonds Furniture - www.hammonds-uk.com

Hammonds Furniture - www.hammonds-uk.com
★★★★★
4.5
89.0% of users recommend this
  • Customer Service

  • Quality of website

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Hammonds Furniture - www.hammonds-uk.com - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Hammonds Furniture - www.hammonds-uk.com

Refine your search

Latest Reviews

“terrible customer service”

★☆☆☆☆

written by KaleyBuchanan265 on 24/04/2024

It took them 7 visits over 10 weeks to install my furniture, and they damaged my wall in the process. Terrible service and communication. Their compensation offer was pitiful. I've taken them to the furniture ombudsman.

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Poor!”

★★☆☆☆

written by Sally46150 on 23/03/2024

This is why I cannot in all good conscience recommend Hammonds....... We were firstly mislead by the Sales Consultant regarding the installation date which after paying our deposit was extended by 2-weeks. Not a complete travesty but nonetheless it was less than honourable. Hammonds automated communication service was excellent from the time of quotation through to the imminent arrival of the fitter. One week prior to the fitters arrival we received a text message confirming his arrival between 8am - 10am on day 1. The duration for the fitting was scheduled to last 2.6 days. On day 1, the fitter text at 8.30 to advise he would be arriving between 1pm - 2pm. Not what was agreed and somewhat frustrating because I had a booked a whole day off work. 2pm came and went as did 3, 4 & 5 - NO FITTER! NO EXPLANATION! I had been in touch with a lovely lady at Hammonds who had text me earlier on day 1 to introduce herself and advise she would be looking after me whilst my installation was underway. She appeared to be as frustrated as I when the fitter failed to arrive. She advised me he was not responding to their messages! No one even knew if he had collected the furniture from the Hammonds warehouse earlier that morning. But at 2pm it was closed and no-one could check. To cut a very long and frustrating story short, the fitter arrived on day 2 & 3 long after the time he advised us he would be arriving, he proceeded to work for 6-hours each day, leaving by 3pm and was often talking on his phone. Because he hadn't completed the work it was necessary to return on the Saturday taking up more of my time. As of today (7-days post installation), I have not received any contact from Hammonds to check if the fitter actually arrived on last Saturday and completed the work, to ask if I am happy with the installation, to apologise for the stress endured and the time that the fitter wasted or to apologise for eating into my Saturday! This is very poor customer service. The quality of the fit was very good however, I have previously used Sharps and Mark Baker Bespoken Wardrobes in previous homes where I had the equally good quality and the fitter arrived on time and finished in the time period agreed.

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Terrible Customer Service - Don't pay up front!”

★☆☆☆☆

written by LThompson74 on 18/03/2024

Took months to fit our furniture and still been done wrong 3 months later. Have had 3 fitters and every time they have arrived with wrong parts. I've taken weeks off work and they have offered a laughable £200 discount off of my £14,000 order. The complaints team couldn't wait to get me off the phone and had no interest whatsoever. Wish I had gone elsewhere.

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“The worse company to deal with”

★☆☆☆☆

written by shelleyscarfe on 14/03/2024

Hammonds are a complete nightmare! They have been trying (and failing) to fit our under stairs storage since 6th December! It's still not sorted 3 months on, and we paid up front in September last year. We have had 3 joiner know shows and they're on their 4th attempt to cut the door and end panels to size. They can't do it! Their customer service is complete rubbish, with no escalation process in place. I cannot stand Hammonds, and will never use them ever again!!

Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Poor customer service after they have your money”

★☆☆☆☆

written by davidbaldock on 08/12/2023

Really poor customer service. After spending over £25,000 with this company, the service currently being received is atrocious. After having multiple units fitted in our house, and never having an issue before, we are now seeing what their customer service is really like, now there’s a problem. Instead of the carpet being rolled back, the fitter insisted on removing the whole carpet and underlay for the whole room which I now have to pay to have fitted again. All because he wanted to cut the wood in the room when he could have cut anywhere else. They don’t want to know even though it doesn’t say that the fitter has to do that. And for the money I’ve paid them you’d think they would want a happy customer who has returned over and over. Won’t ever again now.

Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Appsolutly extortionate over rated company ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Almaty2005 on 01/12/2023

Had our fitted wardrobes yesterday 30th November We where not happy with the result Wanted slight adjustment there qouted a appsolutly ridicules figure like £1500 For shoe rack and drew adjustment as very shallow drew Very overrated company far too expensive and standard not very good Do not buy anything from this extortionate company Date of experience: 30 November 2023

Almaty2005's Response to Almaty2005's Review

Written on: 06/12/2023

Plus handles on the wardrobes crooked and inch gap between doors
Having to come back to do it again wish I never paid all the money straight away

Reply to this comment
Was this review helpful? 1 1

“Complete Refit”

★☆☆☆☆

written by omHollis488 on 15/09/2023

Hammonds ethos "Measure twice and cut once" went out the window with our installation. I called Hammonds part way through the installation as it was clear the fitter had no idea what he was doing. Customer Services advised they had assigned the wrong fitter to the job and that he was NOT qualified to do our installation which was classed as a red job. I had an appointment booked before the fitter left for someone from Hammonds to come and assess the work and when the fitter came, he was "speechless" at the mess we had been left with. We were immediately booked in for a complete refit. Refit complete, we were advised that we would be compensated £50 for our patience to put towards a takeaway. Bearing in mind our wardrobe cost over £3000. Fast forward 6 weeks and the wardrobe has disconnected itself from the wall, meaning the door catches every time it is opened and closed, and the side panel moves away from the wall. I called Hammonds and was asked to send photos which I did, I got a voicemail the week after saying we were booked in for someone to come sort the issue...appointment is 2 months later! I called Hammonds again and asked if there was an appointment available sooner, the lady said she was surprised that we have to wait so long and would try and get us something sooner. Over 1 week later someone else calls to confirm the appointment cant be brought forward. I asked if this is normal for a customer to wait 2 months for a product to be fixed, to which she replied we have no guideline we just fit you in when we can, it also doesn't help that you live in Scotland as we don't have many people available to go up there. I cannot stress enough how horrible our experience has been with Hammonds, I wish we could turn back time and give our money to a company that gives their customers the service they deserve.

Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Avoid! Misleading and poor customer service ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Shyann52 on 14/04/2023

Approach with caution! Mis leading, will take your information, personal details and even sign you up to a credit check and finance to then be told they cannot offer the goods! The designer may talk the talk but don’t fall for his tricks. Unfortunately our experience was less than adequate and when things go wrong, Hammonds have no interest in trying to rectify things and will just blame each other.

Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Don't don't don't ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by arDickey372 on 01/03/2023

First fitting only half done as corner unit had missing parts. Waited months for job to be completed. Corner unit finally finished but different shade of colour for some o the panels but had been fitted well. Next they send someone to change some panels. Within an hour of the fitter leaving one panel came away from the others. Where panels were changed the idiot did not remove the old glue so the new panels did not sit flush. The fitter seemed to think that filling all the gaps with filler is acceptable. The fitter also put filler in areas that had been agreed would be left. One top panel is out of line so the fitter cut the bottom of the joint at an angle and put filler in. We don't want them back as each time they try to put something right it ends up ten times worse. PERSONALLY I WOULD NEVER LET THEM NEAR MY PROPERTY.

Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Rubbish Customer Services and Hardwork For US! ”

★★☆☆☆

written by Stout1993 on 22/02/2023

We ordered 2 installations from Hammonds costing just short of £9k. We always believed the company stood for the very highest standards of excellence and that the bespoke fitting would be of the finest quality. How wrong we were! We received many communications, and a contract, to remind us that the rooms should be free of everything. To comply, we removed all our belongings, however, this rendered other rooms unusable. They said the work would be completed in 2 days. On the day, the fitter arrived for the lounge installation [GU906] but some large and very necessary parts were missing and he would return in 3 weeks. We had to cancel our electrician who was on his way to assist with lights and sockets (PLEASE NOTE: all our sockets would have been covered up or inside cupboards. It’s your responsibility to sort this out) We informed Customers Service that being disabled and living in such disarray would be a great inconvenience and dangerous. We asked if they could speed it up - no chance! Customer Service ring ALL the time but actually do nothing. They promise to look into things and ring back but never do (this happened a lot). 3 weeks later the 1st fit began. However, when it was finished it fell far below any suitable standard, especially given the cost. Everyone who saw it was shocked at the unfinished, shoddy appearance. Inside the tall glass display cupboards, some hinges had covers, others didn’t. ALL of the predrilled holes for shelves and additional hinges were left unfinished (showing pale holes in dark grey wood). The inside base had been badly cut, was gnarled, and again showed a completely different colour underneath. There were many marks and scratches. Hammonds started emailing and texting the following day asking for the final installment (10%) but the fitter was going to return with missing screw cups and a finishing strip above the centre. We contacted Customer Services to tell them that the job was not actually finished and that we had found faults. We were asked to send photos, which we did but no comment was ever made regarding this. For another 9 days, we could not put our things away until the fitter returned to attend to the remedial work. During this time and we were having to prepare the other room for the wardrobe installation [GV160]. As this involved taking apart and moving a medical bed to the lounge, I rang to ask for written assurance that the 2nd job would happen on the correct date and that all the parts were ready and available so it would not be a repeat of the 1st. Although we were told that they would do this, they never did. When the fitter came to finish the 1st job, he added the strip and screw cups. These were in a pale grey plastic and look completely out of place. We had to go and buy black screw cups to ‘dampen down’ the terrible cheap look. Not the finish we thought we were paying for. The wardrobe installation did begin on the allotted day but once again there is a problem. One of the mirrored wardrobe doors had lumps in the vinyl finish and it will now take 3 weeks for a replacement to come.

Was this review helpful? 2 0

“Customer services”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Piper1962 on 06/02/2023

Shocked by the attitude of agent in Customer Services. Very arrogant and has no idea of the Consumer Rights Act 2015.

Was this review helpful? 1 0

“I would rate lower if I could .”

★☆☆☆☆

written by rodscants on 09/11/2022

I would rate lower if I could. Paid £3000 for fitted wardrobes, we had 2 surveyors round to measure and 'ensure it was correct'. The fitter was excellent, except the order was missing shelf and other bits, so the installation could not be completed. We waited 48hrs for contact from customer services and in the end contacted them, customer services informed me that so long as they complete the job in 30 days!!! they offer no compensation at all. I asked, if she was me would she be happy? No she wouldn't but that's the policy. So 30 days to fit some wardrobes is acceptable apparently. Not forgetting the 2 months wait for the order initially!! We paid a premium price for what was sold as a premium product and service and other than the fitter I will have nothing to do with this company again. Go elsewhere.

Was this review helpful? 1 1

“Diverse Colour Match - very poor customer service”

★☆☆☆☆

written by ajCruz20 on 26/10/2022

3 bedrooms installed with furniture - colour match on surround and doors absolutely appalling in one room - Hammonds Customer service dreadful - state is as advertised in showrooms - would like to see where! Will not liaise with me as a good customer having spent thousands of pounds on 3 installations. Refuse to send a representative to my home to view their work after stating that they had not seen such a drastic colour variant before from photographic evidence sent to them. Refuse to compensate, replace or refund. Now will not respond to my further communication regarding my complaint.

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Kitchen installation ”

★★☆☆☆

written by Konnor362 on 07/10/2022

Had a kitchen fitted just over 3 years ago. A catalogue of errors occurred during the installation which increased the time we were without kitchen facilities to almost 4 weeks. We have had to replace the fridge freezer which was installed, at just over 2 years old, and we’ve currently been waiting for hinges to be replaced on a door. Easy to understand why they no longer fit kitchens

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Extremely poor quality wardrobes, appalling customer...”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 21/07/2022

Paid just under £10,000 for fitted wardrobes - for that price you expect nothing but the best - however with Hammonds you get no such thing. After the initial installation took place, we discovered almost every single door and panel were extremely faulty - highly visible lumps and bumps in the finish, sharp corners, chips, panels and edges that were different colours and finishes, and edging strips that began peeling off within 24 hours of fitting. As a result of this, almost everything but the main carcasses of the wardrobes required removal, resupplying and refitting. So the second fitting happens some weeks later and guess what... Most all of the replacement doors etc. feature exactly the same faults as the first. So all of these then had to be removed and replaced for the third time... Yet things still weren't anywhere near right, resulting in a fourth removal and refit! Finally the quality had improved to a reasonable though far from acceptable standard, but by this point we were completely fed up with the months of disruption to our lives that we wanted nothing further to do with Hammond's Furniture (more fool they as we had originally intended to have them supply wardrobes to a further four bedrooms in our new house). Hammond's after-sales got in touch to say we were entitled to compensation, which naturally we welcomed... That is until they made the derisory offer of £200. We replied telling them that this was totally unacceptable, particularly as their negligence had caused me to have to take a further 10 days off work to accommodate the refits, at which point they upped their offer of compensation to a paltry £400, which we again refused to accept, resulting in them making a third and final offer of £550. So in terms of time alone (not even considering the cost of redecoration we're facing as a result of end panels having to be removed and refitted, the disruption to our lives and the stress involved) Hammond's Furniture value my time at approximately £55 per day. I can assure you I lost a great deal more than £55 per day in work. And just to add insult to injury, we were threatened with legal action for our final payment on account before they'd even resolved the matter! Don't waste your money (and time) with this woeful company, they're an absolute disgrace.

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“STAY AWAY AT ALL COSTS”

★☆☆☆☆

written by samarora on 21/06/2022

If you would like to add grief and pain to your tranquil home then please chose Hammonds. We thought Hammonds was a reputable company so went ahead and placed a full room wardrobe (expensive but we thought its a good company so its worth it and chose them over some British local companies) Shame we didnt chose the local companies who even offered to have it done in 3 weeks, nope we decided to wait 4 months for Hammonds, They came and installed but the finish was awful so we had a revisit booked where one person came to take notes after 4 weeks and 3-4 weeks after which the revisit was booked. This person came unprepared and completed 30% of the job, left the wardrobe unusable and left with a right mess with a promise to come back Monday, Monday came and went, Tuesday I get a text (no explaination) that your revisit is now booked for 3 weeks from now, WOW! So, we are supposed to be with a mess that you created. To top it all they have the cheek to ask would you like to pay for the second wardrobe so the second install can still go ahead in 1.5 week from now. Obviously they are not getting our seond install. That will now go to another company. Thank you very much, Stay away! Seriously!

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Disgraceful service”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Nk77 on 08/06/2022

New wardrobes sliding doors already off the rails and hammonds not prepared to visit for 6-8 weeks to repair. Mirror door in child’s bedroom- unbelievable given the price paid for expected service experience. Don’t waste your money - if you think you are buying quality and service you certainly are not!!!!

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Shocking customer service ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by House410 on 30/04/2022

In my experance an over priced company . Wanted a kitchen ..got chipboard flimsy material that has never been right needs to be ripped out ofter 3 months . Paint chips .. base board dosnt match the colour so stands out. Hinges not strong enough so bend. Corner unit dosnt fit ...any thing but to try and find a solution Being told its OK to be out of your main room for months because of a free standing unit .. no one should be subjected to this ineptitude - let's rip out units already installed ??? Hateful company- in my experance avoid

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Flatpack chipboard ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by 483MacDonald on 20/04/2022

I brought my kitchen a year ago, and its never been right .. marketed as bespoke manufactured... recieved chipboard flatpack . Paint issue and miss matched iron work , for supply only . Draws bending , as is the couner unit, as not designed to hold the weight of the doors supplied. Had some money off , but one cares enough to acknowledge the fact that blue paint on a white base board looks awful when chipped ( which despite a full re spry still dose ) had a larder unit, which doesn't pull out , everyone just ignored this fact , as they can't respond, as would cost them too much to replace. This was not the unit on display, when we purchased . Speaks volumes in my experience? Also took months to fully deliver , a supply only order.

Juliemorgan14's Comment

Written on: 02/01/2023

Hammonds don’t do kitchens, so is this the wrong company?

Reply to this comment

Twinmum82's Comment

Written on: 02/01/2023

They pulled out of " manufacturing " ( buying kitchen units ) about 12 months after I received mine .. defo the correct company

Reply to this comment
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Excellent service and products.”

★★★★★

written by Karl611 on 08/03/2022

Excellent all around service, amazing quality and expertly fitted by a very warm, engaging yet professional fitter. A special thanks to our designer and our fitter 10/10 Thank you !!!

Was this review helpful? 0 0

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Before posting your question please check to see that it has not already been asked.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

Asked by BobsndtBib on 19th December 2017 Report this content
I wrote a review and later had an e mail from Hammonds offering £20 M&S vouchers. I have contacted Hammonds but they don't answer my mail, can you tell me why Hammonds offer voucher with no intentions of giving them? It a pity, I did not ask for the vouchers and now it could spoil the companies image

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (8)
Report this content JaeC Written on: 20/12/2017
I was offered the chance to be entered in a draw to win £100 M&S vouchers by leaving a review, but was never actually offered the vouchers themselves. I was, however, offered a year’s free single membership of the Woodland Trust, but didn’t take it up.
Report this content dragonfly666 Written on: 20/12/2017
I had wardrobes fitted by Hammonds, om completion I recieved an e-mail saying that if I did one review i would recieve a £5 M&S voucher and if I did two (Trust Pilot and the Review Centre) I would recieve a £20 M&S voucher. I did the two reviews, you have to send the confirmation of the reviews to Hammonds, which I did and I recieved my £20 M&S voucher within the week. Can I suggest you resend back to Hammonds the confirmation of your review from whichever one you did to recieve your voucher. I did the two to get the £20 which makes me think if you have only done the one this would be £5. But I will say I dont have any details just what you have written. Hope this is of help.
Report this content HoneybeeHackney Written on: 20/12/2017
Hi, I had the same issue with Hammonds. I needed some adjustments made to my new furniture and phoned them at the time of the call I mentioned the M&S vouchers not yet received... They apologised for the delay and I received them in a few days. Try phoning them. I'm sure they will respond. Good luck.
Report this content ericgill Written on: 20/12/2017
We too had a wardrobe fitted (beautifully) and was asked to write a review by a separate company(cant remember the name) on behalf of Hammond's with a promise of M & S vouchers and naturally we wrote a glowing review - which was well deserved - and thought no more of the vouchers, but low and behold about 4 or 5 weeks later we received two £10.00 M & S vouchers in the post. I initially thought that it was a bit of a ruse to get me to write a review but to be perfectly honest we were so happy to write it anyway because we were so pleased with the wardrobe it didn't really matter, but it was a very pleasant surprise when they eventually came in the post.
Report this content Alshe369 Written on: 20/12/2017
After having wardrobes fitted by Hammonds I was asked to write a review & if I did two for two different review sights I would receive £20 M&S vouchers .... This I did & in no time at all I was sent the vouchers..Try resenting your reviews again to Trust Pilot & The Review Centre.. Good luck
Report this content Laughinggas Written on: 20/12/2017
I was offered the £20 M&S vouchers and after leaving a review I received the vouchers, no problem. Haven't used them yet. Sorry to hear you are having problems.
Report this content FarmerDodge Written on: 21/12/2017
As previously answered, you need to do the 2 reviews and then forward the confirmations, which you should receive from the 3 review sites, to Hammonds. They will then send the vouchers. This is a genuine offer. If you are uncertain, ring them, they are very helpful.
Report this content BobsndtBib Written on: 21/12/2017
Why want Hammonds respond
See All Answers
Asked by MonicaTM on 30th January 2017 Report this content
Has anyone had misaligned or chipped edges on newly fitted furniture? Hammonds told us that is a normal finish for Hammonds, just hoping that someone can give us a different experience. Thank you

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (7)
Report this content CWoodcockUK Written on: 31/01/2017
I've had two installations of hammonds furniture the first had multiple flaws with the installation and supply of parts - all of which were eventually sorted out to my complete satisfaction which is why I used the company again and the second time - excellent no flaws at all. I would say that chips or misalignments are NOT acceptable in any fitted furniture - there was misalignment in mine which the trouble shooter first of all said that's just how it is and then used a tape measure and said errmm that's totally wonky.. the way I handled it was to be unreasonably nice... this embarrassed them into getting it fixed properly although that may not work for you... but you shouldn't just accept it.
Report this content Casandpaul Written on: 31/01/2017
Yes we have had to Have a door replaced twice due to the seal coming adrift call them they have been back to Us lots of times
Report this content susiekeefie Written on: 31/01/2017
We had Hammonds fit all our bedrooms in a previous house (2008 - 2012) and then all of them at our new house which we moved to in 2012. In the early fittings they were fantastic, but they have deteriorated so much in my opinion that I would never, ever use them again. We had so many problems with our last fitting we considered taking them to court. They fitted the bedroom (office furniture actually) poorly and tried every trick in the book to fob us off, including throwing a little piece of the small print at us when everything else was failing. Their 'service' I can only describe as utterly appalling. So, to answer your question. Yes, chipped and misaligned edges are normal for Hammonds. Does that mean you can't demand to have it righted to comply with the consumer law? No, it doesn't, but I'm afraid you're going to have to shout loud, shout long and shout hard to get a result, and then make a note to tell everyone you can about how appalling they really are. My advice, get a local joiner, or a small local company with a good name to do fit your rooms out.
Report this content MonicaTM Written on: 31/01/2017
Thank you for your very helpful comments. Everyone in the process has been really pleasant. As such, I would like to believe that the senior management team would be embarrassed to see what they are installing in people's homes and branding it as a Hammmonds product. Should there be no resolution, then there would be no option other than to escalate (media/ombudsman) and get everything taken out and start again from scratch.
Report this content usernamealreadytaken Written on: 31/01/2017
Hi MonicaM I had a similar experience to CWoodcockUK below - first installation (2013)had some chips/flaws in some of the mouldings and the doors were hung incorrectly - they sorted it out quickly and satisfactorily. We used them again in 2015 for second bedroom and the installation went really well, the furniture is great but the only thing I would mention is that there was a fair bit of mess left, but I am a bit OCD so others might not find it so bad! Good luck with getting a resolution.
Report this content penview Written on: 07/02/2017
Sorry for the late reply. Contrary to some of the answers I have just read, we had an excellent experience with Hammonds in July 2016. They fitted some bedroom wardrobes for us in a very awkward space and made a very neat and tidy job of it. They also made some bedside cabinets and a chest of drawers which we were very pleased with. There were no misalignments or chipped edges, and if there had been we would not have been at all happy and would not have paid the final balance until this was sorted out. The fitter was professional, tidy and courteous and did not leave any mess whatsoever. Perhaps we were lucky!!
Report this content HammondsOnline Written on: 13/03/2017
Hi, We are sorry that you have had these issues with your new furniture. We take all complaints seriously and always want to do our best to help sort these for our customers. If you haven't already, please do get in touch with our customer service team and they will be happy to help arrange to resolve this for you. Thanks, Matt, from the Hammonds online team
See All Answers
overview