Riviera Travel Reviews

Riviera Travel
★★★★☆
3.6
66.0% of users recommend this

Summary

Came out as a 'Top Performer' in a recent which survey, rated as being very good value for money.
? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Riviera Travel - Ask a question now

Refine your search

Latest Reviews

“South Africa Classic tour”

★★★★☆

written by Helena2 on 19/10/2023

Recently returned from South Africa, amazing trip. Lots of early mornings and more travelling that I had originally thought but can now see why that was necessary. Perhaps a little rushed in places. Tour reps - there were two, both were amazing, knowledgeable, approachable and nothing was to much trouble for them. Always there for you and very organised. From the original booking to the end of the holiday I felt very well support by Riviera travel.

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Good company GONE BAD”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Maxwell376 on 15/04/2020

Like thousands of others I have been refused a refund for a river cruise which Riviera have cancelled. They are quoting ABTA rulings as a reason for breaking the law and ignoring their own terms and conditions. This company will have lost thousands of loyal customers. Fortunately the ABTA chief executive has appeared on the BBC denying the claims made by Riviera. ABTA website does not support Riviera either. How sad. How can anyone trust this company again

Davidrichardsonsalford's Comment

Written on: 05/09/2020

Reporting a business behaving unfairly..
Google: CMA GOV UK CORONAVIRUS REPORT A BUSINESS BEHAVING UNFAIRLY

The CMA (Competition And Markets Authority) is the UK Government department responsible for protecting consumers.

The CMA is asking the public for information about businesses behaving unfairly during the coronavirus outbreak.

The CMA says it will not hesitate to take enforcement action if there is evidence that businesses have breached consumer protection law.

Reply to this comment

Davidrichardsonsalford's Comment

Written on: 05/09/2020

Reporting a business behaving unfairly..
Google: CMA GOV UK CORONAVIRUS REPORT A BUSINESS BEHAVING UNFAIRLY

The CMA (Competition And Markets Authority) is the UK Government department responsible for protecting consumers.

The CMA is asking the public for information about businesses behaving unfairly during the coronavirus outbreak.

The CMA says it will not hesitate to take enforcement action if there is evidence that businesses have breached consumer protection law.

Reply to this comment
Was this review helpful? 5 0

“Unreliable & not trustworthy”

★☆☆☆☆

written by sfGoode1984 on 09/04/2020

It is in tough times that shows up the integrity of any company. Unfortunately Riviera Travel has lost our trust after they cancelled our cruise holiday due to COVID19. They originally promised a full refund, first saying it will be 28 days instead of 14 days to process. But after 4 weeks of delay and excuses, they now refuse our refund & threatens bankruptcy to try force us to take their credit note. Do they not know with this threat, we are even less likely to want to book with them again. Avoid at all cost!

Davidrichardsonsalford's Comment

Written on: 05/09/2020

Reporting a business behaving unfairly..
Google: CMA GOV UK CORONAVIRUS REPORT A BUSINESS BEHAVING UNFAIRLY

The CMA (Competition And Markets Authority) is the UK Government department responsible for protecting consumers.

The CMA is asking the public for information about businesses behaving unfairly during the coronavirus outbreak.

The CMA says it will not hesitate to take enforcement action if there is evidence that businesses have breached consumer protection law.

Reply to this comment

Davidrichardsonsalford's Comment

Written on: 05/09/2020

Reporting a business behaving unfairly..
Google: CMA GOV UK CORONAVIRUS REPORT A BUSINESS BEHAVING UNFAIRLY

The CMA (Competition And Markets Authority) is the UK Government department responsible for protecting consumers.

The CMA is asking the public for information about businesses behaving unfairly during the coronavirus outbreak.

The CMA says it will not hesitate to take enforcement action if there is evidence that businesses have breached consumer protection law.

Reply to this comment
Was this review helpful? 5 1

“Disgraceful way to treat an existing customer”

★☆☆☆☆

written by glipton on 01/04/2020

On 19th March the organisers of Oberammergau 2020 Passion Play (which only occurs every 10 years) postponed the Play until 2022. I have phoned Riviera twice over the past 10 days asking for my deposit to be refunded. They say they will provide me with options although I've informed them twice that I'm not interested in options due to the significant changes to this package deal. I feel Riviera are acting in an unreasonable and unfair manner and are trying to avoid refunding my deposit. Riviera cannot fulfil their contract agreement and this is a disgraceful way for them to treat an existing customer.

Davidrichardsonsalford's Response to glipton's Review

Written on: 05/09/2020

Reporting a business behaving unfairly..
Google: CMA GOV UK CORONAVIRUS REPORT A BUSINESS BEHAVING UNFAIRLY

The CMA (Competition And Markets Authority) is the UK Government department responsible for protecting consumers.

The CMA is asking the public for information about businesses behaving unfairly during the coronavirus outbreak.

The CMA says it will not hesitate to take enforcement action if there is evidence that businesses have breached consumer protection law.

Reply to this comment
Was this review helpful? 5 1

“No customer service whatsoever”

★☆☆☆☆

written by TwoTravellers2020 on 27/03/2020

We were booked to travel with Riviera to the USA on 8th April 2020. FCO announcement advising against travel to the USA was made on 15th March at 11:45 am and consequently it has been clear that holidays to the USA will be cancelled. Between 16th March and today (Friday 27th March) we have contacted Riviera 5 times by email and phone requesting a refund. We have had no response. Yesterday we submitted an official complaint by email. Again, nobody has got back to us. Riviera may be busy but this delay seems deliberate. They have thousands of pounds of our money and cannot be bothered to get in touch. Riviera’s customer service is highly unsatisfactory and they do not appear to be in the least interested in resolving matters. Very disappointed.

Davidrichardsonsalford's Response to TwoTravellers2020's Review

Written on: 05/09/2020

Reporting a business behaving unfairly..
Google: CMA GOV UK CORONAVIRUS REPORT A BUSINESS BEHAVING UNFAIRLY

The CMA (Competition And Markets Authority) is the UK Government department responsible for protecting consumers.

The CMA is asking the public for information about businesses behaving unfairly during the coronavirus outbreak.

The CMA says it will not hesitate to take enforcement action if there is evidence that businesses have breached consumer protection law.

Reply to this comment
Was this review helpful? 4 1

“Visit Sardinia with a super guide”

★★★★★

written by Benthamf on 08/10/2019

Just back from a Riviera tour of Sardinia. The overall holiday was good, and good value for money but the person who made the holiday so special was our tour rep she wa so knowledgeable about the areas we visited and what a personality she made us laugh from day one. RIVIERA you certainly have a star in this lady. Holiday on 28th September 2019.

Was this review helpful? 1 2

“Holiday from HELLsinki, Tallinn and Riga”

★☆☆☆☆

written by CaydenMorris389 on 24/07/2019

So upset and extremely disappointed. We arrived early in the morning to check in for our flight to Helsinki with Finnair. Showing our passports and booking reference on our Riviera Travel Document we were told that our names were not on the passenger list and that we would have to pay for the flights. When we said they had been paid as part of our Riviera package the check-in girl then rang Finnair and asked me for my email address. Extremely shocked and upset we decided to ring the Riviera Emergency Out of Hours Helpline. After a nerve-racking wait the operator rang us back to say that we would now be accepted on the flight.(We were totally perplexed and stressed as we had just been receiving emails from Finnair asking for payment and then receipts for the flights...) Once we had arrived at the first hotel in Helsinki we were very disappointed by our room as it was clearly a disabled room in which the sink, mirror, worktop etc were all at a very low level and very difficult for us to use. After we had notified her of this new problem our tour guide arranged for us to have a better room so we had to pack up again and carry all our luggage to the new room. She clearly recognised how exhausted and stressed we were and arranged a bottle of wine for our room as we were now too tired to go and explore Helsinki as planned. The dreadful stress and exhaustion we had endured on that first day really took its toll on both of us, culminating in the theft of my purse in the centre of Riga on our last day. We found the pace of the trip very demanding with its early starts and long coach journey to Riga and felt that the size of the group (50) was too large. The guide tried hard in difficult circumstances (not helped by the wet weather) and was very helpful after the theft. This was not the holiday we had saved up for and looked forward to and we feel that Riviera's handling of our complaints on our return was merely luke-warm.

Was this review helpful? 4 0

“Better organisation required”

★★★☆☆

written by on 24/07/2018

Nice tour to Helsinki, Tallin and Riga. Sorry to say that the person I dealt with is sweet but hopeless. Can’t cope with a group. She doesn’t speak Estonian when in Estonia. She booked a restaurant meal 3 floors up when people couldn’t do stairs. She left people behind when walking with the group. The trip from Tallin to Riga is too far by bus despite the stop for lunch. The views are boring to say the least.She did not take charge when something went missing. Hotels superb and towns were delightful. Just retrain the tour manager please.

Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Krakow - flight baggage allowance”

★★★★☆

written by JonathonGray153 on 09/07/2018

Went on the Krakow tour in May, and can thoroughly recommend it. I've knocked off a star, however, because the included flight bookings, via Ryanair, for the two of us each provided for the full 20kg baggage allowance, which added around £90.00 to the cost. 40kg of luggage is a little over the top for three nights, don't you think? Would it not be possible to check in on line?

Was this review helpful? 2 0

“Classical Spain tour from 30 April 2018”

★★★★☆

written by hmJarvis305 on 10/05/2018

We have just returned from a tour of classical Spain, staying one night in Mijas, three in Seville and two in Granada. This is the third holiday we have had with Riviera and once again enjoyed it. Our Tour Manager was top quality and passed on so much information which I found interesting. She stayed quiet for parts of long, early morning journeys so we could snooze. I also liked that she reminded us before we left each hotel to think if we had emptied our safes, had passports, documents etc. Some may think this is treating us like school kids, but we appreciated the reminder. I heard her dealing with one difficult customer and thought she did well and was diplomatic. We had three guides for three visits which were included in the tour and we could not fault them. All had excellent English, including colloquial English, and a sense of humour. I found only one guide not so easy to follow as he spoke a bit too fast for me to grasp with his Spanish accent, but I did get most of it. Our coach driver was excellent and amenable and helped with loading cases. We thought the Mijas hotel, Ilunion Hacienda Del Sol, was certainly not worth its 4* rating. The rooms were dated and although clean on the surface, things like the tops of power points could have done with a clean. Also we had no mattress cover under the sheet thus were sleeping with only a think sheet between us and a mattress hundreds of others had slept on. There was nowhere near the hotel to eat in the evening and as we had taken the local bus into Mijas when we arrived we did not want to go back in the evening. The hotel food was very mediocre, luke warm and some was unidentifiable. The staff were not particularly helpful and did not understand what we were asking. The whole set up - the self service buffet area and the seating area reminded me of a school canteen. I am glad this was only a one night stay. However, we did comment to our tour manager who said she would pass on our concerns to Riviera. The other two hotels were fine and the last one particularly had been refurbished last year so we were told and the rooms were good and we had a very spacious bathroom. The second hotel, in Seville was in a very good position, with two good restaurants opposite and one round the corner, where we were taken for tapas tasting and stayed for a meal and returned another night. Lovely family owned/run small restaurant. The one we ate in opposite was also good and we saw the tour manager eating there, we thought that was a good recommendation? Our hotel in Granada was the best. On our last night we wanted somewhere near to eat and it was a fair walk into the restaurant area, so we looked in the hotel restaurant. The tour manager and coach driver were eating there and others said the food was reasonable, but there was nothing we liked the look of and the restaurant smelt unpleasantly of fish. We ate out but on our return we could still smell it in the entrance foyer. We thought everything generally was well organised, except maybe the way the Alhambra visit was organised, that there were two groups for the first tour of the day, but about 8 people had to have a 3.00pm tour which messed up their day as they had to be at the hotel for coach collection for the tour and could not meet at the venue. We would have liked more time at Cordoba - although the guide was excellent we were would have enjoyed longer free time. I suppose to have yet another one night stay would have been too much for some people. Also a bit more time in Ronda. In all although the tour is 6 nights one only gets 5.5 days as we left very early on our departure day. However, again the tour manager asked the hotel restaurant if they would provide a very early cold breakfast for us, which was good and enabled us to make up filled rolls to take with us, if we did not want to eat much so early in the morning. Included in the tour were three guided tours, one of Seville both on the coach and walking, one of the Moorish mosque in Seville and of the Alhambra Palace in Granada. We were advised of the quickest way to get tickets for other popular venues. Also included was a tapas tasting and a Flamenco evening including a drink of choice. This did not seem like a 'show' event with very dressed up, made up show dancers, but had a genuine authenticity about it. We did not stop at venues en route between our three hotels, which were tourist traps to make us spend money. They were places where we could get a drink, use the toilets and make purchases if we chose to. All in all we squeezed a lot in for the time we had and thoroughly enjoyed our holiday. One does have to be prepared to do a lot of walking to get the most out of it I think, but for those less able, taxis, local buses or simply people watching from a cafe were all easily available.

Was this review helpful? 4 0

“First experience of Riviera and first as a solo traveller”

★★★★★

written by on 26/04/2018

I have just returned from Lake Garda - including trips to Venice and Verona. It was my first ever experience of an escorted tour and also as a solo traveller - I chose a tour that was not specifically for solos and was so glad I did as everyone was so very friendly. I was impressed with the level of organisation and the value for money that Riviera manage to pack in - there is no way on earth that such a trip could be done independently for the same amount of money - or even close. The tour manager was knowledgeable and helpful, without being over-bearing. No one got lost, was late or complained - in fact from 60 odd people spread over four hotels (travelling as two groups of 30-ish) I didn't hear one single moan all week. All credit to Riviera for that! The excursions were excellent especially into the Dolomites on a beautiful 'blue' day with an amazing coach driver handling the twisting roads smoothly. I won't hesitate to travel with them again.

Was this review helpful? 1 0

“A company that does not listen to the customer”

★★☆☆☆

written by qtHarvey28 on 06/11/2017

Went on a coach tour to deep south of America. Coach and driver were great, however found the rep a bit over stressed. Problems with two hotels, one had not calculated the amount of rooms and the other at Marriott's in New Orleans was a building site and was not safe, this hotel was having renovations and the reception are was dusty and dangerous, bar and restaurant were being re-built (how could they put us in such accommodation for three nights and only give per couple £100 compensation. We will not be using Riviera Travel again.

Was this review helpful? 3 0

“Misleading advertising”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 10/10/2017

We booked the Classical Spain tour back in May 2017 for what we thought was Oct 2017 but, in fact, it was for Oct 2018. This was done online and was a genuine mistake, as we have never booked a European holiday 18 months in advance before. Surely the system should have been alerted to our mistake when we paid the balance IN FULL in August 2017 and contacted us? Instead, we heard nothing from Riviera and remained blissfully ignorant of our mistake. We only learned of the problem when we chased our travel documents and were told we still had a year to wait for our trip, by which time it was far too late to book an alternate holiday. Bitterly disappointed with Riviera, who should not be advertising short-haul trips 18 months in advance on their current site, without making it very obvious of the departure year.

Was this review helpful? 4 5

“Bootcamp in the heat”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Shyann291 on 10/10/2017

This was more a punishment than a holiday. Arriving in Naples long walk with cases to coach park, waited for nearly two hours for other flights to arrive. Arrived at Grand Hotel Amita at Midnight, a cold salad had been provided. Up early the next morning for a walk around Sorrento, all the morning trips started early on the coach before 8. Walking around in hot temperatures mostly people over 60, a large group, one lady was 84. Told off if anyone was a bit late getting back to the coach. We felt exhausted every day,then back to the hotel for a shower and dinner. We had a room in the front of the Hotel Aminta, lovely views, but three dogs barking all night, who were joined by Cockerals crowing at daybreak.

Was this review helpful? 6 2

“Treated like children ”

★★★☆☆

written by Driscollge142 on 07/10/2017

Our Tour Manager was a nanny and treated us like children. She seemed disorganised, over fearful and didn't instil any confidence in any of us. It was hard to believe she had ever been on the tour before but she said she had. There were far too many people - 2 groups of almost 50. Breakfasts were crowded beyond belief. The local guides were good and thankfully we had vox audio so it was easy to hear. That was a really good point. All in all I wouldn't bother with Riviera again as the groups are huge. At least on this one we didn't have to all sit together at those dreaded tables of 8. The destinations were all interesting and the hotels were central and very comfortable.

Kookaburra717's Comment

Written on: 22/04/2018

This definitely sounds like the trip I was on! I had to look and make sure I hadn’t written the review myself! Anyway I am pleased to say I have just come back from a Riviera trip to Venice and it was superb. The Tour Manager was calmly efficient beyond expectation and the walking tours wee excellent.

Reply to this comment
Was this review helpful? 4 0

“Marvellous Classical Tour of Italy September 2017”

★★★★☆

written by on 04/10/2017

Wonderful guides and coach driver; interesting visits and towns. Hotels adequate, no views from windows but beds and rooms clean. We would have liked better choices at breakfast in Arezzo, which was poor, and an evening meal in Rome because eating separately in restaurants took away from the pleasure of travelling with such wonderful people on the tour. Fellow travellers are usually such good company with Riviera. Our Riviera guide really put herself out for us all and went the extra mile. The Trastevere food tour was a let down; don't bother as you can find better food cheaper for yourself.

Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Lake Garda ”

★★★★☆

written by Cornelius442 on 09/09/2017

My wife and I have just enjoyed a week in lake Garda, staying at the hotel Savoy Palace. Having been in the hospitality business, I would have no hesitation in recommending the company and this tour to anyone. The hotel was clean and comfortable, the cuisine offered a choice to suit most palates and hotel staff were cheerful and helpful. The General Manager/Owner was always available to talk to If required. Riviera are also to be complimented on their choice of tour managers and drivers, who proved to be first rate. The three hour trip from the airport to the hotel was a bit daunting, though the person I dealt with did a sterling job and managed to keep us entertained.Then for the rest of the week we had a lady and she was excellent! and in many ways made the holiday, she was both informative and amusing with her knowledge of the area and the Italian way of life. I cannot recommend her too highly. When my wife became unwell with an ear infection and in some pain, this lady went well beyond her remit by ferrying her to the doctor and then going to the chemist for her to get the prescription. When the prescription could not be put together immediately, she wet back to the chemist in her own time and brought the medicine to the hotel. That's what I call dedication and the kind of service that gives a company a good name. We will definitely be using Riviera again. Thank you and keep up the good work.

Was this review helpful? 1 0

“All that glitters is not Riviera Travel”

★☆☆☆☆

written by LeilaniBaxter on 18/08/2017

The only advice I can give anybody thinking of travelling with this company is use another. A changed flight to a most incovenient time from that advertised for no good reason except to suit them, a poor and rude guide, inedible on occasion and frequently inappropriate food all in all did not make for a good holiday. Any complaints are dismissed as being just one persons opinion rather than listened to and addressed. It is not as if Riviera is particularly good value either and one gets the impression that profit is the motivator rather than customer satisfaction but I am sure that they would deny this. Never again with them.

Was this review helpful? 4 0

“WORST TRAVEL COMPANY EVER WITH POOR QUALITY HOLIDAYS”

★☆☆☆☆

written by BrielleKeegan on 21/07/2017

we used them to travel on MV Corona in Dubrovnik. Trip was £3400 for two persons for a week. The boat was 2/3 star at best, the food was plonked on central tables and no choice of courses. Linen only changed once per week, and no facilities on board. After sales service terrible, would not recommend this company to anyone.

Mandshill's Comment

Written on: 20/08/2017

Sounds just like the experience we had on the M/S Admiral (a sister ship) at about the same time. Riviera will not accept that everything is not perfect with their holidays and are not interested in listening to any adverse criticism as they seem to think it cannot be correct. The title of your review says it all. Avoid using this arrogant travel company.

Reply to this comment
Was this review helpful? 2 0

“Lakes and Mountains of Austria ”

★★★★★

written by acampion on 18/07/2017

My 3rd holiday with Riviera Travel and look forward to future trips. Courtesy ftom initial telephone enquiry right through to end ofcholiday.Good hotels, comfortable coaches, good couriers. Good value for middle priced holidays

Was this review helpful? 0 0

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Before posting your question please check to see that it has not already been asked.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

Asked by nannapat14 on 12th February 2015 Report this content
Has anyone done the India and Shimla tour? If so, how do you rate it?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (1)
Report this content Joco274 Written on: 13/02/2015
Have not done this particular trip but have done others. Would warn you that they have large group sizes which is possibly how they manage to offer reasonable prices. There are a number of other holiday companies who can offer a better deal than Riviera.
Asked by GailPaul on 3rd August 2014 Report this content
What is the average age of Riviera Travel tour customers?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (2)
Report this content LyndaBailey Written on: 04/08/2014
On our trip they were mostly active 60s and 70s.
Report this content JECL Written on: 05/08/2014
I'd say between 50 and 65. So yes, a bit advanced in years, but still up for some activity. I'm 62 and still like adventures and finding out of the way nooks and crannies (which you are free to do).
Asked by Niftydublin55 on 15th July 2014 Report this content
I am going on a Swiss tour to Lake Como. How early are the starts in the morning?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (1)
Report this content Rossi1948 Written on: 15/07/2014
Having been on a Riviera holiday before I was alerted to your question. I haven't actually been on this tour but have done numerous other tours of this nature and usually the start time is around 9.a.m. Early morning starts are to see sunrises or if there is a long journey involved but more often the start time is around 8.30/9/9.30.a.m. If you would like more specific information I am sure the Riviera office would be able to let you know. Hope you have a wonderful trip. Lynda
overview