The Co-op Electrical Shop Reviews - www.coopelectricalshop.co.uk

Click here if this is your business
★★★☆☆
3.2 / 5
55% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Customer Service

  • Quality of website

  • Value For Money

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“Unsatisfactory service”

Written on: 22/12/2018 by Haydenpv5 (1 review written)

We were delivered a fridge freezer and a cooker. Despite co ops claims that they take away all the packaging the delivery men refused to unpack them stating "can you imagine if we actually did take away all this rubbish we would need a compacter on the van" thry then told us how to unpack it and recommended leaving the polystyrene on the bottom of the fridge because "some of the council houses have uneven floors". We are disabled and so we struggled to unpack them ourselves and we put the packaging in the tiny shed we have out side. We rang and complained and were granted a "team" to be sent out to collect the packaging. The team refused to go near the shed. The "lady" on the phone was obnoxious and then said " I'm terminating this call now I have said what I had to say" The electrician who came out to fit the cooker (sent by co op) shouted at us for not unpacking it in advance and then unpacked it violently leaving one of the knobs permanent bent. The fridge is also damaged as the freezer door makes a crack every time I close it. I would avoid.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“A familiar name that can no longer be trusted”

Written on: 11/09/2018 by ItsStuartLane (1 review written)

Bought a coffee maker from their eBay store on 2nd August. Item arrived with a part missing. Informed Coop electrical immediately, After several days and another reminder they finally told me to raise a return request via eBay. This would have meant me paying for the return - why should I, they shipped the faulty item. After another letter of complaint they arranged a DPD collection for a Tuesday. I informed them I would not be in on Tuesday so they moved it to Wednesday. On Tuesday the DPD delivery driver arrived anyway, he then didn't turn up on Wednesday. I told coop they had to pick it up before the end of the week as I was going on holiday, no response. After returning from holiday eBay told me the time for returning the item had passed (co-op not keeping them informed of the situation). This time I called co-op who informed that there were 'system issues' and my item would be collected the next day. It was. I contacted them today,12 days after sending the item back, to check they had received the item, they had and apologised that I had not had an acknowledgement or a refund, this was because of 'system issues'. I have been told the money will be back in my account in 24 to 48 hours, we shall see. I will not shop with Co-op electrical again and looking at reviews this seems to be a familiar story of faulty goods and lack of communication. I have a feeling that co-op may be the next big name to go into administration.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 1
★☆☆☆☆

“ABUSIVE, SCRUFFY DELIVERY PEOPLE, TOTALLY UNPROFESSIONAL”

Written on: 06/06/2018 by Asburyr (1 review written)

As per a number of reviewers on here, I would rate ZERO STARS if I could due to an ATTROCIOUS< TOTALLY UNPROFESSIONAL SERVICE!! I purchased an American Fridge Freezer from the Co-Op Electrical ebay shop as, with discount, it was a about £4 cheaper than AO and I thought the Co-Op would be a good place to buy -- BIG MISTAKE! AVOID LIKE THE PLAGUE!! . A dirty looking delivery guy and his scruffy female counterpart arrived to deliver the item in a dirty battered non-liveried non-delivery van and asked where we wanted it. In the kitchen, we said (even though we thought that was quite obvious) at which the non-delivery guy said he couldn't bring it up the few steps to the front door, spouting Health & Safety. When we wouldn't take delivery on the drive, his confrontational attitude quickly became ABUSIVE AND FOUL MOUTHED!! I have never experienced such an unprofessional attitude as a customer in all my life and I am really surprised that this would occur with the Co-op. I immediately rang Customer Service who put me through to someone they said was the Transport Manager. Her attitude was dismissive and she merely advised me to buy something smaller. …….. VERY UNPROGFESSIONAL CUSTOMER SERVICE AND NOT EVEN AN APOLOGY ABOUT THE ABUSIVE NON-DELIVERY MAN. So, we were forced to cancel the order and sourced the exact same appliance from AO who delivered next day with no problems. The Eastern European AO delivery man was smart and extremely courteous. He donned a special lifting strap and bought the appliance up the steps on his own, ….. putting the scruffy Mancunion Co-Op weakling to shame ……. perhaps the Co-Op should start using some Eastern Europeans who actually want to do some work for their deliveries --- BEFORE THEY GO OUT OF BUSINESS!! As it stands, the Co-Op have handed this £500+ sale (and all of my future sales) to one of their competitors and cost themselves a failed delivery …. and I'm having a real laugh telling as many people as I can about the Co-Ops laughable service ...… VERY SMART BUSINESS SENSE CO-OP, NOT!! LOL !!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Horrendous Customer Service”

Written on: 24/12/2017 by LiliannaBlevins (1 review written)

I have used Coop Electrical twice and been thoroughly disappointed both times. The first was to buy a cooker for a new kitchen, which was ordered direct with Belling whilst I was on the phone and told would be delivered in 5 - 10 days. When I chased 8 days later, I was told the earliest delivery was 18 Jan 18 - nice of them to inform me. The second was to order a washing machine in time for Christmas. Using next day delivery, we were given a delivery window of 7 - 7.47 so I was up at 6.45. When my wife got up (8am) and put her phone on charge, she identified a missed call so we rang Coop - "I am sorry but you were not in so the Delivery Man had to move on". So we asked whether he had tried ringing the doorbell - apparently they had a recording of him knocking on the door very loudly. This slightly surprised me, as the gate was still shut and neither me or the two dogs (who bark if the security lights go on) had heard anything. I asked to see the recording, for a discount for the late delivery (as told them the driver categorically cannot have knocked at the door) but got nothing. As an afterthought, I checked our CCTV and it confirmed that the gate had not been opened or anyone had been on our drive (apart from me emptying the bins) all morning. I will never be using this company again or recommending them to anyone.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“CO-OP ELECTRICAL - AVOID AT ALL COSTS”

Written on: 06/12/2017

Despite choosing a day of delivery, the team didn't show up with my appliance (washing machine). They had cancelled all deliveries that day, so I had to rearrange. Despite choosing 'installation' and the taking away of my old appliance, neither of these two things happened. Two guys in a white van (contractors) turned up - and clearly wanted to leave as soon as possible, saying they couldn't turn off the blue valve and literally just left my new washer, still wrapped up, on the floor and my old defunct washing machine still installed. I had to pay a plumber to come later who said there was had no problem at all with the valve. Customer service is non existent at the co-op. They offered me compensation of £3.99 (original delivery charge) and when I complained, they said that there was no customer complaints department and that I could always cancel and go to Currys myself in the car! Have requested a call back from one of the managers who, despite 4 days later, have yet to speak to me. Would not recommend the Co-op nor their contractors at all! Go to John Lewis or someone who actually cares! UPDATE: Used item for the first time and water leaked from the appliance door! Shocking experience from start to finish - avoid at all costs!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Ice king slimline chest freezer”

Written on: 17/11/2017 by Dalrymple436 (1 review written)

So happy with this slimline ice king freezer. Fits in perfectly where I needed it to go. Holds a fair amount of food .very quite. Ordered over the phone next day delivery with texts to give me a time of delivery plus email with time of delivery too.and a call from driver to say he was 15 mins away perfect unpacked it too.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Excellent customer care.”

Written on: 10/08/2017 by Ivan van Rooyen (4 reviews written)

I received the best support ever when I had trouble with the product that I bought. Someone phoned me the very next day after one message on the website. The product was picked up and a new one delivered the very next day. Sadly, after a few weeks the replacement stopped working. I've made a phone call and they immediately organised for it to be picked up and said they will refund me this time. So, even though the product was not so good, I received the best service ever! I will always try to buy from Co-op Electrical.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Lost my order”

Written on: 31/03/2017 by Turner2860 (1 review written)

Ordered a cooker from their website, they managed to take the payment but lost my order. Now the cooker that was supposed to arrive today won't be delivered until next week.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Extremely poor quality company, products and service. ...”

Written on: 02/03/2017 by Carpenterpq490 (1 review written)

The first - and probably only - thing you need to know about this review is that Co-operative Electrical know that I'm publishing it. After weeks of completely unacceptable service, I emailed them the review giving them 24 hours to get back to me and solve my issue. Predictably they ignored my email. Therefore this review is their acknowledgement that they would rather have a poor review published about them than listen to their customers and be seen as a responsible company. The common theme here seems to be delivering poor quality products and indifferent customer service when there's a problem. That was certainly true for me. They delivered a dishwasher without a functioning cable. As the kitchen is fitted, I wasted over £140 on a handyman service who couldn't complete the job. When I called to complain, I was told that I need to launch a complaint via their customer service centre and I was told that they would refund me the cost of the handyman. I was given, very suspiciously, a personal email address of the customer services representative who told me that if I emailed their company address it would just get delayed. I followed up on that email 3 times but was ignored every time. I went back to a previous customer service representative and emailed her. I was answered by another customer service representative who stated that they wouldn't refund me and that I had received free installation anyway. So blatant lying, indifference and a complete lack of ownership seems to be their policy. Like many others on this site, I really wish I hadn't been taken in by the lower prices of the products. In this case, lower prices equal poor quality of all aspects of the company. A high quality company like John Lewis wouldn't dream of treating its clients the way the Co-operative Electrical treats them. I will never use this company again. If you are reading this and wondering whether the small saving of the product is worth the hassle, I would strongly advise you to not risk the wasted money, time and lack of customer care that will very likely result from your purchase.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“No problems ”

Written on: 29/12/2016 by bet16 (1 review written)

Cant fault them at all got let down by another company who after 5 weeks decided to cancel my order.Found the tumble dryer on the co-op site ordered and received it the next day to the Scottish highlands that's what you call great service would buy again.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Disgrace calling themselves a retailer”

Written on: 09/12/2016 by 47Sqn (1 review written)

I purchased a MacBook Air form this 'company' on 17 Oct 16. I was told after ordering that this would be a 'special' purchase and may take up to 28 days to be fulfilled. At this stage I should have run a country mile. It is now 56 days after my initial order and still no MacBook Air. I emailed their customer'services' on 4 separate occaisons to ascertain an update. I received the obligatory holding email stating they would get back to me within 48 hours. NOTHING. I finally got through to their phone centre and was told someone would call me back within the hour. That was 3 hours ago. This company has singularly failed at every turn to provide any semblance of service. USE THIS COMPANY AT YOUR OWN RISK!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“TV Not delivered / Lack of professionalism”

Written on: 07/12/2016 by juProctor162 (1 review written)

I bought a TV on black Friday, which was agreed (by you guys) many days in advanced that would be delivered on Monday the 5th December, I have then requested a day off at work since I live on my own and you guys requested someone to be at home to receive it, then at the end of the day you guys call me to say it wouldn't be possible to deliver, a big frustration here, but I understand sometimes things happen and you guys kindly asked me to be available on Tuesday the 6th where it would be delivered. Again I missed another day at work and what happened ? Once again at the end of the day you guys call me to say it wouldn't be deliver and now not only wouldn't be delivered today but potentially tomorrow. So, if I can enumerate your mistakes: 1. You guys agree the deliver on Monday the 5th MANY days in advance and didn't manage to deliver. 2. You guys only contacted me at the end of the day, where for the situation now, it's clear you guys knew a way in advance that wouldn't be achievable. 3. You guys then promised me a deliver on Tuesday the 6th, I missed another day at work and AGAIN you guys contacted me after 18:00 to say it wouldn't be possible, so another day where you guys knew AGES in advance and just didn't give a **** until when it was too late. 4. You guys then tried to arrange for 2 days later, which means you guys still don't give a **** for all the mistakes which you guys did and just keep postponing.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“do not buy”

Written on: 19/08/2016 by Farrell384 (1 review written)

ordered zanussi freezer,on day of delivery got a call from delivery van "cant find your address" i said dont worry i will wait at door and give you a wave when you are near,got another call around 20 minutes later "you've supplied wrong address,we are there now" i said no you arent mate and i'm pretty sure where i live,so in the end i go walking round the nearby streets looking for a delivery van,by this time we'd had another call saying "i've had an accident,clipped a car" eventually i find where they've ended up and guide them to my house,freezer in and off they go,unwrap it and hey oh it looks like its been dropped on its end but it does'nt look too bad so i adjust the legs up a bit to compensate as i tell the missus "we will see how it goes,aint going through that carry on again" anyway fast forward a few weeks and ice is building up on the door,they send someone out who basically says it needs replacing,we have been fobbed off for six weeks so far and are not hopefull of it getting replaced,do yourself a favour and buy your electrical goods from ao.com or somewhere else. UPDATE after making more phone calls to zanussi and contact with the coop this is the email i have got. Good Afternoon, Thank you for your email, and please accept my apologies for the delay with providing an update. I have spoken to Zanussi. As the engineer has advised that the fault is not considered to be an an inherent manufacturing one, any repair undertaken will not be covered by the warranty and instead will be chargeable to yourself. Should you require further assistance with this, please let me know either by replying to this email or by calling on XXX. Kind Regards   Customer Services Advisor Co-op Electrical So basically the coop can send out damaged goods with no comebacks.do not send this company your money and if you do make sure you unwrap and thoroughly check whatever you buy before you sign for it (if its a freezer make them wait 4 hours for it to settle and then try it) once they have left your property they dont want to know.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“excellent proffesional service”

Written on: 11/05/2016 by diagra (3 reviews written)

ordered hoover washing machine on line as same price as lowest competitor...currys.... the other two companies had delivery dates up to 5weeks... the co op two days and pick am or pm. text night before to confirm and text and call to say between 9--10..arrived 9.05 and old appliance taken away.... whats not to like

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Poor Customer service”

Written on: 22/01/2016 by trappermmmmmmmm (1 review written)

Bought a Samsung TV from the CO-OP went wrong 8 months later (over Christmas) rang them told we don`t do service for Samsung you have to ring the Manufacturer to sort out repair, Rang Samsung never got a call back had to ring them 8 times over 3 weeks to get someone to collect and try to repair the TV. The repair company were brilliant rang me to say Samsung can`t supply the parts to repair the TV and that the CO-OP will send you a refund had to ring the CO-OP 4 times still not got the refund the amazing thing is that Samsung never call you back the Co-Op promise to call you back it never happens so Just bought a LG from John Lewis with a free 5 year Guarantee they don`t leave you hanging on the phone don`t use Co-op buy from John Lewis it is so painless

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“poor service ”

Written on: 17/01/2016 by ysHarrington454 (1 review written)

ordered american fridge freezer which broke down after 3 weeks, i asked for replacement they said they needed engineers report before i could return it which took weeks, after report they decided to exchange it, when delivered the driver was very unpleasant as he was rushing and damaged my wood flooring he denied this saying the floor was already damaged , no respect for customers property. avoid

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Poor Delivery”

Written on: 18/12/2015 by wtMcNamara488 (1 review written)

I paid for a gas cooker with collection of old unit. The delivery team refused to collect the old unit claiming they were not trained to do so. There was absolutely no reference made to this in the original marketing documentation, so the team were wither lying, or the documentation is incorrect. ###BEWARE### - Do not trust the online documentation or delaivery teams and make sure you check yourself before purchasing.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“They delivered 9no pun intended!)”

Written on: 14/05/2015

Ordered new Hotpoint washing machine for my elderly mother and after poor service from Currys (item out of stock never notified of new stock as promised) went with Co-op electrical online. Competitive price (item/delivery/installation charges etc)and kept in the loop 100% by way of updated texts from them pertaining to delivery. The latter honed to a one hour (in my case noon-1pm)timescale the night before delivery. On the day two attentive, professional, polite and CLEAN operatives arrived at 12.15pm and installed new machine. Took great care of product when delivering/unpacking and cleaned up packaging taking old washer with them. All done and dusted in 20 minutes so I personally have NO cmplaints. Those that seemingly do amaze me at times and I honestly wonder if these 'unsatisfied customers' are genuine or merely wind-up merchants. After all, if a company is as bad as they would have you beieve then it would be out of business in a week!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Wheres my order!!!”

Written on: 30/01/2015

I ordered a fridge freezer to be delivered yesterday (27th Jan) and and extra £10 to take my old one. The delivery slot given was between 12:24 and 1:24. Before this time I had an answer machine message to say the van had broken down and someone would call me with a new delivery time. I completely understand that vans break down etc. but what I am very mad at is the fact that no one actually bothered to call me back! I then had to call the 0800 number from my mobile (a very expensive call may I add) at 14.17, on hold for 10 mins. I then called again at 14:31, on hold again for over 10 mins. When I finally got hold of someone they knew that the van couldn’t be repaired and that my delivery would now be tomorrow! I lost an afternoons pay waiting in and spent god knows how much phoning and they couldn’t even give me a courtesy call to let me know my delivery date and time had changed! That is extremely poor customer service with no explanation as to why this happened! So the following day.........again I’m waiting for delivery between 12:24 and 1:24, its now 14:20 and guess what….no fridge freezer. Apparently their stuck in traffic on the M6, fair enough, but why have I had to spend more money calling and chasing them instead of them calling and saying ‘sorry were going to be late (insert poor excuse here)! I’ve told the girl in customer services to call me in half an hour with an updated time if their going to be later and she actually sounded put out that I, the Customer, expected her to actually do her job and provide customer service. I honestly thought it couldn’t get any worse than yesterday but yet again they've failed.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Disgusted”

Written on: 27/01/2015 by KeyonLopez141 (1 review written)

Purchased electrical product online. Discovered it was unsuitable after it was delivered. Coop offered to take back the product but refused to reimburse in full, in breach of the Consumer Contracts Regulations 2013. Oh and they overcharged by £20 from the advertised price. Have been a loyal member and customer for decades (insurance, groceries, previously bought electrical goods online, bank accounts etc.) but it seems they have now gone downhill. Absolutely disgusted. Do not buy online from them.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
overview