Cinderella, Bristol Hippodrome, Bristol Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★★★☆
4.4 / 5
83% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Cinderella, Bristol Hippodrome, Bristol - Ask a question now

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“Is this really what we want our children to see?”

written by on 21/12/2013

It is a while since I went to a pantomime. Family First Entertainments production of Cinderella was the first one i have seen in Bristol. My family and i found the content predominantly unsuitable for children. The first thing to strike us was the commercialism, adverts on the big screen and expensive flashing plastic products. Panto has always had an element of the 'camp' and innuendo, but this was the major part of the whole show and the story of Cinderella was incidental to the silliness that amused neither adults nor children. Yes, there was the odd good joke and audience participation, but the behavior of the ugly sisters was of the worst playground kind, and the busy bee song which involved spitting water over people was simply poor taste and did not raise many if any laughs. Panto used to be magical for children and amusing for adults, with the prime enjoyment being that of seeing children wide-eyed and laughing. This was loud, vulgar and a poor example of how to behave. The singing was good and the dancing OK, but why all the references to sexual behaviour and unpleasantness. It was not enjoyed by three generations of our family. Mostly we just felt uncomfortable and hoped that most of what was displayed on stage would not influence the behaviour of our children. This production may well have put us off pantomime forever!!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★★★★

“I am so glad that I went to see Cinderella. The best...”

written by youngs on 01/01/2009

I am so glad that I went to see Cinderella. The best performance I have seen at the Hippodrome!!!!! Characters were amazing!!!!!!!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Bristola's Response to 428811_youngs's Review

Written on: 22/12/2013

Bobby Davro wasn't in this years performance! 2013

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“Cinderella at the Bristol Hippodrome was great! Lavish...”

written by on 01/01/2009

Cinderella at the Bristol Hippodrome was great! Lavish costumes, great singing and dancing. Scenery fantastic. Show content a great balance of up to date songs and old fashioned panto comedy. Book your seats now before it's gone. Go now!!. I haven't stopped smiling.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Cinderella at the Bristol Hippodrome was absolutely...”

written by fedmaz on 30/12/2008

Cinderella at the Bristol Hippodrome was absolutely fantastic. The singing and dancing was most enjoyable as were the jokes and opportunities of audience participation. Bobby Davro was brilliant and though Mickey Rooney's part was small I was just so thrilled to be actually seeing Mickey Rooney the legendary film star. His wife was a lovely fairy godmother and enjoyed her singing too. Well done all the cast and the Bristol Hippodrome for presenting a super show.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Only complaint would be the price. £90 for the 3 of...”

written by on 30/12/2008

Only complaint would be the price. £90 for the 3 of us was pricy. This included one child where there was no concession due to it being the week after Christmas. Also we had the usual Ticket Master add on which added £12 to the total price. My advice, buy direct from the Hippodrome ticket office.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“over all,it was a brilliant performance and bobby...”

written by killingmanto on 29/12/2008

over all,it was a brilliant performance and bobby davro (buttons)made it very funny,12 days of christmas was very funny as buttons squirted you with water!!! all together a great show.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“Go you will enjoy Cinderella at the Bristol...”

written by on 26/12/2008

Go you will enjoy Cinderella at the Bristol Hippodrome, but given the length of it I think younger children could get tired. The singing was excellent from all. The jokes were good and really it is something for everyone. Despite Mickey's reduced role he was a great presence and clearly showed his class. His wife singing was lovely.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★☆☆

“Cinderella at the Bristol Hippodrome was pleasant, but...”

written by on 20/12/2008

Cinderella at the Bristol Hippodrome was pleasant, but amateurish and so a bit disappointed. Bobby Davro seemed disinterested in role,although his"ad libs" were funny . Michelle Collins not scarey at all,dreadful voice in fact most of the cast did not sing well. Funny in parts,but def not the best pantomime i have seen by any means

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“The entire performance was amazing Bobby Davro was...”

written by carlapowell on 19/12/2008

The entire performance was amazing Bobby Davro was Fantastic.The music, sets and cast were all very good and well put together. I loved Cinderella and it's great at the Bristol Hippodrome.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“I am 61 and have been watching pantomimes since I ...”

written by Chris White on 18/12/2008

I am 61 and have been watching pantomimes since I was about 3 years old, and this is the most fantastic I have ever seen. The effects were magical, the jokes incredibly funny and the ad libbing superb. All of the cast worked tirelessly with amazing results, and my family and I still cannot agree as to whether Button's fall whilst in kangaroo outfit was genuine, or an exceptionally well rehearsed stunt. Plenty of scope was given for audience participation, and I will thoroughly recommend it to everyone as being well worth a visit, though it might be an idea to take wands and swords with you unless you can afford £7 each for them.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Loved Cinderella at the Bristol Hippodrome This panto...”

written by pantobabe on 17/12/2008

Loved Cinderella at the Bristol Hippodrome This panto is probably the best one I have ever seen. The sets are great, and the show is full of impact and colour. Cinderella is beautiful and sings and dances like an angel. Prince Charming is truly charming and Bobby Davro is HILARIOUS! Highly recommend it for the 'Christmas Spirit' and the feel good factor.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“This pantomime is great. Bobby Davro is great as...”

written by on 15/12/2008

This pantomime is great. Bobby Davro is great as Buttons and does a good ad lib or three. The sets are stunning and the music is great - lots of up to date tunes..

Mickey Rooney only has a small part. Michelle Collins is great as the nasty stepmother and has a reasonable singing voice.

If you have children, do take them, it's well worth the money and they will enjoy it. My son laughed so much he could not stop in the end.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

overview