Southern Railways

Click here if this is your business
Southern Railways
★☆☆☆☆
1.4
8.0% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Reliability

  • Cleanliness

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Southern Railways - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Southern Railways

Refine your search

Latest Reviews

“Abysmal”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Jazmineh82 on 09/03/2024

Absolute joke of a service! No trains to London for 3 hours, ruined my mates birthday. Continued to sell train tickets knowing the issue and then refused refunds unless you have your ticket. They should perish in hell.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Excellent service from train conductor”

★★★★★

written by Kamronv466 on 03/07/2023

Can't thank the train conductor enough on my journey from Collington to Eastbourne leaving at 11.38 today. My initial train had been cancelled and he spent time selecting alternative routes and even printed out my journey, please let him know his time and patience was greatly appreciated

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Worst service in the uk”

★☆☆☆☆

written by FernandaDavidson on 05/02/2023

I've been using southern rail for 4 years and I would say that 95% of the time, the service is disrupted. My journey is a total of 1.5 hours and today I check the train line app to see that it's going to be 3 hours. The staff are rude and nasty, offering almost no help to other passengers. They're striking over pay yet get paid 45k to sit there and do nothing. Frankly I'm disgusted that I am forced to do this journey and frankly the government should sack everyone that works for southern rail. Truly a disgrace to the country. If you need to get to Littlehampton then please bare in mind that you are going to travel double the time to do a very simply journey. They charge almost £35 for a small journey and it always messes up when you need it most. If anyone from the government sees this review then please just scrap the service because it's diabolical.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Lost Property”

★★★★☆

written by UnkleBryan on 25/01/2023

I'd like to give a positive review for the platform staff at Bromley South Station, I'd left my rucksack on the Ashford International train. Later that evening went down to Bromley South, explained what had happened to the staff, they managed to track down the train, spoke to the conductor & my rucksack was returned on the trains return journey. I am a struggling commuter & have been let down, but I thought the team leader and platform staff at Bromley South did everything they could to help.Thankyou.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“One of the worst train company in the world! ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by AngelinaGilliam1992 on 12/11/2022

Horrible train company! There is no security, staff on their phone all day! People just jump the security and they just don't care, I even seen them fist bumping with staff members. Staff is never in the mood! Train are always late, they keep changing timetable, keep making up excuses, every weekend they are repairing tracks or on strikes. Their stations are dirty and train are dirty. For the price you pay this is a practical joke! This is the worst train company in the world and they should know it.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“where do i start”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Tined01 on 14/07/2022

this company needs to be held to account it’s beyond a joke. it’s so bad i think the new strategy should be they ask you to pay after you complete a successful journey if the company i work for wasnt so understanding i would of been fired ages ago it’s simply not fit for purpose and now more strikes granted its RMT but for what! honestly what do they want. if anything else wasn’t fit for purpose they’d get rid of it but this lot want a pay rise … doesn’t make a blind bit of sense. don’t get me started about charging the people that are paying there wages more because they travel at a certain

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Poor Attitude to Serving the Public”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Weeks470 on 24/03/2022

Appalling service, and still getting worse. They regularly cancel trains or skip stations, including often at main commuter times. I have hardly had q days commute since last summer where one of my trains hasn't been cancelled. Cannot rely on them at all, and they have no excuse as the other train operator on their routes provides a perfectly adequate service. How have Southern kept their franchise for do long??

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Absolute disrespect”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Mindoo on 22/03/2022

Not only their services are regularly cancelled or delayed, they also provide no customer care at all. Their delay repay scheme is a joke as they try their best to declined in a hope you don't advance with further claims. Also when trying to raise a complain via their online form, it can never be submitted. They try their best to convince you to leave as moneywise it is not worth.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Horrible and disgusting service ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by tmDavidson458 on 16/02/2022

Absolutely disgusting service Prices going higher and service is falling to absolutely garbage Always lots of cancellations and delays disgusting service

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Absolutely 100% Awful”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Charlie0123456789 on 26/10/2021

Just awful. Truly truly awful. The worst rail franchise I've ever had the displeasure of being forced to use. Dirty trains, constant cancellations, Every service seems to be delayed in some way, sudden destination changes and constantly leaving me and my daughter abandoned. Until Southern have the franchise taken away from them, nothing will get better. This rail provider is a shambles and an embarrassment. Also most other cancellations relating to other franchises seem to be caused by preceding late running Southern services, which happens on the rare occasion a Southern service isn't cancelled due to a lack of train crew. I think it's time Southern finally accepted how horrendous they are and are permanently banned from being responsible for any element of the national rail network infrastructure.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Awful Experience”

★☆☆☆☆

written by LittleLad on 23/08/2021

Took 5 hours to complete a 2 hour journey. Staff had no idea what was going on. We had to wait 1.5hrs for a replacement bus. Bus driver didn't know what he was doing. Will avoid using Southern whenever possible.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Great Customer Service from Cleio at Oxted ”

★★★★★

written by on 28/05/2021

Thanks so much to Cleio at Oxted Station for going above and beyond yesterday 27 May when she sought me out on the Oxted platform (953 train via clapham to richmond) she had found my return ticket that I had in error left in the machine and went around asking everyone where they were heading until she found me - excellent service and manner and thank you again !

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Face masks for staff”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Terrysimmonds06 on 28/10/2020

Travelled into London today from East grinstead as soon as you enter the station you are reminded to wear a mask, then I counted 3 out of the 5 staff not wearing masks, I donut believe these all have an underlying illness which means they don’t have to wear one, Mind you this isn’t a one off as I also travelled a week ago and the same then even at Victoria the situation was the same ,,, Practice what you preach and keep to government requirements to help beat this

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Bad!!!!!”

★☆☆☆☆

written by NoelleMcKinnon on 15/02/2018

Always delayed ,very dirty,toilets smells so bad and always full of paper everywhwre! Most of time I have to pay myself to get home when train dleyeds and tickets huge expensive! Just shortly very bad and always delayed

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Dreadful”

★☆☆☆☆

written by 472Harding on 18/12/2017

We went to Clapham Juction to catch a connecting train last Friday, we waited for 40mins and the train still had not turned up! They just kept saying the Crystal place train is delayed ? We had o go home without completing our journey. I applyed for a refund for the tickets and they have offered me £1.70 ? What a unbelivable insult!!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Avoid!”

★☆☆☆☆

written by LuciaR on 14/12/2016

I have been using Southern Rail since August and I can promise that I have never got on a train on time. Very sad.. I only use this company for 1 train stop to Clapham Junction where I get SW trains (9 years using their services and no problems) I pay an awful amount of money and nothing has been done so far. Strike days are difficult but even if there are no strikes the services is the same rubbish. The staff is also very rude and never have any info to help. This is affecting my life while Southern management are making lots of money

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Merry christmas and happy new year...”

★☆☆☆☆

written by PeterHanna268 on 05/12/2016

...unless you, like me, have to use Southern Rail on a daily basis - or should I say TRY to use. I have just read through the latest amended strike dates and can't believe just how spiteful these unions are being to run roughshod over peoples holiday travel arrangements for the festive season. I did have some sympathy for the RMT members at the start of their action, but that started to change when the RMT ruined the Lewes bonfire night celebrations by striking on the 5th November. The "official" strike days are bad enough, but the nasty "train crew shortage" exuse for cancelling trains at the last moment is so frustrating after a long days work that I'm not surprised the staff hide! I've tried asking local MP for help - he was worse that useless - I agree that this has governments sticky fingers all over it. Maybe when we are all out of jobs and our companies have gone bust, something will be done about it!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Terrible”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 14/11/2016

This is my second week I'm travel with them and every single day are delayed !!!!! What we pay for I want to know ?!. It normally should take me 30 min to get back home after work ,but always take me an hour ?!?!? After all taxes and expensive tickets I WANT TO BE AT HOME AFTER LONG DAY ON THE TIME .!!!! SHAME !!! In the winter is FREEZING ALSO !!!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Useless train company”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 15/10/2016

Southern rail are an absolute disgrace as the government for allowing to operate this train route. Staff are rude and unmotivated, trains never run on time or are cancelled at the last minute - in fact today the train due to arrive at 11.23 was cancelled at 11.25. The company should not be allowed to play with a toy train set let alone play with a real one. Yet fares go up year on year. Improvements - thats a laugh - are carried out on the same tracks constantly and train services are cancelled or delayed aa a result. Nothing ever improves. These people and their regulators are absolute clowns and should be aahamed of themselves. If you wrote about this in a novel people would not believe it to be true.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Expensive, cancelled or very late and over crowded”

★☆☆☆☆

written by 409Richardson on 25/08/2016

If you have an alternative use that. They are a government sponsored disaster funded by the fees of anyone stupid enough to believe they will provide a service. Total disaster.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

overview