Southern Railways

Click here if this is your business
★☆☆☆☆
1.3 / 5
7% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Reliability

  • Cleanliness

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Southern Railways - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Southern Railways

Southern Railways

Refine your search

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“where do i start”

Written on: 14/07/2022 by Tined01 (1 review written)

this company needs to be held to account it’s beyond a joke. it’s so bad i think the new strategy should be they ask you to pay after you complete a successful journey if the company i work for wasnt so understanding i would of been fired ages ago it’s simply not fit for purpose and now more strikes granted its RMT but for what! honestly what do they want. if anything else wasn’t fit for purpose they’d get rid of it but this lot want a pay rise … doesn’t make a blind bit of sense. don’t get me started about charging the people that are paying there wages more because they travel at a certain

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Poor Attitude to Serving the Public”

Written on: 24/03/2022 by Weeks470 (1 review written)

Appalling service, and still getting worse. They regularly cancel trains or skip stations, including often at main commuter times. I have hardly had q days commute since last summer where one of my trains hasn't been cancelled. Cannot rely on them at all, and they have no excuse as the other train operator on their routes provides a perfectly adequate service. How have Southern kept their franchise for do long??

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Absolute disrespect”

Written on: 22/03/2022 by Mindoo (1 review written)

Not only their services are regularly cancelled or delayed, they also provide no customer care at all. Their delay repay scheme is a joke as they try their best to declined in a hope you don't advance with further claims. Also when trying to raise a complain via their online form, it can never be submitted. They try their best to convince you to leave as moneywise it is not worth.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Horrible and disgusting service ”

Written on: 16/02/2022 by tmDavidson458 (1 review written)

Absolutely disgusting service Prices going higher and service is falling to absolutely garbage Always lots of cancellations and delays disgusting service

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Absolutely 100% Awful”

Written on: 26/10/2021 by Charlie0123456789 (1 review written)

Just awful. Truly truly awful. The worst rail franchise I've ever had the displeasure of being forced to use. Dirty trains, constant cancellations, Every service seems to be delayed in some way, sudden destination changes and constantly leaving me and my daughter abandoned. Until Southern have the franchise taken away from them, nothing will get better. This rail provider is a shambles and an embarrassment. Also most other cancellations relating to other franchises seem to be caused by preceding late running Southern services, which happens on the rare occasion a Southern service isn't cancelled due to a lack of train crew. I think it's time Southern finally accepted how horrendous they are and are permanently banned from being responsible for any element of the national rail network infrastructure.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Awful Experience”

Written on: 23/08/2021 by LittleLad (1 review written)

Took 5 hours to complete a 2 hour journey. Staff had no idea what was going on. We had to wait 1.5hrs for a replacement bus. Bus driver didn't know what he was doing. Will avoid using Southern whenever possible.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Great Customer Service from Cleio at Oxted ”

Written on: 28/05/2021

Thanks so much to Cleio at Oxted Station for going above and beyond yesterday 27 May when she sought me out on the Oxted platform (953 train via clapham to richmond) she had found my return ticket that I had in error left in the machine and went around asking everyone where they were heading until she found me - excellent service and manner and thank you again !

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Face masks for staff”

Written on: 28/10/2020 by Terrysimmonds06 (1 review written)

Travelled into London today from East grinstead as soon as you enter the station you are reminded to wear a mask, then I counted 3 out of the 5 staff not wearing masks, I donut believe these all have an underlying illness which means they don’t have to wear one, Mind you this isn’t a one off as I also travelled a week ago and the same then even at Victoria the situation was the same ,,, Practice what you preach and keep to government requirements to help beat this

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Bad!!!!!”

Written on: 15/02/2018 by NoelleMcKinnon (1 review written)

Always delayed ,very dirty,toilets smells so bad and always full of paper everywhwre! Most of time I have to pay myself to get home when train dleyeds and tickets huge expensive! Just shortly very bad and always delayed

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Dreadful”

Written on: 18/12/2017 by 472Harding (1 review written)

We went to Clapham Juction to catch a connecting train last Friday, we waited for 40mins and the train still had not turned up! They just kept saying the Crystal place train is delayed ? We had o go home without completing our journey. I applyed for a refund for the tickets and they have offered me £1.70 ? What a unbelivable insult!!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Avoid!”

Written on: 14/12/2016 by LuciaR (1 review written)

I have been using Southern Rail since August and I can promise that I have never got on a train on time. Very sad.. I only use this company for 1 train stop to Clapham Junction where I get SW trains (9 years using their services and no problems) I pay an awful amount of money and nothing has been done so far. Strike days are difficult but even if there are no strikes the services is the same rubbish. The staff is also very rude and never have any info to help. This is affecting my life while Southern management are making lots of money

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Merry christmas and happy new year...”

Written on: 05/12/2016 by PeterHanna268 (1 review written)

...unless you, like me, have to use Southern Rail on a daily basis - or should I say TRY to use. I have just read through the latest amended strike dates and can't believe just how spiteful these unions are being to run roughshod over peoples holiday travel arrangements for the festive season. I did have some sympathy for the RMT members at the start of their action, but that started to change when the RMT ruined the Lewes bonfire night celebrations by striking on the 5th November. The "official" strike days are bad enough, but the nasty "train crew shortage" exuse for cancelling trains at the last moment is so frustrating after a long days work that I'm not surprised the staff hide! I've tried asking local MP for help - he was worse that useless - I agree that this has governments sticky fingers all over it. Maybe when we are all out of jobs and our companies have gone bust, something will be done about it!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Terrible”

Written on: 14/11/2016

This is my second week I'm travel with them and every single day are delayed !!!!! What we pay for I want to know ?!. It normally should take me 30 min to get back home after work ,but always take me an hour ?!?!? After all taxes and expensive tickets I WANT TO BE AT HOME AFTER LONG DAY ON THE TIME .!!!! SHAME !!! In the winter is FREEZING ALSO !!!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Useless train company”

Written on: 15/10/2016

Southern rail are an absolute disgrace as the government for allowing to operate this train route. Staff are rude and unmotivated, trains never run on time or are cancelled at the last minute - in fact today the train due to arrive at 11.23 was cancelled at 11.25. The company should not be allowed to play with a toy train set let alone play with a real one. Yet fares go up year on year. Improvements - thats a laugh - are carried out on the same tracks constantly and train services are cancelled or delayed aa a result. Nothing ever improves. These people and their regulators are absolute clowns and should be aahamed of themselves. If you wrote about this in a novel people would not believe it to be true.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Expensive, cancelled or very late and over crowded”

Written on: 25/08/2016 by 409Richardson (1 review written)

If you have an alternative use that. They are a government sponsored disaster funded by the fees of anyone stupid enough to believe they will provide a service. Total disaster.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Better service in Tibet”

Written on: 08/08/2016 by JadonHahn247 (1 review written)

Why do we have to put up with such a rubbish service. 'WE ARE SORRY...... NOT SORRY AT ALL! Terminate the contract & bring in Tibet National Railways

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“High price ticket - dreadful service”

Written on: 04/08/2016 by KileyShelton208 (1 review written)

As a regular commuter on from Brighton to London I have experienced huge delays, cancellations, over crowded trains and on occasion not being able to board. Staff at Victoria are often confusedabout services. Atmospheres at stations and on board trains are stressful. Appalling service for such high price tickets.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Buy a watch Southern”

Written on: 20/07/2016 by zpTaylor-Alt497 (1 review written)

Trains run by this service provider are totally useless. Late EVERY DAY! delayed everyday, train drivers don't turn up and then they cancel most of the stations. Sake them all and start again!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Southern Rail are Rubbish”

Written on: 12/07/2016 by BilBlogs (1 review written)

Southern and GTR just continue to plumb new depths. Everything they do is a lie. They lie about when the trains are due, they lie about the number of carraiges and which platform. They lie about trains that do not even exist. The management and staff should all be sacked and start again, it could only be an improvement. The Government Department "responsible" should also be closed down they are equally useless.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“A disgrace”

Written on: 30/06/2016

Simply the worse rail service in London. Constant delays and cancellations. Constant excuses. Thomas the tank engine - the actual toy - could run a railway better than these clowns. A farce of a rail company that should never have been given the franchise. Expect to be delayed, don't expect a train. Do yourself a favour, get a taxi/bus or walk.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
overview