ADVFN www.advfn.com

Click here if this is your business
ADVFN www.advfn.com
★★☆☆☆
1.6
9.0% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Speed of transfer

  • Value For Money

Summary

Write your ADVFN review here. With the current economic climate and such a volatile market for Stocks and shares it is important that we all do what we can to protect our interests with regards to stocks and shares. If you have used ADVFN.com in the past or you currently use it then write your reviews here explaining what the best and worst things about ADVFN are.
? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
ADVFN www.advfn.com - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for ADVFN www.advfn.com

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

“BUYER BEWARE”

★☆☆☆☆

written by BERSONOLEG81 on 06/04/2023

Be cautious as a buyer, as there is a 30-day cancellation policy in place. Despite only using the services for a few days, I am now being charged for two months of service

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Online abuse rampant”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Alvarez329 on 14/11/2022

So many posters with multiple accounts being foul and abusive to genuine shareholders. Admin do not answer any emails on this subject, I have sent six so far. A rubbish company who don’t give two hoots about their customers, don’t just take my word, Jerald’s the other reviews.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 2 0

“Terrible company. Avoid!!!!!”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Olive87 on 17/12/2018

I just wish I had read the earlier comments before subscribing to the silver account from this truely aweful company. The biggest surprise is they have been operating this way for years and getting away with it. This warning is not about the quality of their products which as far as I am aware are OK but the way their payments system works and the ruthless way they enforce their terms and conditions. Last year I decided to take up a special offer and bought the silver account which gave me access to real time share prices and various other stuff. I used it for 6 or 7 months before deciding that share dealing was not for me so I sold most of my remaining shares and more or less forgot about ADVFN expecting my access to their services to stop in this year. That was a major mistake! While checking my bank account I noticed a payment to ADVFN for over £220. I thought there must have been a mistake so I contacted them by private messaging. After a day or two I go no reply so phoned them to be told by a very aggressive agent that to stop auto renewal of my account I should have contacted them not less than 30 days before the renewal date. He said this was all clearly stated in their terms and conditions and there was nothing I could do about it. They have no policy for refunding payments once made regardless of the circumstances. I've written to them several times since and only received one equally aggressive reply stating the same as the agent said on the phone. Now they are ignoring my messages. I even spoke to my bank about it but apparently this is all totally legal so I had to ask my bank to block any further payments. If you decide to ignore this warning and purchase one of their services you have been warned, don't be surprised if you see money continue to be taken without your permission.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 6 0

“Very good one”

★★★★★

written by Mirandam1967 on 08/10/2018

Using ADVFN for a while now I can tell it does the job pretty well. Everything from live streaming prices to data download is reliable and up to date. I don't really see these other reviewers, there might be a technical issue (as much as all other providers) which is then sorted out fast. They do cover all major Markets and this was a big boost for me when about to decide which site I should sign up with. Highly recommended.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 1

“Poor Streaming Prices”

★☆☆☆☆

written by JamesMoor on 29/06/2018

I have used ADVFN for 16 years and in the last 2 years its progressively got worse, i am on the paid service but streamed prices now constantly stop streaming and refresh, and is logging me out for no reason a few times a day, no help from ADVFN support. The website and their technology seems outdated, website is exactly the same as it was 16 years ago. Also if you are on the paid service then then renew with no advance warning. For a PLC im amazed the site and customer service is so poor.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Makoki's Response to JamesMoor's Review

Written on: 03/08/2021

so can you tell me why even use ADVFN? what is their advantage ?

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 5 0

“site is garbage”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Harley1988 on 19/05/2018

They make claims but site is awful only works sometimes then they kick you off when you do not give them bunch of money Do not ever give them your money.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 4 0

“Stuck with it for data downloads, but its awful”

★★☆☆☆

written by ubEvans483 on 29/01/2018

I actually think that the basic service, which is free,is pretty good for what it is... but you don't get long before the live streaming stops, even with the basic Bronze level subscription. I'd agree that there is a huge amoun of advertising diarrhoea on the site peripheral to the live prices, even when subscribing to the service. The live streaming can time out even before these adverts are rendered on the web page. I use the site to download end-of-day data for the LSE and you need a Bronze subscription for that because the LSE don't supply the data for free (I think the US Exchanges are free though? Why we have to pay in the UK for the data but our US bretheren don't, I don't know..). Anyway, this is the area that frustrates me the most.. it used to be really good and reliable, but for the last year or so the download service times out 9 out of 10 times, so you end up spending 15 minutes re-submitting requests. It usually gets there in the end, but what a faff! Also, if you ask for historical prices and try and limit it to one day it just does it's own thing and gives you 2 days worth - emphatically NOT the way I personally want it. Advfn are aware of this but have done precisely nothing to rectify the situation.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 4 0

“INERTIA SUBSCRIPTION RENEWAL ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by osCarter26 on 22/10/2017

I'm embarrassed to admit that i haven't checked my bank account as often as i should. I subscribed to advfn on 23 july 2010 and truly believed i was paying for one year and one year only. The cost was £117. 20. Since then advfn has taken money from my account every year. I'm always abroad in july and don't easily get wifi so i haven't checked - i've been stupid. Advfn is now charging £208. 43 annual subscription! Over the entire period they have taken £1604. 45. No they won't refund it. They say that on joining they sent me an email stating their terms and that they renew using what they call 'continuous authority' - and i certainly didn't sign up for that! I've discussed it with my bank and they have said that the only way i can stop them taking more money is to cancel my bank account and open another one. This, apparently is nothing to do with my debit card although the annual charge is marked as 'deb' on my statement. They never send a notice to tell you what the renewal charge is going to be so there is nothing to remind you that there is a big fat leech sucking away at your lifeblood. They rely on inertia to make their money. The company is owned by mr clem chambers - google him, it's interesting.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 6 1

“Truly awful company”

★☆☆☆☆

written by gnash3r2 on 22/12/2016

They operate an automatic renewal policy and they don't warn you when renewal is new. In my case I only noticed when I saw the charge on my credit card. They won't accept termination of the balance of the contract so I'm stuck with a 12 month charge for a frankly pretty crappy service. Quite appalling that this sort of thing happens in this day and age.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 4 0

“flashing”

★☆☆☆☆

written by shameless4 on 21/03/2016

used to look at this site everyday, but the latest advertising keeps flashing making it very difficult to read. they have banners down each side, so the whole site is like one big advert. there are enough finance sites out there who don't shove adverts like advfn, so wont be coming back till they change their site unfortunately

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 3 0

“I subscribed, then after a short while I wanted to...”

★☆☆☆☆

written by James325 on 31/10/2014

I subscribed, then after a short while I wanted to unsubscribe!!! Well ADVFN has not discovered an unsubscribe button yet??!! I just can't get rid of them! they just keep sending their emails unabated! Once you click on, you can't get out! I guess their business model is to bore potential clients into submission!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 5 0

“OK but flawed”

★★☆☆☆

written by GregCarltons on 02/07/2014

It is true that ADVFN offers a lot of tools for free. Clearly this is intended to entice potential customers to subscribe for the premium services. However there are a few functionalities on the site that simply don't work. Text searcheas work on and off, text filters don't work at all. Also, the financial information that the site holds about companies is often wrong or out of date. This is a serious flaw for professional traders who may need to rely on that data to make trade or investing decisions. I think they need to get their act together!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 4 0

“Undercover Rogues”

★☆☆☆☆

written by crw999 on 07/05/2014

My Experiences with ADVFN: * Prices are shown without VAT so be prepared for a shock when you get your first bill! * Cancellations unbelievably have to be done by letter, what... this is the 21st century! * Cancellations are then not actioned for 30 days! It only takes the click of a button what can be so hard and take 30 days!!! * A general feeling of when you are into ADVFN's hands you are going to have a nightmare getting away from them without losing a lot of money! Ethics is definitely not in ADVFN's glossary. * The website is cluttered with adverts and is poorly designed. * I feel sorry for ADVFN's customer service department trying to fend off complaints about their labourious policies. Advice - go with a more modern, up to date, ethical business, there are plenty out there, unfortunately the naked trader book sent me this way. You will get a better service and a lot better website. You have been warned!!! Please Listen!!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 4 0

“ADVFN rip off very poor customer service avoid this site”

★☆☆☆☆

written by zaggacom on 18/02/2014

I subscribed to their site at a cost of £73 a year, but beware they just keep taking your money, every year, without any prior notification, no reminders, and once they have your money they will not refund it even if you advise them you want to cancel. If you do want to cancel you have to write to them, and send it in the post! they do not accept emails, and there is no option to cancel on the actual website. Really bad customer service they are only after your money. Remember this is an online business but you they make really difficult to cancel, doesent this tell you something. Yours John

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 3 0

“SPAM SPAM and more SPAM they never stop!!!”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 13/08/2013

SPAM SPAM and more SPAM they never stop!!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 3 0

“Beware when trying to cancel subscription”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 24/07/2013

You cannot cancel subscription online or by phone or email. I wrote to them to cancel my subscription, only to find payments still coming out, when i emailed them they said they had not received my cancellation letter (How very convenient!). It took a recorded delivery letter for them to respond to my request to cancel.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 3 0

“Good financial website ”

★★★★★

written by value_investor on 06/05/2012

Advfn has some of the best free tools available on-line and the charts are really good as well. Compared to other companies you don't have to download and install any software, everything runs from your browser. They have been improving their service a lot lately and the forum, if you can spot the punters, gives you a really good feel of the market. The only downside is the fact that you can't un-subscribe by phone or email... You have to send a letter. But it dos not bother me that much as their services are really worth the money. I have been a client for years and have tried other companies as well but i always come back to advfn.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Ocyhsonm's Response to value_investor's Review

Written on: 30/05/2013

Obviously written some time ago, As of May 2013 the company spams you unmercifully and when you have unsubscribed by email they pass your details on other spammers (otherwise know as penny stock traders!). You have been warned

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Subscription rip off”

★★☆☆☆

written by on 07/12/2011

I enrolled in the advfn.com service after reading about it in the book 'THe Naked Trader', at a special discount of £40 for bronze membership. All well and good. What neither the book or the website told me however was that my subscription would be automatically renewed annually, and that next years bronze membership would shoot up to £66. Hidden in their T&Cs it stipulates that to cancel your membership you must write to them by post at least 30 days before your membership is due for renewal. There is no 'cooling off' period after your membership automatically renews. I am not the only one to have been sucked in by this sneaky tactic. So beware, if you sign up, you may not find it easy to cancel, and you will need to make a note of when your membership will be automatically renewed - otherwise you could pay the price of another year's membership. The company's stance is.. well this policy is in the terms & conditions. But realistically, who ever reads the terms and conditions when joining a service? do you?

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Hughjardon's Comment

Written on: 26/04/2012

I agree, I got caught with the same trick by ADVFN and it cost me £472 because I forgot the renewal date. I wrote to them and asked to cancel and get a refund but they said I could cancel in 12 months time but no refund for the money they took out, basically they had my payment for a year and wouldn't return it - they are greedy scum hiding behind small print - DO NOT USE THEIR SERVICES

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 3 0

“Appalling company”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 02/11/2011

- No mobile access (through iPad) and no apps for the UK market, but there is for the US (from a UK company?!) - You can apply online in a couple of clicks, but cancel through the post only with 30 days notice. - BOMBARDED with advertising (pop-ups/pop-unders/banners AND spam email) even with the £39/month option! - Have a habit of 'accidentally' double-charging customers judging by mine and others' experiences (although I DID get a refund when I challenged, to be fair) - Rude customer services I could go on... I would strongly recommend people shop around/research before simply subscribing.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 2 0

“Now you have to call them on the phone to cancel your...”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 07/04/2011

Now you have to call them on the phone to cancel your subscription but they do not answer the phone. Please read the "terms and conditions" and call to the number they publish bebore you sign up.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

overview