Tohatsu 3.5hp Four Stroke Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★★☆☆
3.0
43.0% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Tohatsu 3.5hp Four Stroke - Ask a question now

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

“Junk”

★☆☆☆☆

written by tyMonaghan281 on 31/07/2019

Fuel control did not work from day one. Carburetor has EPA plug that has a jet under it that clogs up and cannot be fixed. Coil went bad $142.00. Engine seized up after 20 hours of use. Junk

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Tohatsu 3.5hp”

★★★★★

written by Mikewood7 on 11/12/2018

I've had my Tohatsu 3.5hp from new and it's been brilliant. The only thing I will say is don't leave any fuel in the carburetor for months on end. Even if you run it dry there is still a tiny bit of fuel left in the float bowl,which will turn into little green crystaline particles and block the jets. Taking the carb off is pretty easy job but you don't want to be doing that after every lay up. Just take the cover off and just loosen the screw on the float bowl and drain the rest of the fuel out. I fitted a flushing connection to mine and use a fresh water hose to flush it out every trip. I spray it with WD40 under the cover which keeps the corrosion at bay and change the engine and gearoil oil every year, which is a doddle of a job. This little motor has taken me and my partner in a 2.30m inflatable from Salcombe to Kingsbridge and back lots of times without any problems and from Plymouth to Cawsands on just a litre of fuel.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 6 0

“Tohatsu 3.5 4 stroke. Problems starting”

★★☆☆☆

written by Morris99 on 04/07/2018

I purchased a new 2017 Tohatsu 3.5 four-stroke three weeks ago and have tremendous difficulty in getting it started. I have followed the instructions by the dealer for starting as well as those of the handbook. I previously had a 2003 Tohatsu 3.5 two-stroke and seldom had problems starting it. I know that the pull technique is different with the four-stroke and have followed it carefully. The one pattern that occasionally works is if I give it full throttle. It is as if the engine is not getting enough gas with the prescribed choking and pulling. I am taking it back to the dealer on Friday but am posting this to see if anyone out there has encountered similar problems. I would like to know before talking to the dealer. Thanks.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Neilmcbride's Response to Morris99's Review

Written on: 10/09/2018

Have the same issue, what words of advise did the dealer give you?

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“It’s a lemon”

★★☆☆☆

written by Phillipsib279 on 30/01/2018

After great service from TOHATSU 9.8 2-stroke I decided to downsize to a TOHATSU 3.5 4-stroke. WHAT A MISTAKE! Hard to start, runs erratically, stalls . Everything you DON’T want in an outboard when you’re out on a reef. Within 6 weeks it was back with the dealer who reported “There’s nothing wrong with it”. Sure, it ran fine at low revs for a minute in the test tank but it still plays up constantly in the real world. If there is “nothing wrong with it” then truly I have bought a LEMON!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Neilmcbride's Comment

Written on: 10/09/2018

What words of wisdom did the dealer give you. I have the same starting issue.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 2

“Brill”

★★★★★

written by 302Wilson on 29/03/2014

Great little boat engine, only 3kg heavier than the 2 stroke equivalent without the hassle of 2 strokes!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 1

“Great little outboard, had it from new about 18 months...”

★★★★★

written by on 15/05/2010

Great little outboard, had it from new about 18 months ago, no problems at all with mine.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“I bought that Nissan 3.5hp four stroke [ same like...”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 06/04/2010

I bought that Nissan 3.5hp four stroke [ same like tohatsu/mariner 3.5hp ] in May 2006 , after 4 weekends [ about 20 hours of use ] part of the engine cowl/cover broke off,I was waiting 4 weeks for the new part. After 40 hours of use [ about 8 weekends ] upper part of engine cover broke off and at the same time I noticed that the engine oil was leaking [cracked engine block !!!] After 2 months of negotiation with Nissan-Tohatsu dealer and many phone calls to Nissan/Mariner/Tohatsu Marine head office in Texas, they [dealer] replaced that engine block and engine cowl/cover, I sold that piece of @%$@*& immediately after that. DO NOT buy this motor !!!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 3 0

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Before posting your question please check to see that it has not already been asked.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

Asked by Joemcmillan on 17th August 2016 Report this content
Is there a primer button or screw to refill carburetor after it empties full tank after using, to restart engine after refilling?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Asked by windknot on 20th May 2015 Report this content
I have difficulty with the carburetor jets clogging up. I drain the carb with the drain screw thinking that will prevent but after setting up for several months it still fowls. Does anyone have any ideas?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

overview