Parsun F9.9 Four Stroke Reviews

Click here if this is your business
Parsun F9.9 Four Stroke
★★★☆☆
2.6
45.0% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Parsun F9.9 Four Stroke - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Parsun F9.9 Four Stroke

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

“Parsun 9.8 four stroke short shaft cracking little engine”

★★★★★

written by on 01/11/2018

we bought the engine with a boat at the beginning of the season we got it cheap as it was second hand and the boat had a puncture and the engine wouldn't start. once i got the engine home having identified that it was a fuel fault not an ignition fault it took 10 minutes to sort out as it was stale fuel in the carb that was fouling the jets,cleaned out with fresh petrol and it started first pull. this engine has been on the sea and Norfolk broads and has done lots of slow work and lots of flat out speed too, it has not let us down at all and though there is only one uk supplier they have been very helpful when we rang asking basic questions. i have just serviced the engine for under £20 as it doesn't need an impeller change yet. I would recommend Parsun engines to anyone but would say be careful if buying a second hand one as with any thing you could be buying someone else problems so get it cheap, but brand new you get 3 years warranty. reliable light quiet and good power output.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 4 1

“China needs to stop producing stuff”

★☆☆☆☆

written by eatshit66 on 19/05/2017

seriously, they copy and reverse engineer everything from japan. difference is, japanese build quality stuff that lasts for decades. if it's half price, don't you people wonder why? grow up millenials before the world caves in on you

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 3 11

“Broke down after 1 hour”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Porscheandy on 24/07/2014

I originally looked at second hand outboards, but decided I needed reliability and a new motor was the best idea so I bought the remote version of the 9.8 hp Parsun motor, on the first and only trip out, it took 20 mins to start, then would not run up properly. Ran it for a maximum of 2 miles on 1/4 throttle as it would not rev any higher, then it would not tick over or start when hot. After inspection by local engineers, found oil leaking and one cylinder running rich fouling plugs in 2 mins, and the other cylinder running lean? Would not tick over or start if warm. So far this has proven not only unreliable, but utterly useless. It is likely the engine needs a full strip down to find the problem. ( not carb, valves, cams etc all checked out already). I am looking for a replacement or change to a non-Chinese motor as I need reliability as a primary requirement. At the early stages of getting a real resolution to this problem, so the quality of the back up is still being tested, hopefully the back up from the dealer will soften the bad experience of the Parsun...watch this space!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Dutcus's Response to Porscheandy's Review

Written on: 04/08/2014

i by last year the same engine 9,8 hp Parsun 4 stroke by new,
and after 10 hours i have the same problem and in Romania nobody know how to repair

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 4 0

“Parsun 9.8HP 2 stroke outboard motor”

★★★★★

written by PiouPiou on 07/11/2013

Only done 15 hours (running in time) with this little outboard and No Problems at all, in fact it seems to get stronger and stronger. I have no doubt its as good quality as any outboard on the market today. Its only tradition that get you thinking otherwise.At less than AUD$1500 brand new it is half the price of the traditional heavy weights.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 3 0

“I have 9.9 4-stroke Parsun for over year-have not a...”

★★★★☆

written by on 25/04/2011

I have 9.9 4-stroke Parsun for over year-have not a single problem and paid about $1500bucks only! looks similar to Yamaha -may a bit a little louder than original Yamaha ($2500), but about 40 percent cheaper! Usally only people who had problems making bad revues, others just enjoing time on water... Before to buy Parsun, I were reading a lot other revues from around the world -people happy with them ,even in salt water.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Guest's Comment

Written on: 18/06/2011

One does become depressed when it nearly kills you and on the same day it was returned repaired for the same problem, Be care fullof what you buy, your life is at stake.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Parsun four stroke? ”

★★☆☆☆

written by on 18/12/2009

Parsun four stroke?
quite frankly. basic question if buy it or not is:
will you buy outboard motor made in China?
if yes, then expect all which comes with chinese products. Mine was leaking oil right out of box, spent days on phone, several 100 bucks and got another one...which leaks too. Once it gets hot, you will never start it again until it cools down. I paddled from middle of lake plenty times. It is cheap copy of yamaha, flimsy, cheaply build, with not existing support and no parts. Why chinese should do such a thing as support? Everyone just throw their junk out from window once breaks. I am terribly sorry for being cheap and buying it . I will never do it again.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“tis motor is poc suposed to be same as a yamaha but...”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 16/12/2009

tis motor is poc suposed to be same as a yamaha but its heavier louder vibrates more uses more fuel has less spped controll wen trolling after sales service is nonexistant none of there phone nubers on there website work
they dont return ur email ive been waiting 2 months since mine broke down i wish i never bought it dont do it suposedly parts are interchangeable w/ a yamaha but they dont offer a parts list and no boat people have even heard of it so its impossible even if u want to pay somone to fix it they wont be able to get parts for it either im going to put an add on ebay for it saying dont buy this motor

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Have had a Parsun 9.9 4stroke for 3 years and have had...”

★★★★☆

written by on 20/09/2009

Have had a Parsun 9.9 4stroke for 3 years and have had no problems. Very easy on fuel and lots of power. Pretty much a copy of a Yamaha. Neighbor had a 2004 Yamaha and parts looked identical.. May not be as refined but for the price can't go wrong..

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“The Parsun F9.9 Four Stroke is no recomended. My...”

☆☆☆☆☆

written by on 11/06/2009

The Parsun F9.9 Four Stroke is no recomended. My motor needs small tune up, but the customer service can ' t fix this issue for 6 month.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“I have owned the Pasun F9.9 Four Stroke engine for the...”

★★★★★

written by steviebas on 27/11/2008

I have owned the Pasun F9.9 Four Stroke engine for the past 12 months and can't praise it highly enough. good service (as usual) from bill higham marine in manchester. glad i took a chance on this un known make as i've saved myself £500 with no detriment so far as i have found.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“I would not buy again. The Parsun F9.9 four stroke...”

★☆☆☆☆

written by nouvellevie on 10/11/2008

I would not buy again. The Parsun F9.9 four stroke outboard motor is a good price but I cannot recommend. Mine broke down after 3 month of use. It's been 2 month since it broke down & they did not fix it yet. They have a realy bad after sale service, they do not answer e-mail, do not answer phone call they are realy bad.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

overview