Parsun F5BM Four Stroke Reviews

Click here if this is your business
Parsun F5BM Four Stroke
★★★☆☆
2.8
60% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Parsun F5BM Four Stroke - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Parsun F5BM Four Stroke

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

“Great value motor”

★★★★☆

written by Mattmacca on 20/09/2021

After running in the motor for a couple of hours, packed away in the shed. Next time used the pull start wouldn’t engage, BUT.. contacted the distributor and their response was fantastic. As live in pretty remote area a complete new starter was sent out, arriving a couple of days later. Replaced, and starts first or second pull every 5ime and runs like a clock. Very happy.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“great low cost engine, they require a fair amount of...”

★★★★☆

written by pyPritchard195 on 08/08/2014

great low cost engine, they require a fair amount of maintenance but not a whole lot more than other outboards at twice the price. with regular fresh water flushes and the occasional oil change my 5hp has lasted years. I wouldn't recommend this engine to anyone without a good understanding of mechanics and maintenance as it would end up ruined within a month or two. however on the back of a 30kg boat and a single person aboard the engine can accomplish an enjoyable wave skipping speed, and a steady pace with more. all in all i feel the engine grades four stars mainly due to its low cost but also because it has never failed me and apart from a few reasonable quirks accomplishes all expectations.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“New engine has never worked”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Ruthy on 01/08/2013

Bought a new 4hp 4 stroke engine 4 weeks ago, 1st time out on the water it wouldn't start a helpful passer by stopped and advised us the choke cable was put on incorrectly! Took it back to the workshop who advised not only was the choke cable put on back to front it was too short and would have never worked. Workshop said they had repaired it but when we took it out again it still wouldn't start so its going back for a refund. Unfortunately cant get a refund on the inflatable we bought at the same time so now left with a new boat & no engine. 4 weeks of frustration!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 2 0

“parsuns f5bms”

★★★★☆

written by boatboy on 05/05/2012

bought this 5 hp four stroke short shaft brand new first trip out broke down took it back and they ran it on there fuel tank and all fine. was told u should filter all fuel through a paper coffee filter as the are so fuel sensitive and and dirt will block the carb and stop running.after cleaning it was shards of red plastic from inside the external fuel tank that stopped it running not told by dealer about this so not very helpfull when miles from shore. On the plus side getting fuel return of about 3 liters an hour at full revs not had any probs since and used 30 liters so far.The engine is so light and very clean burning but quite noisy and vibrates quite harsh the build is very cheap and rubbers are looking perished in under a mounth.Its about half the price of the leading brands overall i would buy again and u pay for what u get good cheap little motor.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Adrianno's Response to boatboy's Review

Written on: 23/07/2014

Yeh same here, bought the same (5hp 4 stroke)motor yesterday, It just refused to start this morning, no matter what setting the choke and or the throttle are.
When I pull the start chord to feel the compression stroke, the resistance is very low. and really hardly noticeable.
Ok, I know, it is a 4 stroke, but the resistance is just too low.
I took it back to the shop in the afternoon and traded it in for a 2 stroke.
At least this one starts first pull

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“We purchased this motor new in Barcelona in '08 along...”

★☆☆☆☆

written by ninkea on 07/01/2010

We purchased this motor new in Barcelona in '08 along with a new 2.9 inflatable as a tender for our yacht. The motor has never started well, sometimes stops for no reason but usually restarts again, has minor corrosion, the gear shift rod in the leg was rubbing on the output shaft and broke, the cutout switch has totally fallen apart and makes stopping difficult,just to mention a few faults. The motor no longer goes despite many efforts. This has all happened within a fuel consumption of less than 30 litres. I have learnt it is still under warranty so there may be a chance yet.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 2 0

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Before posting your question please check to see that it has not already been asked.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

Asked by pooleg on 18th April 2016 Report this content
Will a F4-04060004 oil seal fit a F5BM outboard motor?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

overview