Hopkins Homes Reviews - www.hopkinshomes.co.uk

Click here if this is your business
★★☆☆☆
2.0 / 5
24% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Hopkins Homes www.hopkinshomes.co.uk - Ask a question now

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

Latest Reviews

★★★☆☆

“Hopkins help”

Written on: 17/06/2020 by JulieHuffman (1 review written)

Hi just wondering peoples experiences with Hopkins. We have reserved a house for £1000, and told in 4 weeks time we exchange contracts and pay 10% deposit which is 30,000. The house isn’t built and not ready until end of March if not later due to corona. Is it reasonable to ask to exchange contracts maybe 3/4 months before completion and then pay the deposit as the risk is less. 9 months is a long way away. And anything could happen in that time. Thanks… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Avoid buying from Hopkins Homes ”

Written on: 20/11/2019 by Ashley171 (1 review written)

Hopkins homes are undoubtedly the most uncaring new build home company I have ever witnessed. We still have outstanding snagging after more than two years. Accused by workman of causing the snags. Confirmed my our convenience of cctv at the property. After care team are shocking and lack of care and support. Avoid buying a Hopkins home at all cost . Lots of neighbours and friends experienced the same problems and worse. Definitely incorrect about the standard we purchasing ! … Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“1 year battle to fix overflowing toilet”

Written on: 21/07/2018 by Jadams40 (1 review written)

Our downstairs toilet kept blocking. Customer care manager kept saying we put too much stuff down it. Eventually he got the drain doctor to check the drain and said the drain was ok and it was us. I mentioned that the drain doctor only checks for blocks, not that the the drain was constructed properly. I said I would get a surveyor in to check the drain. It was only then when the manager agreed to get the srains people in, who ended up digging out and turning the drain. As Hipkins are slow it… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 2
★★☆☆☆

“nice houses shame about the customer aftercare”

Written on: 12/07/2018 by Kennedy483 (1 review written)

Appalling customer aftercare given by some individuals within Hopkin homes. He doesn’t deserve the job title “customer care manager”. Never said sorry for mistakes they made, never returned your calls or emails – never put himself out when we had to. I felt sorry for his team who were the brunt of our concerns and frustration due to the lack of care he showed. This was also echoed by many other home owners on the same estate… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“We were completely tricked by Hopkins Homes (HH)”

Written on: 30/04/2018 by AddisonTobin (1 review written)

My wife and I very recently paid a reservation fee of £1,000 in respect of a five bedroom house on the HH Watermill Meadow development in Stoke Holy Cross, Norfolk expressly on terms that we would have a fixed date of 8 June for legal completion - the house was already finished off to all intents and purposes - and at a price of £550,000. The date was crucial if we were avoid moving into temporary rented accommodation. At the same time we were persuaded to part with £3,300 for extras on a… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 4 5
★★☆☆☆

“Not as good as it looks”

Written on: 27/01/2018 by Perfecinist (1 review written)

Have had nothing but problems since buying this home has been nothing short of a nightmare ground not sorted before it was built so flooding occurred and as pensioners not what we dreamed of as were looking for a relaxed life far from it ,have just walked into kitchen to find dishwasher has flooded water out under sink unsatisfactory plumbing the list goes on what will be next ,should we be putting up with these standards,things need to change… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Kirstybeckwith's Response to Perfecinist's Review

Written on: 17/05/2018

Where do u live

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Perfecinist's reply to Kirstybeckwith's Comment

Written on: 18/05/2018

I live in Dereham Norfolk

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
Read 2 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“Any problems, they don't want to know ”

Written on: 24/01/2018 by Finnegankx400 (1 review written)

I have a Hopkins Moore home, supposedly one of their "premier" houses. I hate to see what one of their bog standard homes is like for build quality! The house is not even 3 years old and since we moved in 3 months ago every time there is a strong wind there is a loud banging noise coming from more than one area of the loft which keeps us awake at night. This was reported to Hopkins who basically said that as there is ONLY actually a 2 YEAR WARRANTY on their work they will not even send anyone… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Shoddy, little or no aftercare.”

Written on: 26/12/2017 by Hollandus468 (1 review written)

Oh how I wish we had had knowledge of this site before buying. We have now lived in our home for 10weeks.Having a procession of men in and out to 'sort' the problems. All of which should have been sorted BEFORE we moved in. And still we are waiting for many more to be addressed. They fit OLD Hotpoint appliances that barely work. Our dishwasher has failed already! Hotpoint don't even make the model of washing machine anymore. Because our kitchen has been so badly installed, the oven 'slants'… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Kirstybeckwith's Comment

Written on: 17/05/2018

We live in Colchester Oliver’s grove and we should all band together - we are all having same problems - drains and plumbing substandard workmanship

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 7 1
Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“Tremendous ambassador for Hopkins Homes the After Care...”

Written on: 10/11/2017 by reeve1 (1 review written)

I wanted to write to thank you very much for initially dealing with my concerns in regard to the rendering. The job would be completed and to a high standard. The person I dealt with was excellent at explaining and answering any questions I had including keeping me advised throughout. I'm thrilled with the job and it was a wonderful surprise to arrive home from holiday very recently to find the work completed. It looks great! Well done and a big thank you to the person I dealt with, his… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Frenchpastry's Response to reeve1's Review

Written on: 26/12/2017

Having sadly brought a Hopkins Home on Saddlers Rise, we moved in 10weeks ago, I find this review almost unbelievable. I guess there must be ONE decent home that Hopkins have built, but I haven't found it on this site.
We have brought 5 new homes over a 47 year period, never ever experienced the shoddy build quality of this one. Nor do they take any criticisms seriously. Our neighbours feel the same. We are going to contact the NHBC about ours and suggest others do the same.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 1
Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“Very happy”

Written on: 05/11/2017 by 346Fournier (1 review written)

We completed on our house a month ago now and we just wanted to say what a fantastic experience! We had a few minor snags when we moved in but they were sorted very quickly. People forget these are hand built homes and you may find a problem or two but that's the same with any house you buy. Thank you for our lovely home… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 1
★★☆☆☆

“Enquiry ”

Written on: 28/09/2017 by Aarond338 (1 review written)

We made an enquiry about a bungalow on the lake park needham market development we found the sales staff bordering rude and the question we asked the sales lady the response we got was im not going to even ask the question until you commit with a deposit we felt pressured and because we would not commit they were not interested very very poor customer service… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 1
★☆☆☆☆

“Frustrated”

Written on: 23/07/2017 by gbHarding62 (1 review written)

Hopkins should re-name the customer care team as couldn't care less team. They don't take any notice of what you are saying moved in snagging not done . After three years noticed boiler flue too close to window opening and to a combustible material breaking planning regs not to mention health issues but all the will say is we will nail up the window as per the plans didn't buy house from plans already built . No regard for saftety still on going I haven't given up yet .Also why was it signed… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 3 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Worst built homes”

Written on: 06/07/2017 by Doherty1953 (1 review written)

Do not buy/rent a Hopkins built built house. The worst property I have ever lived in in 45 years. Poor after care too. There is not enough space here to explain how poorly and cheaply constructed these places are. The site manager for the watermill garden project must be blind to not notice the pathetic work that has gone into these propertys. Speakimg to others in the trade, it is known that the workers on this site and others in Norfolk were some of the worst they could employ. You have been… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Kirstybeckwith's Comment

Written on: 17/05/2018

How are they still getting away with it

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 5 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“aggressive selling”

Written on: 25/04/2017 by Larsondt340 (1 review written)

they had a row at an open day i went to they sold a home before official opening time of 10 am they lied to me about launch time and made me wait 3 months to find out too exspensive… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★★☆☆

“Price increase after showing interest”

Written on: 18/04/2017 by NBJT (1 review written)

Yesterday, Easter Monday, called into the new development at King's Meadows Holt and liked the 4 beds Upchurch, strange name but nice house. On the price list dated 10th April 2017 cost shown as £449995. Later in the afternoon phone call from Sales office that prices had been reviewed by the sales director and that the house was now £454995 because it had a double garage and that the other house of the same type only had a single garage and remained at £449995. Obviously bit miffed and… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★★☆☆☆

“Waterworks problems”

Written on: 07/10/2016 by canaries1 (1 review written)

Bought our hose 1 1/2 years ago, and although initially pleased we have had myriad problems with our water system. Toilets dripping,not flushing, shower not emptying, one toilet out of action for months whilst the garden was dug up to sort the drains. Worst of all a pipe union came undone in the bathroom with sent water everywhere and now a leak in the en-suite which has soaked our newly decorated living room both of the problems would have been so much worse if we had not been in the… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Tinkerbell78's Response to canaries1's Review

Written on: 21/03/2017

our shower doesn't empty either! Must have had the same quality plumbers ;)

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Kirstybeckwith's Response to canaries1's Review

Written on: 17/05/2018

We are having trouble with drains but Hopkins homes are stating they are fine - when clearly they are not. A lot of us are having trouble with smells from drains and I personally have toilets with little to no water in the bowl - been told that’s normal - it isn’t - have u got your drains sorted

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
Read 2 Comments
★★★★★

“Best home ever”

Written on: 11/04/2016 by Isabellez230 (1 review written)

Brought a hopkins home (Wintergreen) in Stalham, small snagging list. List was completed within days. Great home . Couldn't ask for anything better. Slightly pricey compared to other new homes around the norwich area, but the build is outstanding. … Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“St Peter Place Hopkins Home :No high speed broadband...”

Written on: 14/03/2016 by sushilcarya (1 review written)

No high speed broadband forever for St Peter Place Hopkins Home Two years ago a new Hopkins Homes development (Project : St Peter Palace) was finished on Colchester road near the “Royal George” Pub. It was built in the place of Ipswich Fire station which was demolished. The promises of a newly built neighbourhood with high quality materials and a modern lifestyle near to Northgate High School were too attractive to all who decided to move to the area. Today, the families living in these… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Disgraceful”

Written on: 26/02/2016 by Frazierrv24 (1 review written)

Full of false promises. Get everything in writing and they cannot be trusted. If you professionally and politely challenge they become aggressive and threatening. I haven't been this disgusted by customer service, or the lack of it, for a very long time. I wish I'd known about these reviews beforehand. The sales offices are interested in commission and nothing else. Seriously lovely people out there looking for a home, a community, a place to call home do not buy a Hopkins House as you will be… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Mrsangryofnordolk's Comment

Written on: 07/05/2016

I couldn't have worded this review any better, our experience of the staff has been the same. We moved into our house over 7 months ago and they are continuing to treat us dismissively. So frustrating that all these negative reviews will mostly go unnoticed - maybe something more high profile is needed to get the warning out there (maybe a Facebook page?!)

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Devastatedofsuffolk's Comment

Written on: 09/05/2016

Yes they are appalling and I am sorry you have experienced the same. I have been looking in to what to do next and everything I have experienced
We found 130 snags and defects in the house once we had completed. A further kick in the teeth after the bullying behaviour of the sales team.
We are going to complain further.

Also word of mouth - tell people locally. I have been really honest about my view of them.
My computer skills don't extend to Facebook but I will try and do all I can to support you. The chairman has a charitable foundation which clearly must make him feel better about treating his customers so badly well by doing good things for others!!!!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Frenchpastry's Comment

Written on: 26/12/2017

Spot on. Lets all get together and form a high profile facebook page.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Frenchpastry's Comment

Written on: 26/12/2017

Totally agree. We have been here 9weeks and yet more problems occur daily.
A really bad experience all round. Even wrote to them, they just don't care.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Frenchpastry's Comment

Written on: 26/12/2017

Totally agree with everything said here. Apart at Saddlers Rise who did his very best to sort things for us.
Worst house we have ever ever ever brought.
Don't bother writing to him either as you will get a silly letter back from his so called Admin. Believe me she is no Administration Assistant, more a liability!!!!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 3 0
Read 5 Comments
★★☆☆☆

“Lack of care and support post sale”

Written on: 18/01/2016 by HarleyBradford400 (1 review written)

We purchased a new home in the old Aylsham hospital complex. The finish is generally good but bizarrely some aspects are well done with nice materials others not so good with cheap products. However, to try and get Hopkins homes to come back on site and rectify problems is virtually impossible. In the storms of Autumn 2014 around 60 tiles broke loose and some guttering from a neighbours roof; this affected our garden. This was repeatedly reported throughout the year with cursory responses and… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
overview