London, Museum of London Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★★★★
4.5 / 5
100% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
London, Museum of London - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for London, Museum of London

London, Museum of London
London, Museum of London
London, Museum of London
London, Museum of London

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

★★★★★

“huge, well maintained”

Written on: 15/07/2021 by Tanya-H (7 reviews written)

Huge museum with lots of things to see. Staff was helpful in giving right direction.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Great place to visit in London”

Written on: 08/06/2021 by Wendymagic (9 reviews written)

Myself and my family have visited the Museum of London several times and cant recommend it enough. The staff are super friendly and the whole place is clean and well laid out. A top venue and one to visit in your in the Capital.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“Well maintained”

Written on: 04/11/2020 by Nova-44 (9 reviews written)

Excellent museum showing exhibition that tracks Brittan history over centuries. Well maintained museum.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Interesting Place”

Written on: 03/08/2020 by Nolipeytrdse (1 review written)

This is one of the better museums I have ever went to. So much history on display.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“ABSOLUTELY FANTASTIC!! ”

Written on: 25/03/2015 by rockstar74 (2 reviews written)

A must visit for any trip to London! Still reeling about all the fascinating pieces we saw ! The best part the entry was free but please feel free to donate :)

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“Free Entry”

Written on: 11/10/2013 by MarkSteele (2 reviews written)

I love going there in my spare time I also get my out of city or out of country guests to appreciate the life and age we live in.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“Excellent site for those who have a great taste in art...”

Written on: 07/06/2013 by TorbenLind (3 reviews written)

Excellent site for those who have a great taste in art and antiques, the best thing is that its free, so can't be better

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“London”

Written on: 28/09/2012 by steb91blei (4 reviews written)

Every year my family and I have a trip to London. Once we are there we makde sure we go and see every museum. It is a tradition.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“magnficent”

Written on: 19/09/2012 by tre3c0dweb (4 reviews written)

I am a history teacher and it is in my blood to admire places like this one.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“London”

Written on: 17/09/2012 by steee1amoa (5 reviews written)

Truly amazing place. I enjoy museums very much, I always feel like learning something new.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“museum”

Written on: 13/09/2012 by wal78o6dna (5 reviews written)

I am person who really enjoys culture , that is why I really enjoy visitig museums. The London Museum is one of my favourites. When I go there it is as if I lose track of time.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“best museum in LONDOJN”

Written on: 07/08/2012 by djaja (3 reviews written)

it is the museum where I take every friends that comes to visit. I've been there 5 times now and I think I will never get bored of it. every time I find something new to be fascinated and about which I want to discover more after!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“The Museum of London is a great place for people who...”

Written on: 18/10/2008

The Museum of London is a great place for people who love museums but are blessed with an attention deficit and get easily bored when one room looks like another. I am one of these people, and I highly recommend this museum to you. It is a small museum but it is worth it. You can reach it very easily by tube and will be amazed by the surroundings of the museum. It is so different from the centre of the city.
Though, like the world outside, nothing is perfect. If you are not a polar bear or penguin, you should avoid taking a little rest or having a meeting with students in the entrance hall at these little nice tables and the funny stools (which can be used as drums). Because of the sliding doors it is a bit draughty and gets cold after a while. And be grateful if the screen next to you does not work, otherwise you are dreaming of ' July the 1st' and 'a smoke free Britain' on the following night. The food in the cafe next to the museum has an exorbitant price, but the coffee is good and not that expensive. Therefore, I recommend packed lunches.
The first room is called 'London before London' and focuses on the Great River Thames. Information is not just to read on plates but also available on screens and computers. It is also possible to 'touch history'; in particular such tools like axes, which is really cool. After 'the Roman Gallery', which is totally different regarding the style of display and not less interesting, you will enjoy 'London is burning'. There you can imagine being a firefighter in 1666 or watching a movie about this period. Unfortunately, the exhibition room about the latest history of London was closed.
Elderly people also do not have to worry about possibilities to rest. There are folding chairs at the entrance of this room and little benches which are almost integrated into the display cabinets. The cloakroom is easy to find, so you do not have to carry your stuff with you while enjoying the exhibition.
Furthermore, you should ask for a guided tour about 'London is burning'. It is really interesting and you will have a lot of fun. For foreign students it might be a little bit too fast, but do not be afraid and ask the staff to speak a bit more slowly. They are really friendly and have a great sense of humour.
To sum up, it is a great place for people who want to know more about London and its history. A look at the last pieces of the wall through a big window is amazing and it more than makes up for any other disappointments, even if you have forgotten your lunch. In other words, you will have a lovely day in a great museum. The only thing I really missed was an exhibition catalogue or books about parts like 'London is burning'. Maybe it is just a reason to go there once again.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“Displays start form "London before London". You can...”

Written on: 30/09/2008 by Yuko Seyama (1 review written)

Displays start form "London before London". You can touch some of the exhibits like flint handaxes by yourselves. Various ancient tools and relics are displayed. A reconstructed 5000-year-old Shepperton Woman will surely attract your attention.
You'll be conscious of time passing. Next is "the Roman Gallery". The history of Roman Britain is shown not only with text but also with a bird's eye view of an ancient city and reconstructions of the Roman style of living. You'll enjoy a Roman life for a while. "Medieval London" follows. You'll enjoy a miniature model of St. Paul's and reconstructed rooms of those days.Gorgeous everyday items such as embroidered cushions are on display as a part of Victorian life. The highlight of the displays in the museum is "the Great Fire of London in 1666". You'll learn how the Fire influenced London afterwards. A guided tour, TV videos, and computers also help you to understand the catastrophe.
I wish there were more displays covering the following ages, but we'll have to wait until 2010. Have a look at this museum, and you'll soon be well-informed about London.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Philwalsham's Response to Yuko Seyama's Review

Written on: 06/10/2008

Nice concise review with everything that is needed to aid a visitor

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“Finding the museum was quite easy, because there are...”

Written on: 28/07/2008

Finding the museum was quite easy, because there are plenty of signs which describe the way. But then there were thousands of entrances which was confusing. We were stunned! Fortunately a very nice British man came along and offered his help. He told us to just take the escalator (which wasn't working) and then we would find the museum! We finally found it!

When we saw the main entrance something caught our eye! It was a beautiful pink polka-dot bench, which looked like it was made for the Queen! As we went inside there were tables and comfortable chairs for every family member to relax and take a break. The entrance was free, but therefore the cafeteria was a bit more expensive than usual. What was amazing in the cafe were the shelves with newspapers on them, which we have never seen in a museum before!

The museum is constructed in chronological sections so you just can't miss a thing! Everything was beautifully decorated and had sound- and light effects so you felt like you were living in the past.
The Tour guide was free of charge and both amazing and interesting. For example did you know that the museum of London has the only collection of womens' dresses for dancing from the Roman empire? We bet you didn't know! But unfortunately you couldn't see everything because there were so many visitors. The tour guide was great because she talked clearly, loudly and extremely enthusiastically. You can see that she loves her job!

We hope you will visit the museum of London one day!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Finding the Museum of London was quite easy, because...”

Written on: 28/07/2008 by Filiz (1 review written)

Finding the Museum of London was quite easy, because there are plenty of signs which describe the way. But then there were thousands of entrances which was confusing. We were stunned! Fortunately a very nice British man came along and offered his help. He told us to just take the escalator (which wasn't working) and then we would find the museum! We finally found it!

When we saw the main entrance something caught our eye! It was a beautiful pink polka-dot bench, which looked like it was made for the Queen! As we went inside there were tables and comfortable chairs for every family member to relax and take a break. The entrance was free, but therefore the cafeteria was a bit more expensive than usual. What was amazing in the cafe were the shelves with newspapers on them, which we have never seen in a museum before!

The museum is constructed in chronological sections so you just can't miss a thing! Everything was beautifully decorated and had sound and light effects so you felt like you were living in the past.

The Tour guide was free of charge and both amazing and interesting. For example did you know that the museum of London has the only collection of womens' dresses for dancing from the Roman empire? We bet you didn't know! But unfortunately you couldn't see everything because there were so many visitors. The tourguide was great because she talked clearly, loudly and extremely enthusiastically. You can see that she loves her job!

We hope you will visit the museum of London one day!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“The Museum of London is something you should do if you...”

Written on: 22/07/2008 by sasch90 (1 review written)

The Museum of London is something you should do if you are in London. It doesn't look very interesting from outside, but it looks really nice if you are inside. At the entrance there is an information desk where you can get a lot of brochures. The walking tour is well planned and delivered. The routes for the areas are clearly mapped out and marked.
The best part was the guided tour through the Roman period area, which was very interesting and where you can ask some questions. It lasted three quarters of an hour and was free. A little bit annoying were the audio tapes before some display cases, which were very loud and meant you could not hear the voice of the tour guide. Nevertheless, for a foreigner it was very good to understand the tour because the guide spoke clear basic English and not quickly.
One downside was that the description was only in English. I think for foreigners it would better if there were 2 other languages added such as in every other museum.
All in all, I would recommend the Museum of London. You learn a lot about the city of London but foreigners must have good English skills to understand things.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

overview