Grantham Caravans, Grantham, Lincolnshire Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★☆☆☆
2.3
27.0% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Grantham Caravans, Grantham, Lincolnshire - Ask a question now

Refine your search

Latest Reviews

“Poor customer service ”

★★☆☆☆

written by TrentLindsay46 on 27/09/2023

Bought our caravan from the Retford Branchand everyone was lovely, had an issue with the toilet and the locker strutts needed replacing so took it back and and then went on holiday ( strutts still not replaced) had issues with the toilet again so we booked it in to have both repairs done. They had our caravan for 4 weeks and we’ve collected it today to be told the strutts have still not been replaced, going away tomorrow so we will see if the toilet issues have been fixed. Poor service, rude staff and terrible after sales , would not buy from this company again. They seem to be nice when you’re buying but after that forget it!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 2 0

“Still having issues after over 2 and half years”

★☆☆☆☆

written by TimBot1966 on 11/03/2023

Brought a brand new caravan in 2020. This company is happy to take your money but forget any after care service. Still having issues as a result of their poor workmanship. AVOID THIS COMPANY!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Would give them zero but had to give them one ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by EllaHuffman on 08/09/2022

Bought a brand new caravan off these guys paid £30,000 cash no financing On predetermined collection date set by them couldn’t take caravan , they had it for 2 weeks off swift to clean and do an inspection on caravan to make sure right . We got there that many faults to van we couldn’t take it , so they had it for another week to rectify faults and clean caravan as scruffy, back a week later and nothing had been done , so waited half a day for a clean and technician to do some faults , they van had been stood in yard all and they weren’t informed of any issues with it so nothing had been done . Sales team forced into taking van with promising other bits well be sorted , still waiting months after and they don’t want to know , tell us to contact swift ourselves and even said they will send videos on how to fix faults for us to do ourselves . , oven door dropped of so oven not fit for use , and metal pieces hanging down from under caravan scrapes floor and they won’t come out and look at it or make safe , they won’t collect caravan because they don’t know if it’s safe to tow , reason I won’t tow it incase if it cause more damage to caravan or an accident while towing it , so van just sat , swift say it’s got to go back to dealer and any complaints we have to be reported to dealer bought off , they just saying contact swift , They’ve got our money and don’t care I won’t buy off these clowns and advise anyone thinking of buying from them be careful please

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Rude”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Evew1960 on 20/11/2021

Service Depth need training on how to talk to customers, very rude ? Keep away

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Poor aftersales, stinky attitude from Service Centre”

★★☆☆☆

written by ckYoung1984 on 28/10/2021

This company used to be top notch for Customer Service but since old staff members have left the replacements are not Customer focused at all. Terrible attitude almost to the point of being rude. We have had numerous issues with trying to sort out what should be simple issues with ordering parts and getting them fitted. Each area works as a separate department and there appears to be no communication between them. Therefore, one blames the other, Our caravan is now 5 years old and we will be looking for a new one soon but we will not be buying from them again!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 3 0

“Avoid avoid, avoid, avoid”

★★☆☆☆

written by Maximilliano250 on 30/09/2021

Grantham caravans will take your money for your nice new or second hand shiny caravan but if you have a problem down the line good luck with there after sales department if there is one . I bought a brand new swift 2 years ago from them and ongoing problems are to many to mention but they won't return my calls for warranty work please avoid and spend a little more and try lowdham caravans!!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 2 0

“CUT TO THE CHASE”

★☆☆☆☆

written by SteveR1952 on 23/07/2021

Purchased new van not pdi'd chipped bed window chipped door black mould in awning rail despite travelling 180 miles to collect i could not take it home because of mould fault. Drove home (180) miles without van waited 10 days for home delivery. Had warranty issues taken months to rectify (covid's fault). Latest complaint fridge stopped working probebly control needs updating. You need to bring to us or go to your nearest swift dealer... 160 miles round trip to nearest dealer. Promised a call back to advise.... Guess what !!... Hence my honest review.. Oh stay well clear give them you money and they close their doors..

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Poor After sales and Servicing”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Medina382 on 15/07/2021

Since purchasing my 2017 caravan I have had many issues from the outset. In total I have had over 32 warranty issues obviously too much to list here. However, since the Operations Director left the customer service has progressively got worse. The final debacle was my last service, if that is what you can call it. Needless to say that I will not be returning despite having been a customer since 2013. My service was booked for May in plenty of time for a 3 week holiday in June and our van was ready to pick up one week prior to going. I had also asked for an external wash. O picking my caravan up it looked dirtier than when I had taken it in and I questioned whether it had been washed. None of the cleaners went over the windows again but it was still necessary for me to clean it when I got home. I also noted that one wheel hadn't been washed either. Having read through the paperwork I questioned why I was being charged for a deleting inside. If it was valetted I would be very surprised given the clean up job we did when we got home. When we arrived at our holiday destination in the southwest. We had trouble with the water system only to find a crack across the water inlet just below the pump socket which was leaking into the caravan. It was 2 days before I could get a competent person out who swiftly replaced the water inlet filter. GC passed the water equipment but given the state of the filter, it very much doubt that it was checked at all and the appropriate paperwork ticked off. Clearly I have lost any trust in GC and will not be returning to have my caravan serviced or indeed, purchase another new caravan. I personally would not trust them to carry out a good service. Well done GC. Thats another regular customer you have lost.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 2 0

“Definitely no confidence in this company”

★☆☆☆☆

written by AlanTBooth on 05/07/2021

Initially we were very enthusiastic to purchase a caravan on what we thought was ideal for us but after 2 weeks it started to go wrong. We were told that a cracked battery tray had been found through the PDI checks and would have to be replaced. After a further 2 weeks we were informed that the wrong part had been delivered. A further 3 weeks passed and we were told that the caravan had been repaired and ready for collection Wanting to test it out almost immediately we booked a campsite and set out on the first outing. Within 3 hours we discovered that the boiler did not work so no heating or hot water and therefore had to use the site facilities. On phoning Grantham Caravans whilst away we were told that nothing could be done at that time and the caravan would have to be returned for repair. Within 24 hours a leak from the bathroom taps was discovered and water tracked through the caravan and had to turn the water off so no water at all. We then started to check out in detail other aspects of the caravan. Found that the table had been damaged and was not secure plus other faults too lengthy to detail here. Although Grantham Caravans said that the caravan would have to be booked in and because of the booking system might take some time to repair I informed them that it would be returned then as we were passing them on our way home. Two weeks later we were told that all repairs had been carried out and arranged to pick it up on the Monday when we would take it out immediately to test it and shortly after setting up discovered that the boiler still did not work. Phoned Grantham Caravans again and after a number of phone calls and lengthy discussions decided enough was enough and would like our money back for the return of the caravan. Found the staff to be dismissive, they gave excuses why the work had not been done satisfactorily, were not interested in the inconvenience that the problems had caused and could not get through to the director to speak to him in person. To cap it all we the discovered that the details of our purchase and the caravan had been sent to someone whose email was very similar to mine which breaches the Data Protection act. All in all a very bad experience from an abysmal, inept company and would not recommend this company to anyone wishing to purchase a caravan.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 4 0

“Outstanding service”

★★★★★

written by Farender on 06/05/2021

Our first caravan and so glad we bought it from grantham caravans. Service was outstanding, from the salesman who was informative, polite and attentive to the very patient guy who explained everything to us more than once! The business owner came over and greeted us and made sure we were happy with everything, which we were. The van was spotless and beautifully presented. I would recommend Grantham caravans to anyone without hesitation.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Bad service”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Kingkf296 on 28/04/2021

I bought a new caravan from Grantham Caravans in 2017 and it required a recall for problems to the bulkhead, from Swift. GC arranged to collect my caravan to complete the works. Whilst being loaded onto the transport company's lorry the rear of the caravan dragged on the ground quite badly and was damaged. This was witnessed by 3 people plus the driver. I contacted GC when the lorry had left to inform them of the possible damage that had occurred expecting them to investigate when it arrived the next day. 9 days later I had a call to say the works were complete but the caravan had damage to the rear offside corner??? As I knew this had been damaged by the transportation company when loading, I was surprised that they were not admitting any responsibility. GC implied that the crack was an old one and then later said it had been filled??? Finally after 3 weeks I was told by a director that the responsibility of the repair was between myself and the transport company. I had legal advice to say that it was between GC and the transportation company! As I was getting nowhere with GC I contacted Swift and within 4 hours I had a callback to say it would be repaired by GC. On collecting the caravan 1 month later, they could not at first locate my paperwork, there was no apology and no receipt of the repair. I have now asked 3 times for the receipt but been ignored. Beware that GC do not offer good customer service

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 3 0

“Best service I've ever had”

★★★★★

written by Baldie00 on 21/04/2021

Just purchased a used caravan and received the best service and professional experience I have ever had.thank you for the sales person P.S.B. and the hand over gentleman who explained everything in detail, got one of the technicians to fit my battery not even purchased from them.All the staff including the ladies in warranty were so helpful. I would highly recommend them. Thank you so much.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Fantastic from day 1”

★★★★★

written by revmadeley on 04/02/2021

Fantastic from day 1. I rang Grantham (I am not local) looking for a 6 berth and they told me one was coming in and said they would hold it for me. Video sent so I did not need to do a 360 mile round trip to Grantham. Deal arranged. They knew I was having some parts fitted on my previous caravan. The parts took months to come due to COVID but Grantham Caravans were VERY patient and understanding. Once I could exchange, we were in lockdown. My caravan was collected from Weston-super-Mare by Grantham. It was checked over, a very fair price was agreed - no attempt to renegotiate the previous deal except for some wear and tear, which is perfectly reasonable and totally agreed by me. The new one was delivered a few days later. Their driver was early on both occasions, which was great. I cannot fault them. The new caravan is better than described so I am one extremely happy customer. This company deserves your business. They will be my first port of call next time!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Abysmal customer service and lack of knowledge”

★☆☆☆☆

written by shaneallen on 19/11/2020

This is by far the most inept company I have ever had the displeasure of dealing with, when I ordered parts approximately 12 months ago nothing could have prepared me for the series of blunders, excuses and abysmal customer service I have endured. Fast forward to today, half my order not supplied and the second half supplied incorrect and damaged, not once but twice! If you try to make sense of the situation with the shop staff, management or company directors then it is akin to talking to a brick wall because the lack of knowledge and urgency on their part is shocking to say the least. This experience has cost me time, money and stress beyond compare along with the same experience being felt by my own customer who has patiently waited a year for his caravan to be repaired, I am now having to find a solution in house because all confidence in Grantham Caravans has dwindled to nothing. I would rather turn down business than ever have the misfortune to need to use this embarrassment of a company again.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 2 0

“Warranty and Service”

★★★★★

written by BarrieSaxon on 31/08/2020

Grantham Caravans’ Warranty and Service is by far the best I’ve ever used. They are proactive in their communications and deliver high quality services. It is real pleasure to deal with them.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Abismal after sales service”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Matthiasw401 on 09/03/2020

Once Grantham caravans have your money the level of service they provide is terrible. Definitely the worst company I have ever dealt with. I bought a new caravan from them but when it comes to after sales service they are not interested.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Robertwelby's Comment

Written on: 17/07/2020

I completely agree - you are not alone. The director has no idea about customer service and I feel for the staff. They can't all be as bad as the overall company performance but the terrible treatment of paying customers comes from the top down. I wish I had read these reviews before parting with almost £25k.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 4 0

“Not interested after they get your money”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Hayden381 on 06/02/2020

Bought a brand new caravan from them in 2018 and have had nothing but bother with it. No customer service and full of false promises (they havent answered any of my e-mails since June 2019). Caravan has been inspected by an independent engineer recently and he has confirmed my issues/complaints and the finance company have now agreed to take it back and are refunding my deposit and some giving me some compensation. Avoid at all costs and believe the bad things you read about them. Iam sure they have some satisfied customers but like many I am not one of them. It could so easily have been avoided but then as I said they don't care :(

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 3 0

“Red Line Brilliant!!”

★★★★★

written by AJandK on 26/11/2019

Great service and support from Red Line at Grantham Caravans. The person I dealt with couldn’t have been more helpful and supportive during the whole process. Very happy with our Red Line VW and we wouldn’t hesitate to recommend the same man, Red Line and Grantham Caravans to anyone who is looking to get a VW camper. Thank you!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Shocking after sales service ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 21/11/2019

Purchased brand new Coachman Pastiche 545 2019 in July. 11 weeks later damp patches appeared on the bedroom wall. After being passed from pillar to post between Grantham and Coachman, Grantham finally agreed to repair it and as if doing us a favour said they wouldn’t charge us!!! Due to working full time and living over an hour and half away it was more convenient for us to drop it back to them on a Sunday but no, only sales are open then not service dept. We finally managed to get them to see our point of view. They have now had the caravan back for 3 weeks and they are aware that we do like to use our van at least once a month all through the year and have already paid a deposit to a site for the Christmas break. The parts finally arrived early this week but still they aren’t starting on the repairs until next week. Not sure how long the drying out will take as they seem to be ignoring my very reasonable emails requesting updates. My advice is if you wish for excellent after sales service and communication avoid Grantham like the plague.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 4 0

“Lunar Solaris”

★☆☆☆☆

written by davidre1956 on 19/06/2019

PIcked up van in April 2017. The first problem I had was it was the first van ive had with a 13 pin plug and when I tried to plug it in I didn't have enough clearance room under my car to plug the cable in. What did they do nothing left me to it so after crawling under the car and adjusted the connection was able to plug it in good job I had spanners with me. Over the 2 years we owned the van we had so many problems which we were reporting but could never get to speak to anyone from the warranty team left lots of messages but they never phoned me back I was left to resolve most of the smaller problems at my own expense. My final problem is with stress cracks in the rear panel they have finally told me Lunar have rejected the claim as the fiberglass panels on the front and back are only warened for 12 months. I now own a 2017 Lunar Solaris caravan with cracks in the rear panel that worth nothing and Grantham have washed there hands of it and have advised me to speak direct to Lunar what a company please avoid these guys,

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 3 0

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

overview