Sandy Bay Holiday Park, Northumberland Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★☆☆☆
2.0 / 5
24% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Quality of accommodation

  • Quality of food

  • Staff

  • Children's entertainment

  • Adult entertainment

  • Facilities

  • Proximity to local amenities

  • Proximity to local attractions

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Sandy Bay Holiday Park, Northumberland - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Sandy Bay Holiday Park, Northumberland

Sandy Bay Holiday Park, Northumberland

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“If you were 5 minutes later you would not have got in”

Written on: 22/07/2018 by KinleyNelson291 (1 review written)

This is the second year we stayed at this site last year we were given a pitch number which was gone there was only one pitch left after we were on the pitch for a day a man come and said we were on his pitch he paid that pitch for the year this year we went back got there around 5pm . We were told there was a man at the touring part of the site would tell us where pitch 5 was when we got there the warden said if we were five minutes later we would not have got in , i thought that was a bit… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“An amazing time had by all. Pleasant, simple and...”

Written on: 30/09/2013 by wendy.jackson (0 reviews written)

My daughter and I have only been to Sandybay Caravan Park twice. Both times we had a great time. We have been looking for somewhere we could call our favourite haunt and return to again and again. Finally we found it! It is a cosy comfortable camp. Everyone seems really friendly the campers and the team who work there. It is just right for our needs. Enjoyed a warm swimming pool with freindly staff and nice beach. The first time my daughter entered a talent show and the second holiday was free… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“Caravan was awful!”

Written on: 23/06/2013 by Mrs-C (1 review written)

Me,my sister and 4 kids arrived for a long weekend. Booked into a silver caravan and all I can say is I would not like to see the bronze if the silver standard is anything to go by. It was grim, the mattresses were awful, first night we had about 2/3 hours sleep. It rained that night and either the vent or window leaked onto the bed and me! I spoke to Clair at reception who was lovely and arranged new mattresses for the 2nd night. But the caravan was small, basic and the seats were all stained… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“kids enterainment”

Written on: 06/08/2012 by sharon49 (1 review written)

IO think the kids entertainment wasn't good cause the staff were not interactive with the children they were standing around while the kids just got on with it one day they were doing tennis they got 2 tennis rackets out and a ball staurt (the team staff) had to go and get more bats and balls even though they new how many kids there were befor e they went outside then after about five to tens minutes they sat down talking to someone my husband and my son interacted with the kids they are only… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“Good value holiday”

Written on: 17/04/2012

We arrived slightly early for check in and were greeted politley by staff who offered us map and entertainement passes etc to wait , overall first impression was good and restaraunt/ bar good value nice food and child friendly , Caravan VERY clean no issues at all , staff all very friendly and willing to help , entertainement/ disco at night good for kids and grown ups although only downfall was very overpriced gifts behind bar ie glow sticks , bubble blower gun etc spent a small fortune on… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“After reading the reviews on here and another review...”

Written on: 21/05/2011

After reading the reviews on here and another review centre I was dreading my stay at Sandy Bay Holiday Park. I'm delighted to say I had a positive stay and I have already booked another caravan for three months time!!

I received a letter five days before I was due to check in informing me that because I was staying in a Silver Plus Accomodation I could checkin in at 2:30pm, which I already knew after visiting their website and receiving the confirmation letter. I read in some of the reviews… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“we went to whitley bay park resort was the worst...”

Written on: 07/11/2010

we went to whitley bay park resort was the worst holiday weve ever been on we arrived on the friday 4a week they never had no food in the pub ran out of toilet roll on the saturday but thought it was ok 2play kids game called wrap mummys up so no toliet roll left entertainment was shocking the fluffy rabbit came on at 8.30pm til 8.43pm shocking we trying 2order a meal 4times to the answer its the end of the session and weve ran out of alot of food we left on the sunday couldnt stand it any more… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Leonard5640's Comment

Written on: 26/02/2011

I found this review very helpful because.It gives an insight in to the continuing conditions found at this resort and certainly conditions that would affect any hlidaying decisions I might make..

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Just come back from this site and would never revisit....”

Written on: 30/08/2010

Just come back from this site and would never revisit. We where in a tourer, the pitches where all uneven resulting in flooding when it rained. You could pich anywhere even awning to awning which is a fire hazard and not allowed on any other site i have been on. The showers were dirty and old and certainly not cleaned reguarly as they claim. Security where no where in site on our first night when there was about 5-6 people swearing and fighting form 0030hrs to 0730hrs. I would not recommend… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Leonard5640's Comment

Written on: 26/02/2011

I found this review very helpful becauseit gives an insight as to the continuing conditios found at this resort,conditions which have been manifest for several years...

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Sandy Bay Caravan site was the worst holiday I have...”

Written on: 13/07/2010

Sandy Bay Caravan site was the worst holiday I have ever been on, we arrived on the saturday to a disgusting caravan. The double bed was broken, there was food on the kitchen floor and crumbs in the drawers and on the units. The bathroom made us bork just opening the door. We told the staff we would be leaving due to the state of the caravan, they apoligised and gave us another caravan to look at. Although this was a little cleaner we couldnt face staying there, the beds had fresh clean… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Leonard5640's Comment

Written on: 26/02/2011

I found this review very helpful because it gives insight in to the continuing conditions found at this resort, conditions which are reflected in other reviews...

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★★☆

“Having read the reviews on here I was worried about...”

Written on: 20/06/2010

Having read the reviews on here I was worried about what we would find when we arrived at Sandy Bay. Our caravan, although basic was clean and had everything we needed. The beds had been freshly made up. The site is right at the beach and my son loved playing there. The entertainment complex isn't huge but perfectly adequate. We ate in the restuarant once during our stay - the food was fine. The swimming pool changing area could be doing with an upgrade - cubicles don't lock and lockers consist… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Leonard5640's Comment

Written on: 26/02/2011

I found this review not helpful because it did not reflect the views of other reviewers and seemed to be a one off. However individuals eperiences and expectations may vary and this may be the case here

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 1
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“When arriving at our caravan, we were greeted with a...”

Written on: 13/05/2010

When arriving at our caravan, we were greeted with a bag of rotten food underneath which was being pecked at by seagulls. Once inside the caravan, there was mud and grass allover the floor. The curtains were hanging off and there was mouldy food on the seats and inbetwwen the seats. There was about an inch of dust everywhere and there were toenail clippings on the windowsills. As we had travelled 150miles to get there and with the kids being so excited, this was a major dissappointment. We had… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Leonard5640's Comment

Written on: 26/02/2011

I found this review very helpful because it gives an insight to the conditions found on this ammenity and would be instrumental in holidaying decisions I would make...

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★☆☆

“I have just returned from sandybay...”

Written on: 30/03/2010

I have just returned from sandybay northumberland,after reading revews was quite worried about whot it would be like,We arrived at 3pm couldnt get into caravan till 4,but staff where all very friendly and helpful.
The caravan was clean and warm ,heating in bedrooms which was a suprise as it was a bronze caravan we didnt up grade,it was a bit dated and shower head kept droping off ,but all in all ok.
The site itself was ok ,shop ,swiming pool,resturant,etc
To sum up nice and handy base to see… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Leonard5640's Comment

Written on: 26/02/2011

I found this review somewhat helpful because aalthough describing facilities found by the reviewer it does not state why they would not return to the amenity. This would leave me as a reader wondering why given the other reviews found on this facility

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 1
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“This caravan sight is disgusting. If you are...”

Written on: 25/10/2009

This caravan sight is disgusting. If you are considering going DON'T!!! We walked into the caravan and were met by the stink of fags. The beds had not been touched since the previous occupants had left so we had to strip the dirty bedding off before making them up!! The caravan was so dirty we were concerned for the safety of our children. Our daughter found filthy rubbish under her bed, we were worried every time a cupboard was opened as to what would be inside it. It was clear that nobody had… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Leonard5640's Comment

Written on: 26/02/2011

I found this review helpful because it gives insight in to the amenities and conditions on the facility. It does not extend to the amenities in the area however does give enough information to make decisions on holiday arrangements I would wish to make

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“went to sandy bay northumberland park resort for five...”

Written on: 22/10/2009 by neelix 3 (1 review written)

went to sandy bay northumberland park resort for five days,caravan stunk of cigarette smoke,sticky floor,dirty,grubby,broken bed,strong smell of urine in main bedroom.complained to cleaners,they said they would fix it. other caravan guests came back hammered,shouting,screaming,swearing,went on til 1 am,security came out,he joined in,as they were celebrating newcastle winning. complained to management,said it was high spirits. bed was fixed wednesday,wednesday night security came out to other… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Leonard5640's Response to neelix 3's Review

Written on: 26/02/2011

This review was very helpful as it gives an insight as to the conditions on this facility which are repeated in other reviews on this and other sites and would be instrumental in any holidaying decisions I may wish to make

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Sandybaystinks's Response to neelix 3's Review

Written on: 01/09/2012

Just stayed here (Aug 2012) and it hasn't improved./ Stinks of fags,Site was a quagmire, on arrival most lights were blown, cutlery drawer broken , poorly botched an utensils strewn in bottom of cupboardscrews/nails stickimg out everywhere. I would not recommend Here!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
Read 2 Comments
★★☆☆☆

“Having foolishly read reviews of Sandy Bay, Newbiggin...”

Written on: 27/09/2009

Having foolishly read reviews of Sandy Bay, Newbiggin after we had booked our holiday we were dreading it. But the caravan, which we booked direct with the owner, was clean, though showing signs of age and smelt of stale cigarette smoke in the bathroom. The site was also showing signs of age. The kids loved the beach which had everything - sand, superb rock pools and even a river where they could sail the dinghy, but there was very little dry sand at high tide and so wouldn't be a good beach… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Leonard5640's Comment

Written on: 26/02/2011

I found this review very helpful because.It gave an insight as to just what is available on this site and attractions or otherwise..

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★☆☆

“Sandy Bay Holiday Park, Northumberland: Caravan:...”

Written on: 14/09/2009

Sandy Bay Holiday Park, Northumberland: Caravan: generally was clean and tidy on arrival with everything we needed. Was on quite a nice a spot as we had a sea view. Although duvets and pillows were a bit grubby with some stains. ( would recommend taking your own)

Site: was relatively tidy with ample bin stations throughout the site. The walk to the beach is difficult - you wouldn't be able to get a buggy/pram down there and not suitable for the infirm however, a nice stretch of beach which… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Leonard5640's Comment

Written on: 26/02/2011

I found this review very helpful because.it gave me some ideas as to the facilities and activitirs at the establishment ..

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★★☆

“sandy bay holiday park was the best holiday i have had...”

Written on: 09/08/2009

sandy bay holiday park was the best holiday i have had in a caravan although i got a rash with the filty bedding… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Leonard5640's Comment

Written on: 26/02/2011

I found this review not helpful because.it did state the facilities or attractions, would have been very worried if the conditions were so bad that I came out in a rash.leaves many questions unanswered..

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 1
Read 1 Comment
☆☆☆☆☆

“Was due to stay at Sandy Bay Holiday Park for a week,...”

Written on: 02/05/2009

Was due to stay at Sandy Bay Holiday Park for a week, arrived on the monday to a damp smelly van with a mouldy mattress, complained and staff gave us another van which was filthy, feet stuck to kitchen floor, bits of food on cuttlery and plates. Carpet in living area was filthy. Food in restaurant was appauling, 2 year old daughters meal arrived cold. whole site was unclean and not looked after, beach was filthy full of litter. left the site tuesday morning 9am. staff very unhelpful. DO… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Leonard5640's Comment

Written on: 26/02/2011

I found this review very helpful because.it gives a full reflection of the conditions found by the reviewer and would certainly influence any decisions I would be considering regarding the amenity..

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
Read 1 Comment
☆☆☆☆☆

“Sandy Bay Holiday Park, Northumberland was probably...”

Written on: 22/04/2009 by Blades1 (1 review written)

Sandy Bay Holiday Park, Northumberland was probably the worst we have stayed at in the Uk. Old, unclean, curtains hanging off the windows and damp in the caravan. One park for the kids on the main road to the site, nothing else to do. Came home early it was that bad !!!… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Leonard5640's Response to Blades1's Review

Written on: 26/02/2011

I found this review very helpful because.it gave me an insight in to the facilities and condition and would be very instrumental in making a decision whether to stay there or not or whether to place a caravan on the site !..

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
Read 1 Comment
☆☆☆☆☆

“Wrote to company, sent photographs of caravan ie,...”

Written on: 05/11/2008 by luckyhappygirl (2 reviews written)

Wrote to company, sent photographs of caravan ie, window mould, 3 inches of dust and mould on beds, cigarette burns on furnishings and floor, hole in wall. I didn't even stay the time I paid for… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Leonard5640's Response to luckyhappygirl's Review

Written on: 26/02/2011

I found this review very helpful because.the review gives an insight in to the conditions there which are also reinforced by reviews on other websites.The review would be instrumental in holidaying decisions I would make..

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
Read 1 Comment
overview