Winchelsea Sands Holiday Park, Sussex Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★★☆☆
2.8 / 5
50% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Quality of accommodation

  • Quality of food

  • Staff

  • Children's entertainment

  • Adult entertainment

  • Facilities

  • Proximity to local amenities

  • Proximity to local attractions

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Winchelsea Sands Holiday Park, Sussex - Ask a question now

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“Nightmare Break.”

Written on: 25/05/2019 by ruLoomis284 (1 review written)

My husband and I booked a weeks break at Winchelsea Sands, expecting to have a lovely time especially as my husband has had a 4 heart stent operation and needs another 2 stents later in the year. When we arrived there was a party in the next caravan ,with a football being constantly kicked against our caravan. We looked out quite a few times but the adults did not stop or say a word. This carried on until the early hours of the morning. My husband MUST not get agitated due to his condition so… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“travellers”

Written on: 17/03/2017 by troubledandfedup (1 review written)

Looked ok when we arrived but after a day or so a few families of travellers arrived and total disruption ensued. It got so bad lots of families left early. Traveller kids running around with totalvdisregard for others. Adults drunk and harassing holuday makers banging on caravans and using threatening behaviour. Litter and broken beer bottles strewn everywhere. Music blaring out at 4.30 am. Police called but helpless to . Park staff clueless. Avoid at all costs. Our only option was leave… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★★★☆

“Very happy ”

Written on: 14/10/2015

This is a small friendly and clean camp, I would have given 5 stars apart from I couldn't find a child play area for children… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Great place to stay”

Written on: 04/07/2015 by Maz44 (1 review written)

Took my mum to Winchelsea sands in Rye for a Sun holidays break. On arrival was met by 2 friendly ladies on reception and given our keys and park details. Caravan was clean, tidy and comfortable, with everything needed to make our stay good. The beach is just across the road down a small lane and is beautiful. Rye old town centre is 5 minutes away and is a lovely place to browse around the lanes looking into lots of different shops. The only shop to get essential items from is a Co-op outside… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“a wonderful escape”

Written on: 29/07/2014 by YaritzaHolbrook1974 (1 review written)

we have been to this caravan site twice and loved it , my ten year old daughter had a wonderful time and made lots of friends, my family and i loved the peaceful beach and it was great for our dog,also the sea was safe and lovely to swim in,we were lucky enough to swim every day!also there were lovely walks for all the family, the caravan site was friendly and brilliant for familys, can understand why so many people buy caravans there. … Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“fun cheap break away”

Written on: 20/06/2014 by LeaFowler (2 reviews written)

I went to this caravan park June 2014, we enjoyed our stay so much we re booked for the following weekend. Site clean, lovely caravans and staff very friendly. my daughter loved the children entertainment. Would def recommend for a break away with family and friends… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“fantastic holiday park”

Written on: 31/08/2013 by meltonlass (1 review written)

We have been coming here three times a year for the last 3 years & love it.We bring our grandchildren for a week in the school holidays & despite the arduous 6 hour journey fro Yorkshire,they can't wait to come back.All the caravans we have stayed in have been of a very high standard & spotlessley clean,as is the whole park.All the staff are friendly & very helpful.The last time we were down there,our 7 year old grandaughter wandered off & got lost.The managers wife found her,comforted her &… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“Good location but don't expect much”

Written on: 27/07/2012

Booked a 4 day midweek break here on the bronze caravan booking. Was a bit worried about what the caravan was going to be like judging by other reviews on here. Generally the caravan itself was clean, well equipped with crisp white sheets and a really comfy double bed. The only concern was that the gas boiler had a open flame pilot light, as the protective plate was missing. It freaked me out a bit as it was in easy reach of the kids sticking there fingers in!! It was the site that was the… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“FANTASTIC weekend away at a GREAT holiday park”

Written on: 19/06/2012 by millwallboys (1 review written)

Just spent a long weekend @ the best caravan park in the U.K.modern large caravan fully equiped with with every thing you would need for a self catering holiday very clean & well located,if you dont want to cook the resteraunt food was good quality reasonabley priced,pleanty to do if you have young children the entertainment staff were fantastic thanks Loopy & Cyril for a great weekend & thanks to the bar staff for their prompt service.we will be booking again for another weekend this… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“sack the cleaning staff”

Written on: 16/10/2011

i got a caravan for 3 nights good price and they said it was the best van they had on site when i picked the key up and found the van i was in deep shock the outside was rotten with dirt birds mess and the windows hadnt been cleaned for a very long time.this told me one thing the inside would be dirty. i entered the van and it was disgusting smelt of grease and chip fat the toliet was revolting there was cob webs everywhere the list goes on and on. this van was clearly unloved it took me 4… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Guest's Comment

Written on: 09/02/2012

as for sack the cleaners ever thought about the mess some holiday makers do make in the caravans if you spent 4 hours cleaning it more fool you,their are cleaners available at all times,why didnt you report it .why clean your self .better still if it WAS as bad as you say why saty ?.why not ask for money back or change of caravans~??~your answear to sack the cleaners is pathetic they work very hard to give people a nice holiday try understanding.cant beleave you cleaned it yourself nice one lol and ther is a resturant on site the lobster pot try looking .

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Albertine's Comment

Written on: 27/07/2012

I don't blame her for cleaning it herself. You don't get the impression that another van will be any better at Winchelsea or that the cleaners will spend 4hrs doing it, 4 mins more like. Obviously the cleaners had already 'done' it to a standard they thought acceptable........ At the end of the day, responsibility comes down to the company allowing caravans to be rented out that are substandard. And there's a limit to how much you can clean away..........

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Guest's Comment

Written on: 10/02/2012

this to me sounds rather silly .WHY DID YOU CLEAN IT?.WHY NOT REPORT IT ? WHY NOT ASK FOR ANOTHER CARAVAN ?.WHY DIDNT YOU COMPLAINE ?. THE CLEANERS WORK VERY HARD TO MAKE YOUR STAY A NICE ONE .NEARLEY ALL YOUR COMPLAINTS ARE AGAINST THE CLEANERS. THIS IS NOT THEIR FAUALT THAT IS ANOTHER DEPARTMENT NOT THE CLEANERS AS FOR SACKING THEM YOU REALLY OUT OF ORDER AND AS FAR AS I CAN SEE YOU ARE LIEING .I WOULDNT GO ON HOLIDAY AND SPEND 4 HOURS CLEANING A CARAVAN I WOULD HAVE BEEN TO REPORT IT STRAIGHT AWAY .WHY DIDNT YOU?? AS FOR STAINES ECT ITS ONLY THE HOLIDAY MAKERS SOME WHO DO THIS NOT THE CLEANING STAFF CHECK YOUR FACTS AND GET IT RIGHT

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 3 Comments
★★★★☆

“Fine for a cheap and cheerful family weekend break”

Written on: 01/09/2011 by MRunnicles (1 review written)

A lot of the reviews I've seen on Winchelsea Sands have been appallingly bad, so it's fair to say we arrived with low expectations. No doubt each individual case is different, but overall ours was a good experience. For me there is a distinction between a caravan that is dirty, and one that is subject to general wear and tear through use week-in week-out throughout the year. Sure, the carpets and upholstery were marked, but I don't think you should expect "brand new" quality in a holiday… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Dirty Caravans ”

Written on: 05/07/2011

If you go to Winchelsea holiday Park, take your cleaning equipment as very dirty caravans, We stayed in 2 as the first one had a hyperdermic needle down the side of sofa,not good when you have a two year old with you. along with a fridge door kept opening, very dirty saucepan,mould everywhere, smoke alarm hanging from ceiling no battery,no battery in carbonminoxide alarm. The second caravan was clearly a pet one dirty hair everywhere. bigger than the first it had three bedrooms, but mouldy… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“We were so disapointed with the Winchelsea Sands...”

Written on: 30/10/2010

We were so disapointed with the Winchelsea Sands Holiday site. The caravan was filthy yet we had to wait for it to be cleaned. It was very moldy, black mould on walls, curtains, around the sink and shower which we did'nt use but mold was in the air and after two nights of a husband not being able to breath because of it we went home - stinking of damp. The cultery hadn't been washed properly so we bought plastic plates and cutlery from the shop next to the site. The staff there were polite… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“TERRIBLE TERRIBLE went to winchelsea sands 9th october...”

Written on: 24/10/2010

TERRIBLE TERRIBLE went to winchelsea sands 9th october caravans were so dirty in one of the caravans cooker door broken fridge broken no light in kitchen we went away to get away form stress and going there brought us more stress such a shame had been looking forward to going what a let down we ask to be moved after one night to which thay done for us to another caravan site had viewed 4 caravans in one day thay were all dirty never never again to be honest i putting complaint in try get the… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“just back from winchelsea sands caravan park , awfull...”

Written on: 21/09/2010

just back from winchelsea sands caravan park , awfull , not the word , had 3 bed caravan, had a small dog with us, caravan was dirty, the smell awfull and not clean , they did come to clean it, but shampoo the carpets that were soaking wet, and then moved us to a 2 bed caravan , nicer, but to small, i had to come home with my baby, left family there .NEVER NEVER NEVER TO RETURN… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“stayed in a bronze caravan which was a mistake i had...”

Written on: 06/07/2010 by marcdtr (1 review written)

stayed in a bronze caravan which was a mistake i had to clean the van it was very dirty and the bedding had blood on it which needed to be changed.The vans are very old and close together.The children areas were taped off because they were falling down and the take away was a nasty.Overall it was a cheap holiday for a reason!!!

The good points:its near the sea and rye is a nice place.

Would i stay again NEVER!!!… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★☆☆

“Just back from winchelsea sands Holiday park nice...”

Written on: 14/08/2009

Just back from winchelsea sands Holiday park nice small park clean and the caravan was nice good staff on site , The entertainment was poor no booked in acts until saturdays only. ,Winchelsea it self is a pure Gem thay have a good Bus service but not on sundays 1 shop a co op close to site and 2 pubs close, One is The ship inn is nice if your looking for peace then winchelsea is for you. A good price Holiday from park holidays ,but please get your entertainment better in 2010 season . … Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“Went to Winchelsea Sands Holiday Park. Would visit...”

Written on: 17/09/2008 by bill paterson (1 review written)

Went to Winchelsea Sands Holiday Park. Would visit area again, came home leaving lots still to do. unfortunately Hastings do not like the Scots, well Scottish Money - pleased we are all one country and our notes must be accepted!… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
overview