HF Holidays Reviews - www.hfholidays.co.uk

Click here if this is your business
★★★★☆
4.4 / 5
82% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Beauty of scenery

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
HF Holidays www.hfholidays.co.uk - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for HF Holidays www.hfholidays.co.uk

HF Holidays www.hfholidays.co.uk

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

★★★★★

“Altshellach ”

Written on: 05/06/2019

I really enjoyed my short holiday in Scotland. I would like to say a big thank you for all Altshellach's staff. Thank you hfholidays… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★☆☆

“Norway Ulvik”

Written on: 31/03/2017 by Tamralph (1 review written)

We have been on HF Holiday trips about 10 times. This trip was miserable mainly due to the hotel they used which also catered to large Asian tour groups; 5 to 6 tour buses a night for one night stays. The food was medicore at best, the rooms run down, often no hot water and management that was overwhelmed and of no help. At our last session where our group evaluated the trip the consensus including the tour leaders was the hotel, and food was terrible. The hiking was average and no more… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“Walking in the Dolomites, Italy - Selva”

Written on: 20/09/2015 by GR2015 (1 review written)

This was our first walking holiday with HF and my wife and I were very impressed. Hotel Molleier in Selva was a wonderful place to stay. The staff were helpful and had a great sense of humour. The meals were exceptional. Our guides were very professional and each evening the walks were explained. They made certain to look out for the group needs and cater for individuals in the group who had special needs. The walks were exception with spectacular scenary and each day bought a different vista… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★★★★

“Montenegro. Excellent holiday at Petrovac”

Written on: 22/05/2015 by CaitlynMcCall (1 review written)

Mountainous country, very good walking area with excellent views etc, except for areas of over developed coastline with many half built hotels etc. These not otherwise a problem as not included in the walking. Leadership very good, quick to deal with any problems. Knowledgeable and well organised. Valuable experiences within the walking. Eg. 2 hour boat trip with knowledgeable National Park guide, Visit to monastery. Hotel very good, big hotel complex being constructed next… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 1
★☆☆☆☆

“No integrity at HF Holidays”

Written on: 19/03/2015 by Bailey264 (1 review written)

Sadly I'll never be able to review an HF Holiday. My 80 year old mother and I had a special trip booked through HF, paid in full months ago, only to hear from them this week that we were being 'bumped' for a larger group booking at the same venue. Proceed with caution. This is a company that cares only about money, not their customer. … Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 3 0
★★★★★

“You Can not get better with H.F. Holidays, ”

Written on: 30/05/2014 by Arwelfa (1 review written)

I have just returned from Derwent Bank, H.F. holiday house. I can highly recommened the total package of guided Walking, For the ones that have not been with H.F. There are 3 level walks, The week of 21/5.2014/ There were 3 excellent leaders, One female who, was confident highly skilled, had a lot of patience, Nothing was too much trouble for her.. she was very good and gave the guided walking group, Pictures, by demonstrated on a projector the briefing of the walk for the next day. This… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 1
★★★★☆

“How do they justify the huge single supplements?”

Written on: 30/11/2013

The holidays I have been on have been well organised and well thought-out, but how do they justify the huge single supplements? They offer to find a fellow traveller to share, but if they can't the option is to pay the supplement or lose your deposit. It puts some of the holidays I would like out of reach. The supplements seem to bear no relation to reality. I recently looked up a trip to Canada - the single supplement for 12 days was a whopping £627, that's more than £50 a day. Yet when I… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Goldentrain's Comment

Written on: 11/09/2014

I work for a UK tour operator and I am surprised when you say that none of the hotels you checked charged a single supplement. I have never come across a hotel that doesn't (we use hotels and guest houses/bed & breakfast). Usually as a single traveller, you would be offered £10-£20 discount per night from the price of a room for double occupancy. So yes, single supplements (at least in the UK) are unfortunately always pretty substancial.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“Monk coniston 5 days Monday to Friday pleased to see...”

Written on: 19/11/2013

Monk coniston 5 days Monday to Friday pleased to see that the easy walking was a good length easy walkers like a good walk they just don't like to climb as they get older. Guides very good on all walkes… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 1
★★★★★

“Excellent singing and walking holiday at Newfield Hall”

Written on: 18/11/2013

A member of the team led our 4 day holiday which was busy - singing after breakfast then out walking until tea time followed by singing either before dinner or after. On the last evening we sang 4 of the songs we had learned to the rest of those staying in the house. We sang in villages churches and chapels, by rivers and in fields. We had of course all the benefits of the HF breakfasts, terrific packed lunches and superb dinners. We were a group of 16 several of whom had been on his previous… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 1
★★★★★

“fantastic walks, leaders and great activities for the kids”

Written on: 29/08/2013

Made to feel welcome on arrival, my family and I soon settled in to a warm and friendly atmosphere. 3 course meals each night, cooked breakfasts and packed lunches for walks. My two children (12 yrs and 14 yrs), enjoyed the activities led by competent leaders, which included climbing and abseiling, caving, canoeing and george walking, whilst my wife and I in the company of other parents, walked either low, medium or high category walks in the Brecon Beacons, Black Mountains and the Brecon… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 1
★★★☆☆

“Hills views and tarmac”

Written on: 24/06/2013 by PhilBray (1 review written)

I was a member of a group of about 30 walkers who go to an HF walking holiday every year. My review of Church Stretton, 8th to 15 July 2013. Room 42 comments in no particualr order. - bathroom should have a fitting to hold the shower hose - there should be a shower curtain - the heated rails on which the towels rest was on the whole time we were there making the bathroom so warm that we had to leave the window open. - the loo roll holder is loose - the toilet seat is uncumfortable and the lid… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“Touring with HF in the Sri Lanka monsoon isn't much fun. ”

Written on: 20/06/2012

Despite the brochure suggesting the holiday was not in the rainy season, it rained practically non-stop, a full on monsoon. All the local guides said it was the rainy season, so we were quite surprised at the brochures lack of clarity, and only recommending an umbrella and waterproofs - if you are thinking of booking to travel in November/December, take two sets of full waterproofs and walking shoes, one set to wear and one to dry. A good umbrella is essential. Expect long hours on a very… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★★★☆

“Walking north west Norfolk coast”

Written on: 02/09/2011

To summarize I was very pleased with my holiday and would recommend this holiday to anyone who wishes to walk in Norfolk. I was impressed with the hotel particularly all the facilities including the room and all the meals. The only minor reservation is the picnic lunches. I was very impressed with the two walk leaders specifically their navigation and local knowledge. With reference to the walks, I enjoyed all the walks, however the one walk where I have some reservations is the walk from… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Fantastic value, superb food and well organised.”

Written on: 31/08/2011

I spent 4 days at Freshwater Bay Hotel run by HF holidays. I was on a guided walking holiday but there were others on a painting holiday and some doing their own thing with their children. We had tea and cake on arrival with a walk preview meeting and after dinner quizzes or talks each evening. The meals were superb, very hot, plenty of choice inc. vegetarian and gluten free. The serving staff were very efficient and our picnic lunches were incredible. So much choice of sandwiches, salad boxes… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 1
★★★★★

“A truly memorable holiday!”

Written on: 20/08/2011 by angelaholman11 (1 review written)

We had a wonderful holiday in Peru, visiting Lima, Cuzco, Urubamba and walking the stunning (and exhausting) Inca Trail to Machu Picchu. Our two guides were outstanding and added enormously to the trip, including taking us to a bustling produce market and explaining the many uses of local plants - and finding some great restaurants. One hotel was less comfortable than the others, but it was a late substitute for a new one that hadn't been completed. The scenery throughout was breathtaking and… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 1
★★★★★

“Just back from a 5 day freedom break at Whitby lucky...”

Written on: 19/10/2010

Just back from a 5 day freedom break at Whitby lucky with dry weather and enjoyed walking everyday. Choice of food excellent, homemade soups delicious. I'm coeliac so have to eat a gluten free diet, catered well for this with plenty of choice. Sue the manager very helpful. Although we weren't doing an organised holiday still joined in with the leader led evening entertainment which is fun. HF holidays are good for people of all ages who like to mix and have fun, noticed lots of single people go… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“HF Guided Walking holiday in French Alps, staying in...”

Written on: 06/10/2010

HF Guided Walking holiday in French Alps, staying in les Contamines. Absolutely great. Fantastic scenery. Hard walks but so rewarding! Excellent guides. Definitely going with HF again next year!
Excellent friendly hotel. Delicious, varied and plentiful food… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Isle of Arran, Scotland was a beautiful, rugged...”

Written on: 01/09/2010

Isle of Arran, Scotland was a beautiful, rugged friendly venue for a holiday.
HF hotel, Altachorvie at Lamlash was a very comfortable country house with fantastic views over the Holy Isle.
The food was gererous and interesting and the house managers were so friendly and welcoming, even putting sweet peas in our rooms.
I booked by phone at short notice and I forgot to ask the address! no problem as everyone new the HF hotel on this small island!… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“I was in Slovenia in the Julian Alps for two weeks...”

Written on: 13/07/2010

I was in Slovenia in the Julian Alps for two weeks June 19-July 3. Everything was more than satisfactory. My only observation is that, although it is mentioned in the brochures that local transportation cost is not being included in the rate, I think it should be, because the rate was shocking (85 Euros/week). We were explained that this is due to the high cost of renting a bus for a day. I understand that - but it would have been much better had that been included in the package… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“I have just returned from a week's walking holiday in...”

Written on: 25/04/2010

I have just returned from a week's walking holiday in Benimaurell southern Spain which was absolutely fantastic. The hotel was in a marvellous position, clean, comfortable and excellent food. The leaders were first rate and nothing was too much trouble. When we were unable to get home by air the holiday company put us up in the hotel for three extra days and arranged all our transport home with additional stop overs, meals etc.. all at no extra charge. They were amazing and I would certainly… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
overview