HF Holidays www.hfholidays.co.uk

Click here if this is your business
HF Holidays www.hfholidays.co.uk
★★★★☆
4.3
79.0% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Beauty of scenery

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
HF Holidays www.hfholidays.co.uk - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for HF Holidays www.hfholidays.co.uk

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

“Mountains and Deserts if Morocco ”

★★☆☆☆

written by Carolina407 on 20/03/2023

Don’t go on this trip unless you enjoy spending most of your time in a minibus. One day we travelled for 12 hours, not reaching our hotel until 8.40 and then eating our evening meal at 9.30pm. The hotels were of a very high standard but there was no time to enjoy them as we’d be off again the following morning. Not much walking on what was supposed to be a walking holiday. In fact, we were just bussed vast distances from one tourist trap to another.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Altshellach ”

★★★★★

written by on 05/06/2019

I really enjoyed my short holiday in Scotland. I would like to say a big thank you for all Altshellach's staff. Thank you hfholidays.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Norway Ulvik”

★★★☆☆

written by Tamralph on 31/03/2017

We have been on HF Holiday trips about 10 times. This trip was miserable mainly due to the hotel they used which also catered to large Asian tour groups; 5 to 6 tour buses a night for one night stays. The food was medicore at best, the rooms run down, often no hot water and management that was overwhelmed and of no help. At our last session where our group evaluated the trip the consensus including the tour leaders was the hotel, and food was terrible. The hiking was average and no more dramatic then the Alps. The worst thing was HF Holidays response when we returned home and wrote letters concerning our trip. We basically received a form letter thanking us for our response and indicating they would look into the matter. HF was aware of the problems and the information on their web site misrepresented the hotel, amenities and walking in the area. One day was organized by a third party and was a Disney type of experience. HF has expanded greatly these past few years and no longer provides the service they once did. The trips in the UK have been better but be careful of ones on the continent.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 1

“Walking in the Dolomites, Italy - Selva”

★★★★☆

written by GR2015 on 20/09/2015

This was our first walking holiday with HF and my wife and I were very impressed. Hotel Molleier in Selva was a wonderful place to stay. The staff were helpful and had a great sense of humour. The meals were exceptional. Our guides were very professional and each evening the walks were explained. They made certain to look out for the group needs and cater for individuals in the group who had special needs. The walks were exception with spectacular scenary and each day bought a different vista to appreciate. One one of our walks one of our group suffered with altitude sickness and I was impressed to see how much care was taken for the individuals health and safety. Overall while it was expensive when taking into consideration the costs of flights from Australia we both thought that it was well worth the money and we would definitely recommend this trip to our friends and family. Our only difficulty was in making contact with HF via the Internet. It was only when we found a local agent did the information begin to flow in a timely fashion.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Montenegro. Excellent holiday at Petrovac”

★★★★★

written by CaitlynMcCall on 22/05/2015

Mountainous country, very good walking area with excellent views etc, except for areas of over developed coastline with many half built hotels etc. These not otherwise a problem as not included in the walking. Leadership very good, quick to deal with any problems. Knowledgeable and well organised. Valuable experiences within the walking. Eg. 2 hour boat trip with knowledgeable National Park guide, Visit to monastery. Hotel very good, big hotel complex being constructed next door but didn't present any real problem. Hotel grounds very well laid out and very attractive. Hotel staff friendly but professional, Food very good, all meals buffet style with plenty of choice. Useful discussion of the next day's walks each evening and interesting additional evening events Overall this is an excellent holiday as usual with HF in our experience. We did have cause to be a bit anxious about the admin. before departure. There were hints of office staff being too casual. This should be investigated asap. People must have confidence in the office staff at all cost. So, well done HF, we look forward to the next trip.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 1

“No integrity at HF Holidays”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Bailey264 on 19/03/2015

Sadly I'll never be able to review an HF Holiday. My 80 year old mother and I had a special trip booked through HF, paid in full months ago, only to hear from them this week that we were being 'bumped' for a larger group booking at the same venue. Proceed with caution. This is a company that cares only about money, not their customer.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 4 0

“You Can not get better with H.F. Holidays, ”

★★★★★

written by Arwelfa on 30/05/2014

I have just returned from Derwent Bank, H.F. holiday house. I can highly recommened the total package of guided Walking, For the ones that have not been with H.F. There are 3 level walks, The week of 21/5.2014/ There were 3 excellent leaders, One female who, was confident highly skilled, had a lot of patience, Nothing was too much trouble for her.. she was very good and gave the guided walking group, Pictures, by demonstrated on a projector the briefing of the walk for the next day. This gave a huge insight into the walks, John was a great but did not have a walk lead by him, The House is run by a Spanish manager, His wife is very helpful. The food is delicious. The "Help your self" packed lunch has a great choice, Sandwiches fresh, of your choice, has many as you wish to eat!!! The down side to the house, If I have to say, Do not go for the top floor rooms by choice. they are very tasteful,It is the stair case which is narrow and curved, with all your belongings, it is not the best to be repeatingly going up and down in the house,

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 1

“How do they justify the huge single supplements?”

★★★★☆

written by on 30/11/2013

The holidays I have been on have been well organised and well thought-out, but how do they justify the huge single supplements? They offer to find a fellow traveller to share, but if they can't the option is to pay the supplement or lose your deposit. It puts some of the holidays I would like out of reach. The supplements seem to bear no relation to reality. I recently looked up a trip to Canada - the single supplement for 12 days was a whopping £627, that's more than £50 a day. Yet when I looked up rates on the hotels that HF use, not one of them charged a single supplement. I did call HF to ask and was told that it was to cover lost profit on such items as the bar - do they really expect their guests to neck £50 worth of booze a night? Or indeed that a couple will spend £100 a day in a hotel on top of the accommodation and meals they have already paid for? It's such a shame, because for couples, they are good holidays. It seems that since my husband died, I have to get used to being told in all sorts of ways, you're not wanted on voyage.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Goldentrain's Comment

Written on: 11/09/2014

I work for a UK tour operator and I am surprised when you say that none of the hotels you checked charged a single supplement. I have never come across a hotel that doesn't (we use hotels and guest houses/bed & breakfast). Usually as a single traveller, you would be offered £10-£20 discount per night from the price of a room for double occupancy. So yes, single supplements (at least in the UK) are unfortunately always pretty substancial.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 2 0

“Monk coniston 5 days Monday to Friday pleased to see...”

★★★★★

written by on 19/11/2013

Monk coniston 5 days Monday to Friday pleased to see that the easy walking was a good length easy walkers like a good walk they just don't like to climb as they get older. Guides very good on all walkes

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 1

“Excellent singing and walking holiday at Newfield Hall”

★★★★★

written by on 18/11/2013

A member of the team led our 4 day holiday which was busy - singing after breakfast then out walking until tea time followed by singing either before dinner or after. On the last evening we sang 4 of the songs we had learned to the rest of those staying in the house. We sang in villages churches and chapels, by rivers and in fields. We had of course all the benefits of the HF breakfasts, terrific packed lunches and superb dinners. We were a group of 16 several of whom had been on his previous Singing and Walking holiday. It was a very enjoyable break and a successful new venture of HFLeisure Activity Holiday.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 1

“fantastic walks, leaders and great activities for the kids”

★★★★★

written by on 29/08/2013

Made to feel welcome on arrival, my family and I soon settled in to a warm and friendly atmosphere. 3 course meals each night, cooked breakfasts and packed lunches for walks. My two children (12 yrs and 14 yrs), enjoyed the activities led by competent leaders, which included climbing and abseiling, caving, canoeing and george walking, whilst my wife and I in the company of other parents, walked either low, medium or high category walks in the Brecon Beacons, Black Mountains and the Brecon National Park. These comprised mainly of 6 to 13 mile walks, through varied terrain and up to 3000 feet ascent. By the third day, we all were allowed a 'family day' and we enjoyed a visit to the atmosperic Show caves in the National Park - the caves being the major draw, not the bone collection! During 6 days, some walkers had walked 60 miles and ascended 12,000 feet! I would deffinately recommend Hf Holidays to any family with children between the ages of 11 and 17 - however, the involvement of outdoor leaders and their future emplyment is in doubt - it would be a shame if they were to be dropped.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 1

“Hills views and tarmac”

★★★☆☆

written by PhilBray on 24/06/2013

I was a member of a group of about 30 walkers who go to an HF walking holiday every year. My review of Church Stretton, 8th to 15 July 2013. Room 42 comments in no particualr order. - bathroom should have a fitting to hold the shower hose - there should be a shower curtain - the heated rails on which the towels rest was on the whole time we were there making the bathroom so warm that we had to leave the window open. - the loo roll holder is loose - the toilet seat is uncumfortable and the lid is noisily self closing in the middle fo the night -at breakfast the cereals table was in a bay window and absurdly crowded, it should be accessible from all sides - at the evening meal there should be some provision for people with smaller appetites, far to much food was wasted. - the system for selecting the evening meal whilst at breakfast is good. - the staff were all very helpful and cheerful - the walks were badly designed and had far too much tarmac and hard forest roads, too many stiles.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 1

“Touring with HF in the Sri Lanka monsoon isn't much fun. ”

★★☆☆☆

written by on 20/06/2012

Despite the brochure suggesting the holiday was not in the rainy season, it rained practically non-stop, a full on monsoon. All the local guides said it was the rainy season, so we were quite surprised at the brochures lack of clarity, and only recommending an umbrella and waterproofs - if you are thinking of booking to travel in November/December, take two sets of full waterproofs and walking shoes, one set to wear and one to dry. A good umbrella is essential. Expect long hours on a very cramped coach between hotels and visiting sights.Also expect the guides to change the itinerary without cosultation,a few guests managed Sigiriya Rock in a great rush in fading light, we missed it, they also changed the rail journey causing us to wait in a hotel for hours on end. Also expect to be herded into demonstrations of local crafts for a hard sell experience. Most of the temples visited are quite spectacular and well worth seeing, however do not go on this holiday if you want a few good walks included. With the exception of one lovely walk in the National Park the remaining walks are on tarmac roads and very disappointing given some of the beautiful countryside we passed through. The hotels ranged wildly from the top notch to the squalid, all the meals were buffet style, generally OK and acceptable. The local guides did their best to be friendly which partly made up for the lengthy journeys, however the accompanying UK leader was quite rude at times. A very disappointing experience given HF's good reputation.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 2 0

“Walking north west Norfolk coast”

★★★★☆

written by on 02/09/2011

To summarize I was very pleased with my holiday and would recommend this holiday to anyone who wishes to walk in Norfolk. I was impressed with the hotel particularly all the facilities including the room and all the meals. The only minor reservation is the picnic lunches. I was very impressed with the two walk leaders specifically their navigation and local knowledge. With reference to the walks, I enjoyed all the walks, however the one walk where I have some reservations is the walk from Castle Rising, Wolferton to Sandringham. I particularly liked the start of the walk walking along the river and the visit to Wolferton station. However I was surprised by the amount of road walking crossing the A149 three times. Also our arrival at Wolferton for lunch and final arrival to Sandringham seemed somewhat late. May I suggest a walk ‘’in and around Holkham’’ on a Thursday instead of this walk.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Fantastic value, superb food and well organised.”

★★★★★

written by on 31/08/2011

I spent 4 days at Freshwater Bay Hotel run by HF holidays. I was on a guided walking holiday but there were others on a painting holiday and some doing their own thing with their children. We had tea and cake on arrival with a walk preview meeting and after dinner quizzes or talks each evening. The meals were superb, very hot, plenty of choice inc. vegetarian and gluten free. The serving staff were very efficient and our picnic lunches were incredible. So much choice of sandwiches, salad boxes, cheeses, yoghurts, biscuit bars, crisps, cakes, crisps, fruit salad and dried fruits and nuts. There is the Dandelion cafe serving teas/coffees/smoothies and homemade cakes. The swimming pool is heated and the gardens very well maintained. The whole place is spotless and well run under the management of Tony Wootten who has been there for 22 years. I'll be back.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 1

“A truly memorable holiday!”

★★★★★

written by angelaholman11 on 20/08/2011

We had a wonderful holiday in Peru, visiting Lima, Cuzco, Urubamba and walking the stunning (and exhausting) Inca Trail to Machu Picchu. Our two guides were outstanding and added enormously to the trip, including taking us to a bustling produce market and explaining the many uses of local plants - and finding some great restaurants. One hotel was less comfortable than the others, but it was a late substitute for a new one that hadn't been completed. The scenery throughout was breathtaking and there was good variety in the walks. The Inca Trail was the highlight, although the effect of the altitude was greater than we had expected. Overall a holiday of a lifetime.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 1

“Just back from a 5 day freedom break at Whitby lucky...”

★★★★★

written by on 19/10/2010

Just back from a 5 day freedom break at Whitby lucky with dry weather and enjoyed walking everyday. Choice of food excellent, homemade soups delicious. I'm coeliac so have to eat a gluten free diet, catered well for this with plenty of choice. Sue the manager very helpful. Although we weren't doing an organised holiday still joined in with the leader led evening entertainment which is fun. HF holidays are good for people of all ages who like to mix and have fun, noticed lots of single people go on them. Their holidays aren't aimed at people who want to sit in their room eg no TV in rooms or hotel.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“HF Guided Walking holiday in French Alps, staying in...”

★★★★★

written by on 06/10/2010

HF Guided Walking holiday in French Alps, staying in les Contamines. Absolutely great. Fantastic scenery. Hard walks but so rewarding! Excellent guides. Definitely going with HF again next year!
Excellent friendly hotel. Delicious, varied and plentiful food.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Isle of Arran, Scotland was a beautiful, rugged...”

★★★★★

written by on 01/09/2010

Isle of Arran, Scotland was a beautiful, rugged friendly venue for a holiday.
HF hotel, Altachorvie at Lamlash was a very comfortable country house with fantastic views over the Holy Isle.
The food was gererous and interesting and the house managers were so friendly and welcoming, even putting sweet peas in our rooms.
I booked by phone at short notice and I forgot to ask the address! no problem as everyone new the HF hotel on this small island!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“I was in Slovenia in the Julian Alps for two weeks...”

★★★★★

written by on 13/07/2010

I was in Slovenia in the Julian Alps for two weeks June 19-July 3. Everything was more than satisfactory. My only observation is that, although it is mentioned in the brochures that local transportation cost is not being included in the rate, I think it should be, because the rate was shocking (85 Euros/week). We were explained that this is due to the high cost of renting a bus for a day. I understand that - but it would have been much better had that been included in the package.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

overview