Escape To The Country Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★★☆☆
3.0 / 5
63% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Escape To The Country - Ask a question now

Refine your search

Latest Reviews

★★★★☆

“Houses Shown on each Episode Often Higher than Budget”

Written on: 08/06/2022 by Leannay450 (1 review written)

Hello from Missouri! I so enjoy watching ETTC here in the States, it brings me a slice of Home as I am from London. The locations are indeed a travel through England tour guide - absolutely delightful!! That said - I have an issue with the properties shown. Simply put, they often exceed the stated budget. I find that annoying and while it is not a waste of my time ... it most certainly is a waste of the Buyers(s). Why show them anything over their budget? Why not show them houses below their budget or at least " not to exceed". For example: last evening we watched Season 21 Episode 14, " Pembrokeshire". The Buyer said she had a budget of 700,000UK and if the magic place was found she could find up to 900,000UK. - So, where did Alistair start? 750,000UK! With the average home price in P-shire being 300K, surely he could have found a 600K property for her. Even the 2 " if you are on a budget" homes were darling!! Show her that! I would like for the properties to honor the budget. Make every home affordable. Secondly - it would be nice if " I Escaped To The Country" could be shown or a show created to follow-up on the buyers. I would love to have an episode follow-up for when the buyers actually move. I truly want to know how they got on!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★☆☆

“Music too loud otherwise excellent show. ”

Written on: 06/04/2022 by Plaaskind (1 review written)

I struggle to hear what prenters and house hunters are saying because the background music is too loud, you don't need music while talking is going... It's frustrating and annoying.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 1
★★★★★

“episode 20/55 That couple from London , ”

Written on: 25/01/2022 by Meadows392 (1 review written)

The couple from London ,stay where you are ,pity the people next door ,so boring ,Nicki chapman usual excellent ,how does she keep her cool,with couples like that

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★☆☆☆

“Too expensive ”

Written on: 17/11/2021 by Rosscq237 (1 review written)

Why don't they show more realistic priced houses, I'm sure there is plenty of nice houses around that are not over half million pounds, it would be interesting to us poor folk to see something we could afford

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★★★☆

“Interiors Need Headroom for Tall Buyers”

Written on: 16/10/2021 by BeritJ (1 review written)

I’m based in the U.S. and have been watching your show for 6 months. While I enjoy the hosts, format of 3 homes, including the ‘Mystery House,’ beautiful gardens, the history lesson of each village and county, the very old and sometimes new architecture, and the British accents and words which vary from American English. However, there seems to be a glaring oversight which shows a 100% negative outcome when Buyers are choosing their homes. If one or both Buyers are tall, then are required to duck when touring home with beams, low doorways or climbing stairs, the house in question gets eliminated 100% of the time! Therefore, when the Host/Agent previews the property, this should be taken into consideration so that the Buyers truly get three valid choices. Otherwise, keep on broadcasting “Escape To The Country” in America, and as you say, “Off you go!”

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 3 0
★★☆☆☆

“Presenters act like estate agents ”

Written on: 28/09/2021 by VernonWilliam (1 review written)

It's a good premise for a show but the presenters are poor. They act like estate agents with a very limited vocabulary. Everything is "good size" "nice view" or "dual aspect" "farmhouse kitchen" "family bathroom" etc. An innordinate amount of emphasis seems to be put on nice views or good view. It's very repetitive. And every single room is described as a "good size" unless it is really small when it is "compact". The poor use of vocabulary makes the narrative almost meaningless. They also seem to have a vested interest in selling one of the properties even though many are quite unsuitable for the buyers. They should act more impartially. The best segments of the show are where they look at local history or crafts.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★★★☆☆

“Happy house hunting with blondie? ”

Written on: 16/10/2020 by Camilal160 (1 review written)

I love the show. I watch it almost everyday. I love the mystery house. I also love most of the Realtors with the exception of blondie.I have a big complaint about the blonde realtor. Most of the time she shows clients houses that are over their budget and their budgets aren't small. Does she need a hearing aid? I don't think that's considerate at all, of the people and their budget, or the energy they put in looking for these houses. She comes off a bit condescending I think. Thank you very much.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Vernonwilliam's Comment

Written on: 28/09/2021

Blondie ... do you mean Nikki Chapman?!

They are not realtors, they are presenters, but they do act like estate agents/realtors even though they should be more impartial.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 3 2
Read 1 Comment
★★★☆☆

“How to improve from a viewers view”

Written on: 23/07/2020 by 310Ogden (1 review written)

Love Johnny Irwin and Alistair Appleton presenting as they have a natural ease and humour which is entertaining and good viewing. My only criticism is that some of the same kind of programs view 6 properties,this one only views 3!! We don't watch for what's happening around the area or see local businesses or millionaire property. The total time of an hour program is no more than 20minutes actually viewing houses.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 3 0
★★★★☆

“Forever Home Concerns”

Written on: 23/06/2020 by Mooney313 (1 review written)

The writers/producers need to research the architectural features needed in homes as homeowners age - ground floor bedroom and full handicapped bath (these can really look great with sloped shower floors, teak benches, hand showers, no edging), no steps for the aging, better yet no thresholds, accommodate scooters not wheelchairs, wide hallways and doorways, pocket doos. The properties selected for viewing for aging or forever homes show serious ignorance of the design features needed as people age. They do not need to be shipped off to nursing homes if forever homes are properly designed. I love this show but the ignorance about the needs of the aging are grating. Do not rely only on handicap building codes - they do not pass the scooter test and other needed conveniences.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 3 0
★★★★☆

“why most of bed rooms are upstairs”

Written on: 21/02/2020 by downhome2020 (1 review written)

Really like the programs .since the likely hood of ever visiting Great Brit. we do like the scene shots and a little history of that area. Most of the people who want to escape seem tobe retired or almost as such. In most of the shows no one seems to want bed rooms down.It would appear as yo grow older this would be a BIG factor, climbing stairs.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 7 1
★★☆☆☆

“Property price”

Written on: 05/02/2020

I applied to be on the show on 17 July 2019. I have never heard from them since that date. I suspect the reason for this is the property price. Obviously, from a television point of view, the nicer and more attractive properties are those that are more expensive. I mentioned the maximum budget was in the region of about £260,000. For this reason, I suspect I've never heard back from Boundless TV. In which case, why do they not mention this at the application stage. I tried to phone them, but there's never anyone there and they don't get back. For these reasons, my review can be no more than poor. I would like to hear back from this programme.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 5 0
★☆☆☆☆

“No more music”

Written on: 05/02/2020 by McGinnisto12 (1 review written)

I have had to stop watching this programme as the background music is louder than the talking it completely ruins the show

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Smudger129's Comment

Written on: 03/07/2020

I certainly share your concern. I really like the idea portrayed by the programme but the music is very annoying. It often drowns out speech and I felt so relieved when we get the odd silent music break

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Yvonne.conolly's Comment

Written on: 25/09/2020

I very much agree with you. I am at a loss to understand the need for the unrelenting loud music. It often interferes with what the presenters and buyers say.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 2
Read 2 Comments
★★★☆☆

“Customers First”

Written on: 04/10/2019 by Hobbledehoye (1 review written)

The presenters should be reminded that their patronising criticisms of the clients can verge on the impertinent, even insolent, and that it isn't their money being spent! I have just watched an episode hosted by Aled Jones helping a wealthy Asian couple; his comments behind their backs were most inappropriate & disrespectful.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 4
★☆☆☆☆

“Intrusive background music”

Written on: 26/05/2019 by Timboooo (1 review written)

This once enjoyable programme has been ruined by the intrusive, so- called background music. It is too loud, repetitive and even overides the conversation at times. Do the producers ever listen to the programme prior to transmission? If they did they would surely realise that the music spoils the enjoyment of the programme.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 6 1
★☆☆☆☆

“Ridiculous background music”

Written on: 24/01/2018

Why do these good programmes keep playing music when people are talking is it really nessesary.. Unfortunately i turned the program off.. What is the point of it all. Disappointed viewer

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 5 1
★★☆☆☆

“Sick of the word character,”

Written on: 27/09/2017 by 489Kelleher (1 review written)

I like the idea of this show but..... I have several problems which reduce my enjoyment and at times makes me want to throw things at the TV. Firstly, why are participants often shown property that demonstrates many things they didn't ask for or definitely didnt want. Why only three houses in one hour. Too much time wasted showing contestants gardens or woodworking etc etc. very boring. But the one thing driving me to distraction is the constant word character. To me this means old, unattractive, ugly wooden beams, low ceilings and dreary usually dark rooms. This is why so many homes have all the lights on to make the rooms appear light. I detest the sloping ceilings in upstairs bedrooms designed to cause sore heads. i suspect this show is an advertising medium for real estate agents with hard to sell properties. And I can't stand little Jonnie Irwin who is so rude, trying to sell homes which the contestants don't like or homes which bear no relationship to what they requested and being peeved if they don't like the homes. His attitude is that if you ask for three bedrooms, a kitchen and sitting room and if the selected house demonstrates those requests , then why don't they buy it. He has no concept of kerb appeal or style or personal taste. Most people know when they see the right houseinstinctively. And the show's concept of what is a modern house is laughable.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Jenny1Hockey1's Comment

Written on: 19/01/2018

I so agree with these comments as we live in the year 2018 so show modern homes. I find it strange that people think a country home is old, low beams, dark wood and a country kitchen which would not be much different to a city kitchen. Why would anyone want to buy a so called character home that needs so much maintenance.i am sure the real esters have a say what homes need to be viewed as well. I do like the show but as the above person said show about five homes and get rid of all the other stuff and stop repeating things. We have already seen the house and what is in it so why show us again how many rooms etc.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Chattiapattia's Comment

Written on: 04/01/2019

Totally disagree, not every person moving to the country wants a newly built house with no character. What a boring show it would be if only new builds were shown. The whole point of it is to show the prospective buyers a range of properties available in the locations they choose and they can only show what's available at the time. Lots of buyers love quirky, dark, cosy rooms with sloping ceilings, I'm one of them.
As for the comments on Jonnie Irwin, I like him, lots of the prospective buyers want more than their budget allows and the presenters have to make them aware of what is available within their budget. Trying to persuade buyers to be realistic is hardly rude. Compromise always comes into house buying, the only way anyone can buy exactly what they want is to build it themselves and that's not what the show is about.
Keep up the good work Escape to the Country, the show is wonderful.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Pjdenton's Comment

Written on: 27/07/2020

Actually we can see why so many British want to move to Australia or America, the general standard of these homes is deplorable. Old, ugly, poorly presented, el cheapo fittings, kitchens and bathrooms usually a disgrace by world standards, even in the more expensive houses. Shocker.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 5 0
Read 3 Comments
★★★★☆

“Great show but they are all a mystery now”

Written on: 23/08/2017 by KentCouple56 (1 review written)

When this show started many moons ago the couple's used to look at a selection of properties on a lap top choose their favourites that they would like to see and if only say three properties caught their fancy then they had the choice of the mystery house, a house they could not see at this point on the laptop and would only be revealed to them once out viewing if they chose to see it. The format now is that they are shown properties they haven't chosen including a mystery house well surely they are all mystery houses as the couple have not chosen any of them I have always found this odd why they kept the so called mystery house in it. Apart from that love this programme looking at lovely houses in great locations. It's normally aimed at people of a certain age who always amaze me that they are prepared to take on sometimes huge houses with massive gardens when they are at a time of life where it will soon become a chore with the upkeep of it all and seem to consider the needs of family members who may visit a couple of times a year when they are making their decision. A programme that makes no demands of you but allows you into the thought processes of people looking to move which if you are like us causes debate about the various merits of the decisions made.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★★★★★

“Great show but....”

Written on: 23/07/2017 by Lambertma (1 review written)

Love escape to the country, all presenters are great except for Denise nurse. If she's presenting I switch channels. Her manner and irritating laugh just grates.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 3 1
★☆☆☆☆

“Repeats, Repeats”

Written on: 10/04/2017 by piplong (1 review written)

Not a week that goes by you turn on the T.V here in Tasmania and you will find that's ESCAPE TO THE COUNTRY is a repeat. I'm sure the producers just throw any episode on even if its been on the week before

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 2
★★★★☆

“WHINGING POMS”

Written on: 19/03/2017 by joyceboccabella (1 review written)

I love this show as do many of my Australian friends. However, it makes me mad when you get some of the English returning 'home' and knocking what you get in Australia such as the homes. I was really disgusted with one couple recently who said the food, fruit and vegetables, were not fresh or something to that effect. With regard to homes, Australia is a 'new' country and can't be expected to be like England, and as far as the food goes our produce is some of the best in the world. I'm glad those who whinge have gone back to where they belong.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 3
overview