Khyam Chatsworth Reviews

Click here if this is your business
Khyam Chatsworth
★★★☆☆
3.1
50.0% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Easy to erect?

  • Durability

  • Comfort

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Khyam Chatsworth - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Khyam Chatsworth

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

“not suitable in windy conditions, fabric really rips...”

★★★☆☆

written by christinesteven on 09/03/2019

not suitable in windy conditions, fabric really rips easily used this tent three times a twice it has needed extensive repairs because of windy conditions

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“For 25 years of Khyam experience”

★★★★★

written by El-Flitso on 24/07/2011

Hi there, 25 years ago I bought my first two and a half sleeper Khyam quick erect tent. In the 25 years khyam experience with sometimes realy heavy rains, Mistrals and thunder storms, the tent never fails. My daughter is using my 25 year old buddy now!! For 3 years ago I bought a bigger Chatsworth and have the same experience. Mistrals and thunder storms with heavy rains are no problem and we keep it dry and warm. But when I bought the Chatsworth the suplier gives me a good instuction. We setup the tent together. And that's realy importend for setting up the tent next time by yourself. Don't setup the tent for the first time at your first holiday night. But take your time to setup the tent in your backyard or citty parc before your holiday. Khyam is realy good but you need a good live instruction how to use it. Otherwise you damage the tent. By the way I expand my chatsworth in 6 minutes on my own!:-) Greets, El Netherlands

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Have found this tent to be exactly as anticipated. No...”

★★★★☆

written by on 24/04/2010

Have found this tent to be exactly as anticipated. No problems what so ever, spacious and easy to erect.........love it.Nothing to dislike in my opinion.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“There seems to be mixed reviews of this tent - our...”

★★★★☆

written by on 29/03/2010

There seems to be mixed reviews of this tent - our experience has been very good. We have been away for 2 x 2 week holidays, one of which was on a windswept Welsh clifftop (60 mile an hour winds), and the tent performed perfectly. During a storm, our tent held together with no ill effects, leaks etc, while others around us ended up with broken poles and torn fabric. We couldn't be happier, and believe that if the directions for erection are followed properly, there shouldn't be a problem. We highly recommend it!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“What have they done to the old khyam Excel that has...”

★★★★☆

written by on 20/08/2009

What have they done to the old khyam Excel that has turned it into the failure I read about in these reviews. We have just returned from a 4,000 mile tour of Europe and have camped many times with our tent in uk. It coped with howling gales in Glencoe, and monsoons in Europe . Our tent is now 5 years old, very well used, has never collected or leaked water, and as been robust in gales and rain. It is perfect. What has gone so badly wrong in the new Khyam Chatsworth model/ version of this wonderful old tent?

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“The Khyam Chatsworth was easy to erect, none of the...”

★★★★★

written by on 09/08/2009

The Khyam Chatsworth was easy to erect, none of the weatherproof problems mentioned in other reviews despite using it in wet/windy weather. Best tent weve ever had.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“I didn't click any stars at first, but that wasn't...”

★☆☆☆☆

written by mandymermaid on 28/07/2009

I didn't click any stars at first, but that wasn't acceptable! I actually don't believe it to be worth any stars.
I had a Kyam XL tent for 9 years and it stood up to everything the weather had to throw at it. Minor problems on the bedroom corner, but otherwise great. I bought the Chatsworth last year,as I liked the thought of an inbuilt groundsheet. The first time I used it was fine. There was a little rain, but all went well. The second time there was heavy rain and the bedroom pole bent, allowing water to pool and then drip into the tent. I contacted the supplier, who suggested a) storm damage (no storm), b)someone had fallen on it (no) or 3) it's only a summer tent (it was summer and the tent was expensive). The supplier agreed to send me a new pole, which I was reluctant to accept, but did so on the proviso that they would do something about it if the same thing happened this year. I have just returned from a camping trip and the same thing happened after a mere 15 minutes of rain. After looking at all the other tents on the field, we realised that the straight pole on the bedroom was a basic design fault - there was no gap in the pole sleeve, so water quickly accumulated and pooled, weighing down on the straight pole, which then bent. I wrote a letter last year, saying the tent was not fir for purpose, so have since emailed the comapny again to see what they are prepared to do.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Antony5378's Response to mandymermaid's Review

Written on: 11/03/2010

This exact same thing happened with my tent. The ceiling in the bedroom compartment was almost touching my nose it was holding that much water. Then i realised i'd made a big mistake. The pole which crosses the bedroom should be in tension (if it looks straight you've got it positioned wrong). By which i mean there should be an arch over the bedroom, if you haven't got this rotate the pole, it should be quite difficult to get into position.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Guest's Response to mandymermaid's Review

Written on: 26/06/2012

I have had the same problem as discussed her. The bedroom pole is meant to be arche d under tension with the hinged joints turned back on themselves and under unnatural stress, I have had numerous breaks in these joints on windy days and carry spares, The joint breaks at the highest stress point adjacent to the end of the inserted aluminium tube.
Funnily enough the earlier model of the tenthas a different arrangement here and is fine. I was camped alongside one the last time ours broke in a Force 5 strong breeze.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Guest's Response to mandymermaid's Review

Written on: 09/08/2011

Antony is right the bedroom pole should be in tension i.e. bowed outwards. However to do this you have to have the joints the otherway, this puts a lot of tension on the joints and if its windy they WILL snap. So really you're stuck either way. We have had ours for three years now, its OK having learned that keeping the poles in tension snaps the joints we have the bedroon cross poles horizontal instead. The joints are fine and luckily we have not had problems with the poles bending in heavy rain. Interstingly every time I see a Chatsworth when I'm camping I ask the owners if they have had any problems - and this problem comes up every time. I am amazed the manufacturers have not addressed this fundamental design flaw yet.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Brought this Khyam Chatsworth tent and annex for my...”

★★★★☆

written by don2 on 04/05/2009

Brought this Khyam Chatsworth tent and annex for my family of four (Two adults, two kids 11 & 4). Used twice so far and have found the tent to have plenty of room with the annex up. None of the problems have been experienced as stated in the previous reviews even though we did have fairly strong winds and a heavy downpour of rain during one of the nights. There was a fair amount of rain collected outside at the bedroom poles during the storm but was easily cleared by lowering one side to allow for draining. No water leaked through the polyester. The carpet is also a useful edition and was warm to stand on at all times, also gave a warmer feeling to the tent. The tent remained dry inside including annex and was warm even at lower temperatures, however not below 0 degrees. It has been a good tent so far and we are looking forward to our next camping trip in a couple of weeks.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“As with the other comment about the Khyam Chatsworth,...”

★☆☆☆☆

written by BrenR on 14/08/2008

As with the other comment about the Khyam Chatsworth, we experienced the same. Leaking from the seams, especially where the inner bedroom is attached to the roof and around the side door, the zips suck in the wet and the plastic knuckle sheared. All this on the second day, in moderate weather. We were lucky; packed it all up; took it back to shop and demanded a refund. In our decades of camping experience; we have Never experienced such poor quality "expensive" tent.

We replaced it with an Outwell Monty 6 - what a difference. Heavy - yes, but much more robust, loads more features and easy to put up. I think we had a very lucky escape!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“A truly awful tent. I feel duped out of my money for...”

★☆☆☆☆

written by TedP on 07/07/2008

A truly awful tent. I feel duped out of my money for something that wasn't fit for purpose. I bought a Khyam Chatsworth as it can be put up quickly and no delays trying to work out which pole goes where and then feeding it through seams etc. I have to say though that it's a false economy.
I have used my tent twice and both times resulted in a complete failure in the tent. The problems are 2-fold.
1) We experienced leaking along the taped seams even though rainfall was not particularly heavy. I seriously doubt the ability of the weather weave system that Khyam promote.
2) Once the poles are locked into position you suddenly have a large kite structure that once pegged down then transfers a breeze into a stress onto the aluminium poles that start to buckle almost immediately. On 2 occasions we have had the poles fail to the point where we had to leave the campsite and go home. The first time, the pole buckled back on itself and was unusable. The second occasion saw 2 knuckles shear completely. Independent onlookers were amazed at the total lack of ability to cope in what was normal weather for the time of the year.
Khyam's response? Storm damage. My response? I am trying to get the tent independently tested whilst advising readers to save your money if considering a Chatsworth and get a proper tent instead!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Mandymermaid's Response to TedP's Review

Written on: 28/07/2009

I found this review very helpful because it confirmed my own experience. I am trying to get mine replaced or money back.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Andyb100's Response to TedP's Review

Written on: 24/08/2009

I also purchased a Khyam Chatsworth, used it for the first time and experienced exactly the same problems with water pooling and the pole bending over the bedroom area. This was until I realised I had the pole in the wrong way around! the guying rings must be on the inside facing the tent. When correctly inserted the pole bows outwards and stops any water collecting. I am sure many users must have had this problem as the obvious way to fit the poles is wrong! If you carefully look at the video you will see the pole bows outwards.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

overview