Eco Kettle Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★☆☆☆☆
1.5 / 5
11% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Ease of Use

  • Durability

  • Style

  • Service & Support

  • Value For Money

Summary

The Eco Kettle is rapidly appealing to more and more people who want to get a cuppa without it costing the environment too much. The Eco Kettle has even featured on Coronation Street! Do you own a Eco Kettle, then why not write a review?!
? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Eco Kettle - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Eco Kettle

Eco Kettle
Eco Kettle
Eco Kettle
Eco Kettle

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“Don't waste your money on this kettle”

written by dartmouth271 on 21/01/2013

I am on my 2nd Eco kettle, there will not be a 3rd. My first Eco kettle was a prize win, pleased to using Eco friendly equipment I gave away my standard kettle, I soon wished I hadn't. FIRSTLY the measures on the side indicates it holds 800ml in the boiling chamber but if you pour it out into a measured container there is barely 750ml - not enough for 4 cups of tea. If you use mugs there's not enough for 3 mugs, whichever you use you have to boil again after refilling. Not eco friendly. SECONDLY, if you forget to use the boiled water straight away it cools very quickly because the boiled water chamber and the cold water chamber are side by side and the heat from the boiled water quickly dissipates into the cold water, then you have to reboil it, not eco friendly. THIRDLY, when the kettle reaches boiling point it continues to boil for on average 10 seconds before switching off thereby wasting electricity. Not eco friendly. FOURTHLY, it is very heavy, senior citizens will find it to heavy to use, a full kettle weighs over three and a half kilo! Such a weight and boiling water is an accident waiting to happen. Not eco friendly. FIFTHLY I mentioned this is my second Eco, on the first one the element failed just out of warranty. I rang the manufacturer and was told Eco kettles are not repairable and have to be thrown away. I know that is the same with some other manufacturers but you would think that someone claiming to be eco friendly would be so, and not part of the throw away society. FINALLY, because it had failed just out of warranty they offered to supply me with a new Eco2 at a reduced price. They did not tell me the price quoted was exclusive of VAT so I was rather shocked at the price when it came through on my bank statement. Manufacturers know that end users price thing inclusive of VAT so to quote exclusive was at best misleading or at worst deceitful. My advice to manufacturers - mislead customers at your peril. To sum up, the Eco kettle picks on one aspect of eco friendliness but sadly nothing else about it is eco friendly. My advice is save your money, buy a cheaper standard type of kettle and only fill it with the amount of water you need to boil and you will be much more eco friendly than a Eco2 kettle.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Eco joke!”

written by on 26/06/2012

This overprice kettle is just useless! It doesnt heat stuff at the right temperature first, then if you leave the water and dont make your tea straightaway it gets cold in less than 5 minutes (which means you have to reboil the water, so much for energy saving!). What else? Oh yes the top of the non boiled compartment keeps opening if you dont lock it properly so you end up spilling water all over.. And what really annoys me most is the fact that it is all made of plastic! Doesnt even specify if it is BPA and phtalates free, and you can really taste the plastic in the water! (I was used to stainless steel kettles!). So dont bother with this kettle, buy a nice sturdy stainless steel kettle it will last a lot longer, and just wait a few minutes to get your water a bit cooler for your green tea! As for the water and energy saving, if you have 2 arms and 2 legs then just fill up your kettle everytime you need to boil some water, not that difficult! :-)

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Even though this was a competition win, big...”

written by strawberri_shortcake on 05/06/2012

I won a bundle of energy saving items, including this kettle in a competition. I donated my trusty existing kettle - the cheapest, Argos range one - to my workplace. I was excited at having the opportunity to save energy by only boiling as much water as needed. Wrong. Don't believe the hype on energy saving websites about this ridiculous and ludicrous kettle. The force of boiling water forces the lid open. The kettle actually requires boiling several times if you are making tea for more than two people and the water from the back chamber spills over into the cups, producing lukewarm tea and coffee, even if you hold your finger over the space where the lid SHOULD be sealed. I am taking a trip back to Argos today to purchase their cheapest, fastest boiling model, environment or no environment.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Eco Kettle Review”

written by Missmarshmallow on 07/01/2012

Eco by name, but certainly not by nature! This kettle has been a disappointment. I first purchased an Eco Kettle (model 2) in October 2010 from the Ethical superstore, thinking I was doing my bit for the planet by only boiling the volume of water I needed and in turn saving electricity. The first kettle I received had a fault with the chamber. When releasing water, the kettle would fill to the top without stopping. The replacement worked, but I found several issues: - The chamber that store the water holds 1500ml, which is larger than boiling chamber, that only holds 800ml. Making tea for 4, involves boiling the kettle twice! - The pressure build up after the kettle has boiled, causes it to 'whistle' until the steam is released by opening the lid. - The kettle is very heavy when full to the max 1500ml. - Flick on/off switch temperamental. Now, after 13 months the kettle has simply stopped working. After a change of fuses, no luck. Only 3 month out of manufacturers warranty and it's as dead as a doornail. Off to buy a 'normal' kettle, with a simple volume scale on the side!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“UTTER RUBBISH”

written by Carrick on 14/08/2011

had this kettle under 6 months, thought it was a great idea, ( it was a gift) like the idea of being ECO friendly and was happy to think it was saving electric, worked out how much I would need for mugs and for cups so never over filled it. About 2 days ago the silver rod came out, then the top would not stay shut, it has not been dropped or handled badly only two adults in our home. So on a Sunday morning a visit to the local supermarket to buy a kettle that worked!!! very disappointed, waste of money, and now I have to tell my daughter the kettle she bought me is being replaced by a £6.00 Morrisons kettle.!!!! I certainly would have liked to have known the durability of this kettle, as it appears to be a real

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“All I want to know is has anyone else's eco-kettle...”

written by Hadr1an on 22/03/2011

All I want to know is has anyone else's eco-kettle sprung a leak or stopped working?I bought the basic eco-kettle about a year ago,it has started to leak and I've replaced it with a standard kettle.MY ELECTRICITY BILL HAS GONE UP BY £20 IN THE LAST QUARTER.I AM GOING TO BUY A MORE MODERN VERSION of the same kettle because a SAVING of £80 a year CANNOT BE SNIFFED AT.As far as the kettle spitting hot water,if you put a MUG [300ml] full of water in the eco-kettle it doesn't bubble over,if you do the same in a normal kettle it does spit water.Reliabilty is the issue,if you cant be bothered to persist with the kettle then you shouldn't really be writing a review.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“When I bought this kettle I thought I was helping the...”

written by stormlow2 on 23/02/2011

When I bought this kettle I thought I was helping the enviroment. The kettle boils longer than required. If lid is not properly clicked down will pour out cold water with hot water. Does not hold enough water to fill teapot if required. You have to be ready to use boiled water immediatly as cold tank cools down water very quickly. Don't buy, wish I hadn't.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“DON'T BUY ONE!!! Absolute rubbish and waste of money....”

written by Andy Pleb on 13/01/2011

DON'T BUY ONE!!! Absolute rubbish and waste of money. 0 STAR RATING Leaks and spills water everywhere. Mechanism to transfer water and to lock for full boil difficult, fiddly and cumbersome to use. Persevered for one week and threw angrily into bin. Replaced with traditional stainless design kettle and now very happy again.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“The "eco" promise of this kettle drew me to buy it and...”

written by on 17/11/2010

The "eco" promise of this kettle drew me to buy it and i can honestly say that it has been a complete waste of money - today i have bought a new Prestige kettle and thrown this one in the bin!

It over-boils even when it's not full which makes a mockery of it being an eco kettle. It spits water all over the worktop and floor and anyone standing nearby. When pouring, it drips water all over the place.

Would seriously not recommend it to anyone!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Thought it would save money!!! You fill a chamber with...”

written by on 14/10/2010

Thought it would save money!!! You fill a chamber with water then press a knob to transfer required ammount into the boiling chamber. Takes twice as long to boil as any other kettle. When pouring - seems to get an air lock and no water comes out at first, when the kettle does eventually pour hot water spurts out all over the worktop. Just as easy to fill a normal kettle with required amount in the first place. Sent my kettle to the tip

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“I bought this kettle thinking it would save me money. ...”

written by on 20/08/2010

I bought this kettle thinking it would save me money. The quality is abysmal I bought one that lasted approx 2 years, if allowed to boil slightly dry (by accident) it breaks. Bought a second one which did exactly the same but after only 4 months! Threw both in bin and gone back to cheaper perhaps not so eco friendly version that doesn't break so easily and costs less!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“All the reviews I read of the Eco Kettle when...”

written by on 16/08/2010

All the reviews I read of the Eco Kettle when considering what to buy were positive, so I would like to add a few caveats:
1. The main feature is the dual-chamber system: you add cold water to the storage chamber and then press the knob on top to fill the second chamber with the amount of water you actually want to boil. It's meant to ensure you save energy, but there are lots of kettles out there that allow you to measure how much water you've put in, so why bother with a storage chamber? It makes for a bulky, heavy kettle, and also means you've got limited capacity for actually boiling water. If you like your tea in mugs, you won't get more than 2 at a time out of the Eco Kettle. If you've got guests, you have to refill and boil the kettle several times -- is that the best way of saving energy?
2. The three different temperature settings are also supposed to save energy, because you don't actually need *boiling* water for most drinks, but the 80 and 90 degree settings switch on and off several times before they're done, so the temperature can be checked, and as such they surely use just as much energy as it would to just boil the water. The result? I now only use the 'boil' setting.

I've had this kettle approx. 3 months and haven't yet had any problems as such, but the all-important plastic knob, which you press to fill the second chamber, seems flimsy, and I've noticed steam and condensation underneath the kettle -- not a good sign. (However my 'durability' and 'service and support' ratings are not based on actual experience -- just had to put something!)

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“This is my 3rd eco kettle. Eco Kettle version 1 was...”

written by on 20/06/2010

This is my 3rd eco kettle. Eco Kettle version 1 was great - I replaced it with another Mark 1 - when that broke I bought the new Mark 2 - last one I'll buy - it's rubbish. Splashes boiling water over you, the silver plunger on the top isn't the strongest, doesn't switch off on times - if you're thinking of buying the current model - don't bother!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“The concept behind this kettle is completely flawed....”

written by on 11/01/2010

The concept behind this kettle is completely flawed. We bought it thinking that it was a genuine environmentally friendly appliance, but it's simply a gimmick. It works on the principle that people who fill kettles from a tap are incapable of judging when to turn the tap off and end up filling the thing to capacity. You then transfer the kettle to the base and have to press a very stiff central button to dispense water from the central chamber into a secondary heating chamber that has a very ill conceived measuring scale on. Who were the nutters who road tested it? It is practically guess work for how long to keep holding down this button. If you forget to transfer water between chambers the element heats an empty chamber and a trip switch goes, for which there is no mention in the instruction manual. On phoning the manufacturer we discovered that there are two white bits around the socket on the underneath that need prising out before it will work again. Anyone who visits is baffled by it and requires a 10 minute tutorial on how to work it. It has reduced some to near tears. It isn't even built very well as the lid snapped off after less than a year. When there was much rejoicing in this household as we could finally get rid of it. We bought a clear kettle that ensures there is absolutely no uncertainty how much water you're boiling, which has been excellent. I have never been compelled to write one of these reviews before, but if it results in fewer people repeating our mistake, it's worth it.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“great idea, terrible appliance! Every time you pour,...”

written by mattesdon on 07/01/2010

great idea, terrible appliance! Every time you pour, you get a spurt of boiling water that soaks the whole area. This is my main issue with it. It doesn't matter if you wait for a few seconds after boiling, the big splash of water happens anyway. Very annoying.

The cup measurements are American so one cup on the kettle is actually only 200ml, MUCH smaller than your average English mug or cup.

I wouldn't buy this kettle again. Expensive for what you get and it's useless!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“We won ours in a competition, and were delighted with...”

written by on 05/01/2010

We won ours in a competition, and were delighted with it. It was very easy to fill the reservoir and then just select the right amount - it also meant you didn't have to fill the kettle each time. The water temperature was fine for coffee and tea.

It then started leaking water from the reservoir onto the baseplate, which fused the house electrics

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Doesn't make a decent brew due to water temp. Doesn't ...”

written by on 22/03/2009

Doesn't make a decent brew due to water temp. Doesn't boil hot enough. Bulky too. Just not gadget to clutter up workspace.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“Found this Eco Kettle a good idea but doesn't quite...”

written by julia69x on 30/12/2008

Found this Eco Kettle a good idea but doesn't quite match up to expectations. Having to fill one tank with water then compress a button to dispense it into the other tank to boil makes putting the kettle on quite a process!
Also, unfortunately ours does not heat the water up enough for our liking and we often boil the water twice, which sort of defeats the object really.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“Like the concept, the design needs improving, It's...”

written by vespagoth on 19/11/2008

Like the concept, the design needs improving, It's like it's a draft version, eg. it has visable screw inside the lid etc. Need more quality

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

overview