Cottages4you Reviews - www.cottages4you.co.uk

Click here if this is your business
★★★☆☆
2.6 / 5
36% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Cottages4you www.cottages4you.co.uk - Ask a question now

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

Showing star rating of:

(cancel refinement)
  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)
★★☆☆☆

“Toad hall foulridge ”

Written on: 28/09/2016

Arrived at cottage.Opened door very musky and damp.Cottage not been cleaned on arrival .Cleaner arrived two hours later.Cottages needs a lot of tlc .Very disappointed with cottage .Very dusty and damp.Needs a complete overhaul.Wouldnot recommend cottage.Was really looking forward to break as it was for a special occasion.Very disappointed . … Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“OVERATED. OVERPRICED. AND WELL UNDER THE REQUIREMENTS...”

Written on: 31/08/2015 by minniminx (1 review written)

AT FIRST THIS COTTAGE (TARONGA)seemed ideal, perfect location and doggie friendly. However on arrival things soon appeared not to our liking,(1) a toaster that was to small for any sized bread, an ironing board that has no cover, no decent sized cups for tea/coffee. A smell of stagnant water in the main bedroom on-suite.as a result of an antiquated shower unit and an ill fitting door, A definite health problem. Should have been picked up on your inspection/s. rather than being accused of being… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“do not recommend!”

Written on: 21/08/2015

I was looking for a small dog-friendly cottage near to St Austell, available form August 15th for one week. Our choices were limited as the trip was a bit last minute! But I found the Gig House in Mevagissey on Cottages4you, and although it looked small, I thought we could manage as we would only be using it as a base. As soon as we arrived, even before we had time to unload our belongings, a neighbour came out to ask us to move our car as it wasn't parked in far enough! This left us a little… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“NEVER AGAIN”

Written on: 11/08/2015 by GageGriffin153 (1 review written)

Just returned from what should have been another wonderful annual week with family (South Wales). After a spoiled holiday, due to water coming through the roof, into the lounge and children's bedrooms and following lengthy, conversations with Cottages for You, Owner and Repair Man (Living on site in a caravan in the grounds)??? not informed of this of course, Cottages for You agreed to refund us for £698, stating that the money would be in our account by Friday evening. Today (Tuesday, he… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

J-Mo-Scot's Comment

Written on: 19/08/2015

I feel your pain. Going through the same with them. I think you're very generous giving them two stars!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★☆☆☆

“Not A Private Cottage”

Written on: 19/06/2015

The cottage is owned by a butcher who stores his produce in the garage beneath the cottage and comes twice a day to empty and load his truck. The windows and doors have to be kept closed due to the many cats that roam the property. The garden is overgrown with weeds and the back terrace is unkempt. The pool is good and the view is great… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“polgrath port issac”

Written on: 29/04/2015

What can I say! Nice cottage but should be called cobweb cottage extremely dirty I would think about gettin new clearner! Everywhere covered in dust dirt and shower broken. Sink rotting away. Had 2 sticks of kindling supossed to be bag of logs,! Cant get over how many cobwebs there were some the size of bird dirty .sponges in kitchen wiv old food all over them .fridge dirty .I run a clesning company and if my staff left premises like this we would go out of business… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“Moorhens Cottage, Cotswold Water Park.”

Written on: 21/01/2015 by Rowenakerr (1 review written)

Visit: 28th December 2014 to 4th January 2015. Moorhens Cottage threatened to be a good stay. It’s an idyllic thatched roof cottage with a warmth and quaintness about it, but it didn’t quite live up to expectations. Why? Well the last thing you want to do when you go for a break is clean the kitchen cupboards and all its utensils before you settle down. Particularly when you you’ve just had a nightmare six-hour journey. Everything from the cutlery tray, its contents, the pots and… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“we are surprise this cottage is been allowed for rent.”

Written on: 09/01/2015

We arrived at the cottage in the coldest day this winter,no greetings from the woman-owner who was passing by. No heating on arrival and very little wood left for the stove. Damp and musty smell in the bedrooms,all downstairs. Balls of dust and cobwebs behind and below the beds also inside all the drawers under the beds and furniture. We have to hoover the bedrooms on arrival and have to use candles to disguise the smell. The double bed smelled of urine. The whole cottage and furniture are very… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Fromthenorthofeurope's Comment

Written on: 09/01/2015

this review written by myself refers to the cottage rental named Bowden Head Farmhouse in Chapel en le Frith, rented from the company cottage4you, the company itself was very helpful, the cottage inside, an embarrassment !!
fromthenorthofeurope

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★☆☆☆

“Ship Bungalow Porlock”

Written on: 13/08/2014

Sadly this cottage has a lot of items to improve on. You enter this property through a pub carpark. I found a car in front of the gates and could not park one evening. The hot water failed on 2 occasions out of a 7 night stay. Although the floors were clean, their were cobwebs in the ceilings. Being right next to a pub, expect noise. The pub (which is actually really good) has their extractor fan blowing all day so there is a low hum in the garden and one night the pub had a karaoke/open mike… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“Too Many Hidden Costs”

Written on: 08/06/2014 by 155Bailey (1 review written)

Be careful when booking with Cottages4You, the price quoted will be inflated by costs that are hidden at the time of booking. I made a mistake when booking, thinking I had been with them before, but it was Welcome Cottages I used previously. It came as a shock when Cottages4You began piling on the charges, taxes for this, taxes for that. It took the final price to well over what I would consider fair and normal. They are a US-based company and do not understand the European market… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“Seal parrock”

Written on: 31/05/2014 by Riceandrobertson (1 review written)

The pictures on the site are dated and is not a true picture . The grounds was very overgrown and broken patio furniture was left in the overgrown garden and the dilapidated garage was an eyesore. There was some damp in the cottage and the beds had not been cleaned behind in months.the cottage was well equipped but needs a facelift as there was no shower and is very dated . No garden to sit in as it's all overgrown as was the doggie paddock also no garden furniture as it states in the pictures… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“The Paddock Cottage ,Asthall Leigh,Nr Burford”

Written on: 27/04/2014 by Ferrari246 (1 review written)

Found area ok. It took another 1/2hr to find due to very unfriendly locals and sign on gate post so small and overrun with foliage.Parking not as stated.Would have to keep moving cars around to allow access to adjoining property.On early arrival was totally ignored by cleaner as we only wanted to confirm time we could enter property.Outside of property in poor state of repair,peeling paint on window frames,plants growing out from roof of property,stinging nettles in driveway.We left site and… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“Great views but too noisy to stay.”

Written on: 10/04/2014 by LEHBedford40 (1 review written)

We stayed at harbour view flat 1 Watchet Somerset for a 3 night break with our 8 month pregnant daughter and 3 year old son. I chose this flat for its great views and the fact that it had 2 bedrooms. Watchet is a lovely little village with lots of great places to visit but I was not aware that the twin bedroom of the flat was above a very noisy bar which played music and had lock ins until 2 am even in mid week. This totally spoilt our short break as my daughter and grandson could not sleep… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“Not recommended”

Written on: 25/11/2013 by Retired2010 (1 review written)

Mallards Wells-next-the-sea, Norfolk This property is convenient for walking into Wells. It has very little else to recommend it. The property needs a thorough spring clean, regular maintenance, decorating, new beds (they are sagging and creak and groan at every turn), new bedding, new crockery (lots of it was chipped and cracked). It could be cold in very cold weather as it is not double glazed, has very thin curtains and only 2 storage heaters and one gas fire in the whole house… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“cleanliness”

Written on: 19/09/2013

lovely area, lovely old house but in need of updating. we found the house in a fairly bad state of repair and quite dirty with dust and cobwebs in abundance, the showers needed a good clean, the dishwasher didn't reappear until 3 days into our stay, revealing un plastered walls and old extension lead. odd crockery, some of which was dirty, only 8 chairs in dining room. when beds were stripped at end of stay the mattresses were found to be quite soiled. the garden was overgrown, grass uncut… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“Gillies cott”

Written on: 14/09/2013 by Abnnen (1 review written)

This was a big dissapointment gillies so called cottage was on a very busy main road interior left a lot to be desired Down stairs shower was almost unusable decor was dull more like an old style boarding house. Garden was very overgrown Spiral staircase was dangerous for older guests @children. Have been with Cott 4u for last 4 years but this was not. Up to standard… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“Manky, manky, manky.”

Written on: 11/08/2013

Thatchdown Cottage, Isle of Wight. The cottage was ok, but dirty, the cleaners were still there after 3 pm and asked if we could come back in an hour, we said no and waited. The cups all had caffeine stains in them, the crockery was chipped,chair covers filthy and the towels they left for four people were 2 bath towels and 2 bath sheets, no where near enough. This property could do with an overhaul and a shower. We have stayed in several cottages and they have all been ok, this was not and I… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“Loughrigg Cottage, Rydal, nr Ambleside”

Written on: 10/08/2013

Firstly I must point out that we seem to be in the minority as most people seem to love this place but we had a very uncomfortable time at Loughrigg Cottage. We went with high hopes given the price we paid but it certainly wasn't worth the money. House is very spooky, didn't know about the poltergeist activity before we went! The dining room looks lovely and bright in the photos but is very dark and uninviting. Kitchen and bathroom very outdated and in desperate need of updating if owner… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“Rip Off”

Written on: 24/04/2013

No mention of available discounts on web site. Found shortly after booking (and paying full booking fee a few weeks before it was due) I was entitled to a £50 discount because I had a Virgin Money bank account. When I contacted Cottages 4 You a month before the holiday they said I could not claim the £50 discount as it was too late??? This Company takes your money quick enough-the same day as you book but refuses to refund any money. It appears their super fast booking system only works one… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Aed58's Comment

Written on: 24/04/2013

Apologies the discount should read £50

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Aed58's Comment

Written on: 25/04/2013

Many thanks to the review team for correcting my original which had a typing error stating the discount was 50% not £50 (10%).

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 2 Comments
★★☆☆☆

“Quarryman's Cottage, Cornwall”

Written on: 25/02/2013 by suemorgan1 (1 review written)

We booked Quarryman's Cottage, Callington, Cornwall February 9th - 16th 2013. It was a AWFUL! The lawns were covered with dog faeces on our arrival, the cottage SMELT of smoke and filth. The cottage was dirty and had not been cleaned prior to our arrival. The bed linen was old and needed replacing, as did the furniture including the sofa which had a wooden board under the cushions to replace springs! The cottage was an absolute disgrace - and was graded 4 stars by Cottages4you! It obviously had… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
overview