Evans Halshaw, Rotherham, South Yorkshire Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★☆☆☆
2.1 / 5
29% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Customer service

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Evans Halshaw, Rotherham, South Yorkshire - Ask a question now

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

Latest Reviews

★★★★★

“We’ve been dealing with an advisor at Rotherham to...”

Written on: 23/02/2022 by Jamessimps86 (1 review written)

We’ve been dealing with an advisor at Rotherham to collect our new car and can I just say how fantastic she has been. Excellent service and such a wonderful salesperson who we would highly recommend. Thank you!!… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Another great experience”

Written on: 20/08/2021 by SG79 (1 review written)

Another great experience, car serviced to a very high standard, customer service was excellent, as was the pre and post service comms received! Would highly recommend… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Find fault that’s not there to make money! Rude staff! ”

Written on: 29/07/2019 by RachieA (1 review written)

Had my car serviced at Evans Halshaw Ford Rotherham last year. Was told 1 tyre was ‘Red’ and required urgent replacing and another 2 were ‘Amber’ so presumably needed doing in the near future. 12 months on I booked the car in for a service and MOT with them again (convenience only!) Thinking that I’d edged my bets too long I ordered 3 tyres in to a local tyre specialist to be replaced before the service. Went there and was told NONE of the tyres needed doing and all were very much… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Very poor service”

Written on: 16/01/2019 by Cortez75 (1 review written)

I bought a Range Rover, I asked them to give it a good vallet before we collected it, as it was very grubby. When we collected it it was dark so I couldn't see the inside, next morning when I looked inside it was just the same, it hadn't been cleaned, and their was no instruction book inside the glove compartment, I was told when I phoned up it wasn't their fault , it cost me £106 from the Land Rover garage. I think when you spend £20,000 on a car it would be as least clean, I didn't pay for… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Terrible Service”

Written on: 20/05/2016 by mbrio (1 review written)

Do not use this place to service your car! After a number of bad services the last one was the final straw. They will leave your car in a mess with bits of paper strewn about in it, they will not get your car back to you at the agreed time and they may even do a 62.5k service instead of a 75k one by mistake and then expect you to just happily bring it back in for you. Oh and it may even mysteriously break down within a few days of being in! Or things might drop off within a week or so of being… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Can't fault them at all”

Written on: 26/04/2016 by deffstar (5 reviews written)

Having bought a car from Evans Halshaw in Manchester, I found it had several issues. They booked it with Rotherham for me but took ages in authorising Rotherham to do the initial checks (I had to make several phone calls to chase them). I explained the issues to servicing and he did a fantastic job as the salesman was on holiday for the week. I am extremely happy with them and they have been so much better than the Manchester branch. The salesman in Manchester told me that it had been… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Absolutley Appalling ”

Written on: 13/02/2016 by Todd81 (1 review written)

I have never been to a dealership with such poor service, you have to wait ages for everything and the service department don't seem to be able to deal with anything without passing you to a least one other member of staff, in my case three! I also wasn't very impressed seeing one of their cars being painted outside with all the excess paint blowing on all the cars parked eitherside, what kind of dealership is this! one I will not be visiting again! … Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Avoid At All Costs!!!!!”

Written on: 07/02/2016 by Walkersu466 (1 review written)

My son telephoned Rotherham Evans Halshaw and requested a quote for a brand new DS3 Style with metallic paint, based on 10,000 miles with a £199 deposit, he was quoted £199 per month over 3 years on PCP. We had received other quotes from other dealers and thought that they had priced it incorrectly as the other quotes were approx £30 per month more from the other dealers. So I rang the dealership to confirm that the price was right and asked if it was based on the 10,000 miles and the… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“*** Artists”

Written on: 02/11/2015

Bought a second hand Grand Scenic from them about 3 years ago and pointed out before agreeing to the sale that the picnic tables in the back seats needed repair. We were assured by the salesman that this could be sorted easily at their cost so we went ahead. On arriving to pick up the car I checked the tables and the repair had not been done so I mentioned it to the salesman who said the service team had not had the time but I could book it in about a week later and ask for him and he would… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Upfront, honest, and competent”

Written on: 09/04/2015 by zakurya (1 review written)

We were bitten by a previous purchase from a Dealership so we came to Evans Halshaw expecting the same slapdash approach to customer service and safety. Before visiting, I read up on the company and prepared myself for an experience which was going to be stressful, and potentially painful. In preparation, I created a checklist. This was a checklist that I as a complete layman in terms of vehicles could understand. It had 20 points which I wanted to check before sitting down to negotiations. I… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Do not buy”

Written on: 08/01/2015 by alltheroadrunning (2 reviews written)

Do not go near the place, all bright lights and windows selling new cars sure but there 2nd hand cars and the way you are treated is a joke. look at the other reveiws, we can`t all be wrong… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“No body is perfect”

Written on: 24/12/2014 by Sarau369 (1 review written)

Well what can I say about Evans Halshaw other than they can't please everydoby.let's face it if you buy a used car from anywhere you pay your money and take the chance with it after all a mechanical device and if you want a cast iron promise about the things worth and reliability then.Dig deep and buy new.There is no other way around it. Personally before I have bought a used car from anywhere I have always had the salesman right his promissess on the order form before paying for… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Avoid!”

Written on: 15/11/2014 by Walkerto306 (1 review written)

Went to buy the new fiesta, popped in on the evening just before closing to have a look at the car in the showroom and said we would be back first thing in the morning. When arriving back the following morning, the car had been increased in price and all the extras had been removed. When asked about this it was denied however I had taken a photo the day before of the car criteria and so they soon changed the story. We were offered £200 for our car!!!!!! Soon left and went to Stone acre ford… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“After care haha”

Written on: 02/10/2014 by Adelaide495 (1 review written)

Try to report a problem with the service ,got told not to bother using this garage anymore go to another branch.nerver at any point did they say ok sorry to hear what happened they would look in to it what a joke.the service manager mr j was very rude and abrupt no way to deal with custerms.waiting for EVHalshaw to get back to me . Defo never again… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Avoid this garage!”

Written on: 02/11/2013 by Sniggih (1 review written)

I would never recommend anyone to buy a car from this garage, they are nothing but *** artists! In going in for a quote they verbally gave me a figure of around of. When asked for a quote wrote down they refused . They dictated that I signed for a car there and then without telling me anything about the car as their manager is chasing target and adamant I will sign now. In refusing to be out on the spot I refused. Then they say that due to this they are increasing there quote! I told them I am… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Claire Gibson 1975's Response to Sniggih's Review

Written on: 07/02/2016

My son telephoned Rotherham Evans Halshaw and requested a quote for a brand new DS3 Style with metallic paint, based on 10,000 miles with a £199 deposit, he was quoted £199 per month over 3 years on PCP. We had received other quotes from other dealers and thought that they had priced it incorrectly as the other quotes were approx £30 per month more from the other dealers. So I rang the dealership to confirm that the price was right and asked if it was based on the 10,000 miles and the metallic paint which we had requested, they confirmed it was.
We arranged an appointment with the salesperson for 10.00am on the Sunday morning, as my son was working at 12 that day and had a 30 mile drive to work from the showroom.
On arriving at the showroom the sales advisor went through the spec on the vehicle with us which was identical to what we had specked for over the telephone. She went away to her managers office to go get the figures which we were surprised about as we had already told them the spec over the phone. She then came back with her manager, he then took over. He said that based on the spec we wanted the car was £259 per month, I almost had an heartattack!! I said how come you quoted £199 a month over the phone, he said that was on 6,000 miles and non metallic paint! I said but when you quoted me over the phone I specifically told you I wanted 10,000 miles and met paint. He said well that's £259 a month. I was furious to say the least!! I explained that I had my own carpet and furniture business and if a customer rang me for a quote on 5m X 4m carpet fitted and gave me the name of the carpet and I quoted them £500, then when the customer came into order it I said it was £600, the customer would not be happy, for me then to tell them I'd quoted for a 4m X 4m instead. It doesn't make sense!!! I explained it's exactly what he had done with us. He had under quoted to get us in the showroom, for us to sign a deal. Well that's bad business in my eyes. I will never use this dealer again!! Ever!! False advertising. As you can guess we went to Wakefield Citroen and signed the deal at the price they quoted us over the phone, no gimmicks just honest sales staff and manager! Avoid Rotherham at all costs!!!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Never again ”

Written on: 27/10/2013

I first bought a car here in 2010 and had no problems at all so in 2013 I went back to buy a little car for my other half . The sales guy was ok But the main problem was the after sales the bloke in the service department was rude arrogant and talked to you like he just stud on a peace of ???? When we had to take the car back for a few miner things and called us a lier His name was James . So for this reason I do don't recommend buying a car from evens halshaw citron rotherham… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“very pushy - overpriced - false promises from the...”

Written on: 30/09/2010

very pushy - overpriced - false promises from the manager himself! the price agreed changed after deposit paid.
not a good experience and a very costly one too. what a shame because we would have used them for years to come and now we,ll never bother again.
Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
overview