EON Gas & Electricity - www.eon-uk.com Reviews

★☆☆☆☆
1.5 / 5
12% of users recommend this
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
EON Gas & Electricity - www.eon-uk.com - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for EON Gas & Electricity - www.eon-uk.com

EON Gas & Electricity - www.eon-uk.com
EON Gas & Electricity - www.eon-uk.com
EON Gas & Electricity - www.eon-uk.com
EON Gas & Electricity - www.eon-uk.com

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“An organisation fundamentally incompetent at sharing...”

Written on: 02/09/2020 by AGenuinecustomerreview (1 review written)

An organisation fundamentally incompetent at sharing information and updating records based on customer contact and emails. Do not use EOn, they will unlawfully bill you for times and dates, and will prevent you from rectifying their errors through sheer incompetence… Read Full Review

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Totally fustrated!”

Written on: 30/07/2020 by Braidman (8 reviews written)

I tried to change my energy supplier "Last September" from EON, electricity supply was successfully transferred but not gas even after three attempts, no reason given. After a lot of chasing on my part, I discovered that EON had me down on the national database as an industrial customer so was unable to complete the action. I phoned on three separate occasions spent ages waiting on each occasion, then security questions etc before explaining my problem, the operators were clueless and passed me… Read Full Review

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Worst company I have ever dealt with”

Written on: 15/07/2020 by Grahambolt (1 review written)

Customer service and communication is horrendous..no chance of getting to talk to anyone who can sort any errors they have made..was told the complaints dept aren't even taking calls and managers don't talk to customers..DO NOT USE… Read Full Review

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★★☆☆☆

“Ignore customer complaints hoping you'll go away.! ”

Written on: 27/06/2020 by Seb69 (1 review written)

I'm the sort of person that gives places too many chances and Eon have had so many chances to resolve my complaint which was made several years ago that I'm now looking at who to complain to about them. I paid them to have energy saving external insulation on my walls and the state my property was left in was disgusting, they had to send someone back to take away mess fix a bodged bit of wall and I noticed where they had put scaffold over my conservatory roof they had put a hole in my… Read Full Review

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Wasted 50 minutes, just dodging doing a simple task”

Written on: 22/04/2020 by darrenwilkes (1 review written)

I purchased a property which E.on supplies with Gas and Electric, I have a tenant moving into the house on Monday and wished to pay E.On the money I owe them for the time I have owned the property. Called them - Advised to use Instant chat Used Instant Chat - They said its only dealing with emergencies Tried their website - Can only help if I have a reference number which I have not been issued yet Tried Twitter - 2 DM's sent with no response. Tried Instant chat again - this time I was… Read Full Review

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Worst company around!!”

Written on: 22/02/2020 by 196Short (1 review written)

This has to be the worst company I've ever dealt with. I had no gas for nearly a month and I have 3 children under 6 years old,one being a newborn. Failed installation, took time off to get gas meter fitted, no phone call and no explanation. Promised £30 for failure to turn up to appointment, still not be sorted. Also from my understanding if not sorted in 10 days, another £30 is supposed to be put on top but that's not happened. I now have a massive list of complaint, failings and abuse… Read Full Review

Eonhelp's Comment

Written on: 03/03/2020

Hello 196Short and I'm sorry you were without gas for so long.

Also sorry for the no show. With the Guaranteed Standards of Service, where it's our fault a meter appointment fails, we'll pay £30 within 10 working days. If we don't, we'll make the original payment plus an additional payment of £30 because it's late. There's more information about this on our website under Guaranteed Standards of Service.

It sounds like we've reached the end of our complaints process. If this is the case, we'll give you a Final Resolution Offer letter outlining our final position. This will also have details of how to go to the Energy Ombudsman for an independent review. There's more about this on our website, too.

The Ombudsman's decision is binding on us but not on you. If you accept their verdict, we must implement their instructions in full within 28 days of the decision being made.

Malc

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Very poor service.”

Written on: 11/01/2020 by Chris4321 (1 review written)

Very poor service. Booked Smart meter installation between 0800 and 1200. Nobody arrived and neither eon nor Morrison Utility contacted me. This is the 3rd time it happened, 1st time they were overbooked, 2nd time the Engineer was unexperienced and unqualified to do the work, had to book for another day, 3rd time no one turn up. Eon and Morrison Utility Services can keep the Smart Meter, waste of time. Bad customer service. I had the day off especially to get these meters installed… Read Full Review

Eonhelp's Response to Chris4321's Review

Written on: 07/02/2020

Hello Chris4321 and I'm sorry we weren't able to keep the appointment we had originally arranged. Depending on the circumstances, you might be due a payment under our Guaranteed Standards of Service.

There are certain standards of service you can expect when dealing with us including doing what we say we will. If we don't, we'll make a payment of £30 to say sorry. For instance, where it's our fault a meter appointment fails, we'll pay £30 within 10 working days regardless of whether or not you complain. If we don't do this within the 10 working days, we'll make the original payment plus an additional payment of £30 because it's late. There's more information about this on our website under Guaranteed Standards of Service.

I'm not saying this applies to your situation Chris4321 as I don't know the full details of what happened and why we couldn't attend as planned. It's certainly worth asking the question though.

Malc

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“terrible company stay well away”

Written on: 10/12/2019 by locksiewren (1 review written)

Im sick of your automated phone calls with no one to speak to demanding payment, i have called you on numerous occasions to tell you to take the payment, i have asked to make complaints and promised calls back with no calls. suggested you get your act together worst service i have ever experienced. Pathetic, time wasting company. steer well clear i have spent over 7 hours on the phone with them and achieved nothing, im hundreds of pounds in credit and they are still asking for more money… Read Full Review

Eonhelp's Response to locksiewren's Review

Written on: 07/02/2020

Hello locksiewren and sorry for the late reply.

Sorry, too, to lose you and for the long call waits. If do need to talk to us in the future please try the Live Chat service on our website. Advisors are online from 8am to 8pm Monday to Friday and between 8am and 6pm Saturdays.

Sorry again for being so late replying locksiewren.

Malc

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 1
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“2 moths wait for an appointment”

Written on: 21/05/2019 by averyannoyedcustomer121212 (1 review written)

do not use this company, their customer service is terrible - so bad that their complaints team cant handle all the calls they are getting! Avoid at all costs… Read Full Review

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Switch from this company asap”

Written on: 08/05/2019 by Whitese22 (1 review written)

On top of very expensive rate the communication has been quite bad with the last bill leaving more than a bitter taste to me. Definitely would not recommend. Have been trying for 3 months now to sort out my final bill (which was too high to begin with) and only managed to get charged twice!!! Twisted detail money was paid on the 2nd of May (after an extensive live chat about why is it that a flat with a person requires £2000 of electirc and gas in 18 months - I swear I am not running a factory… Read Full Review

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“CONSISTENTLY BAD”

Written on: 10/03/2019 by adrianlightfoot (7 reviews written)

For the money, they charge they are CONSISTENTLY BAD, and they are getting worse UNREGULATED or so it seems. YOU CAN CHANGE SUPPLIER!!! to who or what, all UNREGULATED or so it seems. PRICES THAT RISE ON THE SPIN OF A WHEEL[IT's LIKE GAMBLING ] REALLY DISAPPOINTED WITH YOU EON WHAT PART, ALL… Read Full Review

Eonhelp's Response to adrianlightfoot's Review

Written on: 13/03/2019

Hello adrianlightfoot and I'm sorry you're disappointed.

We're fully regulated by the Energy Ombudsman. Whilst we try to resolve complaints ourselves, customers who remain unhappy can contact the Ombudsman for an independent review. This is a free service and there's more about this on our website including details of how to contact the Ombudsman.

The overall energy industry is regulated by the Office of Gas and Electricity Markets (Ofgem). This is the Government Regulator responsible for protecting the interests of existing and future electricity and gas consumers. There's more information about what they do including how to contact them on their website.

You can see the tariffs and prices we've available on our website or the Price Comparison sites. I'd pop your annual usage in kWh on to these sites. This will give you a picture of what's available both with us and with the other suppliers. If you go for a Fixed Tariff, the unit prices per kWh and daily standing charges won't change for the duration of the agreement. The only changes will centre around increases/decreases to the amount of energy you're using. Gives you a bit more surety.

Malc

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Disapointed ”

Written on: 27/02/2019 by sarahsarah22 (1 review written)

I'm extremely disappointed in the service provided by Eon. I've waited for an engineer to attend the property for 3 months and the date the engineer is due he didn't turn up while I've waited from 7:45am to 12:45pm no phone call. Completely ignore and undervalue me. Very disappointing. Trying to switch pre pay meter to credit meter with eon is nightmare. Pain and sorrow. Leaving this review so others don't go through the same thing. Thanks… Read Full Review

Eonhelp's Response to sarahsarah22's Review

Written on: 06/03/2019

Hello sarahsarah22 and sorry for the no show.

Depending on the circumstances, you might be due a payment under our Guaranteed Standards of Service.

There are certain standards of service you can expect when dealing with us including doing what we say we will. If we don't, we'll make a payment of £30 to say sorry. For instance, where it's our fault a meter appointment fails, we'll pay £30 within 10 working days regardless of whether or not you complain. If we don't do this within the 10 working days, we'll make the original payment plus an additional payment of £30 because it's late. There's more information about this on our website under Guaranteed Standards of Service.

I'm not saying this applies to your situation sarahsarah22 as I don't know the full details of what happened and why we couldn't attend as planned. It's certainly worth asking the question though.

Malc

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Ridiculously overcharged”

Written on: 30/01/2019 by hollysan97 (1 review written)

I live in a small three bedroom student flat. This is our third year with Eon as our provider. We have a fixed payment contract and have continually been overcharged, usually only by a small amount of perhaps £20 between 3. However, following updating our plan in September and choosing supposedly the cheapest deal (£64 a month for gas and electricity for a flat of three beds, no sitting room, a small kitchen and one bathroom) we came up for review this January. We have now been told… Read Full Review

Eonhelp's Response to hollysan97's Review

Written on: 05/03/2019

Hello hollysan97 and sorry for the late reply. Just noticed your post.

Totally understand the shock of seeing a large debit balance and we'll be happy to look at spreading this over a more manageable period.

I'd make sure the bill is based on actual and not estimated meter readings. If estimated, please let us have up to date readings. We'll rebill to these and review your monthly payments. This will make sure the charges are accurate.

I suspect you're on a Fixed Price deal where we guarantee not to change the unit rates or Daily Standing Charges for the duration of the agreement. Monthly Direct Debit payments will be affected, though, by changes in the amount of energy used. The aim is to achieve as near as possible to a zero balance by the annual review.

Payment arrangements are reviewed quarterly. We only make changes at the mid-point and annual reviews. At the other times, we'll let you know if we think a change is needed but leave it up to you to make any alterations. This and any credit/debit balance is advised on the front page of each bill.

If you've an online account, you can use the Direct Debit Manager on our website to change monthly payments both up and down. It's a good way to help keep on top of things and make sure payments are covering the amount of energy being used.

Sorry again for the late reply hollysan97 and hope this points you in the right direction.

Malc

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Can't even get an account number!”

Written on: 23/11/2018 by VikingPaddler (1 review written)

After moving house we just need to get the current supplier eon to assign us an account number so we could work with them to get their old meters replaced. Well that was where the fun started ... We're now into the 4th week and each time they tell us essentially 'computer says no'. I raised a complaint with them fairly early on but their process is so slow - their standard seems to be to respond in 10 working days (not to fix the problem, just to tell us there's no progress). It seems… Read Full Review

Eonhelp's Response to VikingPaddler's Review

Written on: 13/12/2018

Hello VikingPaddler and thank you for your review.

I'm sorry you're having difficulties setting up an account for your new home. This is a bit odd as closing/opening accounts following a home move is straightforward. They can be done online through our website or over the phone with our specialist Home Moves team. All that's needed is the date responsibility changes, meter readings for that day and, if possible, a forwarding address for the previous occupier.

Once we have these details, we'll close the old account and open a new one for you. At this point, we'll send a welcome pack with details of the new arrangement including the account number. Following this, we can talk about exchanging your meters.

Not sure what the difficulty is but you've done the right thing in raising a complaint. A dedicated Complaint Manager will investigate, let you know what's gone wrong and what they're doing to put it right.

Hope the move went well VikingPaddler and you've settled in to your new home.

Malc

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Dreadful in every way”

Written on: 03/11/2018 by DesireeRasmussen (1 review written)

I had the misfortune to deal with Eon recently following a house sale. Although they had all up to date information - sale completion, meter readings and payments, they continued to send bills to an empty property and finally via an estate agent I discovered they had given my details to a credit agency. I called them numerous times - well over a dozen, was kept waiting for a reply for 15 - 30 minutes at each attempt, and in addition to this no one appeared to be able to handle the problem… Read Full Review

Eonhelp's Comment

Written on: 06/11/2018

Hello DesireeRasmussen and thank you for your review.

I'm sorry for the long waits on the phone. We're working to improve these as we know they're not good enough at present.

I agree, this should've been a straightforward task. We've specialist Home Moves teams dedicated to closing accounts down and opening new ones as customers let us know they're moving in or out. As you contacted us at the time with dates and meter readings, the old account should've been closed to these details and a final bill issued. If you gave us a forwarding address all correspondence regarding the old account will have gone there. If not, it would go to the old address.

As you say, something is still not right. As you've now received an estimated bill for the same property, it sounds as though the old account hasn't been closed as it should've been. This has been going on too long and I'd suggest taking this down the complaints route. A Complaint Manager will be appointed to look after the account. They'll see what's gone wrong and put it right. If you're not satisfied with what they do please follow the escalation process first to another area of the business for a second opinion and then, if necessary, to the Energy Ombudsman for an independent review.

I'm sorry such a straightforward task is taking so long to sort out and hope this points you in the right direction.

Malc

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“DO NOT TOUCH THEY ARE THE WORST COMPANY EVER !!!”

Written on: 22/09/2018 by Virginiav406 (1 review written)

Worst customer service ever thats if they pick the phone up. Had a tree branch fall and damage the meter, they told us they would come and fit a new meter if we supplied a new meter box, when they turned up the guy had no intention of fitting a meter, he cut the wires and left us without power, we have been a customer of theirs for over 30 years but they didn't give a damn. Awful… Read Full Review

Eonhelp's Comment

Written on: 24/10/2018

Hello Virginiav406 and sorry for the long wait times on the phone. We know this isn't good enough and are working to improve.

Sorry, too, we were unable to fix the damaged meter at the first attempt. It may be there was additional damage to other components or cables that required a return visit. Guessing here. No way should the technician have left you with no power without a full explanation of why the action was necessary and what was going to happen next to restore the power and fix or replace the meter.

I'd suggest taking this further by going down our complaints path. Details of how to do this are on our website. We'll investigate what happened and offer a resolution. If this isn't acceptable, we'll explain how to approach the Energy Ombudsman for an independent review.

Sorry again for the problems Virginiav406.

Malc

E.ON Company Rep

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Do not touch this company with a barge pole”

Written on: 30/08/2018 by fedup12345 (2 reviews written)

They promise you a cheap tariff via uSwitch and then hit you with a massive bill and tell you you have to pay more. I was promised £60 a month then they raised it to £160 a few months later. I'm locked in for a year and I can't afford to pay. It's companies like these that are bringing this country to its knees, but they don't care about the misery they cause.   NEVER USE THIS COMPANY UNDER ANY CIRCUMSTANCES… Read Full Review

Eonhelp's Response to fedup12345's Review

Written on: 20/09/2018

Hello fedup12345 and thank you for your review.

That's certainly a big jump and I'd check a couple of things. Are we billing to actual or estimated meter readings? If estimated, please let us have up to date readings. We'll be happy to rebill accurately and review the payments.

Have we under-estimated previous bills and now sent a catch-up after receiving accurate readings? This can come as a shock and leave a debit balance. Please talk to us. We can look to see if any balance can be spread over a longer period. Alternatively, are you able to make a one-off payment to clear or reduce any debit balance? Both will lower the monthly payments.

When you joined us through uSwitch, we'll have based the monthly payments on the information sent to us by the switching site. With Monthly Direct Debits we aim to achieve as near as possible to a zero balance by the annual review. We check accounts regularly to make sure they're on track for this and aren't building up too much credit/debit. We only want you to pay for the energy being used.

Monthly Direct Debits are based on current prices and past usage. A change to either will trigger a payment review. If you chose a Fixed Tariff on uSwitch, the unit prices and daily standing charges are guaranteed to stay the same for the duration of the agreement. Should this be the case, I suspect you're using more than originally thought on your switching application. This will have triggered the increase to stop the account building up too much debt.

Totally understand, circumstances change and what might've been right at the time of the switch might not apply later. We've an online tool to help here. The Direct Debit Manager on our website lets you adjust your payments to better suit different circumstances. Provided accounts are billed up to date, payments can be changed by up to 20 per cent up or down; by up to 5 per cent up or down without readings. Before confirming, we'll let you know by how much the account will be in credit/debit if the payments are changed but usage doesn't alter as expected.

Talk to us if you think any of the above will help.

Malc

E.ON Company Rep

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 3 1
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Disgusting customer service and threats”

Written on: 18/07/2018 by AbbieOgle191 (1 review written)

Been with Eon for 5 years, had no probe till a year ago, upped the prices and cancelled my contract and demanded £500 plus which I didn't have, they tried to up my direct debit by 56% which I cannot afford so I offered £120 instead of the £100 I was paying, they would not confirm this was acceptable and ignored my emails! Had a field agent visit today, charged me £55 for the privilege of leaving a threatening letter!! U faithfully pay £120 every month and still get threats, it has now shot… Read Full Review

Eonhelp's Comment

Written on: 30/08/2018

Hello AbbieOgle191 and thank you for your review.

I'm sorry for the late reply. If this hasn't been resolved yet please contact us so a complaint can be raised and investigated. A Complaint Manager will be appointed to look after this and offer a resolution. If you're not happy with this, the complaint will be sent for review where another team will take a second look. They'll either uphold the original resolution or offer an alternative. If this is still unacceptable, they'll send a Final Resolution Offer letter you can use to go to the Energy Ombudsman. The letter will also explain how to approach the Ombudsman. There's more information about this on our website.

There's no way you should be receiving debt follow up whilst there's an active payment arrangement, like a Monthly Direct Debit, set up on your account. This happens where there's no formal arrangement and then after quite a long time.

Monthly Direct Debits are based on current prices and past usage. A change to either will trigger a request to amend the payments. The aim is for accounts to reach as near as possible to a zero balance by the annual payment review. It's best to let us have meter readings regularly. This will make sure we're only billing for the energy used and the monthly payments cover this. You can pop readings online through our website. There's also an online tool, the Direct Debit Manager, you can use to take more control including being able to change the monthly payments, up and down, to suit different circumstances.

Sorry again for the late reply.

Malc

E.ON Company Rep

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Constant harassment.”

Written on: 12/06/2018 by TrixyW (1 review written)

I am not registered to e-on but they think they're my supplier. They keep sending letters asking to be paid and I'm paying British Gas. I was on hold for EVER today then eventually reached a human voice instead of the female robot that wouldn't shut up the whole time I was trapped, waiting, watching my money trickle down the drain, on a call I shouldn't even be making. After more than half an hour the man who was dealing with my protestations that I'm not with e-on was just about to tell me the… Read Full Review

Eonhelp's Response to TrixyW's Review

Written on: 20/06/2018

Hello TrixyW and thank you for your review.

I'm sorry you had such a poor experience when you phoned us particularly being cut-off. Not good at all.

This sounds like what's known as an Erroneous Transfer (ET). This is when a customer is transferred to or from a company without their knowledge or agreement. It sometimes happens when meter reference numbers and addresses are mixed up on the National Databases. These databases hold details of all the electricity and gas meters in the country. All suppliers use them when handling a change of supply and sometimes apply for the wrong account, particularly when two addresses are similar.

Not saying this happened to you, it's just something that can happen. Usually, the supplier taking over will contact the customer affected to introduce themselves and send a welcome pack. Did you receive anything like this?

We've a specialist ET team who deal with this type of thing and these are the best people at E.ON to talk to. Once it's been established that this is an ET, we have a duty to put it right as quickly as possible. We'll contact the other supplier and ask them to take back the account. It'll go back as though it had never left. The supply period and billing will be continuous and carry on as though it hadn't been away. This is usually done within 6-8 weeks of the ET being acknowledged. Where we've taken over by mistake, you won't have to pay us anything. We might send a couple of bills whilst this is sorted but, in the end, only the original supplier needs to be paid for energy used. We'll cancel all our bills and charges.

Totally understand your reluctance to phone again so I'd suggest having a look at another channel. We've an online Live Chat service; or there are our Social Media feeds (twitter and Facebook) with private messaging facilities to protect sensitive information. Advisors are available on all these channels from 8am to 8pm Monday to Friday and between 8am and 6pm Saturdays. If you prefer, you can email through our website too.

Sorry again for the poor experience over the phone.

Malc

E.ON Company Rep

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“The worst company”

Written on: 28/05/2018 by Amirm186 (1 review written)

Had previous problems with them, I thought they would have changed by now, even worse, you must record there calls, but better don’t use E-on. to much to list for E-on complaints BEWARE !,!,!,!,!,!,! STAY AWAY… Read Full Review

Eonhelp's Comment

Written on: 20/06/2018

Hello Amirm186 and thank you for your review.

What's happened to make you feel this way? Have you gone down our complaints path? If you have and remain unhappy, have you considered going to the Energy Ombudsman for an independent review? The Ombudsman's findings are binding on us but not on you. They don't charge customers to investigate complaints so might be worth your time to try this. There's more information about how to involve the Ombudsman on our website.

Malc

E.ON Company Rep

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
Read 1 Comment
overview